WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Avatar" Being Re-Released This Weekend

Posted: April 16th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Avatar" Being Re-Released This WeekendSubmit Comment
James Cameron believes that "Avatar" was kicked-out of IMAX theaters too early, in order to make room for "Alice in Wonderland." He has stated that the movie needs to be re-released in order to squeeze out more money out of it.

Apparently 20th Century Fox agrees, since "Avatar" has been announced to be re-released in IMAX 3D theaters this weekend (April 16th and 17th) in 61 theaters in 29 cities. Unfortunately, there is only one showing per theater, per day. And the showings are only at night, usually after 11pm.

Meanwhile, "Avatar" has surpassed $100 million in box office at IMAX theaters overseas. Domestically, IMAX screenings brought in $128 million, for a worldwide total of $228 million. Clearly that's not enough, so go check out the movie this weekend.

Click here to read our "Avatar" review.

Source: THR, AMC


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Vin12 writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 6:07:32 AM

f*ckin idiots=fox and cameron let other movies have their time. i hate hwood
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 7:34:15 AM

This is morally reprehensible!
Aingx writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 7:54:49 AM

"Why won't you DIE!!!"
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 8:09:42 AM

Well, now we know this is an ego driven film.
Ranma-Irias writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 8:16:14 AM

yeah because 2.4 billions is not enough - i understand while other movies that flop never get a second chance -_-"


LOL ok evilkev2 u made me laugh hard with that one! Nice hit! :p
CCBlev writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 9:54:01 AM

If I read where Avatar was #1 this weekend over Kick-Ass I'm gonna go apesh*t.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 10:00:03 AM

um didn't he make enough money off this already? this is just unnecessary
trailertrash writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 10:04:49 AM

@cc- he nearly had a full sentence there bless him...

@vin if avatar has a successful weekend (which i doubt) the people make it so not the studios or film makers , If you dont want to watch it go see something else I.E Kickass ,

Come on hwood please ....
CCBlev writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 10:11:13 AM

@Trailer
Hooked on Phonics is really paying off for him. Personally I love Hooked on Ebonics, but thats just me.
Stuntastic writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 10:42:26 AM

@CC: I agree with u on the Kick-Ass thing. That would suck massive monkey balls if Avatar beat them out. Jimmy u had your chance now give Kick-Ass some time to shine. Hell, Avatar comes out next week anyway so y not just wait if u need to c it that bad plus if u don't have a 3D TV Avatar will not b the same anyway
Moose756 writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 10:47:41 AM

this movie will be in the top ten box office gross for the weekend. And cameron just keeps getting richer its crazy how greedy people can be
CCBlev writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 11:25:23 AM

@Stunt
It's one thing if George Lucas wants re release Star Wars-A New Hope. Id be cool with that, yes he's milking his franchise but its been a long time since it's been relased theatrically. But Avatar, f*ck off Cameron!! you just had it in theatres, its coming out on Dvd Tuesday, there is no call for this to released again this weekend, other than to make your already fat pockets fatter!!
rabid writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 12:37:13 PM

This would be cool if it comes back tomy town. I know plenty of people who still wanted to see it in theatres and didn't get around to it in the first place. I think it's a great idea, since the movie fits large theatre much better than home theatres.
Roadimus writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 12:47:39 PM

f*ck James Cameron up his greedy ass!!!
I still have not seen Avatar, nor will I ever do so, as well as not seeing any other film this greedy c*cksucker ever makes again. He is just pissed because his ex-wife won an award by beating his movie. Sorry Captain *sshole, but her movie was better apparently. Do the world a favor, choke on your f*cking millions you douche bag.
rocketman writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 1:09:25 PM

That c*nt with the blue face in that photo needs a slap.
Ranger writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 1:47:54 PM

@steaknugget26 - LOL... I like a person that can embrace the 'mother jokes!' Nice work!

And Avatar wasn't 'kicked out of IMAX too early' ... it had it's scheduled run. Cameron knew Alice was c*mming from behind (insert joke here). He KNEW he had a limited window. But I will say when I went to see it I told my friend IMAX would see it again soon.

Don't blame Cameron for greed folks. ANY of us would do EXACTLY the SAME thing were we in the same position. The movie is already made. The Avatards are having withdrawals. It's NO extra work for Cameron. And if someone called you up (IMAX) asking if they could run your already finished movie some more and you're pocket another $100 million in your pocket (to Cameron alone... more to the studio)... I'd love to hear from any sane person on here that would say no. I think they should run those 11PM shows as long as they can. Money is money. Why turn it down?

And Lohan is a whore.
Stuntastic writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 2:07:49 PM

@Ranger: I understand where ur coming from, but at what point does it turn into greed. I mean like CC and I have been saying it's still coming out next week on DVD so it's not like he's gonna miss any revenue from it being in theaters. I'm pretty sure the DVD and Blu-ray sales will more than make up for it if it didn't re-release.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 2:08:23 PM

Clearly its fans who are gonna go see this. Its after 11 PM, who else would go find an imax theater to see that late a showing? Sounds more like fan appeasement/taking advantage of fan 'withdrawals'. Is that really a bad thing? If it were Nolan's Batman 3 3D re-release late at night so fans could see it and the studio could make a bit more, would anyone have anything to say?
Ranger writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 2:18:32 PM

@Stunt - of course it's greed. Greed is good. Greed gets you a job, buys your car, pays for your food.

And if you were selling something for a million $'s and someone came around offering you $1.5 million for it... would you say, 'No thanks... just the million please.' ... or would you be 'greedy' and take the extra half million they're offering?

I suspect you'd do the same Cameron is doing were you in the same position (I sure as hell would). Plus he's giving Avatar to the fans, in the ONLY format worth seeing it in: IMAX 3D. Because he's smart enough to know there are a pile of people out there like me that liked the movie, but will ONLY see it in IMAX as the 2D sucks and I'll never buy that DVD. He knows that.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 2:22:48 PM

Oh and as far as box office numbers go it looks like theres only gonna be about 120-something showings of this, so it even hitting the top ten sounds about impossible. In fact, its so little money in the face of whats its already made that its laughable to suggest the studio is being greedy by doing it. f*cking pennies by comparison!
Ranger writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 2:28:55 PM

Plus if I spent 5+ years of my life stressing over a project like this... I'd milk this whore for all she's worth!
Blank x2 writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 2:29:58 PM

Thank you, Ranger.

Anybody on here who says they wouldn't do the same thing to make a couple hundred million more dollars is ignorant. I'd do it in a heartbeat, and laugh all the way to the bank at people complaining about it.

If you have a problem with it, don't go see it. Simple as that.
Ranger writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 2:33:48 PM

@Money - exactly. I think this is a test bed for Avatar to occupy that 11PM slot for loyal fans for a while (after this short run). I think Cameron is pushing for regular time slots like he had before... and this little test will prove to those making such decisions he should get it. It'll be like Wednesday is Avatar night at IMAX!
Ranger writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 3:15:54 PM

@Blank - well people complain for Director's like Bay taking the easy way out and cranking our regular commercial tripe (albeit successful tripe)... yet don't appreciate when a visionary like Cameron takes the path less traveled, steps outside the box (and before anyone posts, I already know the storyline for Avatar isn't original... if you're looking to pick... start with your nose), and brings something (visually) unique to the audience.

So pick your battles folks. If you hate Bay for cranking out regular explosive, mind-numbing movies, AND hate Cameron for bringing something new... you're just a complainer. Like Avatar or Titanic or not... there's a reason people do like them, and have paid the $'s to see them. Cameron's wealth, greed are all well-earned.

And if you owned an IMAX theater yourself and something like Avatar came along (finally) that put asses in the seats like this movie did... you'd be out washing Cameron's car too.
Ranger writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 3:43:14 PM

The girl in that pic... no make-up on her neck.

She looks like an Avatard Mime!
CCBlev writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 4:17:31 PM

@Ranger
Avatar Mime lol Thats gonna be the next thing now.
disturbed01 writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 6:43:16 PM

f*ckin nerds...
Ranger writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 7:51:46 PM

@CC - Avatar Mimes... trying to get out of Pandora's... Box?!

It didn't have to be said... but I couldn't leave that one on the table.
masht7 writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 8:56:07 PM

'If you dont want to watch it go see something else I.E Kickass'

I don't think Vinny is allowed to see any of these movies CC.
Left On The Moss writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 9:08:27 PM

Man, why do you guys on this site get so ANGRY all of the time?
CCBlev writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 9:47:48 PM

@Masht7
Hell Vinny's not even allowed to see the sun.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 17th, 2010 at 12:12:00 AM

oh yay!!! i can't beleive how much I don't care!

f*ck off Cameron,though you must be a movie genius stop forcing this blue waffle down our throats. and on another note f*ck off Weaver you feminist bitch. someone should sow your mouth up c*nt.
Ranger writes:
on April 17th, 2010 at 12:59:18 AM

@Left On The Moss - f*ck YOU!!!!





(I couldn't resist).
encoreyourface writes:
on April 17th, 2010 at 1:42:18 AM

i agree Ranger Left on The Moss(where the f*ck did you get such a username?) can go be gay any where else.

and if you must know we are all so 'angry' because every single one of us is hulking out. duh.
trailertrash writes:
on April 17th, 2010 at 4:10:51 AM

@ranger: And if you owned an IMAX theater yourself and something like Avatar came along (finally) that put asses in the seats like this movie did... you'd be out washing Cameron's car

Great point i would show that movie from now until the end of time if it was making me money !!!




DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 17th, 2010 at 5:42:38 AM

I knw I said this on the Star Wars thread but here goes.

"Hello, are you a dead horse??" Cameron
"Yes, I am why?" Dead Horse
"Hold still while I flog you" Cameron
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 17th, 2010 at 5:44:19 AM

and yes guys I knw it's a very rich dead horse, and yes given the chance I'd flog that horse just like Vin get's flogged by his dad's d*ck.
Ranger writes:
on April 17th, 2010 at 3:28:54 PM

@trailer - exactly. The movie is already made. The work is done. And they're coming back to Cameron to say: 'Would you like to make some more millions?' Who in their right mind would say 'no'?!
ian_918 writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 12:44:54 AM

f*ck AVATAR.
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 2:40:37 AM

avatar f*ckin sucks and like they need more money my god.
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 2:44:13 AM

and so he can blow ppl for there 20 dollar tickets f*ck him if tickets were not 20 to 30 dollars it would not be that big. try and understant what i am talking about. anybody agree.
steaknugget26 writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 7:15:23 AM

@Ranger...seemed like the right thing to do.
steaknugget26 writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 7:18:02 AM

@Rocketman...i see two c*nts with blue faces in this pic
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 8:46:05 AM

@rocketman- are you talking about the c*nt who actually has a blue face or James Cameron??

Coz I could punch them both, and steaknugget I think there is three c*nts there, but only one of them is rich....lol
steaknugget26 writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 3:32:14 PM

@Dave-i'm trying to come up with a new word for Cameron....i think he's a (censored)...oh yeah, it's that bad!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 1:38:51 AM

@steak- whatever name you come up with make sure the word "rich" is in there somewhere.
TRUEMAN writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 2:31:12 AM

f*ck this sh*t, f*cking SAm W. lovers they are killing the industry!
warlord writes:
on April 19th, 2010 at 11:03:20 AM

milk them blue titys

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved