WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robert De Niro Reveals Plan for Martin Scorsese's "The Irishman"

Posted: April 15th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robert De Niro Reveals Plan for Martin ScorseseSubmit Comment
It has been a few years since we first heard about Robert De Niro and director Martin Scorsese re-teaming for "The Irishman" mobster drama, based on Charles Brandt's "I Heard You Paint Houses" book.

MTV News has now caught up with De Niro, who tried to explain the plan for the movie. Unfortunately, he is not quite sure what he got himself into, but he'll be playing hitman Frank Sheeran.

"It's a very simple, terrific story about [mobster Frank Sheeran], who supposedly killed [Jimmy] Hoffa and Joe Gallo and so on," said De Niro. "We have a script. And we have a more ambitious idea, hopefully, to make it a two-part type of film or two films. It's an idea that came about from Eric Roth (Forrest Gump, Benjamin Button) to combine these movies using the footage from 'Paint Houses' to do another kind of a [film that is] reminiscent of a kind of '8 1/2,' 'La Dolce Vita,' [a] certain kind of biographical, semi-biographical type of Hollywood movie a director and the actor based on things Marty and I have experienced and kind of overlapping them."

He added: "Steve Zaillian (Schindler's List) wrote the first script, which is terrific. The other part, Eric [Roth] is supposed to do it. And we're hoping to move these things together."

The new movie revolves around Frank "The Irishman" Sheeran, who is reputed to have carried out more than 25 mob murders. The book's title (I Heard You Paint Houses) refers to mob slang for contract killings, and the resulting blood splatter on walls and floors.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SofaKing writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 7:55:01 PM

It's like Depp and Burton except these guys keep getting better... I love it when they team up.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 8:11:23 PM

"Steve Zaillian (Schindler's List)"

well if it's got a guy from Schindler's list it must be ab action movie, right COC?

good idea i guess, doubt I'll watch in theaters though but if it gets good reviews I'll rent it.
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 8:23:18 PM

god damn i've been waiting forever to hear more about this. They need to team up n do this NEXT! will be 23456x better then shutter island... also i think they should keep the title "I Heard You Paint Houses" instead of "The Irishman".
CCBlev writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 8:46:56 PM

I'm with ya on that one Encore, could be worth a rental.
BobMcBob writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 9:15:11 PM

de niro's washed up; scorsese needs to avoid him
SACdaddy writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 9:28:24 PM

It will be great whenever it comes around. DeNiro and Marty never fail together. I smell some Oscars brewing.

@encore: Why the f*ck would you skip seeing a Scorsese mob movie at the theater (especially one starring DeNiro as a killer)? You do like quality films right? I know there's no men in tights or CGI pixies floating around, but come on! If the average fan can't pay $8 for these kinds of films, Hwood will stop making them and we'll get stuck with preditable crap like Shutter Island.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 9:40:11 PM

SAC-i really don't watch a lot of films in theaters. a couple every year that's it. and pretty much everything i've seen in theaters was something based on a comic or book, a new addition to a film series a like, a reboot (of usually one of the above) or something that really grabs my attention. this does not. if i'm not exited over it i can wait a couple months for DVD release why waste 8 bucks?
lost_addict writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 10:15:34 PM

come one...we all know scorseze will end up casting dicaprio again...
KirkLazerus writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 10:30:34 PM

i wanna see some Joe Pesci in this film or no dice
jdl107 writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 10:43:24 PM

Is 25 even a reason to drop jaws for?
RickPeters writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 12:23:47 AM

If I'm correctly understanding what DeNiro is saying, this could turn out to be a really interesting movie. And DeNiro and Scorsese together have never made a bad movie (Even New York New York had it's moments)
RickPeters writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 12:24:14 AM

a bad movie TOGETHER...I shoulda said.
trailertrash writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 2:22:40 AM

These 2 working together is movie gold as far as i'm concerned and if they are making a gangster film even better.

For me Goodfella's is the greatest gangster film ever made , just beats Godfather 1&2 and once upon a time in america....

@kirk- would be good to see the little man back in this movie..
trailertrash writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 2:25:32 AM

@rick- just was thinking the same thing myself , new york new york is their weakest film together but it's still an ok movie..
Rodan writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 2:35:54 AM

trailer, so you liked Once Upon a Time in America? I'm a pretty big Leone fan, as well as a De Niro fan, but I've never really found 4 hours of free time to check it out. I might have to look into it.
trailertrash writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 3:07:35 AM

@roden- It is a really good movie as you say long but it's well worth it, i love a good movie you can just immerse yourself in.

I have seen a couple of different versions , the one i last watched was the special edition which was 3hrs 40 and if sergio had his way he shot footage that would have had the film running over 7 hrs (not sure if that version has been on the tv over 2 nights), it can be a bit slow in parts, but De niro , woods, connelly and william forsythe are awesome and little joe pesci pops up too.

I like sergio Leone too and for a guy who really has only directed a handful of movies he's had an impact on pretty much anyone who is making movie today.

Enjoy...
trailertrash writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 3:46:32 AM

Wish scorsese would make this now instead of that 3D Hugo Cabret ...
Salvador writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 12:40:17 PM


The last movies of Martin Scorsese suck.

"Casino", "Goodfellas","Cape Fear", "The Last Temptation of Christ" and "Raging Bull" are so far the best movies ever done.
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 4:31:03 PM

@Salvador
Really my friend, your not even gonna mention The Departed?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved