WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Kick-Ass" Underperforms at Box Office

Posted: April 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Kick-Ass" Underperforms at Box OfficeSubmit Comment
Even though all eyes were on "Kick-Ass" this weekend and despite positive reviews, the movie still couldn't surpass "How to Train Your Dragon," which is now in its fourth week. "Dragon" took first place at the box office with $20 million, while "Kick-Ass" fell a bit short with $19.8 million. Since the results are so close, we'll have to wait for final numbers on Monday to determine the winner.

"Kick-Ass" cost only $30 million to make and will easily make its money back. But this weekend's results are seen as disappointing, since the movie landed on the lower end of pre-release expectations. Internationally, the comic book movie took in another $17.4 million and has yet to open in many countries.

The other wide release, Chris Rock's "Death at a Funeral" remake, settled for fourth place with $17 million. The comedy has a $21 million budget, which it will earn back before next weekend.

Click here to read our "Kick-Ass" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 138 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
joshmihaly writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 6:57:59 PM

Well I'm still sure that there will be a sequel. Word of mouth truly will power this film like it did Avatar. Also, even with the low expectations, Kick-Ass is now ranked as #166 on the Top 250 movies of all time on IMDB.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 6:58:54 PM

f*cking disappointing, but the word of mouth will spread
BDeck writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 7:00:52 PM

i agree word of mouth takes a bit to spread,im the weeks to come will look better.
trailertrash writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 7:03:49 PM

Hopefully it will have a strong 2nd weekend on a good word of mouth,But the slightly disappointing figures can't takeaway though what a good film it was.
ian_918 writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 7:12:53 PM

Yeah this will do better next weekend. Ive seen it twice now and still lovin it
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 7:15:11 PM

I know that I've told everyone about it, so hopefully they'll look into it and watch it too.
SofaKing writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 7:21:22 PM

It probably has a lot to do with the demographic, if it could somehow be rated PG-15 or something it would have made a lot more money.
bacci40 writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 7:21:33 PM

why does the ranking on imdb mean anything? the rankings are done by the same f*cktards that come to sites like this...and let me tell you, you aholes opinions dont mean squat
CCBlev writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 7:41:07 PM

With it being Rated R, I know alot of teens could'nt see it. There were 2 in line begging to be let in to see it but they wouldn't allow them into the theatre and they were forced to be sticter with this movie than most others.
CCBlev writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 7:47:06 PM

^stricter
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 7:48:27 PM

It's a niche film. It's not going to make big bucks. It only cost 30 million so it's no big deal. Word of mouth will give it a little bit, but Avatar? Yeah... NO.
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 8:03:03 PM

so my theory is a lot of these little "tweens" were desperate to see this but couldn't get a ticket on account that it is a hard "R" so they BOUGHT a ticket for Dragon effortlessly and then SNUCK into the Kick-Ass theater... but thats just me... anyone agree?
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 8:03:33 PM

but yeah word of mouth... it will do better by next weekend...
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 8:03:38 PM

^^^
Wishful thinking...
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 8:07:03 PM

& lets be honest, next week it doesn't have that big of competition... The Losers... MAYBE... i mean don't get me wrong it looks like a cool entertaining action movie and I'll probably see it on DVD... but I'll call bullsh*t if The Losers out performs Kick-Ass at next weeks BO...
lost_addict writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 8:08:59 PM

ass to mouth will spread..
BDeck writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 8:09:06 PM

ted i thought the same thing about them buying tickets to dragon,sh*t 5 years ago i woulda done the same thing. my theater last night was full of really young looking kids.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 8:16:27 PM

It'll probably make up the difference in rental and DVD sales ...
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 8:17:00 PM

I bet Losers does better on star power alone.
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 8:37:14 PM

OMG, Kick-Ass didn't do that well! But...but...it's just like the comic, and so hip and cool! Must...rationalize...word-of-mouth...yes!
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 8:52:51 PM

^^^
This guy's got a death wish.
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 9:09:25 PM

@BDeck
exactly man i had the same theory back when 300 came out... and Wild Hogs made huge $$$$$$ at the BO somehow ya know? Kids do it all time... and they giggle as they walk into the theater during the previews thinking their badass... its so obvious those lil sh*ts lol
BDeck writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 9:23:35 PM

ted-
badass little bebe's kids.

who the hell is going to buy a ticket to wild hogs?
BurmaShave writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 9:41:33 PM

Kind of a misconception, the film may have only cost 30 million, but Lionsgate marketed it like crazy. It's going to be harder for it to make its "budget" back, even if it tops out at like 70 million.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 9:44:09 PM

People will buy the DVD no doubt, and the sales of the comic will skyrocket as well as well as merchandise. But even if the film doesn't make a lot of money it is still i great film and the whole cast and crew should be proud and make a sequal. As long as the same cast and crew is behind it and Mark Miller approves and writes the script!
joshmihaly writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 10:10:44 PM

@TH3D4RKKN1GH7: When I said like Avatar, I meant word of mouth wise. I know it will make nowhere even close to how much Avatar did. The only reason I saw Avatar was by word of mouth, so I was only comparing.

@bacci40: What qualifies any of us on here as ass holes or f*cktards? Somebody needs a f*cking nap.

@SamuelClayton: You are truly pathetic. All you have done for the last few days is come on here and bash Kick-Ass and you have given no reasoning. You are probably just some faggoty ass Christian who can't stand the content in this movie. How about you go post on a board for you Christian folks and insert the dildo in your ass an inch or two farther up. Until then, try to have an actual conversation on here actually voicing your opinions in a humane and mature way. I would be willing to converse with you on the matter in fact, but only if you are willing to actually have a conversation.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 10:24:40 PM

When I saw it several weeks ago I predicted a $70 mill domestic gross. Now I think it will be lucky to see $50 mill. And so continues the pussification of America.

In a world drowning in watered down visual spectacles and unimaginative remakes and reboots, I guess I was naive to think something that operated so far outside the typical box stood a chance at commercial success. Oh well, its just another blow for R rated filmmaking. LOL, guess they should have converted it to 3D at the last minute. Maybe some brains flying at the audience would have helped the numbers.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 10:42:20 PM

Maybe people just aren't interested. Is that such a hard concept to grasp? This is niche... really NICHE. All the controversy probably put people off as well. It'll probably get a nice pick up once DVD/Digital/Bluray release drops.
GIST writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 10:46:06 PM

Just came back from watching it at the same theater that Chris D'Amico aka Red Mist was heading to with his dad Frank D'Amico. And also where Dave Lizewski aka Kick-Ass was coming out of with his buddies in the first scene of the film.
Eben1277 writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 10:52:55 PM

That sh*t happened with the last Rambo movie too, kids buying tickets to Meet the Spartans and sneaking into Rambo.
Stuntastic writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 11:01:23 PM

I must say that this is one movie where I didn't expect to go through every single emotion imaginable. Hell, I almost and I mean almost teared up at one point. I really went just to c some major ass kicking instead I was genuinely surprised to find myself relating to the characters. It's really a story about standing up for yourself and not taking anyones sh*t. I especially got to give props to Hit-Girl. That is one badass chick. She makes Wonder Woman look like a straight p*ssy. It's good to c a young girl taking up for herself on the big screen especially cuz I have a daughter of my own and I would much rather her b as independent as her.

**SPOILER ALERT**
The best scene to me had to b when Hit-Girl went back for Big Daddy. sh*t, Im looking on ebay right now for a strobe light for my pistol
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 11:21:51 PM

I f*cking loved this movie, can't wait to see it next weekend.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 11:22:42 PM

@Stuntastic

Yea, I was certainly NOT expecting that scene to provoke such emotion from me, it was very, VERY well done.
takai writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 12:21:13 AM

Well, technically it's already made back it's budget via worldwide gross, in one weekend. Why is it hard to believe that this is going to be successful?

And @ DarkKnight - The ONLY reason this is a 'niche' film is Hit Girl. Most of the negative reviews, including Ebert's, focus solely on her.

Many of the friends I went to see it with are not comic fans, but thought it was bad-ass (because it is)

The fact that it's R-rated, mixed with a controversial element that hasn't been seen in a while, is hurting its success, but just like all of you have said, it'll make up for it with DVD sales.
cpj210 writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 12:51:19 AM

Is it just me or does anyone else think it's weird that theaters get to stop us from going into an R-rated movie? Why should a theater be allowed to do that? Doesn't that go against our civil rights or something?
thegambit72 writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 1:15:10 AM

i would be furious if "Dragon" wasn't such a great movie
Ranger writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 1:50:25 AM

@bacci - so if our opinions don't matter (and I agree... they don't), you therefore realize your opinion as well means f*ck-all... yes?

Good.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 1:54:49 AM

i've yet to watch it but plan to.

SamuelClit-you're a retard we get it already. i know it's hard to not act like such a window licker but at least try because 'listening' to you is very boring. you're not even very fun to make fun of. you bore me.
Affliction writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 2:00:08 AM

They also have to factor in that families went to go see "How to train your dragon". Kids and adults.
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 2:16:47 AM

It's so fun ripping into the latest piece of Hollywood fanboy masturbation. The retards here just treat it like it's their religion or something, and "scold" me about how rude and disrespectful I am. Reading the condescending tripe of dumbasses like joshmihaly is funny and sad all at once.

FYI, josh, I've made it perfectly clear why I hated Kick-Ass in previous posts, but get the same crybaby responses. It's not about my behavior (and honestly, the *ssholes who went into a vicious rage over Roger Ebert's review shouldn't be telling anyone about manners), you bitches are just mad that I didn't love this goldawful piece of sh*t. Oh well, seeing the snippy responses of encoreyourface is reward enough.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 2:16:49 AM

No surprise, it was the same story with avatar, once people hear its not just the same old crap the numbers will rise. This will make a fortune when it hits DVD and Bluray.

@ Sam - all self respect has just crumbled, youve become a teen troll, congratulations sir :-)
Sinestro writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 2:19:53 AM

Kick Ass was a fun way to spend a couple of hours. But, come on, this isn't a ground-breaking, must see, big event film. I didn't like Avatar, but that was a movie people just had to see. Kick Ass is not.

And if the Losers remains as loyal to the comics as Kick Ass did, then it could end up being a better movie.
TRUEMAN writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 2:29:12 AM

i told you so, Hollycrap has did it again, more crap movies bad acting, gays like Sam W. calling himself badass, all this sh*t is destroying this industry, i going to see more spanish movie and asian movies im so disapointing with hollycrap now, i won't go to the movies until Tron comes out!
encoreyourface writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 2:31:07 AM

SamClit-is that supposed to upset us?lol! all you window lickers are alike. you think we get upset, however we just like making fun of you and throwing your retardation in your face.

i couldn't care less what you like or don't like, that's not the problem but it is funny that you think that's the reason. you're just being a c*m guzzler and i like making fun of you. you like the attention and you know it, don't even try to deny it. dance peasant. bet your next response will be the same as the others.
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 2:49:20 AM

Smug posturing didn't fool me when Kick-Ass tried it, encoreyourface, so why do you think your barely-coherent pomposity will impress anyone but yourself? I figured you dumbasses out the minute I saw you all lose your collective sh*t over the Roger Ebert story, and you haven't been any less predictable since. I remember idiots like you when I was a kid, who couldn't outsmart me so they'd just stammer, "Well, you're a butthead" and walk away thinking they'd won.

*sigh* I suppose you have to give the mongoloids their day...
takai writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 2:54:26 AM

@Sinestro - Kick-Ass didn't really stay that loyal to the comics at all. The movie was actually finished before the comics were. They had the same starting point, and the movie kept many elements, but they were actually pretty different.
takai writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 2:56:10 AM

And I'm loving this new troll that has appeared.

I'd like to be the first to call that it's actually Mink in disguise.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 2:57:48 AM

that's pretty sad. trying to impress us by acting smart? not gonna work dr. c*m guzzler,not gonna work.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 2:59:31 AM

previous comment to SamClit of course who is running away pretending he's won when really his ass-hole is wide open and later will be ripe for a re-opening.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:00:27 AM

@ SamuelClayton - Do you see what youve become? your claiming to be everyones intellectual superior, but you doing nothing more than jumping up and down on the spot shouting "look at me im better than you and you all suck and im the best!"

Sam.....its not your fault, and i for one forgive you, give me a hug! :-)
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:01:12 AM

Being smart isn't exactly something I have to actively try for, encore, nor is it something I feel ashamed of, despite what our culture of anti-intellectualism asserts.
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:04:52 AM

Nor am I obsessed with anal and oral sex, which is becoming a running theme with you and is...weird.
Sinestro writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:06:32 AM

The movie was fairly close to the funny books. It wasn't perfect, but it was close. And, like I said, if the Losers can be that similar to the comics, it should be a very good action piece.
trailertrash writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:08:14 AM

Not obsessed with anal and oral sex, why the f*ck not !! Once you've had sex once you will be..

SamuelClayton writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:12:48 AM

Not exactly interested in "guzzling c*m" or doing half the sh*t encore proposes, but if f*cking men like crazy monkeys is your cup of tea, it's a free country.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:12:59 AM

"despite what our culture of anti-intellectualism asserts."

again, trying to impress us with big words. this the response you're looking for?

"OmG Z01nKS WhATZ D0ze FAnTSy WurDS he Uses!?!?!"

not gonna happen.
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:14:35 AM

Oh, I'm not expecting to impress you, since you think intelligence is some kind of insult.
trailertrash writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:16:23 AM

Not exactly interested in "guzzling c*m" but maybe one day if you meet the right person all that will change.

AYT BALL writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:18:32 AM

@ SamuelClayton - your not showing intelligence, just a wider vocabulary. Im off to work, have fun kids ;-)
encoreyourface writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:19:12 AM

i'm just saying becuase you have a better thesaurus then me it doesn't count for sh*t.
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:22:30 AM

kickass wasnt the greatest but it was the best i have seen in awhile and cant wait until the sequel.
@SamuelClayton: stop f*ckin wit us bitch ok, so are you just gonna keep on barking or are you gonna shut the f*ck up and drink so tea. and all you do is bitch bitch bitch.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:24:14 AM

see ya AYT.
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:33:28 AM

trailertrash -- Dur, see what I did? I, I took what Sam said, and...and then just repeated it and threw it back at him like it was my own insult! I'm so clever!

@ encoreyourface: "A better thesaurus?" You mean you just kept throwing gay jokes at me because you didn't understand the words I was using? Um, okaaay, there's this thing called Google if you've never heard of the word "pomposity" before.
JohnZee writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:37:40 AM

Avatar made nearly $77 million it's opening weekend. Kick Ass might have broke the $20 million mark. If word of mouth is powering both movies then Avatar benefited from a nuclear reactor worth of WOM, and I guess that means Kick Ass was only benefiting from a triple A battery worth of WOM.

Utter nonsense.

Almost as lame as the argument that people were buying tickets to see other movies and then sneaking in to see Kick Ass.

If only the IMDB greatest 250 movies were greatest profitable movies, and not just the movies that get the most internet votes, which is sort of like hypothetical dollars from that South Park episode...

Ah scrolling down I see Ted Mosby is a fan of the buying a ticket for another movie conspiracy theory. Good luck with that Ted.

Lionsgate is eating a big turd sandwich on this one. Now they are just hoping that they break even, which is not what a movie studio wants on its return investment.

And yet people are still talking sequel.
All the studios didn't feel the need for the first Kick Ass to be made.
And the one studio that got conned by all the internet geek hype for the movie and spent serious dime to distribute it in American theaters is now looking like the biggest chump on the block.

And you still think there is going to be a sequel that will make it to theaters?
Whose going to distribute a sequel?

A bigger chump then Lionsgate?

DVD release is the best you can hope for Kick Ass 2.

Might be a report about a deal now, but a theater release is highly doubtful.

And it would be nice to delude yourself that all the negative reviews only have issue with Hit-Girl being too violent, but face facts, that is a delusion.

Hit-Girl being violent, and cussing didn't bother me a bit. And going into watching this movie I was extremely hopeful.

I was a little hesitant because of the firestorm of hate that Kick Ass obsessed fans were attacking anti-Kick Ass movie reviewers with.

Including a sh*t load of Kick Ass obsessed fans that had not even seen the movie yet.

I'm hoping that Kick Ass manages to make $50 million by next Sunday. Otherwise geek clout with Hollywood is about to take a major hit.






trailertrash writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:40:05 AM

Thanks sam , your so smart i'm in ore of your super intelligence and that positive response from you has made my day ...

But really no thoughts on oral sex at all ...
encoreyourface writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:43:17 AM

i knew what you where saying i just don't care if you think you're smart or not.
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:48:24 AM

Ten cool points to JohnZee for speaking the truth.
trailertrash writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:54:17 AM

"ten cool points for johnzee" - wtf are you on sam have you got a little chart there with you ?? does it have little star stickers and smiley faces too..
encoreyourface writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:58:23 AM

lol
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:59:42 AM

@JohnZee: If the list should contain the most profitable movies, Twilight and Paranormal Activity would top that list. Is that something you would want?

And believe or not, the word-of-mouth is good, at least over here. So even though it'll have some competition in The Losers, I don't think Kick-Ass will have that much of a decline. And when Kick-Ass hits the DVD-shelves it will sell a bundle. Lionsgate have made a smart deal. But then again, you never know...
SofaKing writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 4:05:40 AM

I used to buy a ticket for a PG-13 movie and sneak into a rated-R movie all the time... I don't see why that is such a unlikely concept. I am sure it didn't make that big of a difference though, monetarily speaking.

SamClayton- Yer stoopid!

JohnZee- Yer commentz r 2 long..

jigsaw- You're cool but how are you gonna have a Big Daddy avatar and say the movie "wasn't the greatest"!? You won't catch me saying any Arnold movie wasn't the greatest because then I would be a liar... a f*cking liar!
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 4:09:39 AM

Whoops, I forgot some people on here are retarded and go nuts on everything I say.
trailertrash writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 4:11:52 AM

best get those stickers out sam !! the frowning ones i guess...
encoreyourface writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 4:14:57 AM

don;t worry Sam, the short-bus driver still loves you.
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 4:19:35 AM

@ encoreyourface: Really? Maybe I can nail her tomorrow morning before she picks you up for school.
trailertrash writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 4:22:54 AM

sam a sex joke what gives ?
SofaKing writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 4:26:12 AM

Haha, TT I was thinking the same thing. Sooner or later they all stoop to our level! it is so much easier than googling words like ostentatious and platitude (yes, I googled both of them and they are spelled korrectlee)
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 4:29:40 AM

I guess you all finally "broke" me. But then when I log off I'll go back to being an adult, but Kick-Ass will still suck.
trailertrash writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 4:36:27 AM

@sofa- LOL !! -they always do in the end dont they ..

@sam - couldn't resist the little kickass dig could you.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 4:43:05 AM

Sofa-so true! John, COC, Vin they all f*cking did! it's becuase our level is the best.
CCBlev writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 6:10:39 AM

@Samclit
I've sat back and read your bullsh*t for the last couple of days and out all that you have said you still have yet to say something intelligent, well surprise me say something intelligent!!
SAM DA PREACHER MAN writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 8:45:40 AM

Cant say its too surprising, i mean showing that lovely young girl being beaten......just breaks my heart! Cant a young girl just be left alone!? We need heroes like those shown in the Searchers to go save her!.....hopefully they wont want to try kill her for being brain washed like john wayne did though!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:06:18 AM

^Digging the your avatar dude :) Ayt by any chance?
trailertrash writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:08:12 AM

@SAM DA PREACHER MAN !!! LMAO
trailertrash writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:10:34 AM

hope that is ayt, if not he is f*cking crazy !!
SAM DA PREACHER MAN writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:12:55 AM

@Freudian_Nightmare - AYT?! i dont think so! dont label me along with that sick fool! hes just a cry baby, im very much offended by this disgraceful lack of respect for the well being of a lovely... athletic.... young....oh so young....girl! mmmm....

anyway you lot should respect your elders too! like me and samuel! im 76 you know! i shouldnt have to put up with this from you people!
trailertrash writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:24:51 AM

you old men should be ashamed of yourselves lurching around after young school girls , It should be a hot cup of horlicks and early night for you oldies.. lol
The Real Joker writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:27:55 AM

Kick-ass kicked ass. Damn it was good :>
SAM DA PREACHER MAN writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:29:17 AM

mmmm horlicks! that how i get to sleep at night....but whats that got to do with anything? ive sent you a scornful message to your inbox young man!
trailertrash writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:41:28 AM

WOW !! I didn't know old men could use such foul language !! i've been scorned by the preacher....
rabid writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:42:42 AM

They'll get their money. At least from me. I'm going to see it again!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:44:01 AM

@Sam da preacher: Sorry Grandpa, never meant to be disrespectful to an elderly man. By the way, could you babysit my daughter for me?
SAM DA PREACHER MAN writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:44:26 AM

Well you had it comdgnd....sorry my teeth slipped out....you had it coming sonny! I look forward to Samuel coming back so we can show you all the errors of your ways! you kids have alot to learn!

HUGS NOT DRUGS!
SAM DA PREACHER MAN writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:46:19 AM

@ Freudian_Nightmare - well its nice to hear some manners...and i will be more than happy to look after your daughter....just out of interest how old is she and what does she look like?
trailertrash writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:58:26 AM

I look forward to it when SamuelClayton and you team up like jack lemmon & walter matthau as the grumpy old men of WP !!
SAM DA PREACHER MAN writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 10:04:23 AM

I just dont see everyones problem, is it so wrong that Samuel and i would prefer to watch a movie where nice things happen to young school girls?
trailertrash writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 10:31:39 AM

What like Battle Royale , you mean !!
trailertrash writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 10:32:41 AM

or kill bill !! lol
SAM DA PREACHER MAN writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 10:37:46 AM

Well im sure i speak for myself and Samuel here when i say i dont mind foreigners killing or hurting there own girls, but when you pick on a cute young white american girl then its a step too far!!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 10:44:15 AM

@Sam da preacher: She's white and twelwe years old. She can be a handfull sometimes, but don't be afraid to spank her, she can take it. If she gets hungry, you can feed her some sausages. There might some waffles for you in reward, but you have to bring your own syrup. Ok?
trailertrash writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 10:48:23 AM

Even if that cute young thing uses the C word ??!!
SAM DA PREACHER MAN writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 10:49:19 AM

@ Freud - Yes please! i mean, yeah sure, thats fine, just want to make sure shes safe from all the nasty people in the world you know? i really do care, some say i care about young girls TOO much, but the police are idiots these days so i pay no attention.

And just incase i havent said it recently Kick-Ass sucks!

Jesus loves you!
SACdaddy writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 11:03:29 AM

Sam's on a roll! I know he's pissing some people off, but I think its great to see a usually quiet observer come out and passionately defend his opinion about film. Afterall isn't that what this site is all about? I loved Kick-Ass as much as the next guy, but really dig the controversy its stirring up even more. We should appreciate any movie that can still get this much of a rise out of people in these increasingly braindead times. (which reminds me, I still need to see The AntiChrist) Sam is entitled to his opinion about the film and the people defending it, but I think he's particularly upset about those bashing Ebert and his condition (which I can understand). To each his own, but I think its important to point out that in all this discussion, there's been not one mention of COC, Lohag, or Gary Coleman. This is a film site and for once almost everybody stayed on topic! Any film that garners this type of respect for the issue at hand must be a little special don't you think?

@John Zee: Your math is a little hazy if you think a movie with a $30 mill budget is still trying to break even after its already made almost $40 mill at the BO and still hasn't been fully released. That's actually not a bad of return for a R rated film starring kids. As far as I know, Shutter Island and Up In the Air have been the only successful R films to come out in the last 6-10 months, but that's really no surprise considering the star power behind them and the demographics they targeted. I think the hype surrounding KA was purely generated by its small comic following and its major film festival success. This obviously doesn't always translate into as much BO success as it does for those involved, just look at Hurt Locker. It was the darling of all the film festivals and had a major director behind it, but it still struggled for theatrical distribution and was a complete afterthought at the BO ($16 mill worldwide) before it won the Oscar. It doesn't take much to greenlight a sequel in Hwood these days, so Kick-Ass will live again.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 11:09:44 AM

"there's been not one mention of COC, Lohag, or Gary Coleman"

Dammit Encore, I guess you slipped one in on me! LOL
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 11:12:09 AM

Thanks for the support, SAC. Glad I'm not the only one puzzled by people getting incensed over a movie debate on a movie site.
jdDiedforyou writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 11:14:42 AM

it truly is sad when all of you people come on here an talk sh*t to each other when one of yous hates a movie you all enjoy. it really is sad, everyone of you guys really have nothing else better to do. wouldnt surprise me if all of you are out of work living in your mothers basement.
SAM DA PREACHER MAN writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 11:22:56 AM

@ All - Samuel and i are entitled to hate a movie as much as we want! And we judge everyone of you that likes it! accept it or move on! right sam?
trailertrash writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 11:26:00 AM

@JD- Pretty much !!

@sam's oh no not 2 of you now !!!
trailertrash writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 11:29:03 AM

@SAC- good points dude ...
TheHundreds writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 12:25:45 PM

How is this underperforming exactly?

The film made back 2/3 of its budget in the US alone. Its an extremely hard-R rating and the biggest name is Nic Cage for Christs sake. It essentially tied for first place I don't think the actors or producers were expecting much more.

I'm pretty sure this movie is performing exactly how people thought it would.

(Haven't seen it yet, but probably will and probably will like it)
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 1:08:40 PM

@original Sam, Debate is one thing, attacks are another. Like it or not, you're putting yourself right in the same boat as the folks on here you bash for liking Kick-Ass and defending it when they bash folks for liking and defending Avatar or Twilight.
I do not like it any shape or form when someone has to made to feel ostricized for their likes just as you obviously don't like you or Ebert to be for your dislikes. It goes both ways.
The reason why I direct my attention towards you however is because the folks on here who bash the Avatar / Twilight fans make absolutely no pretense about who they are. They walk in the door as loud and obnoxious Avatar / Twilight haters and walk out the same way.
You on the other hand, have this above all others complex and you feel as though you are in some superior category than others. But in all fairness, your just another site user who hates anyone who likes something you don't.
I would be more than happy to debate films back and forth with you but I never see that happening when your opening salvo is an attack to the people who like it rather than something constructive that can be built on.
And after the last few days of your posts, I've come to realize that maybe you just don't have anything to contribute other than that.
Pretty sad for someone blowing their own intellegence horn as loud as you are.
Not that I care about your level of intellegence, but how about truly setting yourself apart from the muck you're obviously content in wallowing in by coming with actual intellegent and non-abusive banter?
That's the whole point of sites like this in my opinion. In a perfect world, one person likes something, another person doesn't. They express why and why not and maybe come to see each other's view. Maybe their opinions change some, maybe they don't. But the opportunity is there. Sure, a perfect world but guess what......that's not generally how our world operates now is it?
Oh and I guess you're still with Ebert as to not wanting to be a part of that world either huh?
AYT BALL writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 1:18:55 PM

@ Bunny - spoken with class

@ SAC - totally agree that passion is great, but it was never about liking or disliking Kick ass, its always been the judgmental side, I cant sit by quietly while someone talks down to myself and others for their tastes. Yes Ebert got some abuse, but he himself labeled us all and made his disgust of our collective culture very clear. The likes of sam talks down to fan boys for being fan boys, But lets just think about that for a second, what is a fan boy? someone that grows up liking sci/fi or comics? someone that moves onto adult versions as they get older, someone that is passionate about the subject.....is sam not therefore a cowboy fanboy? we are all the same, sam has stood out because he considers himself superior.

all that said, Kick-Ass is doing great over here and word of mouth is spreading fast around the world, so lets all just wait a little while longer and see whats what
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 1:59:24 PM

@AYT "cowboy fanboy" omg I burst out laughing at work generating a few odd looks. Thanks!!
AYT BALL writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 2:14:44 PM

@ Bunny - happy to help the day tick over! lol
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 2:33:38 PM

And more importantly, who really cares how it did at the box office? Well, besides the folks that would greenlight a sequel.....
I mean, Big Momma's House is a franchise worth 2 sequels? AVP franchise? Freddy? Jason?
We're all in trouble if we start judging the value of a movie by its gross.
If that's the case are you all ok with Avatar and Titanic as the two greatest movies of all time?
And as a whole, the Harry Potter franchise as the best ever since it has 3 in the top 10?
Sadly, box office strongly dictate the future of a franchise but in those rare instances that they don't and the producers have the balls to stand up and say f' it let's keep going. kudos! Although in regards to their business sense......feh. But still, I hate praise auto-tagged to a film just because it did great in the box office. That's why they give out Billboard awards in music as well as Grammy's.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 2:45:10 PM

@ Bunny - right on the money! It is a shame that its become all about the profit, after all most of the reviews (and good reviews at that) said that kick ass was new and fresh etc. But i dont see any studios rushing to make follow ups to original movies that didnt dominate the box office....

However, im just gonna throw this out there, and CLEARLY im a supporter of kick ass, but would it be such a bad thing if they didnt do a follow up? Chloe Moretz kinda stole the show in the first movie, dont quote me but im sure either the comic or the movie said she lived a normal life after that, implying she doesnt come back, and even if she did, they would have to get a move on making that it cos shes at an age where she could age dramatically over a year! i think they set the bar high and it would be a shame if they couldnt reach it again. I always had that feeling about the crow, was something special about that (to me) and they should have just left it alone.....i dunno, just thinking out loud, id still go see it if they did! lol
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:01:47 PM

There's a long list of one off movies that should just be left to the one movie. I wouldn't be disappointed if this was it for KA and I wouldn't mind if another was made. I'm fine either way.
As for the Crow LOVE IT!! It should have stayed a one off because of Lee's death. But had he lived, I'm sure it would have been spun out into sequel after disappointing sequel.
Call me wrong for saying this but, he's lucky he died in that sense, so he wouldn't have been saddled with those horrible sequels.
I don't envy movie makers one bit. It's like Radio today. They play all the crap that sells over and over but outright ignore the really good music that's out there. According to radio by the number of plays and unit sales, Lil' Wayne's the greatest thing since......well ever. And that's OBVIOUSLY not the case.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:16:38 PM

@ Bunny - yeah i know what you mean about Lee, most actors grow old and die after making a whole bunch of sh*tty movies, he got his crappy movies out of the way then showed us what he was capable of before bowing out in his prime, much like his dad.

Would be interesting if there was a cinema that ONLY played requests, im guessing it would be a nice place to hang out!
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:22:53 PM

@AYT hahaha Theaters On Demmand? Well that's why I tend to avoid the theaters in general nowdays. Unless it's a good flick that compells me to go see it or just a reason to go out and have a good time. I'm much better off NetFlix'ing it later on.
There was a small local theater around my home many moons ago that did show select movies but it has long since closed. Due in part to how the box office demon lures over every movie.
You truly have to label your cinema an "art house" in order to stay open and show indies and foreign films.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:46:20 PM

@ Bunny - lol yeah, and i cant stand the art house crowd! Ok note to self, win lotto then open cool on demand cinema! :-) happy days!
AYT BALL writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:50:50 PM

FANBOY FLIX!! opening soon! lol
rocketman writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:54:22 PM

It came in first at the box office after all. f*ck the haters.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 4:11:05 PM

@ Rocket hahahaha! sweet!
minkowski writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 4:17:20 PM

Titanic made 1.8 **BILLION**. Nuff said.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 4:23:22 PM

@ mink - lol.....just lol!
encoreyourface writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 4:43:12 PM

Sam da preacher man-"by this disgraceful lack of respect for the well being of a lovely... athletic.... young....oh so young....girl! mmmm...."

LOL!!!
Canadianmade writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 5:14:19 PM

@Joshmihaly - you should not judge people for being Christian. I am a Christian and I enjoyed Kick-Ass thoroughly. No one judges you for having a Will Ferrell avatar.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 5:18:12 PM

@ Canadianmade - When he said "faggoty ass Christian" i think he just means the preachy ones, thats how it comes across to me in context anyway.

Glad you liked it though :-)
Canadianmade writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 5:24:07 PM

Thanks AYT. I guess I can see that but being what I am I felt the need to clear the air before the WP witch hunt starts :)
AYT BALL writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 5:29:02 PM

lol nah! everyones entitled to their beliefs bud.
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 6:14:58 PM

So now Kick-Ass if officially #1 in the BO according to Box Office Mojo...
encoreyourface writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 6:48:29 PM

yeah i think that's what he meant by Christians @Canadianmade

and if it isn't then he was being stupid because i'm also christian and i love blood and gore cussing and well ... you've all read my posts.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 6:49:57 PM

but hey let's not get into religious debate. they're hell over the internet and never go anywhere.
steamluv writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:20:26 PM

CNN just reported that "Kick-Ass" actually took first place. It beat 'Dragon' by about $200,000.
DetroitFanRick writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 3:30:34 AM

Ok. SamuelClayton and John Zee didn't like Kick-ass. Writing it down for posterity....done. Moving on
takai writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 3:48:28 AM

Woah woah woah. How the f*ck did I miss Mink's return? Damn.
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 5:57:05 AM

@SofaKing
well i did say it wasnt the greatest but i loved it so it earned the right to be my new avatar for awhile plus BIG DADDY is the sh*t. your cool too.
seveltoto writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 1:39:19 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved