WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Josh Hutcherson on the Short List to Play "Spider-Man"

Posted: April 14th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Josh Hutcherson on the Short List to Play "Spider-Man"Submit Comment
The "Spider-Man" reboot is quickly becoming the new "Captain America" in regards to how many casting rumors are circling around the internet. Today we have a new one.

First, HitFix reported that "Percy Jackson" star Logan Lerman was "almost 100% locked" as Peter Parker/Spider-Man. Marvel quickly responded by saying that Lerman is not even being considered, despite the fact that the studio has had discussions with him.

Now comes news via IESB that 18-year-old Josh Hutcherson is on the short list of actors to play Spidey. I always found him incredibly awkward, but he has a decent resume, consisting of such films as "Cirque du Freak," "Journey to the Center of the Earth," "Bridge to Terabithia," "RV" and "Zathura."

Other actors rumored for the role are Anton Yelchin (Star Trek), Jesse Eisenberg (Zombieland), Patrick Fugit (The Moguls) and Johnny Simmons (Jennifer's Body).

Click here to read more about "Spider-Man."

Source: IESB


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 4:50:31 AM

This is one of the few youngsters in hollywood i actually like.
Montana writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:05:24 AM

OH yes!
trailertrash writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:14:46 AM

This is Captain America casting all over again !!! what a mess...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:33:53 AM

Decent resume? Is any of those movies any good? I know "Journey..." were a surprise hit, but the other ones didn't do that much impact on the box-office. And "RV"? Really?
SofaKing writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:51:02 AM

I hope Anton Yelchin doesn't do it, I liked that dude in Charlie Bartlett and Star Trek I hope he stays away from being a superhero, for now.
BDeck writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 6:35:48 AM

whom ever they choose needs to be a geeky really smart peter parker an over confident smart ass c*cky spidy only like Toby, who you could believe was really smart but all ov his jokes and smart ass comments as spidy felt really forced and awkward.

if they can find some one like that,then i think they'll pull it off.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 6:52:09 AM

Agreed, BD. Plus, this guy seems to be the only one on the list that makes sense. Yelchin is already a major part of two franchises, Eisenberg is an *sshole, Fugit is too old to be playing a high school kid anymore and anyone that had anything to do with "Jennifer'd Body" should stay far away from this flick.
BDeck writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 7:07:25 AM

jennifers body, kinda gets a bad rap.i believe it was made to be an off the wall horror movie,and not taken seriously , but once again people dont take it for what it is,and labels it a horrible movie.
CCBlev writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 8:08:46 AM

@Trailer
My thoughts exactly, hey Hollywood got a 16 yr olds cousin who looks the part, wanna try to cast him too?
RickPeters writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 8:36:52 AM

That's a great resume... who is this kid? I dunno why but that picture makes me hate this guy. He seems like one of the "popular" crowd I went to high school with, which is the exact opposite of what Peter Parker should be.

I think someone with Anton Yelchin's looks and Jesse Eisenberg's personality would be perfect.
trailertrash writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 9:55:37 AM

@cc- I think he's got a shot !! lol
TheStig writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 10:13:38 AM

@Freud:

I actually found myself really enjoying Zathura. If you're into sci-fi at all it's worth checking out. it is aimed at a younger audience, but still fun.


As far as this option goes, not bad. He kind of looks like the Peter in Ultimate, but I'm not sure he could pull of the nerdy personality. The Peter in the Ultimate comics doesn't necessarily look nerdy, he is just kind of a skinny kid who ACTS nerdy...does that make sense?
NatG83 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 10:43:46 AM

Not a bad choice. I saw Cirque Du Freak, and he was good in that. I can't even remember him in Journey to the Center of the Earth (didn't like the movie that much).

This kid is kind of short, and seems athletic, so he'll fit the bill. I still think they should keep looking.
tcu21 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:20:44 AM

This is a decent resume? At least Logan Lerman has a good handful of respectable roles:

310 to Yuma (one of my favorite Westerns)
My One and Only (well received but hardly heard of)
The Butterfly Effect (which overall kinda sucked, but can't really dis the performances)

Btw Sony, Tobey was 27 when he was cast into the role of a high school kid. Don't be afraid to cast someone who has hit puberty.

Jamie Bell
Emile Hirsch
Thomas Dekker
Logan Lerman

would be my Spider-man short list. But it's Hollywood casting so I'm sure it'll be a major fail.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:28:40 AM

I have totally lost interest in the new Spiderman film since all the fiasco with it.

Sony's marketing department are more in charge of this film than the executives.
rocketman writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:49:40 AM

Looks like a rent boy in that pic.
simplytyson writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 12:21:14 PM

no
Moose756 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 12:24:34 PM

Im rooting for Anton Yelchin. I think he will be interesting as spidey
Sveppi writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 12:30:25 PM

Out of the rumored ones I guess Yelchin could be pretty good.
(0-0) Spaceman writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 12:47:09 PM

I'm really tired of spider-man, they should just leave it alone and use the money on another awesome superhero.
Syriph writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 12:55:43 PM

I actually think he is a pretty talented actor... Although cirque de freak was not a really good movie he was quite good in it. I would not mind seeing him in this part
vaodsi writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 12:57:49 PM

i was about to say "hutcherson's too short"
then i realized that prolly works for the character. He was good in bridge to terebithia and he was awesome in little manhatten and zathura, but it seems the older he gets the more he TRIES to act... and that is a little awkward. I think he would make a better harry...
ugotjewed writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 1:02:38 PM

@sofaking he was also really good in alpha dog
thegambit72 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 1:06:30 PM

I f*cking hate this kid, and i can't really see Eisenberg doing it.

@SofaKing. Totally agree, Anton is a fantastic young actor and would kill this role but he should probably stay away from this project.
nope.com writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 1:32:58 PM

looks like an ass

and 12


f*ck Stan Lee
georgecostanza writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 2:28:40 PM

Booooooooooooo!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 4:18:59 PM

It's not like I care, I'm not going to watch it anyways.
Lowryder writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:17:16 PM

damn he grew up fast! i thought he was still like 14 or something
encoreyourface writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:26:54 PM

Maguire was great as Spidey, don't care what anyone says. i know the ohter guys looked like fags, but this guy looks TO manly to be Parker. just doesn't look geeky enough, looks like he would pretty populAR, not a loser like Parker.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:28:06 PM

trailer-it certianly is ... it certainly f*cking is ...
SACdaddy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:29:29 PM

Who's this c*nt and why do I want to punch him in the face?
encoreyourface writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:49:03 PM

SAC -because he'd make a sh*t Parker
joshmihaly writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 6:36:11 PM

@vaodsi: I agree, I think he would make a very good Harry.

The only problem with that though is that none of the actors really look the same age as Hutcherson to play Spider-Man. If anything I would say maybe Jesse Eisenberg because I do like him as an actor (have liked his performances in all of his movies). That would be a decent pair up in my opinion but Hutcherson would need to look just a little older.
Matiax writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 7:23:32 PM

I don't care about shortlists anymore. f*ck Sony! f*ck Marvel!
shamusot00le writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 8:01:05 PM

Here's an idea WP if this is turning out to be the next 'Cap' casting drama - instead of posting a 'story' each time some other website posts a story about someone overhearing someone that some kid might, maybe, could possibly be spiderman, how 'bout just giving us a weekly wrap up?

Just a thought.

k thx bye
masht7 writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 3:03:34 AM

Stop considering pussies, Sony (or Hollywood)!
masht7 writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 3:04:27 AM

@tcu

Emile Hirsch would make an awesome spidey.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 9:58:15 AM

he actually would be good, i think
vampirefreak writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 8:01:16 PM

Hmmmm....interesting? I'm definitley excited for the Spiderman reboot after that sh*t with Tobey Maguire but it all depends on who they cast. If it's someone gay I'm not interested.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved