WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

John Malkovich Blames Himself for "Spider-Man 4" Falling Apart

Posted: April 16th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
John Malkovich Blames Himself for "Spider-Man 4" Falling ApartSubmit Comment
Back when Sam Raimi was still developing the fourth "Spider-Man" movie, he wanted to have the Vulture as the main villain in the movie. Sony obviously wanted a more popular character for Spidey to do battle with, which is probably why the entire film fell apart and the studio decided to reboot the franchise.

At the time, it was rumored that John Malkovich would play the Vulture. Now, Collider caught up with Malkovich, who confirmed the rumor, but added that he was probably the reason why Sony and Raimi couldn't work things out.

"I never really spoke with Sam [Raimi] about this, but maybe the fanboys either didn't approve of that character as an adversary for [Spider-Man] to some extent, or maybe the studio," said Malkovich. "Or maybe that was totally unrelated to why it fell apart."

He went on to say if "Spider-Man 4" would have proceeded as planned, he would have loved to play the Vulture. After all, he came really close to playing the Green Goblin in the first film.

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Mudders writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 9:41:22 PM

dont blame yourself john for sony and raimi's inability to make a decent movie...they ruined it after part 3 anyways....
CCBlev writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 9:45:03 PM

f*cking Sony's fualt, f*ck them!!
SofaKing writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 9:55:12 PM

If it is Johns fault then I owe that man a beer, good job sir!
Lowryder writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 9:56:31 PM

i f*cking hate sony for rebooting this franchise, now justin bieber will prolly end up playing spidey..
RickPeters writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 10:25:25 PM

The idea of Raimi not being able to continue and finish his Spider-man story still stings. Say what you will about the 3rd movie, but it's not nearly as bad as people say. It's actually a solid movie. But worst of all, it leaves things unresolved at the end, and we'll never see what happens.

I've loved Spider-man my whole life, from the comics to the Fox Kids cartoon to Raimi's movies, but now, I've completely lost interest.
SofaKing writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 10:35:40 PM

Well rick I think you deserve to know how it was going to end. Sam is a friend of mine and he told me that Mary Jane gets bitten by a radioactive Praying Mantis and after she has sex with Peter Parker she bites his head off... They decided to go a different route than the comics.
Dark writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 10:38:35 PM

Spider-Man 3 sucked balls. I don't want sony to handle the franchise anymore. Just give the f*cking rights back to marvel. And let them solve spidey out.
masht7 writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 10:50:27 PM

I just hope Sony's not paying him to say this sh*t. Malkovich is a great actor, I don't blame him.
johnny_boy writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 11:05:49 PM

Sony is going to regret rebooting SM. Mark my words
masht7 writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 11:09:18 PM

@Johnny

No sh*t.
simplytyson writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 11:50:01 PM

come on cancel the reboot sony and go back to the vulture and spider man 4 and get everyone back. Sam i think was heading in the right direction for spidey 4 but dammit sony, who really cares how popular the villain is its got a good actor and you ruined what you had which could have been good but the reboot is probably gonna suck worse than 3.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 11:52:15 PM

mudders-Raimi was forced into cramming all the crap into Spider-man 3 i'm pretty sure, but yes blame Sony which can rot in f*cking hell.
Ranger writes:
on April 17th, 2010 at 12:34:20 AM

Maybe that was the most maybe's I have ever seen in a paragraph... maybe!
wonderBOY writes:
on April 17th, 2010 at 12:37:46 AM

he should blame himself for being in transformers 3
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 17th, 2010 at 1:54:58 AM

dafoe is the green goblin and only he can be him
Dr. Acula writes:
on April 17th, 2010 at 3:44:41 AM

John, stay awesome. The d*cks at Sony are the ones to blame.
jdl107 writes:
on April 17th, 2010 at 5:06:46 AM

"dont blame yourself john for sony and raimi's inability to make a decent movie...they ruined it after part 3 anyways...."

Mudders. . . for real? C'mon dude.

Anyway, he doesn't really seem to be blaming himself. Just saying exactly what everybodys been saying ever since Raimi suggested Vulture be the villain. And he's right, that choice probably wouldn't have had universal appeal.
But yeah. . . you need to learn how to write a f*ckin headline Alex.
Bigcheese writes:
on April 17th, 2010 at 5:58:49 AM

Vulture would of been great, anyone play the latest Spiderman Game? He was awseome in that and would of being better in a film.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 17th, 2010 at 6:09:55 AM

Only person to blame for this is the TWAT!! at Sony that did'nt allow Raimi to redeem himself after the clossal f*ck up that was Spider-Man 3.

Also I don't think Anton Yelchin or Jesse Eisenberg should stay as far away as possible from any kind of reboot, they are good actors and should'nt be tainted by the giant sh*tburger that's going to be the new Spider-Man film.

darkraven28 writes:
on April 17th, 2010 at 7:28:15 AM

Um, yeah. Let's reboot Spiderman with Zac Efron and Lindsay Lohan. Sounds like a GRRRRREAT idea. (sarcasm perSONifIIIIIIED)
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 17th, 2010 at 8:48:12 AM

@darkraven28- you were'nt serious about that???
Don't get my hopes up man!!!!












I was being sarcastic lol
DeVries writes:
on April 17th, 2010 at 10:53:26 AM

You are wrong, Malkovich. Blame f*cking Michael Bay instead.
rabid writes:
on April 17th, 2010 at 12:19:57 PM

I think Malkovich got it right. I can see the studio not trusting the Vulture to fill theatre seats, and they're right. Raimi should've went with Mysterio!
I'm still mourning the Raimi Spider-man films, all of which I enjoyed. I'm really not interested in seeing an Ultimate SPider-Man movie. That series is terrible and childish.
ZenShark writes:
on April 17th, 2010 at 10:29:57 PM

dead horse. stop beating it.
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 2:29:06 AM

its sonys fault sm3 sucked because they just ruin the directos point of view. since they reboted it i am done with spiderman if they cast gay bieber or efron. but i think jack gylinhal or the kid from gamer could replace tobey. carnage is the best villain
Mudders writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 6:03:59 PM

@ jdl

yeah after part 3 it was f*cked...in that i mean part 3 was done poorly and ruined it (well it did for me)
for me in respect to the whole franchise...it was just too much of a kids movie to take seriously...unlike batman begins etc...if they had done it in that type of cinematic format then i may have enjoyed it more...just my thoughts though
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 11:03:43 PM

Mr. Malkovich, I order you to destroy all of Marvel ... do it now!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 11:29:05 PM

I personally blame Stan " The Man who can't seem to stay out of these f*in movies " Lee, that whoring hasbeen
Captainharlan writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 1:55:16 PM

Ok. Spider-Man 3 was not great , but it wasn't the dog feces that "Batman and Robin ' was. As someone on this board pointed out Spider-man 3 wasn't actually that bad. I've watched it twice and its entertaining. People need to stop ripping on it liek it was "Gigli" cause it wasn't that bad. I wish Sony had made Spidey 4 and then rebooted after.
dman500 writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 12:26:44 PM

i agree that the failure of spiderman 3 does not fall on raimi, but on the studio that forced him to juggle too many characters. i think he did the best with what he had to deal with. venom is more than enough for one movie, there was no need to add sandman...he just muddied the waters.

too bad, it was a great series. i fear this reboot will totally stink. spidey is my most beloved hero and deserves better than a weak tween reboot.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved