WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joss Whedon to Re-Write "The Avengers" Script

Posted: April 15th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joss Whedon to Re-Write "The Avengers" ScriptSubmit Comment
We just learned that Joss Whedon (Serenity) is in final negotiations with Marvel Studios to direct "The Avengers," and now comes news that he will also re-work the completed script by Zack Penn. The goal is for Whedon to put his own touch on the story. That's probably a good idea, considering that Penn is the man behind "Elektra" and "Fantastic Four."

Whedon, a favorite among fanboys, most recently penned the script for the horror film "Cabin in the Woods." The movie co-stars Chris Hemsworth, who plays the hammer-wielding Thor. Whedon also has a long-standing relationship with Marvel, having written "Astonishing X-Men" for the company.

"The Avengers" will star Robert Downey Jr. (as Iron Man), Chris Evans (Captain America), Hemsworth (Thor), Scarlett Johansson (The Black Widow) and Samuel L. Jackson (Nick Fury). Edward Norton may also return as the Hulk. The film hits theaters on May 4th, 2012.

Click here to read more about "The Avengers."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
telur writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 5:25:08 AM

One thing for sure. Tony Stark will be the lead.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 5:30:23 AM

Well, it makes sense, since Iron Man is their biggest movie. I'm getting excited for this the more I hear about it. I'm sure Whed will spin out some gold.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 5:40:22 AM

That's probably a good idea, considering that Penn is the man behind "Elektra" and "Fantastic Four."


lol! good one Alex!

it makes f*cking sense he'd rewrite it considering he's the director and all. i don't mind at all.
Sev writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 5:51:54 AM

NOOOOOOOOOO!!!
masht7 writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 6:09:39 AM

This news is actually giving me hopes for this movie. Don't screw up Mr. Whedon like when COCy and Vinny 'screw up' there smal 3 year old penises.
johnny_boy writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 6:17:51 AM

Good start to this film. f*ck zak penn
trailertrash writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 6:25:58 AM

Zack penn will be gutted he had some ideas not used in his Inspector Gadget script that were going into this !! lol

Think this will a good thing for the movie ...
Lizardking515 writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 6:32:27 AM

Wow...zack penn??? WHAT THE f*ck MARVEL, HE f*ckED UP ELECTRA AND FF4. Bet he found out chris evans was captain america and wrote him his own cameo as johnny storm cuz he's that f*cking bad of a writter.
Captain america: I see a bright light in the sky what is that?
Iron Man: oh I forgot to tell you I took a massive sh*t last nite. It created an exact copy of you set on fire.
Captain America:.....oh.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 6:43:37 AM

Probably the only good thing Zak Penn has ever written was the script for PCU. Let's not forget, he also gave us that sh*t storm, "X-Men: The Last Stand." And if it wasn't for Edward Norton, who knows how bad "The Inceredible Hulk" would have turned out?
johnny_boy writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 6:45:33 AM

I like how he wrote for astonishing x men. I'm sure somewhere down the line he had worked with members of the avengers in it at some point. With him rewritting the script, dare I say, I may be coming around on him being director
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 6:46:41 AM

I'm a big fan of Whedon writing this movie. I've said it countless times, anyone that is worried, just go pick up the "Astonishing X-Men" trade paperbacks. Stories about unique individuals being a team is what he does best.
deepnshit writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 7:36:12 AM

go, whedon!
deepnshit writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 7:36:37 AM

forgot to add- Summer Glau's tits please!
SACdaddy writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 8:05:04 AM

Zack Penn wrote the original draft of the Avengers?!?! Who the f*ck is running things out there? Wonder if this was the screenplay Joe Quesadas was j*zzing all over. Well I've been hard on Whedon but it sounds like he's making great decisions and cleaning up the mess at Marvel already. Maybe can try helping out the CA trainwreck while he's at it.
CCBlev writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 8:10:34 AM

They may yet be hope. Then again Vin said last night about escaping the basement and was caught once again by daddy.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 8:30:20 AM

Great news, as far as i know hes the first comic book writer to actually have some direct creative input into any of these movies, could be just what we are looking for
BigUnit writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 8:44:02 AM

trainwreck buds?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 8:47:05 AM

Zak Penn must be sucking some serious Marvel-d*ck to keep getting job there.
BigUnit writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 9:25:29 AM

they need the writters from the original X-men film.
Moose756 writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 10:07:57 AM

I really hope Ed norton signs on to do this film.
KirkLazerus writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 10:16:12 AM

hell yeah RDJ as the lead
tcu21 writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 10:22:57 AM

This is why this development is awesome:

Zak Penn wrote the first draft to the first crap Hulk film and then the first draft to the 2nd good Hulk film. Now I know what you're thinking: The 2nd one was good. BUT some of you may remember our good friend Edward Norton came in and rewrote the whole thing, which pleased the studio and director more than Penn's drafts did!

This guy is hands down the worst screenwriter to be continuously paid good money for his work.
TRUEMAN writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 11:02:11 AM

joss B is a d*ck head he is going to f*ck this sh*t!
AYT BALL writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 11:49:22 AM

.....whos joss b?
rocketman writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 12:20:06 PM

This film is going to bomb.Hope it dosen't but i got a bad feeling about this.
Ranger writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 12:47:59 PM






1st ANNIVERSARY for me on WP here!

Thx. for the laughs folks!





Skywalker121289 writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 1:31:01 PM

Screw Tony Stark. Evens should still be the leader- if we're going to do the movie lets do it right- with Cap as the leader.
rocketman writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 1:46:25 PM

Yeah,damn right Caps the leader,IM is a rich piss head whos handy with a spanner.Caps f*cking CAP!
Stuntastic writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 2:34:31 PM

@Ranger: Congrats bud. U and the great Minkowski was the reason and joined. Whatever happened to ol Mink?
murphyslaw93 writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 2:59:32 PM

I can't wait for this. News about this flick is going in the right direction every single day. It may be odd seeing Evans as Captain American being that he was also Human Torch, but whatever, no one remembers those sh*tty F4 movies anyway. Once Ed Norton signs on to return, I'll be sold and completely ready. Only two more years.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 3:06:34 PM

Well in theory Fury should be the leader and I wouldn't be one to argue with Mr Jackson over that.

Also Zack Penn did not write the original script, he just coloured in the pictures with the crayon set they gave him. Like they would let him near something after Elektra!
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 3:08:15 PM

Where is PP nowadays?

TeemSelami writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 3:11:23 PM

I love PCU and Last action her but this guy is a blackhole of talent
Rodan writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 3:27:01 PM

I've liked some of Whedon's work, and evil's right, Astonishing X-Men was very good, but I hope Whedon doesn't make this...weird. Every one of his projects seems to be targeted to a very small group. Dollhouse wasn't received well for this reason, Firefly was great but I know plenty of people who wouldn't wanna watch it just because it was so unusual. Every Marvel movie aims for "blockbuster" status so I just hope Whedon can keep this appealing to everyone. Based on Astonishing, hopefully it won't be a problem.
hunter207 writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 3:35:40 PM

Congrats on the one year Ranger!
hunter207 writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 3:36:34 PM

And on topic, Joss has been improving with every film so this could get interesting
Eben1277 writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 3:53:06 PM

I always thought Joss had potential for this. On a related note, Ed Norton should direct the f*cking Hulk sequel.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 5:44:26 PM

I agree with you on both counts, Eben
SACdaddy writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 5:54:30 PM

More set photos starting to come out from Green Lantern. They actually built the spaceship that brings Abin Sur and the ring to Earth. No CGI!!! This production is hitting on all cylinders imo :-)
Ranger writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 6:48:20 PM

Thx. Stunt (very kind) and hunter.

Yeah... where's Peter Parker?!

Mink left for another site (don't know which one).
encoreyourface writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 8:13:27 PM

Ranger-congrats bud. also one time i was looking through some old articles (bored, not posting like COC) and i clicked on PP's account and he's still logging on regularly, just not posting.
CCBlev writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 8:55:33 PM

Encore
Fascintating, I wondered aboout PP. Can' beleive Mink left for another site.
Ranger writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 9:00:11 PM

@encore - thank you (and for looking in at PP).
encoreyourface writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 3:10:21 AM

hey no problem guys, i'm still trying to figure out why PP isn't posting! come on man at least tell us you ain't gonna post no more or something!

Ranger-your welcome regarding your anniversary.
seveltoto writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 1:48:57 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved