WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robert De Niro on "Taxi Driver" Sequel

Posted: April 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robert De Niro on "Taxi Driver" SequelSubmit Comment
About two months ago, we learned that Robert De Niro and director Martin Scorsese have been talking about re-teaming for several new films, including a "Taxi Driver" sequel.

"I have talked to ['Taxi Driver'] writer Paul Schrader and Marty [Scorsese]," De Niro told MTV News. "We've spoken about what would happen to Travis these years later. We had a thing and we tried to figure it out; Paul was trying to come up with something. And it just didn't seem to work."

Despite problems coming up with an idea for the sequel, De Niro added that he would love for a second movie to be made. "You never know - something could come up. I thought it would be interesting to find a way to bring Travis back all these years later - maybe with something ironic about where he'd end up, as he did in the first one. All these years later, maybe we could. It's still possible."

The 1976 film was nominated for four Oscars, including Best Actor (De Niro), Best Supporting Actress (Jodie Foster) and Best Picture.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rocketman writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 5:57:07 AM

Just leave it be.It won't be as good.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 6:01:37 AM

I thought Travis died in the first one? And yes, you should leave this classic untainted. I that DeNiro would like the work, but Scorsese? No...
encoreyourface writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 6:04:12 AM

uh, a BIT late for a sequel ...
Aingx writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 6:44:34 AM

No Freaudian, Travis ended up going to the hospital, became famous for saving the girl/killing the pimps, then went back to being a taxi driver.

Still...might be interesting to see where the story would lead.
trailertrash writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 7:44:44 AM

Not sure about this one , maybe best to leave well alone.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 8:55:59 AM

There are a lot of great possibilites for a sequel...But, do we really need one? No we don't just like all those years ago when they wanted to do a Scarface sequel? And look how that turned out...
encoreyourface writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 10:27:17 AM

how thew f*ck could they do a Scarface sequel? would it be about the miracle of him surviving and being a vegetable? or perhaps his freind who got his legs cut off lived and rides around in one of those scooters all day BEING A BITCH AND TAKING f*ckING FOREVER TO GET ON THE DAMN BUS!!! (i f*cking hate it when that happens, taking up 3 f*cking chairs for their damn f*cking scooter!!!!)
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 11:35:47 AM

GO AWAY, THIS IS THE ABSOLUTE ONLY FILM THAT SHOULD NEVER HAVE A SEQUEL.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 1:49:14 PM

@encoreyourface-The plan was that michelle pfiffer's character was preggers when Tony died in a hail of gunfire and a face full of nose candy. The movie was supposed to be set in 2003 and the kid would be grown and take the same path as his deceased father. I wish I was making this up.
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 1:57:20 PM

Terrible idea... no way would this work... and if they decide to remake/"reboot" this... i'll boycott the film
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 2:22:05 PM

@ Aingx: Actually, Travis dying *is* a popular interpretation of the oddly upbeat ending. Many people believe that those final scenes were Travis' dream as he was bleeding to death.
Rodan writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 4:35:37 PM

Samuel, I've heard that interpretation too. The writer himself said he didn't die, and yet I read in other forums guys making their case that he did.

My thinking is that Travis wouldn't live to be as old as De Niro is in the first place. He was not "cured" at the end of the movie, and I was thinking that his days of violence weren't over. So therefore, I'm kinda against a sequel. Just my thoughts.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 6:00:43 PM

The only way it would work ... work with me here ... is if Travis had a grandson who got tore up in the Iraqi war ... and he decided to go ape-sh*t and take out George W Bush and d*ck Cheney ... all the while his dingy apartment had conspiracy theory doc*ments about the war .... ala ' Conspiracy Theory ' ...
encoreyourface writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 6:25:45 PM

ACTIONGIGURE-that's pretty lame,lol.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 6:31:53 PM

A sequel to Scarface ? Isn't that just every movie J Lo produces or stars in ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 8:26:53 PM

Travis Bickle takes a sniper rifle to the office buildings across Wall Street ... hmmmm
Eben1277 writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 12:17:52 AM

Max, that sniper rifle idea could work. In the film as well as in real life, they're the real f*ckkingb criminals.
Eben1277 writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 12:17:53 AM

Max, that sniper rifle idea could work. In the film as well as in real life, they're the real f*ckkingb criminals.
VDODSON writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:15:11 AM

Max, that sniper rifle idea could work. In the film as well as in real life, they're the real f*ckkingb criminals.
VDODSON writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 9:15:21 AM

Max, that sniper rifle idea could work. In the film as well as in real life, they're the real f*ckkingb criminals.


BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 2:04:21 PM

Loved the film and I'm VERY skeptical they could even pull off a sequel.
In order to do it right there's too many questions to answer.
Mainly, how did he make it to the age DeNiro is now considering how he was.
In today's world, the writers are just too f'ing lazy to really make a sequel beleiveable in my opinion.
Not to mention the fact that this film is fine as a one off.
darkraven28 writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 3:57:44 PM

I'm too tired to count the amount of words in my following title but you'll get the idea:

Taxi Driver And The Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull.

You get the idea. Says it all, don't it?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 10:58:59 PM

They'll probably make a prequel or use Jodi Foster (which doesn't make sense since she was in The Brave One, which ripped off Death Wish) ... your right. Leave it alone, Marty.
Moose756 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 12:56:32 PM

here is the sequel Travis is still driving a taxi The End
OmgArbysAgain writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 8:20:54 PM

I've always liked the "Travis is dead and the end is his dying dream" angle, so I give this idea a big *fart noise*

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved