WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Samuel L. Jackson Will NOT Appear in "Thor"

Posted: April 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Samuel L. Jackson Will NOT Appear in "Thor"Submit Comment
Samuel L Jackson is out promoting his "Mother and Child" movie and is also answering questions about appearing as Nick Fury in upcoming Marvel films.

"I'm not in 'Thor.' I'm supposed to do Captain America this summer in London," said Jackson. "I have no idea [why I'm not in 'Thor']. I'm not in charge of making those decisions."

When asked if there will eventually be a Nick Fury film, Jackson said: "'The Avengers' is my own starring vehicle for that character, pretty much."

He added that "The Avengers" will begin filming in February, which is enough time for him to get in shape. Apparently his character will stop talking and start fighting. "[He will] shoot somebody," he told MTV News. "I'm totally looking forward to finally getting Nick Fury into action."

Source: IESB, MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 52 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 5:00:08 AM

Good. Can't really imagine Nick fury in that film, so they decide to save him for other films.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 5:22:55 AM

an appearance would be appreciated but i don;t really are if he isn't in it.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 5:58:07 AM

It would be redundant if he was in Thor. Doesn't most of it take place in Asgard anyway? I don't want to get sick of this character before Avengers.
BDeck writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 6:43:35 AM

mr.mcduck-

who could really get tired of slj as nick fury?hes only really in the movies for like 5 mins.

he never really has anything to do with thor besides the avengers. so i can see why they would just wait till feb and have him in the cap movie.
Ari Gold writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 6:43:47 AM

Will he say 'mother f*cker' after shooting him/her?
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 6:45:19 AM

As long as there are some crossover easter eggs in there somewhere, it doesn't matter if SLJ is in it. He wasn't in "The Incredible Hulk" either.
johnny_boy writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 6:51:05 AM

I'll bet after he shoots the person, he'll be questioned and respond, " yes they deserved to die! And o hope they burn in hell!"
johnny_boy writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 7:26:09 AM

o= i
biniwoo writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 8:12:44 AM

Nick Fury in the S.H.I.E.L.D ship.

"Enough is enough! I have had it with these motherf*cking Avengers on this motherf*cking ship! "

Yes, that would be awesome
biniwoo writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 8:13:47 AM

The alternate line for tv would be:

"Enough is enough! I have had it with these monkey-fighting Avengers on this Monday-to-Friday Ship!"
Affliction writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 8:50:01 AM

Anyone remember the time he was in Deep Blue Sea and SLJ started to give the motivational speech to get everyone safe? And then the Shark ate him....hahahaha... I laugh every time I think about it.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 9:19:34 AM

Why ? Doesn't he need the money for crack and payin' off his babys mommas ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 9:20:50 AM

Nick Fury - " And you know my name is the Lord, when I lay my vengeance on these motherf*cking snakes in this motherf*cking plane ... oh, and it's my duty to protect that booty! "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 9:21:47 AM

Samuel L Jackson : The new self-proclaimed hardest working man in show business!
Moose756 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 10:41:12 AM

I love the fact that he wants to shoot people lol
warlord writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 10:57:55 AM

nick fury is not black marvel needs to stop re-wighting its hero's to be more up-to date what next obama will be playd by a white guy....oh yea sorry
BDeck writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 11:15:45 AM

Warlord-why does it matter? I honestly can't think of any one better to play fury.I think you need to open your mind some.

And do you forget that obama is half white? So a white man could play him just as easly as a black man.rdj anyone?
SACdaddy writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 11:32:33 AM

@Warlord: Funny, that's the first time I've ever read somebody having a problem with Sam playing Fury. Apparently not to many people have the balls to question Sam "Bad Motherf*cker" Jackson. Plus , after seeing him in XXX I bet many at Marvel thought he'd be a perfect fit for the sh*t talking Fury.
Canadianmade writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 12:54:36 PM

Nick Fury is black, and pretty much based off of Sam Jackson in the Ultimates. I have no problem with that Fury even though I do prefer the cigar chompin' white Fury.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 1:31:53 PM

^^^You mean the guy that looks like Reed Richards in the Punisher gear? :)
Kenny writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 1:44:48 PM

Nick Fury isn't black. The original Fury was a Caucasian male. And the movie character wasn't based on Sam Jackson, from the Ultimates universe, it was the other way around. It was Jackson that inspired Fury's new image in the Ultimates. He actually allowed Marvel Comics to use his image to create a character that looked like him. Later on, it made sense to cast him as Fury in Iron Man, naturally.
The original Caucasian Fury existed for more than 40 years, this new version was merely a new take on the character, very well achieved, in my opinion.
That said, it’s too bad Jackson won’t have a cameo in Thor. His contract included appearances in 9 Marvel movies, I was hoping I’d see more of him.
By the way, does anybody recall when David Hasselhoff played Fury in a movie called “Nick Fury: Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D.” Too funny!
rabid writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 1:52:51 PM

I thinkeveryone just assumed he'd be in Thor because of the 7-picture deal he signed. So far he's been in 3 films, so he's got 7 more to go.
They'd better work him into the Captain America script!
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 3:07:35 PM

i can see it it now "im tired of these motha f*cking drones in this motha f*cking city" hahaha
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 3:11:49 PM

@warlord
in the ultimate comics line nick fury is an african american thats why most people dont have a problem with slj playing nick fury, because in retrospect it staying true to the comics
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 3:16:27 PM

i would prefer the cigar smoking white guy(only cause thats what i grew up with) but i can understand why they chose the ultimate nick fury(to make the film mor inter-racial, to apeal to more then just white people), good work on marvel for that choice
jdDiedforyou writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 3:47:11 PM

i am honestly sick and tired of all these f*cking comic book movies. i mean, whenever they start a new comic movie, its always the same damn story, how this so an so got his powers, embraces them, etc etc. and then the sequel the charatcer fights a villain that is somehow ten times as strong than the first villian, an either almost kills the hero, or makes him quit, but then he comes back as the superhero in the end. its all the same f*cking thing!!
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 4:28:47 PM

I'm not sure whether it's funny or sad that fanboys are all in a tizzy over Nick Fury's race because "he was white in the comics."

@ jdDiedforyou: Agreed, but it's not as if unoriginality is unique to comic book superhero flicks. Hollywood puts out the same sh*t every year, they've just packaged it in tights and a cape for this last decade.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 4:47:10 PM

Yeah and we didnt have 30 years worth of westerns that your not complaining about did we? Its cool not to like a type of movie, but clearly some people do, and its not like there arent plenty of other movies to choose from, pretty sure there is something out there for everyone, theres some great original movies coming from europe at the moment.

Oh and that word fanboy again....would you call a fanboy someone that hangs around comicbook movie related chat boards a fanboy?
Eben1277 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 4:58:59 PM

Charlton Heston is dead, and would be way tOo old at this point to play the character, so they made the smart move going with ths Sam Jackson version. I mention Charlton Heston only because his role in TruE Lies was very Nickk Fury. And the David Hasselhoff movie was f*ckING AWEFUL!!!
AYT BALL writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 5:06:27 PM

LOL the hoffs was pretty drastic! and i only saw about 30 seconds of it!
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 5:27:43 PM

Just read your asinine response, AYT BALL. Not that any of it made sense. Are you in such an adolescent rage over my dislike of your beloved franchises that you can't even compose a coherent thought?

And to answer you fanboy question, yes, I would consider someone that hangs around comic book movie related chat boards a fanboy. Good thing WorstPreviews isn't one of those.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 5:38:03 PM

@ SamuelClayton - jesus sam, you dont let up do you? i really couldnt be any calmer, your on a comic book THREAD (better?) calling fanboys for being fanboys, thats what i was very clearly referring to, and even tried reasoning with you over your dislike of the genre, silly me! lol carry on as you were ;-)
AYT BALL writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 5:39:55 PM

@ SamuelClayton - oh and when you arent spouting off about lowlife fan boys i respond to your comments with respect, check the 24 thread.
Rodan writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 6:24:24 PM

I feel like I've seen SLJ in like 5 movies as Nick Fury with all the cameos but he's probably been on screen for a total of 20 seconds. I think he'll be a great Fury, but I haven't really seen much to go on. Maybe it's good he won't be in Thor. He'd probably just recruit Thor just like he recruited Iron Man after the credits.
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 7:15:09 PM

@sam
your a complete moron if you didnt make any sense fro ATYballs responce, it was well thought and writen, seems like you cant comprehend a simple statement, or are just a self-rightous *sshole who only cares about your opinion and no one elses ATYball said it best "its cool not to like a certain genre, because well your just not into it, but other people are". get over yourself lurker
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 7:15:53 PM

AYT ball (sorry i misspelled your sn bro)
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 7:21:01 PM

as for the topic at hand. i just dont see how nick fury would fit into this film, gues it just depends on how much time thor will be spending on earth and not in asgard. maybe a small cameo at the end recuiting him to the avengers would work(simular as to iron man: see after the credits to iron man...i could see that working
Kenny writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 7:24:28 PM

@ jdDiedforyou: Your reasoning doesn’t make much sense. You criticize the classic formula used in a comic book cinematic adaptation due to its unoriginality, but that would mean that almost every single movie out there would pose the same problem to you. Almost every script ever written abides by well known literature archetypes. In romance - two lovers, forbidden love, social/family disapproval towards the relationship. Mix those together, add some surrounding details, you have the typical love story. Action movies - reluctant hero, outcast personality, ingenious villain, hero foils villains plan, saves the day, add the surrounding details, you have the typical action movie story. We could go on with this, pointing out the common elements in every genre, but I believe that’s not necessary. I intended to show that what you said about superhero movies being “all the same f*cking thing”, really doesn’t make sense, considering it can be applied to almost every other types of movies we usually see. Unless you tell me that you feel “honestly sick and tired of all” movies in general, of course.

@ SamuelClayton: Discussing Nick Fury’s original race in the comics and in the movies where character as a part in, is just as pertinent as discussing the role and effect of a violent, verbally abusive young girl’s character in a movie, especially in a forum about cinema, on a website with a particular interest in comics, nonetheless. You not being sure whether that discussion is funny or sad, just shows that you are incoherent. And regarding the “fanboys are all in a tizzy over Nick Fury's race”, that’s hardly true. Four or five people on here brought that up before your comment, that’s hardly a universe of fanboys in a tizzy over a specific subject.
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 7:33:43 PM

@kenny
thank you for that post, i among others on here all gave reasons for them using the "ultimates" Nick Fury and are fine with it.

here are some reasons why its cool

1. Nick Fury was black in the "ultimates" run of comics
2. SLJ is a f*cking badass and can pull the role off with ease
3. do i seriously need to make another point?
4. technicly its still true to the comics/charactor
Spankfish writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 8:11:13 PM

I am a comic movie fanboy, and to tell you the true, I'm sick of super hero movies. Some variety would be nice instead of just mainstream DC and marvel heros.

Someone do Sandman, or pick up the Spawn franchise. Make a decent John Constantine film where he's actually a blonde londoner, not f*cking keanu reeves. Have a go at "The Invisibles", ideal for the current state of the world.

Any of those could be made and come out better than spiderman 3 or any Hulk film.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 8:26:48 PM

@ skatemaster62 - Cheers man, made sense to me too, and i really wasnt trying to be a d*ck! pleased you saw it that way

@ Kenny - well said man
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 10:15:55 PM

Maybe they'll stick The Hoff in to do his cheezy Fury from the TV movie.

God knows he needs the work.

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 10:19:47 PM

@ Spankman ... rumor says they plan to do another Constatine : Hellblazer ... it was pretty interesting that they used Sting's likeness for him ...

I know it's a bit of a stretch, but I nominate Jonny Lee Miller to play Constantine. He can die his hair back to plantinum blonde and play him alot like Sick Boy from Trainspotting .... or Michael Sheen. He's got heavy acting chops.

I would even be interested to see how David Craig could bring him out (ala the patient in The Jacket).
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 10:22:51 PM

@ Spankman ... I would even nominate Nth Man, Doctor Strange, Nth Man : the Ultimate Ninja or Nightmask ...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 10:23:17 PM

@Spankman and Too Much Coffee Man!!!
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 11:50:10 PM

@AYTball
and cheers to you man. if you look at every post with an open mind you can sift through it and pretty much tell what there trying to get across, unless there just bashing and bashing, as i stateed before i would prefer to see the dark haird grey side-burn fury from the comic i grew up with....but i can see why...and apriciate why they went with the ultimates version of Nick Fury. it would be bad pr if they made everyone white, so where they can they make charactors a diffrent race(if they excist in the comics, such as Nick Fury, Green Lantern, and a couple more). cheers my friend

i also wouldnt mind seeing a Luke Cage film

also wheres ranger?
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 11:50:55 PM

@kenny
cheers to you as well
telur writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 2:56:43 AM

Samuel L. Jackson should thank Mark Millar to make his face on The Ultimates comic
SaulSilver writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 8:41:07 AM

What I wanna know is....they signed him for a 9 picture deal and they're skipping one? that's just stupid. Sam Jackson ain't getting any younger, so you might as well squeeze a 30 second cameo in somewhere. I read somewhere that theres a scene where the army tries to get Thor's hammer off the ground but nothing can lift it. Wouldn't that scene be the perfect opportunity to use Fury?
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 1:13:40 PM

I've dealt with both versions of Nick Fury and in all honesty, I like the Ultimates version. Not a race thing but I think the original is more of a throwback to the old Cold War days where the Ultimates is just todays guy going out to do what he has to do to preserve his way of life. The old Nick Fury would say something like he would bleed on the flag to keep the red (borrowed from somewhere I can't remember) the Ultimate's version would make sure someone else's blood kept Old Glory's red bright.
Had these Marvel movies been made about a decade earlier, I would go for the original Fury.
ChristianNYC writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 1:47:23 PM

I don't like Samuel L. Jackson anyway. So good by me
Xan writes:
on June 10th, 2010 at 11:32:55 AM

well "Max", with 81 movies and 9.2 billion dollars at the box office under his belt, Samuel Jackson is far from "self proclaimed" as the hardest workin' man. it is now proven.

Somehow I doubt Thor will be as successful as the Iron Man or The Hulk series

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved