WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Paul Verhoeven Drops Out of "Thomas Crown Affair" Sequel

Posted: April 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Paul Verhoeven Drops Out of "Thomas Crown Affair" SequelSubmit Comment
We've been hearing about "The Thomas Crown Affair" sequel for many years now. At one point things began moving quickly when Pierce Brosnan had agreed to return and rumors emerged that Angelina Jolie would co-star. Then "Robocop" director Paul Verhoeven signed on to helm, but a sequel was clearly never made.

To find out what happened, MTV News caught up with Verhoeven. "I am not [involved] anymore," he said. "Things happened there, the regime changed. The initial ideas that they had about 'Thomas Crown 2' were interesting I thought. There was a script written by two young writers that used the fact that now we're living 15, 20 years later."

He continued: "Ultimately, [the studio] decided not to [use] that script anymore. Then there was a regime change. And basically I felt that I could not follow [on the project]."

Just because Verhoeven is off the project, doesn't mean that the sequel is doomed. But since the studio threw away a decent script and Brosnan is not getting any younger, it's likely that a remake is all we can look forward to. Stay tuned.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 5:59:08 AM

Why doing anything with this movie? It was a remake to begin with, remaking it again is completly unnecessary (which makes it likely). And why a sequel? Was this a hit on the box-office? Is a sequel wanted?
encoreyourface writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 6:06:30 AM

omg like Paul Verhoeveron dropped out? zonkgerz!!!

sh*t i really don't care ... still yet to see the first and don't plan too ...
trailertrash writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 8:25:36 AM

@freud- it was a good movie for pierce brosnan in between bond and did ok at the box-office , not worth making another one and it wasn't as good as the steve mcqueen version either.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 8:48:21 AM

I enjoyed the first movie and it sure as hell didn't need a sequel. Verhoeven needs to move on to "Showgirls 3 " and save that stellar franchise.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 9:02:53 AM

there is no saving that franchise. not with the sh*t we've seen.
CCBlev writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 9:42:32 AM

@Encore
Have hope, I know they can turn Showgirls around and make it a smash hit with all the 3D CGI titties.
If they do make a sequal bc they probably will, f*ck Hollywood, I'm not seeing it.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 10:07:26 AM

@encoreyourface-Showgirls is so worth saving. They just need to put the Loslag in it and in five years time, we'll see Showgirls Lunchboxes and Bed Sheets with her face on it. Can't wait!!!
encoreyourface writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 10:30:13 AM

CC-i figured they would do something of that sort ... which i don't mind. in fact i applaud it.

ActionFigure-lol, i hope they make pillows out of them for ... f*cking.
DeVries writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 10:40:36 AM

Now do Robocops Troopers you f*cking Verhoeven!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:50:08 AM

That's good, no drop the whole idea.
darkraven28 writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 4:01:02 PM

Hey, MGM!!!
SCREWWWWWWWWWWW YOUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU!!!!
seveltoto writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 1:39:24 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved