WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Billy Zane in "Superman" Reboot?

Posted: April 19th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Billy Zane in "Superman" Reboot?Submit Comment
LiveForFilms is claiming that it has received information from two different sources that director Christopher Nolan has met with actor Billy Zane (Titanic, The Phantom). The site classified one source as very reliable, but admits that it has yet to confirm anything.

What's interesting about this story is that Nolan is currently working on two new projects. He is the director of the third "Batman" movie and the godfather of the "Superman" reboot. Zane seems like a good choice to play Lex Luthor, but he may end up playing some gangster in "Batman 3." It's simply too soon to tell.

Discuss: If Zane is really in talks for one of these DC Comics movies, which character would you like to see him play?

Source: LiveForFilms


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 64 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:00:44 PM

he can be the new Super-man.

seriously though judging by the pic he'd make a bad Lex.
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:01:44 PM

No Billy Zane you're awesome, hahaha remember how awesome the phantom was?
SofaKing writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:03:53 PM

I liked him in Demon Knight, and of course Zoolander its possible he could pull of Lex but doubtful.
eddie499 writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:08:23 PM

Brainiac or Metallo. He's got the cold demeanor for both.
SofaKing writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:18:37 PM

Billy shouldn't play either of these roles but they should go crazy with the next one and make the bad guy Lobo or Bizarro Superman that would throw everyone for a loop.
AshTrey writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:28:32 PM

Brainiac or a young mr. Freeze.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:30:45 PM

Billy Zane to play a bald man who wears eye makeup and definitely plucks his eyebrows.

Just as you are then...
matternm58 writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:31:12 PM

I cannot picture him without the dry humor he had in Demon Knight. I love Billy Zane though. No homo.
wonderBOY writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:40:31 PM

a real man makes his own luck - Billy Zane Titanic

he is going to be carmine falconie's son
encoreyourface writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:49:12 PM

Ricky-LOL!
Ranger writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:58:51 PM

I hope they reboot bitchy Lois right in the twat!
telur writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 10:03:16 PM

wait... a loser from Titanic become a superman? are you crazy?
encoreyourface writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 10:15:43 PM

did they ever SAY he was gonna be Supes? no.
ikleesdekrant writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 10:26:19 PM

He could play Robin's gay older brother, who walks around in tights just for the hell of it and secretly has a crush on Alfred.

encoreyourface writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 10:33:13 PM

lol!!
HideousSecretion writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 10:38:18 PM

If he grew out his hair i think he might make an interesting Superman. But the photo above has a very Brando feel to it. I'm going JOR EL. Maybe it's the eyeliner.
BlueMobius writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 10:39:26 PM

Please, please, please no more Lex. They never get him right in the films (they play him stupid instead of the genius he's supposed to be) and we've seen him too often. Either bring in Zod (Zane could pull off Zod nicely, actually) or go with a big bad that's more alien and easy for Supes to punch the crap out of! We don't need another existential Superman.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 10:43:23 PM

They've tried him as the Phantom before.

I could see him playing Lex Luthor. I hate to say it, but he wouldn't be chewing up the scenery like Kevin Spacey ... or he could play Bizarro.
nope.com writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 10:49:13 PM

Lex Luthor, Black Mask, or a nobody...

go with Lex for Zane Nolan
Ranger writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 10:56:04 PM

I like Zane.

Tombstone, Titanic, Invincible (played a bald guy... lol, so my vote is for Luthor - although I don't think Supes needs another Lex Luthor in it).

The man has been in over 30 projects in the past 5 years alone... busier than Nickolas Cage (and better with his money I'll bet). I think they'd be lucky if they got him.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 11:05:44 PM

But not as busy as Samuel (you gotta job? Please leave a message!) L Jackson ...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 11:06:34 PM

I swear ... Sammy must be back doing crack with the number of jobs he needs ...

or he thinks he's hooking and forgot what a " job " is
Ranger writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 11:08:44 PM

Very true. SLJ without a doubt is the busiest man in Hollywood... for years now!
Ranger writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 11:09:23 PM

And he always keeps his pay in the $6mil. range for he's affordable... the man does volume.
blinkbomber writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 11:55:39 PM

admit it, you just mentioned Lex because Zane's bald. lol.

"You should listen to your friend, Billy Zane. He's a cool dude." - Zoolander
outofshadow writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 11:58:21 PM

don't count him out as the riddler...
BigTate writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 12:12:37 AM

@BlueMobius - Billy Zane as Zod would be SICK!!! I'd donkey-punch your mother while she's down on COC to see that!

Seriously, Demon Knight and Sniper were f*cking great b/c of him!
BrandoFresh writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 12:57:27 AM

Definitely Lex Luthor.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 1:08:26 AM

You guys should lay off Billy, he was fantastic in Back to the Future II.

Alright, he'd be a good Lex or a good clayface.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 1:18:31 AM

@Ranger and Max: When your real career doesn't start until your 40 I'm sure you take as many roles as you can to make up for lost time. That's why Mr. Clooney is in about 3-4 movies a year too. If you aint working, you're unemployed :)
SACdaddy writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 1:21:06 AM

"Listen to Billy Zane. He's a cool guy." -Hanzel (2001 Male Model of the Year)
Momo writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 1:24:08 AM

@ sacdaddy If you aint working, you're unemployed :)

Actually in Hollywood, if you ain't working you are "retired" or "I am currently looking at possible scripts". When you get a job you are suddenly "coming out of retirement" or "found the right script.
Rodan writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 2:02:23 AM

Billy Zane...yeah I don't see anything but Lex. Maybe a young Mr. Freeze like one of you said. That's it. I just don't want him to get distracted from getting ready for Zoolander 2.
lost_addict writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 2:27:43 AM

more likely nolan met him for batman 3...
trailertrash writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 2:34:53 AM

@sofa- Demon Knight love that film for some reason and he is good in that

billy zane is pretty cool so this could be good , And he did bump ugly's with kelly brook for while too and in truth who wouldn't.

http://www.anorak.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/kelly-brook.jpg
rockkillers writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 2:48:54 AM

I am sort of new to this board, but I'm so glad people out there remember the movie Demon Knight. Haha. I didn't know there were many people out there that remembered/enjoyed that flick.
trailertrash writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 3:23:49 AM

@rockkillers- it's cult classic isn't it !! in the same sort of vain as from dusk till dawn which is another little gem too..
rocketman writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 3:40:58 AM

One of my biggest problems with Superman is that almost every time he's on screen Lex Ffucjing Luthor isn't far behind.OVERUSED.
rocketman writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 3:43:16 AM

Hope this guys is for the new Bats film.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 3:54:17 AM

Kudos to everyone, DemonKnight is one of the best films, and Shadow was great too.

Zane is a very underated actor, great in whatever role you want him to do, just like Sam "bad muthafukr" Jackson.

@rocker- you'll find us a pretty good bunch on here, talking about some classic movies and tv, you will end up discovering films you might not have watched before.
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 4:05:44 AM

I think I will be purchasing a "Jump to Conclusions" mat for WP lol
Ranger writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 4:10:40 AM

If we didn't jump to conclusions on here all the time... we'd get no exercise at all.
Ranger writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 4:11:24 AM

'Puns that suck farts outta dead cows!'

- By Ranger
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 4:15:15 AM

I had almost forgot about Demon Knight.

As long as they don't cast him as Luthor, I really don't care. He'll do fine anyway.
masht7 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 4:31:09 AM

I think this is just a rumour, Zane is not good enough for any DC character besides Lex Luthor but Luthor has been in every friggin thing Superman's been in.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 5:13:05 AM

which is really f*cking annoying.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 6:01:01 AM

Seriously, the worst part of this rumor is that it's f*cking Lex again. Gimme some goddamn Darkseid already, he's a way more prevalent villain anyway.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 6:38:55 AM

Ever since I saw him with a shaved head in "Zoolander" I've been saying he would be a great Lex Luthor. He even sounds just like Clancy Brown from the animated series.
makingcircles writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 9:39:49 AM

Ahh...Demon Knight. That was back when Jada Pinkett didn't annoy the f*ck out of me.
I could see him as Jor-el or Zod. Maybe they are looking at him for Batman 3 though in which case he may be a good Riddler. I don't know...Zane kinda has a "cheese" factor to me. I can never quite take him seriously. We'll see.
Stuntastic writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 10:06:18 AM

@Rocketman: U R too right. I get so tired of seing Lex in every f*cking Superman movie that comes out. It would b refreshing for once to c some new character introduced besides baldy.

@Sac: U telling the truth on that one bout Sam. I would b the same way if I started acting in my 40s too, but sometimes he tends to show up in too many movies. He's like the Lil Wayne of acting.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 10:14:52 AM

Huge fan of Zane, except for that lame ass lawyer show he was in on ABC. That was God-Awful.
He should not play Lex at all. And I'm with @Whoever-said-it-too-lazy-to-scroll.
There should be no Lex in the next film. I've said it before in another thread but I am SO DAMN TIRED of Supes not fighting anyone worthwhile.
Of all the movies they've made, he's only fought that bs Nuclear test-tube baby oh and that bs cyborg chic that fell into the mainframe or something.....so lame I forgot.
Supes is the most powerful and iconic comic character ever and thos are the best two super baddies they give him to fight?? Complete bullsh*t!!
Moose756 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 10:35:28 AM

Mr. Freeze sounds really good the more I think about it. After the travesty that was Batman and Robin's Mr.Freeze Zane would be awesome
SACdaddy writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 11:05:06 AM

@Bunny: Sounds like you forgot all about the SM 2. Zod and his crew are by far the best Supes ever faced on film. Bringing Zod back for a Nolan film would be awesome, but who could play such as classic bad guy? Its gonna be extremely hard to top Terence Stamp's performance. KNEEEEEEL BEFORE ZOD!!!!!

@Stuntasic: LOL!!! The Lil Wayne of acting.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 1:26:07 PM

@SAC, Oh I didn't forget by mistake, I was avoiding that one altogether. I know people will chalk part 2 as the best one of the franchise and yes, Stamp was the man in it. But my issue is that they gave him those three to fight and what happens? Fisticuffs in the streets, a manhole cover tossed? Hell after the ol' magician's box switcheroo even Lois got to smack them around. Yes it was his hardest battle on film, but we're talking Superman. Ok I'll concede that the technology at the time pt 2 was made didn't warrant folks crashing through multiple buildings crumbling them like Dragonball Z or something, but they really need to let him cut loose.
If they finally do a reboot and decide to put an A list villain, I'm only going to be satisfied with Brainiac or Darkseid.
Stuntastic writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 1:45:50 PM

@Bunny: It seems that the best you c Supes fight is in the very last episode of Season 2 of the Justice League when he faced off against DarkSeid. I don't know why they always save the good sh*t for the cartoons instead of a live-action feature
Captainharlan writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 1:48:35 PM

Please be Lex!!!! this Guy would be perfect as Lex.
rabid writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 1:50:49 PM

Lex is way overused and noone ever gets the character right. My opinion? Kepp Lex out of the Superman movie and give Luthor his own feature film.
tucsonkid writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 2:04:34 PM

Zane is a great villian, and should be cast as one , to give a superhero a run for his money.
swoooop writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 2:24:39 PM

Let him play Loise Lane. That would rock...or not!
Ranger writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 5:23:10 PM

@Stunt - because Hollywood is stupid, lazy and doesn't listen to the fan base (ergo: arrogant)?
Ranger writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 5:23:44 PM

@Stunt - I trust your post was rhetorical and you knew all I just posted... I'm just venting... lol.
Vin12 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 6:37:48 PM

no dc for zane, only phantom sequels
MATTHEW FOX FOR MITCH RAPP
bozman007 writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 10:07:30 AM

I wish they'd stop all this Superman talk and make the damn movie already.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 1:01:54 PM

@Stunt, that's exactly what I'm talking about!! That scene and speech Superman gave about living life in a cardboard world and not being able to cut loose was classic!! That's what he needs to do on film. Let him be Superman. Hell at the rate the reboot was going, I wouldn't be surprised if Supes and Lois wound up on Maury Povich on some damn DNA paternity crap.

Supes: Awww hellz naw, man that ain't my keed Mawry. He ain't gots no dope-ass hair swurl.
And that trick Lois been done slept all over Metropolis she a hoe!!

Lois: What?? That's your baby!! He got ur eyes, ur jaw, he f*cking threw a piano at a dude"

Maury: When it comes to 10 year old (whatever his name was) Superman.....you ARE the father!!

Lois: Ohhhhhhhh sh*t. Step up fool. step up!! Whatchu gots to say now?!?!

Superman: Oh no doubt no doubt, Imma takes cares of mines no doubt. Bring my son out!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved