WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joss Whedon to Direct "The Avengers"

Posted: April 14th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joss Whedon to Direct "The Avengers"Submit Comment
Marvel Studios recently confirmed that Joss Whedon ("Buffy the Vampire Slayer," "Firefly") was on the short list of directors to helm "The Avengers" movie, which will team Captain America, Thor and Iron Man.

Deadline, THR and many other sources are now reporting that Marvel has officially selected Whedon for the job and is now in final negotiations with him. The only thing left is for Whedon to agree to take the gig and put his touch on the already finished script.

Whedon is an interesting choice. While he's very popular among fans, the only movie he has ever directed was "Serenity," which didn't even make back its budget in theaters. Plus back in 2005, Whedon said that he would never want to direct "The Avengers," because he felt the characters were not born of pain like the X-Men.

But while he may not be an expert behind the camera, the man understands what fans want. He also has plenty of experience with superheroes and has a long-standing relationship with Marvel, having worked on such projects as "Astonishing X-Men" and "Runaways."

Click here to read more about "The Avengers."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 76 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 4:40:45 AM

I really don't know what to say. All I ask is that he's f*ckin familiar with the material he's working with. If he's another Joe Johnston, then game over man
Gates writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:04:23 AM

I agree Johnny. Please make sure he knows the material. Right now I'm on the fence with a director who helmed "Buffy the Vampire Slayer."
masht7 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:08:58 AM

Please don't make this end up like a corny childrens super-hero movie Mr. Whedon.
trailertrash writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:19:00 AM

I'm with you guys , this could be massive but can you trust joss whedon ??? Buffy for the teens is one thing (he did that well for what it was) The Avengers now that's huge... Just hope we wont be talking reboot in a couple of years !!
johnny_boy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:24:08 AM

Kinda starting to wonder why marvel hired him. Did they pick him cuz he's agreed to get paid a couple nickel and dimes?
AYT BALL writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:46:30 AM

Im kinda ok with this, no matter what you guys thought of Serenity, he made a movie that fans of the series wanted to see, proves he listens at least, i think it could be a good choice! just my opinion
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:51:43 AM

I'm liking this choice. For one, he's familiar with the characters. And secondly, he can direct. Sure, "Serenity" was a commercial flop, but that was a movie mainly for the fans. It was aimed for the general audience, but since not that many people had seen the show they assumed that movie weren't for them. With "The Avengers" that is not a problem, since the core audience is quite big this time around and that everybody these days know, at least a little, about these superheroes.
trailertrash writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:57:47 AM

They seem to go for the left field choice with directors dont they:

Thor= Kenneth Branagh (where did that come from)
Jon Favreau
Tim Story
Bryan Singer
Ang Lee
Stephen Norrington with blade
Even Sam Raimi was more known for horror

So who know's maybe they know what they are doing only time will tell ??!!

whoever writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:59:03 AM

He will more than likely have all the other directors standing over his shoulder as producers.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 6:06:19 AM

Re-post: Sorry but this seems like a better place for my comment.

Well its official, Marvel just hammered the final nail in this frachise's coffin with the Whed*ck selection. Let face it, Serenity wasn't bad, but it BOMBED at the BO. I don't have a vagina so I could never get into Buffy and Angel, but what I have seen of both really SUCKED BALLS. If I was Faverau I would be extremely pissed! He's the only director that makes any money for the company and he's getting passed up for some *sshole who (like Evans) never really did anything to earn the nod. Writing comics and sh*tty tv shows does not qualify you to direct a major ($100 mill+) motion picture. At this rate we should be getting the Avengers 3D conversion news pretty soon as a final insult.

I'm buying DC stock tomorrow. GL, Batman 3, and Superman (and lets not forget Sin City 2 and 300 prequel) are going to blow this amateur bullsh*t out of the water over the next decade.

BTW, Hulk failed because of the public confrontation between Norton and the studio. He was the only thing that film had going for it after Ang Lee's abortion of an original, and he refused to promote the movie after LL edited all the quality out of it. Marvel would have been better off hiring Norton to direct their next film than relying on LL and Whedork.
LeeMaca writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 6:14:07 AM

A-well-a bird, bird, bird, the bird is the word
trailertrash writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 6:16:13 AM

# just to add on my post wasn't saying they are all great directors or made great movies , just seems to be the way they pick their directors..

sac - like your passion for the story dude , maybe Marvel could do with some of it ??
LeeMaca writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 6:18:53 AM

@ SAC
Although wouldn't have been my first choice i really think he could be ok HOWEVER i'm 100% percent with you on the Faverau should be pissed the guy's made and will again make them a fortune
however lets just hope IM2 will make up for the crap that marvels planning for us!

@ Encore
i was baked lol
SACdaddy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 6:19:05 AM

@Freud: I never said Serenity was a bad movie. It had decent acting and decent CG effects (at least in space). But I think you Firefly fans let your love for that show bias your normally sensible film taste. Other than Fillion and Eijofor's performances Serenity was a pretty forgetable movie. Without Eijofor I can see why they cancelled FF so quickly. Whedong is just too unproven to helm such a huge and important project. They should have had him get his feet wet with another Marvel project before jumping into something of this size and scale.
LeeMaca writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 6:22:39 AM

I just hope that if Ranger ain't diggin this he leaves the poor guys pets alone, and i think you killed LOKI the ratdog (although apparently you inspired rourke)
SACdaddy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 6:23:09 AM

@Lee Maca: Don't worry, IM2 will make serious bank at the BO. I know this because it has a PROVEN director and star at the helm.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 6:46:37 AM

@SAC - the director and star weren't really proven until "Iron Man" came out, unless you count "Elf" and that wasn't exactly grounds for moving on to a superhero movie.

@Gates - he didn't direct the "Buffy" movie. He didn't have much to do with it after the studio got hold of his script. He did direct a few of the episodes though, which were all a thousand times better than the movie.
BDeck writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 7:17:40 AM

hes got a comic book back ground, and is loved by his fans, his runs have been pretty good, i enjoyed the runaways.

im going to go ahead and say i think hell do a good job.
Sev writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 7:58:29 AM

f*ck!!!!

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOFFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Dark writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 8:01:09 AM

f*ck this piece of sh*t! yea f*ck you. go back to the sh*t hole you came from. Faverau should direct it.
BDeck writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 8:01:36 AM

good input sev
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 8:01:47 AM

@SAC: I saw Serenity when it came out DVD several years ago and loved it, and it weren't until very recently I saw the show. So I weren't a fan of the show when I saw the movie. And, yes, perhaps you're right about Whedon helming a "warm-up" project before The Avengers, but I still have faith.
Sev writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 8:43:48 AM

Seriously, the budgets these *ssholes have could bring in some of the best character directors on the planet to get films like this made without stupid direction from talentless hacks. But no, instead they choose someone who makes series that are carbon copies of each other with sh*tty direction and writing.

Cannot believe they would choose Josh Whedon, talk about scraping at the bottom of the barrel. I'll be suprised if this douche pulls anything half decent out his ass cus his shows are repetative pieces of teen, trash sh*t.
BDeck writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 8:51:22 AM

ayta boy sev.

hes got a relationship with marvel,he'll prob stay true.kinda seems like a logical choice.
RickPeters writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 8:54:42 AM

For what it's worth, I don't like this pick. Whedon never impressed me. I couldn't care less about Buffy and Firefly/Serenity was dull, even though I know a lot of people love it. But Serenity also bombed at the box office.

Never been a fan of this guy and I don't think he'll do a good job. I

I think Marvel is shooting themselves in the foot. Remember a few summers back when we had Iron Man and The Incredible Hulk? They stared great actors, with interesting directors, who pulled off serious comic book movies, made a lot of money, and gave us so much potential for a cross-over. Now we've got Joe Johnston doing Captain America starring the Human Torch guy who can't be taken seriously, a Thor movie starring essentially a no-name who wasn't really that good for 5 minutes in Star Trek, and now The Avengers, one of the biggest comic book movie gig ever, who seems to have been hired just because fanboys worship him for some reason.

Despite all that, I'll reserve complete judgement until I see the movies. I hope I'm completely wrong and all these movies rock.
darkknight1985 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 9:01:21 AM

OK NOW GUYS LISTEN. Before you guys start dishing out at this selection let me tell you that you now have a golden opportunity. This is one guy who LISTENS to fans and respects what they have to say.
Now if I remember correctly the fellow has a blog. Start now before the fellow gets busy with the production and put as many input as possible about what you want from the Avengers movie. The script maybe made but he the guys who will finally decide how it is portrayed. You give your opinions and if there a sufficient voice behind a specific aspect he'll do his best to insert that into the movie.
Sev writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 9:12:54 AM

Being able to listen to fans doesn't mean he can suddenly direct any better. If he does a good job I'll be suprised, but I've not seen anything he's done yet that's impressed me. There is nothing he has done that makes me think, f*ck yes he's perfect. So many better choices out there, and Marvel has the money to dish out to get them.
jesustheboy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 9:16:18 AM

Does anyone else think that the Avengers movie has the potential to suck ass??
AYT BALL writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 9:18:49 AM

agreed, the guy does listen, hes one of the few that actually wants to please the fans serenity was a box office flop because it was JUST made for the fans, ballsy move id say
dbreuning writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 9:44:24 AM

Guys, it's not really OFFICIAL yet till Marvel releases a press release. Some sources is not the end-all be-all. So I'm holding my breath. And if he is to direct then maybe Favreau and the other Marvel movie directors can act as producers.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 10:43:07 AM

@trailer: Most of those directors were not chosen by Marvel, they were picked up by the studios that had rights to the franchises at the time.

This is not a bad choice at all. People should remember Favreau's previous directing list prior to Iron man and also he is already on the team as producer for the Avengers flick. Its weird seeing how many people seem all doom and gloom about this but give the guy a break. He has worked with Marvel for years and has written some of the best X-men comics out there. Surely he has some idea about the Marvel Universe more than JJ (directing CA).

To be honest I dont care if the movie is sh*t or not. I cant predict the future so ill just sit back with a beer in one hand and watch it all fold out before me.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 10:43:47 AM

@Evil: Actually he did direct Made also but that's getting nit picky.

"unless you count "Elf" and that wasn't exactly grounds for moving on to a superhero exactly."

Ahhhhh Elf made $220 mill on a $33 mill budget. Whoever directs that profitable of a fantasy movie will get a chance to direct almost anything they want on the next go around. As a lifelong fan of the comic, Fav begged Marvel for the chance to do IM and he basically worked for free (so did RDJ). So not only did they get a PROVEN director, but they also got a PROVEN star for next to nothing.

On the flipside, how much sense does it make to give this kind of major project to a director who's first film lost $10 mill in the theaters and hasn't done d*ck since?

@DK1985: Listening to the fans may sound good and all, but I think you're the one missing the obvious. Marvel picked Whedon because he will listen to THEM not the fans. Its the same reason they hired dildos like Joe Johnson (who allowed the studio f*ck up Wolfman with Wolfman-cam) and LL (who allowed Marvel to edit out all the good parts of HULK and allowed the studio to 3D convert his already sh*tty CoT). Basically these guys are cheap Yes men who specialize in sucking the company d*ck and cupping Stan Lee's balls.

Iknow it doesn't soond like it, but I hope I'm wrong. IM2 and Thor (with Kenneth Braughn behind it) will do well so at least they should have the cash for a proper Avengers film. It still will fall squarely on Whedon
SACdaddy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 10:43:49 AM

@Evil: Actually he did direct Made also but that's getting nit picky.

"unless you count "Elf" and that wasn't exactly grounds for moving on to a superhero exactly."

Ahhhhh Elf made $220 mill on a $33 mill budget. Whoever directs that profitable of a fantasy movie will get a chance to direct almost anything they want on the next go around. As a lifelong fan of the comic, Fav begged Marvel for the chance to do IM and he basically worked for free (so did RDJ). So not only did they get a PROVEN director, but they also got a PROVEN star for next to nothing.

On the flipside, how much sense does it make to give this kind of major project to a director who's first film lost $10 mill in the theaters and hasn't done d*ck since?

@DK1985: Listening to the fans may sound good and all, but I think you're the one missing the obvious. Marvel picked Whedon because he will listen to THEM not the fans. Its the same reason they hired dildos like Joe Johnson (who allowed the studio f*ck up Wolfman with Wolfman-cam) and LL (who allowed Marvel to edit out all the good parts of HULK and allowed the studio to 3D convert his already sh*tty CoT). Basically these guys are cheap Yes men who specialize in sucking the company d*ck and cupping Stan Lee's balls.

Iknow it doesn't soond like it, but I hope I'm wrong. IM2 and Thor (with Kenneth Braughn behind it) will do well so at least they should have the cash for a proper Avengers film. It still will fall squarely on Whedon
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 10:55:10 AM

@SAC: But the 'Fav' made Zathura after Elf and it didn't do so well financially.

Iron man is a bit different from a man elf and Jumanji in space.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 10:59:42 AM

When I say it said it didn't do well I meant it fell short of its budget.

To be fair, any director is a bit of a risk. Even Spielberg doesn't get it right every time. I'm just happy they have someone in who knows about the comics.

I see the Avengers film to be more of a team effort seeing as Favreau is on board. I think there was an article to cover this view on WP many months ago as well.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:03:34 AM

Yeah, i dont see the studios giving this to any one man, Fav as producer will be right in the mix.....and JJ will me making the coffee
AYT BALL writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:03:58 AM

*be
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:06:24 AM

Found the article.

http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=15422&count=139

@ayt ball: Haha. Can we even trust JJ with that job!?
trailertrash writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:07:11 AM

@ricky- see what you mean , i was just trying to point out that none of the marvel movies have gone for big directors those movies have made them into big directors e.g Raimi, singer, favreau thats all.

If Joss Whedon gets the job as you say sit back with a beer (always good) and see what happen's.....

And Seriously whats the story with Kenneth Branagh how did he get the Thor job that seems an odd choice to me, But it's always good to see a brit (northern ireland , same thing) doing well in Hollywood....
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:15:26 AM

@trailer: Good call in pointing that out. They did become big after directing those films.

Not sure on Kenneth Branagh either but what the hell, looking at what he has achieved he seems a very talented guy. Are NI people happy to be associated with Brits? I always thought they were funny about that what with the royal spongers that England house.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:15:55 AM

@ Ricky - nah, the prick will probably forget the biscuits! lol
AYT BALL writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:17:41 AM

@ lol every fooker hates england, but then every english fooker hates the royal fookers (yes im english!)
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:23:15 AM

Is that Whedon or our old friend 'MacGyver Chevbacca Highlander' with a new haircut?

http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=15108
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:24:33 AM

Chewbacca*

I'm English too and proud of it. Just not proud of living near Basildon.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:25:39 AM

..... we wont speak of that lol
tcu21 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:29:00 AM

I think he'd do the source material justice because he's basically a fanboy, comicon guy, he works for his fans and I think that his ultimate goal will be to do what he believes they want most. That being said I've never gotten around to seeing much of his work, but I know many people who enjoy it immensely because of how he operates, more or less.

I still think he's a notch below JJ Abrams, but we can't have everything we want.
trailertrash writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:29:47 AM

@ricky- That's Republic(southern)Ireland they pretty much hate us along with most of europe !! lol

I thought there was some wonderful story on why K.B was making Thor , guess not but his first film he directed Henry V was ok (if you like that sort of thing)and he's been steady since then but all brit flicks much ado , peters friends etc i'm really trying not to mention Frankenstein though lol

@Ayt- Don't start me on the German Royal family we have !! lol
makingcircles writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:31:10 AM

This choice makes me nervous as well. I think he'll do better than Ang Lee....but not better than Faverau. Wait...so why didn't they just ask LL to do it? ha...kidding.
trailertrash writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:31:53 AM

@ricky same here bro !! you seen our new sign !!! LMAO 90,000 to think we are like Hollywood !!!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1261756/Its-hardly-Hollywood-Basildon-gets-sign-welcome-drivers-wonders--er--Essex.html
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:38:16 AM

@trailer: Oh god don't remind me of that! The only benefit of that sign is to warn people that don't have sat nav on the A127 of the impending doom that is Basildon.

For those who don't know of the place see this link for the funniest (and true) description I have ever seen.

http://uncyclopedia.wikia.com/wiki/Basildon
rocketman writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:47:17 AM

Not enough experenice on the big screen for this job.Hulk mabey.And so f*cking what if the fanboys are into him marvel credentials,i wouldn't want Stan Lee directing it either.Get a big name in who's proven like a Spielberg or Ridley Scott.Stop scrimping Marvel,you will ruin it all.
rocketman writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:47:42 AM

Not enough experenice on the big screen for this job.Hulk mabey.And so f*cking what if the fanboys are into his marvel credentials,i wouldn't want Stan Lee directing it either.Get a big name in who's proven like a Spielberg or Ridley Scott.Stop scrimping Marvel,you will ruin it all.
rocketman writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:48:10 AM

*facepalm*
trailertrash writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:51:36 AM

@ricky- That is a great description and it's all true !!! , i've had shops all over essex at one time and it was never dull in basildon... lol
rabid writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 12:00:56 PM

This is the best Marvel news all year. Whedon is an avid comics fan, so he's familiar with the characters. Plus he's really great at doing team dynamics and crossovers. Perfect fit.
rabid writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 12:02:49 PM

trailertrash, You didn't like Brannaugh's Frankenstein?? I thought it was the best version ever filmed.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 12:22:34 PM

I'm a huge Whedon fan but I'm also a huge critic of him.
One of his best attributes in his work is his ability to give proper story time devoted to all the characters not just the mains.
He has the talent to make secondary and tertiary characters just as important and showcased just as good as the main characters.
Hell, sometimes he would devote whole story arcs to non-lead characters which is damn near unheard of. And I think that's where he gets a raw deal from folks. He cares more about the story than making someone a star by highlighting their character more than others.
In Buffy, there was the Angel spinoff but you could have spun off shows for Willow, Faith, etc he built that much depth to them.
This is why I think he'll do a good job with The Avengers.
You are taking characters that are independant stand alone characters and fittingthem together in one movie. There's going to be zero room for one or two characters to shine above others and the fans wouldn't stand for it. It's not going to sit well to see an Ironman and The Avengers or a Thor and The Avengers etc etc. This movie requires each one to be the star of this movie and whedon can pull it off in my opinion.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 12:24:42 PM

Well said Bunny
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 12:31:09 PM

@rabid: Young Frankenstein was the best version! :)

@bunny: Like the 3 X-men films should of been titled 'Wolverine and the other bunch we don't really care too much about'.
(0-0) Spaceman writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 12:40:48 PM

well i don't really care who directs it,
I just want see if it's good.
Syriph writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 12:59:23 PM

Whedon is the man... If he takes this job it will be great... the man just knows how to make a sotry feel important and make characters that we care about within the story... this movie will rule if he gets the role
SACdaddy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 1:09:01 PM

Well said Bunny and others. Fans' dedication to Whedon alway impresses me more than his work, but I can definitely see the advantages Bunny points out. His foundation as a writer probably is the main reason for his attention to such details. I never was able to get past the premise of Buffy and its spinoff, but it sounds like I like LOST for very similar reasons you appreciate Whedon. Maybe there is hope. I just thought it would make more sense to get someone with more experience and a better track record.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 1:19:16 PM

Kenneth "Branagh" (god we all spelled it wrong at least once) was an interesting pick for Thor, but it sparked my interest more than it gave me caution. His films haven't been wildly successful, but they have been well done. Plus he's a great actor and lately that's translated into good directors (Gibson, Eastwood, DeNiro, Clooney, Jodie Foster, Faverau, etc.). I'm very interested to see what comes of it.
tcu21 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 4:59:02 PM

I hate when articles say stuff like: His last movie didn't make back its budget. Serenity (based on Firefly TV series) had a small cult following. It's because of the subject matter that the movie had that it didn't do good at the box office. They can hire a freaking monkey to direct the Avengers and it would make back its budget and then some just because it's the Avengers.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:02:43 PM

as long as it isn't retarded i couldn't care less who directs. if Runaways is any good (never read it) and i'm not sure if i read some of his Astonishing X-men work but i probably have and it was good and since those are both team comics the Avengers shouldn't be to difficult to grasp.
tcu21 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:04:48 PM

I just hope this doesn't conflict with the sequel to "Dr Horrible's Sing Along Blog". Which was awesome haha.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:41:50 PM

I thought Serenity was actually pretty cool. I'm way out of the loop- so have they confirmed that the actors who starred in their respective movies will be cast in avengers as well? So the cast will really include Edward Norton, Chris Evans, RDJ, Chris Hemsworth, and so on?
encoreyourface writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:43:29 PM

serenity was good, i'll give him that
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:44:23 PM

And if so (yes I'm that naive) who are the heroes/villians that are supposed to be in the movie?
SACdaddy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:49:34 PM

Apparently Captain America just got a British love interest. Her name is Haley Atwell, and I've never heard of her.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 7:07:30 PM

Best news all day. Whedon is a home boy.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 8:12:16 PM

SAC- not saying I don't agree with you about IM2 going to be huge, but I'm hoping Whedon will surprise us on this one the same way Favreau did with IM. "Made" wasn't really a good film, in any way, but yeah, "Elf" was enjoyable for what it was. Just because it made a lot of money didn't necessarily mean that Favs was a good choice to direct a major superhero movie. Besides, even though Whedon doesn't have a ton of experience directing, I think he still might have enough. His resume goes way beyond directing, which can only help. A lot of the Buffy tv show was awesome, as were Firefly, Serenity and his work on Astonishing X-Men. Mathew Vaugahn had absolutely no directing experience, yet his 3 movies have all been amazing (giving him the benefit on Kick-Ass). Plus, maybe because he has the limited directing experience that he has, he'll be able to be more creative than, oh, I don't know - Joe Johnston. And RDJ was definitely a huge risk to star in such a major role. It's only since then, and Tropic Thunder, that he's gotten some of the respect he deserves. Just like Rourke after The Wrestler. They both got a new lease on their career because of those films.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 9:35:10 PM

@Evil: I've been convinced by the Whedonites to at least give him a chance. Bunny was the gamechanger, but everyone had decent reasons behind his casting. I'll keep an open mind until the 3D conversion news comes out :-)
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 10:06:14 PM

uggghhhh...f*cking 3D. The tagline for 3D marketing campaigns should read: "3D - Makes terrible movies worse."
SACdaddy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:20:31 PM

Only 3D film I'm looking forward to is Green Lantern. Its not being converted, and its subject matter almost requires the technique.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 2:32:58 PM

Gracias fellas, you sure make a gal feel great! lol
Serenity is a great example of why Whedon's a good choice. He cared about the work to the point where he refused to change anything to make a buck. And that's something I respect. Plus, every side story in that movie mattered and kept me interested. He layered so many side stories onto it you forget that at it's core it's basically an "ex governemt tool holds a secret that the government wants back and some unlikely heroes are going to save the world" flick.
And what makes his stuff work is that since he does put so much into the other characters, it makes those actors playing them work that much harder to turn out solid performances. They don't feel like oh I'm a bit player so I'll just mail it in. and they do pretty damn good.
@SAC, LOST is an excellent comparisson. Sure Jack is your main on paper, but everyone has had their story fleshed out to the point that you're able to see the whole story from everyone's point of view equally.
Balance. It's exactly what was missing from the X-men franchise as @Ricky pointed out lol.
And it's what Whedon will bring to The Avengers.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved