WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joe Johnston Explains Chris Evans' "Captain America" Casting

Posted: April 13th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joe Johnston Explains Chris EvansSubmit Comment
EarthsMightiest website caught up with "The First Avenger: Captain America" director Joe Johnston to talk about casting Chris Evans (Fantastic Four) in the title role.

"Casting Captain America is really casting two roles," he explained. "Steve Rogers before and after the transformation from 98-pound weakling to perfect physical specimen. I can't divulge how we're going to do it, but the performance will be Chris Evans from beginning to end."

Johnson added: "An actor playing Captain America has to embody that backstory and let it inform his understanding of his new self. One of the interesting aspects of the character is the effect that kind of total transformation would have on the his psyche. It gives the character more dimension and the actor playing him a wider range of interesting choices."

And even though just about all of young Hollywood auditioned for the role, Evans got to skip that step by simply being impressed with the concept art for the movie. "Chris didn't audition at all," said Johnston. "I was already familiar with everything he'd done and was championing his cause, not that I had a fight from the Marvel team. They were fans of his as well. He came in to the art department to say hi, saw all the jaw-dropping art and designs on the wall and reacted the way I'd hoped he would. It was really his wonderful enthusiasm for everything he saw that cinched the deal."

Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: EarthsMightiest


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 77 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 6:09:50 AM

"Chris didn't audition at all"

yes please advertise your stupidity. that'll sale more tickets.
VDODSON writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 6:38:01 AM

Johnston is a f*cking idiot. You would think that after Wolfman bombed, he would go about this movie very carefully. But no, he picks some dipsh*t for the role because he was impressed by some drawing.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 6:45:58 AM

Its not Chris Evans I have a problem with, its just the director.

From all the talk so far from him, it seems has he just doesn't get the concept of CA.
LeeMaca writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 6:46:21 AM

he just dropped by the art room, NO HE DIDN'T he was the only schmuk that would sign a nine movie deal starting at 300,000.
is it just me or does just giving flame boy the role slap every actor that went for it in the face. Chris Evans is not strong enough to pull off this movie maybe with good direction but unfortunately we lost out there too, and i do mean we! because this movie will be a hit and will make it's budget in three or four days of being released. Sadly we will be the one's let down and just to get this off my chest I hate joe johnston and think 'yourfriendwith' should helm it after his chipreviews video f*cking hilaaaarious
trailertrash writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 6:50:31 AM

More to the point how did Joe Johnston get the job ??!!!
johnny_boy writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 6:53:27 AM

@ trailer.... Cuz of his experience at shooting stuff in different times, ie rocketman., but even that's not a good excuse on marvels part
nope.com writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 7:00:57 AM

so... all you had to do to impress Joe Johnston was to stare at the art on the wall and smile like an ass?

... yeah this will be a good film I'm sure
nope.com writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 7:01:38 AM

oh yeah btw f*ck you Michael Bay
LeeMaca writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 7:05:16 AM

@Ranger
three boobs, sore wrist and a tarnished soul

THANKS DUDE GREAT UPLOAD
and finally I have a new response to my girlfriends "what do you want for xmas"
LeeMaca writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 7:12:39 AM

@nope
dude just read your Stan Trashing not cool buddy,
how can anyone hate stan lee?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 7:14:12 AM

Wow. if that was the only thing needed to get the part, I don't understand how the other ones failed. I can stare at pictures and be impressed, it's not that hard.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 8:30:12 AM

i'd feel like sh*t if i was one of the many actors who actually DID audition for this.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 8:33:37 AM

I liked the Rocketeer and the Wolfman, but am I the only one that remembers how bad the lead actor was in both films? Benecio's character had as much depth as a Vegas showgirl, and I'm pretty sure the noname who played the Rocketeer never really worked again on the big screen. This isn't a good sign for Cap. Evans.
the_dude writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 9:09:49 AM

I dunno SAC, Cliff Secord got in that one movie where he beat up J-Lo... Classic cinema right there.
johndillinger writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 9:13:29 AM

@ encore

"yes please advertise your stupidity. that'll sale more tickets."

.. coming from mr know it all.


SACdaddy writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 9:28:59 AM

@the_dude: got me there. Not the most memorable performance, but better than his Rocketeer.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 9:43:48 AM

Posted my Green Lantern concepts to my site, got cap america on there for anyone thats interested, all comments welcome..

www.aytballgraphics.co.uk
ZenShark writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 9:52:58 AM

man this is gonna suck...
warlord writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 10:00:07 AM

marvel is a ass-monkey LONG LIVE THE TEA PARTY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 10:00:14 AM

@Aytball: Nice stuff. I'm impressed by the fact that you made Sinestro look believable. He has always been my biggest concern.
CCBlev writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 10:08:15 AM

I don't wanna read about his explaination for Evans! WHEN YOU F-UP CAPTAIN AMERICA I WANT A GOOD LONG AND HARD, not the Daddy Vindy way, EXPLAINTION OF HOW YOU MESSED IT UP, THEN I WANT AN APOLOGY AND THNE FOR YOU TO ADMIT YOU SUCK AT LIFE AND THEN COMMIT SUICDE IN PUBLIC, YOU WASTE OF LIFE!
CCBlev writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 10:14:20 AM

@johndillinger
Surprise me say something intelligent yourself. Johnston is an idiot, I mean cmon at least have Evans audition to make sure he's right for the role instead of assuming he is, more proof this is gonna suck, if I was Hugo Weaving, i'd be getting of this sinking ship fast!
SACdaddy writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 10:39:55 AM

Has anyone seen Human Target? I just watched my first episode last night and was pretty impressed. The action is well done and the acting is top knotch (especially from Jackie Earl Haley and Chi McBride). What I can't understand is how the star of the show never got considered for the CA part. Sure he's a little older, but the guy has the perfect look/chin for the job. If they weren't going for such a young actor, this guy would have been a great choice for the role.
eddie499 writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 10:54:26 AM

@ SAC - Human target is a great show. A lot of fun and sort of a wink to all of the great old action shows of the 70s and 80s. Jackie Earle Haley is great in about everything he is in, even the original Bad News Bears.

More on topic - Who cares how he selected him. It's a bad decision to cast this dude as CA and this will most likely be a trainwreck. All we can do is hope that some higher power intervenes, whether it be an exec at Marvel or the spirits of Joe Simon and Jack Kirby, to salvage it.

As of now, the only thing I'll be interested to see what Johnston has to say to the hundreds of thousands of fans after he realizes that he dropped the biggest steaming pile of cow dung on their collective faces.
lost_addict writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 10:59:32 AM

'Joe Johnston Explains Chris Evans...'

before that someone should explain Joe Johnston...
trailertrash writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 11:05:01 AM

@AYT BALL - wow really good stuff !! the one with mark strong on there is awesome and i like the suttle Swastika flag (not because of what it stands for by the way just a nice ww2 link) on the Captain America one too, Well done to you !!



AYT BALL writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 11:19:59 AM

@Freud and trailer - thanks guys much appreciated. Been having fun doing these so no doubt will have more coming, started a Thor poster but wasnt feeling it, may have another look.
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 11:22:07 AM

@ATY BALL
dude your GL is AMAZING.... I never doubted you but seriously you raped that guys concept art a few articles back. Awesome work with Sinestro! Been curious to see how Mark Strong would look with a pencil thin mustache haha Nailed it dude.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 11:24:40 AM

@ Ted - thanks man! you and ranger set the challenge! lol pleased you liked them, didnt know much about GL until i did some homework for this so wasnt sure how true GL fans would take it.
CCBlev writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 11:25:44 AM

Aytball
Jesus, That was literally epic and breathtaking.
LeeMaca writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 11:27:47 AM

@ AYT BALL

Looking good buddy keep it up, prefer your cap to the calvin klein pose on this post!
SACdaddy writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 11:33:01 AM

@AYT BALL: nice work my friend. Especially liked the GL with Sinestro and CA's dented shield (pretty authenic considering his first shield could be damaged). One big problem though. Everytime I see someone's vision of Evans in the gear the whole premise of this film looks worse and worse. Not knocking you or others' work, its just the whole outfit with the wingtips and Evans feminine features looks kind of gay and ridiculous. Not your fault though.
johndillinger writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 11:38:18 AM

hahaha lost addict
AYT BALL writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 11:46:54 AM

thanks again guys, makes it feel like staying up til 4 in the morning working on that stuff wasnt such a bad thing! lol

@ SAC - I know theres alot of people against Evans as captain america, personally (being british) i dont feel too strongly about who does or doesnt play him, i do see why you guys wouldnt want evans in the roll thought, Cap looks huge in some of the comics! .......but! i cant help thinking of Evans in Sunshine, he played a pretty serious roll in that and a bit of a tough guy and in my opinion he nailed it, i think it could all be down to the director (i know i know! lol) as to weather or not this movie works.
Ranger writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 11:47:11 AM

@AYT - nice work my friend. Even with my suggestion of no Sinestro... the one with he in it is grand (he looks like s sh*t-disturber!). Nice!

So... they're going to CG his body (maybe both 98lb. weakling and CA). I don't mind Evans for a pick... he's in GREAT shape, but he's neither a weakling, nor does he have the 240 bod CA is supposed to be carrying. So that leaves CG... doesn't it?

And unless Joe J. is the best actor on this project, he does seem to be appearing to be going about this a bit willy-nilly... but let's see. He's my biggest concern. Let's see his Hollywood magic. Although, having said that... f*ck this up Joe and we'll set your pets on fire... f*cker!
LeeMaca writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 11:58:25 AM

@ Ranger holy sh*t dude, you need to get alibi in check my friend

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/21/20100413/tuk-1-000-pets-killed-in-building-blaze-6323e80.html
Ranger writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 11:59:51 AM

And someone asked, more importantly - how did Marvel get JJ to direct?

Probably (sounds like) the same piss-poor selection process they used to cast CA. Who would work for that little of money. Even the actors that were gracious enough to audition sure as hell weren't in it for the cash (because $300K pre-tax in Hollyweird before you pay your staff... and they ALL have staff - Managers, Agents, Assistants, etc. - is LUNCH MONEY!). They tried-out for the love of the iconic figure CA is.

If Joe pulls this off... no one but me would be happier. This money is as important at Thor, but even more important in story than Iron Man (due to the origin, WWII, etc.) - CA is a BIGGER story, and we ALL know he's the 'hub' of The Avengers. So... good luck Joe.
LeeMaca writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 12:01:12 PM

"One of the interesting aspects of the character is the effect that kind of total transformation would have on the his psyche."

chris benoit anyone?

Ranger writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 12:05:12 PM

Good call.
Ranger writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 12:15:41 PM

@Lee - ummm... I was hoping no one was going to dig that up. Thx. man... looks like I'm moving... AGAIN (looks through blinds for cops)!!!
Absolution writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 2:58:10 PM

are people really surprised this movie is gonna suck? you shouldnt be its marvel did you forget? there comics arent remembered for sh*t there characters are, who cares who even played captain america the director makes the movie and people tend to forget that no matter what happens its still a film and even though all marvel characters are one day gonna be movie stars we now have tv shows that embarrass our beloved supers (not including marvels) if they ever have cable in any movie other than his own then i will no longer have any respect because nathan summers is the only man i respect on marvel, f*ck YOU MARVEL :]
jeffw1978 writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 3:36:22 PM

What is wrong with setting pets on fire? Hell you should see my neighbors cat right now, f*ckers running around in circles meowing like crazy setting everything on fire. sh*t time to get the hose he set the tree on fire stupid little f*ck!
johndillinger writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 3:42:20 PM

okay i know ill get bashed for this but i mean come on... your judging this entire movie on an interview the director had about the casting. just wait it out... wait for pictures, teasers and trailers... and then you can judge for yourself but don't base your judgment off of an article and your hatred for the director
encoreyourface writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 4:40:38 PM

never said i hated the director or the film will be bad. i actually liked Wolfman. but it's plain stupid to not audition someone, and even stupider to f*cking advertise your stupidity.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 4:42:17 PM

AYT BALL-great posters! very well done, loved Sinestro
YourFriendWithTheBigDick writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 4:46:37 PM

Chris Evans cast as Captain ?_?
f*ck me and here i was thinking they would hav picked one of us from the audition tape

I had to get the sea-men pumped out of my stomach after all that, ;L....
encoreyourface writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 4:59:59 PM

lol,nice!
encoreyourface writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 5:11:55 PM

don't like to spam but thought this was kinda funny

http://theberry.com/2010/03/12/gaga-before-she-went-gaga-10-photos/

such an unhappy shemale ... how's the 13' d*ck Gaga?
Lowryder writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 5:35:31 PM

I think its dumb when superheros just hide a small part of their face and not get reconized. And then superman doesnt cover his face at all, just takes off glasses and nobody can tell who he is, i mean cmon..are all the ppl in the superman universe blind??
Vin12 writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 5:53:01 PM

@aytball
Might I suggest superheronation.com. People on that site actually know what they're talking about in terms of writing and art. i wouldn't put too much stock in what these guys think. talented peole like you are the reason i come here. Oh yeah, put van sciver to shame, man way 2 go
Ranger writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 5:55:10 PM

Seriously Vin... 12 bucks cash if you kill yourself!
trailertrash writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 6:03:26 PM

ranger is that a whip round i'm in !!!
Vin12 writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 6:05:13 PM

make it 50 f*cker lol
trailertrash writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 6:07:07 PM

f*cking done !! cash or cheque , whats your dads name for the cheque ???
Dark writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 6:16:20 PM

Better not f*ck this up Johnston
Ranger writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 6:16:34 PM

lol... ok Vin... I'll give you that one.
jeffw1978 writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 6:18:19 PM

For 50 Bucks we get to pick the form of death.
jeffw1978 writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 6:20:50 PM

Just thought you guys might want to know but Lard ass Steven Segal is being sued for sex trafficking. http://www.foxnews.com/entertainment/2010/04/13/steven-seagal-sued-sex-trafficking-assault/?test=latestnews
trailertrash writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 6:24:38 PM

It was his birthday the other day , maybe the russian sex slaves were a gift !!!
jeffw1978 writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 6:35:57 PM

Who do I have to kill to get russian sex slaves as a gift?
YourFriendWithTheBigDick writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 6:45:05 PM

damn i wish seagal was my master
he would have treated me right ;L
trailertrash writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 6:56:23 PM

@jeff , i have no idea but that would be a great gift at your birthday party no question !! lol

@yfwtbd , lol the man knows how to party ..
Ranger writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 6:57:50 PM

@jeff - I read that yesterday. She's a gold-digger. Claiming he hit on her repeatedly, but she never quit her job, or went to the cops.

She deserves anal with a weed-eater (sorry if that got you excited Vin)!
SACdaddy writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 7:01:43 PM

Sue Steven Seagal? Doesn't this lady know he's ABOVE THE LAW ;-)
Vin12 writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 7:04:16 PM

Wow... ranger's giving me props. mark the day down cuz it probably wont happen again.
jeff
u wanna pick i'll have to raise the price lol
trailertrash writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 7:06:45 PM

@sac - ha ha clever..

@ranger anal with a weed eater lol
trailertrash writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 7:08:41 PM

vin - you made a funny !!
VDODSON writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 7:38:27 PM

If she continues down this route, the bastard may be Out for Justice.
trailertrash writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 7:48:44 PM

with the russians involved he could be on Deadly Ground being Marked For Death ...
Rodan writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 7:48:53 PM

After he had his way with her, I bet there were some Exit Wounds.
Matiax writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 8:23:15 PM

That must be a kick in the nuts to all the actors who DID audition.

And that picture has an extra-fag face.
CCBlev writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 9:08:47 PM

omg Vin are you coming around? I need to lay of the drugs, I swear im seeing things
Vin12 writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 11:23:54 PM

ok final offer. 25 bucks and a unanimous 'JJ sucks C.O.C.'S balls' and then I'll go kill myself
Vin12 writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 11:26:11 PM

Also, it looks like joss whedon is directing avengers. I dunno whether to cry or kick favs' ass for not directing. I'd say drop cowboys and aliens to go and do it
masht7 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 1:29:43 AM

@Vin

We will mark the day down when you are funny again.
masht7 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 1:31:00 AM

But still, would you kill yourself for $50? or would you blow a hobo for $50? (I Think you'd blow a hobo for 2 cents)
encoreyourface writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 5:42:15 PM

he'd blow a hobo for free. f*ck he's pay to blow the hobo!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved