WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sigourney Weaver Accuses the Academy Awards of Sexism

Posted: April 14th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sigourney Weaver Accuses the Academy Awards of SexismSubmit Comment
While promoting "Avatar" in Brazil over the weekend, actress Sigourney Weaver said that James Cameron should have won the Best Director Oscar instead of his ex-wife Kathryn Bigelow for "The Hurt Locker." She added that the reason Cameron lost is because the Academy was more interested in making history by giving the award to a woman.

"Jim didn't have breasts, and I think that was the reason," she told Folha Online, a Brazilian news site. "He should have taken home that Oscar."

Weaver also voiced her disapproval of the Best Picture choice, suggesting it should have gone to "Avatar," instead of "The Hurt Locker" once again. She said: "In the past, 'Avatar' would have won because [Oscar voters] loved to hand out awards to big productions, like 'Ben-Hur.' Today it's fashionable to give the Oscar to a small movie that nobody saw."

Source: HuffingtonPost


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 112 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 4:43:19 AM

Get over it you f*ckin has-been, if I'm not overstating that name for her. I mean has she really ever been?
johnny_boy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 4:44:05 AM

Also on her comment saying Jim has no breast, look who's talking. I've seen ghostbusters 2, and she is FLAT!
Bigcheese writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:09:17 AM

I kinda agree with the Best Director bit, but Avatar was not Best Picture, that did belong to Hurt Locker.
like-mind writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:21:55 AM

Cameron may not have breasts, but this lady has balls.

I agree with what she says. Hurt Locker was a well-done film untill the end when it clogged up with rank sentimentalism, making its hero a male version of a 'Mary-Jane' i.e., even his flaws make him even better.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:39:50 AM

f*ck off! I always liked Weaver for her Ripley-portrait, but this statement really makes it hard to olike her.
Sure, they loved giving Oscars to big productions before, but now they try to give it to the movies that are good. And Bigelow did direct a real movie, while Cameron had his blue p*ssycats to play with.
You embarassing yourself Weaver.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:43:11 AM

oh dear "small movie that nobody saw"??? really?!?! just lost a lot of respect from me for that Miss Weaver
vwkombi writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 6:06:01 AM

It wasn't about Avatar being a mediocre flick with pretty pictures and James Cameron being an arrogant douché. It was all about sexism. Totally...
SACdaddy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 6:38:20 AM

Jesus I cant believe yall are missing the real deal behind these comments. Cameron is famous for getting attached to people he works with, especially his female leads. He and Weaver probably have had a little somethin somethin going on since the mid 80s. There's probably been a little cat fight going on between her and Bigelow for about the same time. Her getting the Oscar and all those hugs and kisses from the ex probably just pissed Sigourney off.

She's right though. I said it a million time before the awards that Bigelow would win for gender not her talent. Hurt Locker wasn't even her best film and yet none of the others ever got nominated for sh*t. HL was an 80s buddy cop film set in Iraq, harldy what I would call Oscar worthy. If Spielberg would have made it, it never would have won an Oscar.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 7:03:16 AM

@ SAC - gotta completely disagree with you there man, Hurt locker was by far the better DIRECTED movie of the two, personally i think Avatar should have won best picture just for what it was and what it achieved, but Bigelow was the right choice for director. Saying that Duncan Jones should and would have won it if sony had bothered to push MOON. So i dont think it has anything to do with the sex of the director, she was just the best of the bunch this time around, and yeah maybe it wasnt her best movie but it was the best directing in that list (apart from district 9 which i would have loved to have won). anyway, all just our opinions right, god knows how they pick these things, if they were consistent in their choices we would never speculate on the 'true' reasons behind it.
BDeck writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 7:24:16 AM

get the f*ck outta here sigourney, hurt locker was a superior movie by far. any one who thinks avatar should have won is delusional.
Sev writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 8:02:10 AM

Sigourney, the box office intake for Avatar proved how many retards are on the planet who love dumb as f*ck movies, not how incredible a movie maker James Cameron is. The film sucked, and was crushed in every way by Hurt Locker.
bale01289 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 8:03:31 AM

@SAC - c'mon man. HL was a 80s cop buddy movie? Don't really see where you get that comparison. Not knocking ya, but I completely disagree. HL had far better direction! True, Sigorny was probably putting the p*ssy on James Cameron, but that's still no reason for her to act like a total c*nt! Avitar was a feast for the eyes but Hurt Locker had me on the edge of my seat for two hours. Hurt Locker = great all-around movie. Avitar = sh*t movie without the 3D.
CCBlev writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 8:03:38 AM

O lord, the Avaturds are gonna dominate this thread when they read this story. So Sigourney are you gonna blame sexism on why your career has flopped for um I dunno the past 20 years!
j-man writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 9:21:33 AM

considering IB should have won both. shes talking out of her old wrinkled ass
jeffw1978 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 9:22:52 AM

AVATAR was good, but I believe Hurt Locker was more deserving of the Oscar for both picture and director.
jeffw1978 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 9:23:42 AM

By the way didn't James Cameron admit he wouldn't win and she would?
AYT BALL writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 9:41:00 AM

Think he said he wanted Best picture for the crew and effects guys etc, which i have to agree with, but he wasnt bothered about best director
ndenitto writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 9:51:09 AM

Sigourney...who let you out of the kitchen?
TheStig writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 10:17:33 AM

A) AVATAR didn't deserve best pic or director. not even close.

And as far as loving to give awards to big productions....true sometimes (i.e. Titanic, LOTR, etc.), but what about Star Wars, I think you could call that kind of a big production and more ground-breaking and revolutionary than AVATAR, and that lost best pic and director as well. best pic to f*cking Annie Hall. Don't get me wrong, AH is a good film, but it kind of shows that the big production does not always win.
TimTimMcgumis writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 10:35:51 AM

classy
Supersweetguy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 10:36:31 AM

Sorry to say it sweetheart, but Avatar was nothing but a great movie. I really don't think Avatar deserved to be the best movie of 2009.
bill the butcher writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 10:46:14 AM

kathryn bigelow won because THE HURT LOCKER
is one of the few films where the direction is
breathtaking when you watch it
traffic
naked
a clockwork orange
the departed
schindlers list
blue velvet
avatar was overrated
soldier in love with a tribe
dances with wolves rip off

SamuelClayton writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:14:03 AM

What a sore loser, classless c*nt. She couldn't even come up with a good reason for why Avatar lost (I just knew idiots like her would pull the "it's just because she's a woman!" card, and did everyone just forget that Sofia Coppola lost Best Director to a massive fantasy epic just seven years ago?!?). The Hurt Locker was BY FAR the most celebrated film of 2009, so it's not like AMPAS was alone in crowning it with the Best Picture Oscar. Not to mention the fact that Avatar was an insipid rehash of countless other white guilt fantasy epics that came before it, this one just had snazzier special effects.

I've lost all respect for Sigourney Weaver.
Raging Bull writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:23:56 AM

One would think they would give best picture to the best picture. Avatar was impressive to look at and a great experience but the story sucked and was to predictable. The Hurt Locker was brilliant in it's screenplay and direction.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:25:59 AM

@AYT: I hear ya, and frankly I was kind of joking about the catfight. I also never said that Avatar was better than HL. D9 and Up in the Air were far more deserving than both films. I did call Bigelow's victory the minute I heard she was up for the award because after all these years I've grown use to the politics of Hollywood. The first blacks to be nominated for Oscars won. The first major Biblical films nominated won. Now the first woman director up for the award won. Politics.

@Bale: Sorry man, if HL kept you on the edge of your seat, I would advise against you riding the tee cups at the local fairground in the future. That's got heart attack written all over it :)

As for my Hurt Locker buddy cop reference, the proof is in the pudding:

Level headed by the book black cop get teamed up with a crazy white cop with a deathwish after his partner gets killed. They patrol the streets and eventually get after a mad bomber(s). White cop is great at his job but spends most of the film being reckless, while the black cop just yells and tries to keep everyone around this ticking timebomb alive. That was the formula for about 20 cop dramas made between 1984 and 2000. Bigelow just made the cops soldiers and set it Iraq. If your gonna give her an award for that, then somebody better throw guys like Richard Donner (Leathal Weapon) and Walter Hill (48 Hours) a bone too.
nightjunkie writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:38:41 AM

@SacDaddy

Kill yourself, you sound like an idiot.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:45:18 AM

@ nightjunkie - its called an opinion, i dont agree with most of it which is why i responded, try being constructive, will change your life!
SACdaddy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:51:17 AM

LOL!!!! Who the f*ck is nightjunkie and why the f*ck should I care what it has to say?
AYT BALL writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:52:34 AM

lol 3 comments this year and thats the best he/she can do! hate moaners
cpj210 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:56:44 AM

I agree with the best director award. Cameron should have won for all he did with Avatar. All the advancements in technology he made and everything. I think sometimes the Academy overlooks the directing and looks at the movie, so Best Picture and Best Director coincide which shouldn't be.

Having said that, Hurt Locker was a better movie than Avatar, so she's wrong there.
Salvador writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 12:33:05 PM

Ups...

Weaver is a great actress, but I disagree with her statement. Avatar was a 'ok' movie, but "The Hurt Locker" is definitely better.
lost_addict writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 12:46:27 PM

Sigourney,you are probably right but 'avatar' sucked ass!!both you and James should have got an oscar 24 years ago for the sci-fi masterpiece and one of the best movies of all time-ALIENS.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 12:50:21 PM

@AYT: SHE is probably just a little pissed at me agreeing with Ripley about Bigelow. If so I would invite her to visit my past comments on the subject before the Oscars this year in which I professed my love for her as a director. The fact that she is the only female director in the action movie genre makes her even cooler IMO. Near Dark and Point Break are some of my alltime favs, but thats also were my problem begins. I think both of those movies are 10x better than Hurt Locker. Just think about it, do you really think anyone will even remember HL in 10-20 years like they remember Point Break? Sounds ridiculous but its true. Because of its war setting HL will get grouped into a genre of far better war films like Saving Private Ryan, Full Metal Jacket, Black Hawk Down, Platoon, Glory, Kelly's Heroes, etc etc. Point Break, on the other hand, will go down in film history as being one of the most memorable films of the buddy cop film era. I think the Academy and others were recognizing Bigs for PB and her other contributions to the completely male dominated action film industry more than they were recognizing her for HL. HL was just more proof that she could hang with the boys on there own turf. Women might not think they need it nowdays but a little gender recognition can go a long way for opening doors that used to be closed to them, like say in the action film genre. Just look what Sigourney did for it :-)
Jedimasta writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 1:18:40 PM

Unfortunately she is right... ask yourself - if it would not have been this stupid "womens day" or what so ever, nobody would have cared about that sucky movie from that stupid chick.
takai writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 1:22:59 PM

And I don't give a f*ck. The director of 'UP' could have won and I'd be fine with it, because regardless of if Bigelow won or not, James Cameron DIDN'T, and THAT is what matters.

And seriously, Avatar should never have even been considered for best picture. It had one major achievement in it. Alright cool. That doesn't win you an Oscar, and hopefully it never will.
nope.com writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 1:31:52 PM

you can't have it both ways female c*nts
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 1:39:07 PM

Wow, Sigourney Weaver jsut disproved herself that the Oscars just give awards to big productions. Still, it wasn't like Avatar was a bad movie and I saw Hurt Locker which had great performances but was an alright film. I know Avatar gets a lot of crap for being overall a visual effects buffet over everything else but I think it had a great power overall as a film. And from what I hear, since I don't really follow international news that much, the war in Iraq has gotten so drawn out (Another false promise of Obama I also hear to move troops out of Iraq by the way) so giving Hurt Locker the Oscar was a little bit of a political move. I keep hearing all this great stuff about "An Education" and even "Up", yet I knew it would come down to Hurt Locker and Avatar because it was two ex's competing which was rare. Dramatically, Hurt Locker kicks ass, but besides a few scenes it was kind of dull. Course, haven't seen it in awhile so my memory of how good it is may be a little blurry.
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 1:40:27 PM

@ SACdaddy: I completely disagree with you on your assesment of The Hurt Locker, and frankly find your adulation of Point Break (an entertaining B-movie at best) sort of silly. And no, I don't think District 9 - with its careless botch of its own unecessary faux-doc*mentary conceit halfway through - or Up in the Air - glibly playing down anything having to do with our current recession despite being advertised as "the movie of our time" so that we can get yet another tired story of a Wealthy White Bachelor's Painful Isolation™ - were better films. In my opinion, this was one of the few times the Academy Award for Best Picture was 100% right.

But that's your opinion, and I'm fine with that.

What I DO have an issue with is your assertion that minorities ALWAYS win Oscars, and ONLY win them for PR reasons("The first blacks to be nominated for Oscars won. The first major Biblical films nominated won. Now the first woman director up for the award won."). First of all, no black person has ever won the Academy Award for Best Director (John Singleton was the first to be nominated, which shoots down the accuracy of your first statement), and it was JUST THIS YEAR that the first black man won the Best Screenplay award. I'm not even sure what you were talking about with "Biblical films," much less what it has to do with polical correctness.

But, most importantly, Kathryn Bigelow was NOT the first woman up for the Best Director award. Three other women have been nominated in the past - all unsuccessful. Lina Wertmuller, Jane Campion, and Sofia Coppola lost the Academy Award for Best Director (I'm not even including great female directors who were snubbed of a nom), yet when a woman finally wins it, suddenly AMPAS has some kind of feminist agenda? That's completely absurd, and it's no different than the backhanded racism that accompanies Teabagger arguments about Barack Obama being elected "just because he's black," implying that a woman or a minority can't achieve something on their own merits.

The Hurt Locker was THE most critically acclaimed and awarded film of 2009. It places at #15 on the "They Shoot Pictures, Don't They?"'s aggregated database of the most acclaimed films of the 21st Century. It was #1 ranked on MCN's and Rotten Tomatoes' list of the most acclaimed films of 2009 by a healthy margin. It swept nearly every critics award for Best Picture, including the Los Angeles, New York, and National Society of Film Critics...the first time this has happened since L.A. Confidential. I'm not saying that these facts make The Hurt Locker *objectively* the best film of the year, but CLEARLY there were people out there who believed it was, regardless of whether or not the director had a penis. So give Bigelow a little credit.
c-prime writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 1:56:30 PM

I'm not in love with either flick. While "Avatar" is a bombastic eco-film designed to wag the finger at us wasteful peons and indulge the vanity of a man who once made better movies, "The Hurt Locker" is riddled with clichés and is hugely unrealistic in its portrayal of military procedures. Entertaining though they both may be, neither one of them was, in my opinion, the best film of 2009. Not even in my top five. Good but not great films.

What I find interesting about this article is that we have a woman in Hollywood that is irritated that ANOTHER WOMAN set a milestone by winning an award. I am bewildered and amused at the same time. I thought every woman would get behind Kathryn Bigelow's win. I thought they would tout it as huge step toward progressivism in America. Mrs. Weaver proved me wrong. Hilarious.
BigUnit writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 2:01:58 PM

so good to here that from an actual woman!!!! thank you sigourney weaver!!!!! I do agree with her on the hurt locker part but not james cameron winning best director.
BigUnit writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 2:03:36 PM

Hurt locker sucked and i did not enjoy it one bit. totally over-rated. Not even worth being nominated.
warlord writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 2:11:57 PM

shes been hanging out with james cameron looks like *sshole has rub off on herM REALY WEAVER AVATAR BEST PICTURE. BITCH YOU BEEN SMOKEING DOGsh*t IF YOU THINK AVATAR IS THE BEST PICTURE
BigUnit writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 2:21:49 PM

@WARLORD- shes talking about him winning best director not best picture. believe it or not there is a difference.
Ranger writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 2:29:24 PM

@ndenitto - I was scanning these posts... and sure enough, you beat me to it... re: kitchen... lol.

Look Weaver, you're lucky you get to vote and get a driver's license. So shut your c*cksucker and get on all 4's bitch! It's time to pay the rent!

(that should stir up the ladies on here... rats, NO... they know my sense of humor (or lack thereof) by now).
georgecostanza writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 2:29:33 PM

He didn't win because his movie sucked
bale01289 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 2:34:26 PM

@SAC - you got me dude, I'm f*cking terrified of the teacups! LOL.
bale01289 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 2:36:17 PM

Maybe if you had been to Iraq, you could see why it had that effect on me. Just saying....
SACdaddy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 2:41:47 PM

@Sam: Lol! I said the first blacks to be nominated won. I didn't say for what category, but if you must know it was best supporting actress (Hattie McDaniels) then best actor (Sidney Poitier). I do admit to stretching on the Biblical film winners. Many had been nominated but only Ben Hur won. I would have been much better using war films as an example of Hollywood politics. As for best director your right again, but only one woman's film (HL) has ever been nomianted for Best Picture.

"So give Bigelow a little credit."

Are you kidding, I'm the one of the few people on this website thats praised her more than her looks. She's not just a great director. She's a pioneer for her gender in a field completely devoid of its kind. I'm talking about the action film genre not film in general. She is litterally the genre's ONLY representation, and whether you (or she for that matter) like it or not, she may be opening doors for other women who never aspired or never had the opportunity to try that direction in life. I never said her gender helped her make these films, I just said that she was being recognized for more than the one accomplishment.

Hurt Locker could have won every award available this year, but I bet the majority of the members of this site couldn't tell you the names of the 3 major characters without looking it up. In Fact, they've probably forgotten most of the film by now, but I guarantee they could name the 2 main characters in Point Break. Like I said before, it may sound silly but its true. HL just wont stand the test of time because its just nothing that special.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 2:47:44 PM

@Bale: I'm a black guy that played football, but you dont see me praising The Blindside

just messin with ya man :-)
bale01289 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 3:02:54 PM

LOL, if you were praising the BlindSide, I would be forced to take away some of your "Man Points"! You know you're my boy, SAC (Not in the racist way, LOL....can't call a grown ass black man boy!)
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 3:06:33 PM

@ SACdaddy: "...but if you must know it was best supporting actress (Hattie McDaniels) then best actor (Sidney Poitier)."

You forget that Hattie McDaniel and Sidney Poitier won their Oscars during times when blacks were still being discriminated against in the workplace and at the voting booth. It was hardly "politically correct" to award them at that time. Plus, Sidney Poitier's first Oscar was NOT his first nomination. He was up for Best Actor in 1958 for The Defiant Ones, but lost to David Niven. Poitier won it five years later for Lilies of the Field.

"...but only one woman's film (HL) has ever been nominated for Best Picture."

Wrong again. Lost in Translation, Awakenings, and The Prince of Tides were all female-directed films that were nominated for Best Picture, but only Coppola managed a corresponding Best Director nod.

"...but I bet the majority of the members of this site couldn't tell you the names of the 3 major characters without looking it up."

And that means what to me? I don't care what kind of cult following a movie has, and I highly doubt even you use that as a barometer for a film's quality. I'm sure most Worst Previews commenters could recite every character, scene, and line from Army of Darkness, but that doesn't make it a better film than Schindler's List or The Piano.

"HL just wont stand the test of time because its just nothing that special."

I think it will stand the test of time with flying colors, but we won't find out which of us will be right for quite a while.
Ranger writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 3:12:16 PM

Why not? I call the little Sambo that cuts my lawn 'boy' all day long!

(see... see what I did just there?!).
Ranger writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 3:16:44 PM

Disappointingly he's white and I call him Dave.
c-prime writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 3:18:30 PM

Too funny, Ranger.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 3:28:54 PM

@Sam: Thx for the clarifications. I'm obiviosly way off on my history :-)

I never once said "political correctness" though. Hollywood mostly operates by a different set of standards than the rest of the country. Hollywood politics like propping up war film, promoting of mentally or physically challenged roles, not letting certain directors win certain awards, continuously nominating the same actors for awards year after year, was what I was referring to. Anyway, thx for the education and your opinions.

@Bale & Ranger: you're killing me!!!
AYT BALL writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 3:40:16 PM

Never go full retard!! lol

seriously though, its good to see people are passionate about these things, its why we are all here.

and as for Ranger and Bales disgusting racial slurs.........LOL!!
Ranger writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 3:46:39 PM

@AYT - can't reply right now... I'm brakedancing!
Ranger writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 3:47:11 PM

Stealing a car?
Ranger writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 3:49:14 PM

Robbing a 7-11?
Ranger writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 3:49:49 PM

Awaiting my parole hearing?
Ranger writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 3:50:30 PM

'Where da white women at?!' -- Blazing Saddles.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 4:13:59 PM

The reason why Bigelow won best director was because she made the better f*cking movie. Not because she had tits, you idiot.

I guess the any time a woman wins something it's sexist now. Jesus Christ, we give them equal rights and now they're complaining that they have too many rights?
Ranger writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 4:15:46 PM

I like to keep my handcuffed to the stove where they belong.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 4:18:32 PM

this is also why see any movies with female main characters, because who'd want to watch a movie about a kitchen?
Ranger writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 4:20:26 PM

... or to the bed when it's play time for Mr. Spanky.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 4:26:58 PM

I'd only watch that if Johansson was in it..
acreshakers writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 4:28:27 PM

@ johnny_boy freaking hilarious! I saw ghostbusters too and she's flat as Kansas!!
Ranger writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 4:38:59 PM

Mudflaps.

Flat as piss on a pie plate!
Ranger writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 4:50:17 PM

Hey Sigourney... you up for a bit 'o Scat Lovin?!

http://www.scatstar.com/

Num, num, num, num...

Nekros22 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:00:08 PM

What could she have won the Oscar for? Jiggling her cottage-cheese thighs in glorious 3-d? Ugh, somebody pass me a bucket...
encoreyourface writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:09:54 PM

"In the past, 'Avatar' would have won because [Oscar voters] loved to hand out awards to big productions"


stupid c*nt, stop being such a f*cking cry baby because it was actually fair. can't beleive she actually said that f*cking Avatar should have won becuase it had big production. get the f*cking sand out of your vagina stupid feminist bitch, and bake me a f*cking pie!!!!
encoreyourface writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:20:30 PM

"like to keep my handcuffed to the stove where they belong."

LOL!!! i choose the bed.

good points Spooky, feminist bitches can never be happy, Weaver is being a big blue avatar waffle. unless Bigelow had gone on stage topless and did a strip tease, the fact that she has tits means pretty much nothing but to a few people(including me,lol). this is what happens when you let your woman talk.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:45:54 PM

f*ck every time i look at the headline for the article i get fueled ewith f*cking rage. where's Vin i need something to blow up,lol
encoreyourface writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:47:02 PM

lol meant blow up AT not blow up ... he's not his blow up doll.
nightjunkie writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 6:35:12 PM

@ SacDaddy

http://www.metacritic.com/film/titles/hurtlocker?q=the%20hurt%20locker

Nuff said...continue proceeding to kill yourself, if the movie flew was too intelligent for you maybe the next Hannah Montana movie will be better suited for your lack of intellect
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 6:46:56 PM

@ encoreyourface: That snippy comment from her pissed me off, too. It's not even factually correct. Using her logic, wouldn't Lost in Translation have beaten The Lord of the Rings in 2003? That was a small indie directed by a woman competing against (at the time) a massive fantasy epic that also happened to be the highest-grossing film of the decade.

Reasonable people can have their disagreements over the merits of The Hurt Locker, but she's a f*cking crybaby idiot. Plain and simple.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 7:09:22 PM

What a f*cking c*nt.
Ranger writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 7:17:08 PM

Which is NOT to be confused with a 'c*nt f*cking' - which is a good thing!
trailertrash writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 7:19:04 PM

i agree !!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 7:25:56 PM

"Today it's fashionable to give the Oscar to a small movie that nobody saw."

Disrespectful c*nt, this bitch should be taken down a few pegs, but this next quote really does clear everything up:

"[Oscar voters] loved to hand out awards to big productions,"

...Which basically means that even Weaver knows that avatar is a big jinging-keys and bright-lights fest rather than an actual movie.

I think we should let her know that "Small movies that nobody sees" are what gets actors like Weaver and Directors like Cameron their start to a long successful career.
Ranger writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 7:36:21 PM

Or just kick her in the snapper with a steel-toed boot.
trailertrash writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 7:39:02 PM

Maybe she is still pissed that she was nominated twice in the same year with Gorillas in the mist and working girl (supportin) and won f*ck all !!

Shame really shes done so many small movies that nobody saw...

@spooky you said it best: Disrespectful c*nt
trailertrash writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 7:42:55 PM

she did all sorts of things to those monkeys to try and win an oscar bless her !!
BigUnit writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 7:43:52 PM

Disrespectful c*nt? Hurt locker was the most over rated movie i have ever seeen! that and besides hangover and PA.
trailertrash writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 7:48:17 PM

That maybe so , but really she should just keep her mouth shut , just sounds like sour grapes to me....

For me i enjoyed hurt locker as much as avatar..
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 7:48:58 PM

@BigUnit, you have Wolverine from Origins as your profile picture, why the f*ck does your opinion matter again?
Ranger writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 7:53:08 PM

She should only open her mouth to eat and suck d*ck (and not necessarily in that order).
trailertrash writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 7:57:07 PM

^^ha ha , she loves a bit of c*ck !! or is it food , once it goes in her mouth she swallows it all anyway..
Ranger writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 8:01:18 PM

And if she doesn't... pinch their nose... they'll swallow!
Ranger writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 8:05:50 PM

So Sig...

If women don't win Oscar's - Hollywood is sexist.

But when Bigelow won hers... Hollywood was being sexist.

OK... gotcha. Just clarifying!

You stunned bitch!
trailertrash writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 8:06:43 PM

Nice tip !!

No j*zzhut clip LOL
CCBlev writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 8:41:01 PM

O Sigourney Weavers just mad bc her character got killed in Avatar and her chane at comeback was halted, cry me a river you c*ck juggling thunderc*nt.
And Damn I leave for a few hours and there's so much to read, i'll be on here all night catching up.
oklahomaer writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 8:56:02 PM

that is the dumbest thing this c*nt has ever said.ben-hur is a f*cking classic.avatar will be forgotten along with the twilight movies.
oklahomaer writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 8:56:10 PM

that is the dumbest thing this c*nt has ever said.ben-hur is a f*cking classic.avatar will be forgotten along with the twilight movies.
ZenShark writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 9:35:03 PM

obviously cameron banged her.
bale01289 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 9:49:53 PM

@CC - "c*ck Juggling Thunderc*nt".....................awesome,LOL!
SACdaddy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 10:43:13 PM

All of these post and I yet hear why Hurt Locker was such a great film. Nobody's championed it for its originality or creativity. Nobody's heralding its cinematography or brilliant character development. Is it a realistic portrayl of US troop activity in Iraq? I'm not a soldier but I've read conflicting opinions on that. What did the film add to the its genre or to the film industry in general? I completely missed why it was so special, so maybe someone can explain it to me. Nightjunkie?
DetroitFanRick writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:04:00 PM

Holy sh*t! You mean the Oscars really are political and not an acknowledgement of quality filmmaking?!!!

Oh god! I may kill myself!!!

Too sarcastic?
BigUnit writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:11:27 PM

@spooky- for your information ive had this as my avatar before the movie even came out. it is simply my avatar and i will not change this as my avatar because Hugh Jackmen is arguebly does the best portrayel of a super hero that we have ever seen. that being said i would take the sihttie wolverine movie over the sh*ttie hurt locker movie an day. so why dont you just shut the f*ck up unless you got something to say about the topic itself.
Clair_de_Lune writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 11:19:58 PM

Sigourney, if you're going to make a point, at least use good examples--BEN-HUR just hasn't dated well. In fact, I'll gladly choose "small movies nobody saw" over spectacles--I'd take Young Mr. Lincoln over Gone With the Wind, Wings of the Dove over Titanic, and The Hurt Locker over Avatar, in a heartbeat.
Ranger writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 12:01:29 AM

@BigUnit - don't forget Christopher Reeve as Superman.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 1:01:26 AM

@BigUnit: what about RDJ as Iron Man? He probably looks the part and fits the role of a his rich alcoholic alter ego best of all. Jackman is technically too tall and too nice for the role, but who's nit picking.
Lulupendragon writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 1:17:35 AM

James is just a big sore loser. Yes Avatar was a good movie, but Hurt Locker was better.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 2:33:42 AM

"You stunned bitch!"-LOL!
trailertrash writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 3:41:48 AM

@BigUnit - Michael Crawford "Condor Man"
masht7 writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 7:14:56 AM

I'm going to go back in time and write this letter

Dear Academy Awards

I'm from the future, to prove myself I have this info: Logan Lerrman is not Spidey, Joss Whedon is directing The Avengers and Steven Seagel is a whore. Also Sigourney Weaver accuses you of Sexism for chosing The Hurt Locker instead of Avatar and Kathryn Bigelow instead of James Cameron. To stop this from happening, please not do not chose Avatar or The Hurt Locker and chose either Inglourious Basterds or District 9 and chose Quentin Tarantino for Best Director.

Thanks for Listening, masht7
BigUnit writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 9:21:40 AM

"Inglourious Basterds or District 9 and chose Quentin Tarantino for Best Director"

Finally someone says it! thank you i couldnt agree with you more
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 12:24:54 PM

@ SACdaddy: Why was The Hurt Locker a great film? Because Bigelow has been a dazzling orchestrator of action and lightstorm for her whole career, but folks finally sat up and noticed her much-needed, ground-level view of American soldiering, of their dangers and head rushes and their contemplations of their lot, and of each other. The images of thought were as galvanizing as the images of threat.

@ BigUnit: Gee, should I be surprised that the biggest whiner of The Hurt Locker's success would have picked the fanboy favorites? Let me guess, you also think The Dark Knight is one of the best films ever made?
darkraven28 writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 4:04:58 PM

Well, I guess we know who Weaver supports as far as the question of Cameron or Bigelow. But then again, Cameron IS a WRITER/DIRECTOR. That to me says more about one's skill than just being a director. Say what you want about Cameron's abilities (most critics go straight to the screenwriter side of him as being somewhat not up to par, which is getting kind of old anyway), but I think a writer/director deserves more praise than someone who doesn't write and direct. And at this point, Cameron's success I think deserves to be praised rather than ridiculed. It hasn't been some happy accident or anywhere close to the type of career that George Lucas calls "a detour". Cameron is a skilled filmmaker that has created great movies again and again. Are they perfect movies? NO, but what movie is perfect? Are they good movies when Cameron makes them? God Damn right they are.
PLASTIC MAN writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 7:07:49 PM

I see a bunch of f*cking idiots here. Avatar was far better than Hurt Locker. Somehow it became cool not to like Avatar. Some of youz guyz slam people for liking that movie. I don't know why. Youz don't slam people for liking the original star wars and this was just as good. is it cuz this movie made so much money?
Ranger writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 9:10:43 PM

I don't know if anyone no liking Avatar makes them a 'f*cking retard' as much as a name-caller than feels others can't have an opinion (based on whatever reason) than their own.

I liked Avatar... so what? Does that make us Avatard Buds?

How insecure are you that you feel people with different opinions are a threat and that Avatar (and/or Cameron) needs you rooting for it or he? The movie take ($'s) at the box office speak for itself.

So chill out a bit, and maybe go f*ck your dog.
trailertrash writes:
on April 16th, 2010 at 5:12:42 AM

@ plastic
"I see a bunch of f*cking idiots here"

Glad you joined up to worst previews.
Your first ever comment was very insightful and thought provoking thank you and i personally will look forward to anything else you have to say you sound like a very imformative guy well done.

Good luck with the f*cking of your dog, have fun with that won't you , i'm sure you will woof woof


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved