WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Conan O'Brien to Host Talk Show on TBS

Posted: April 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Conan OSubmit Comment
As part of his agreement with NBC, Conan O'Brien is not allowed to host a talk show until September. He's had talks with Fox, but the network has been having trouble convincing their affiliates to bring Conan on board.

Now comes word that the Fox deal didn't work out and Conan has instead joined TBS to host a late-night talk show, which is expected to debut in November. It will be hour-long and air Mondays through Thursdays at 11pm (ET/PT). And just like before, someone will be pushed back. That someone is George Lopez, whose "Lopez Tonight" will shift to a midnight time slot.

Apparently Lopez is fine with the move, since he personally called Conan to ask him to join the network. "I can't think of anything better than doing my show with Conan as my lead-in," Lopez said. "It's the beginning of a new era in late-night comedy."

Conan commented on heading to TBS: "In three months I've gone from network television to Twitter to performing live in theaters, and now I'm headed to basic cable. My plan is working perfectly."

Source: TBS


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 8:11:41 PM

good for Conan i guess, moving on ...
masKritic writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 8:21:03 PM

Hell yeah Conan!!!

I gotta get basic cable now.
bale01289 writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 8:27:21 PM

Kudos to Conan. I hope his show does well. I know I will watch! I'm still kinda baffled by how nice and respectful he was when he got the boot from NBC. He's a better man than I.
TheHundreds writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 8:58:34 PM

cant wait to see him on tour
TheHundreds writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 9:00:04 PM

Lopez knows its a good move because of all the lazy people who are going to watch conan and then fall asleep to his show thus boosting his ratings.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 9:03:48 PM

OK move for Conan, its good to have him back, but I wish he could go head to head with Leno and Dave. Glad he's not on Fox.

GREAT move for TBS and Lopez. Arsenio proved that networks outside the Big 3 could still compete with the big boys. TBS/Lopez can do nothing but benefit from the move. Too bad for Stewart and Cobert :(
SofaKing writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 9:06:05 PM

What about the 1.5 million dollar skit he had? That has got to be a kick in the nuts for NBC...
AshTrey writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 9:08:53 PM

O'Brien and Lopez. I wouldn't watch this if this was a movie.. but since its a free television show on cable I might check it out.

I would have preferred Conan and Kimmel but whatever
SACdaddy writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 9:14:42 PM

God the stoners in Eugene, Oregon (90% of the town) are gonna love opening night of Conan's tour. That's the heart of Conan's fanbase! He's probably got at least 30 minutes of weed jokes primed for this crowd. Joe Rogan does the same thing everytime he comes to Austin. I wonder why :-)
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 9:59:56 PM

TEAM COCO 4 LIFE!!
CCBlev writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 11:24:07 PM

Let me take a bit sh*t, and maybe after I'm done I'll have enough energy to care.
CCBlev writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 11:43:05 PM

^
Big sh*t that is
masht7 writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 3:17:09 AM

This can be called Conan the Bargayrien.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 3:57:49 AM

CC-lol!
johnny_boy writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 5:16:36 AM

LOL..... Weren't his ratings low when he took over jay lenos show? What makes people think all of a sudden just cuz he's on tbs that's it's gonna be all good? I will laugh my ass off if his ratings turn out low, especially with all the support people have been giving "coco"
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 5:45:56 AM

Good for Conan, I suppose, even though I've had prefered him sticking to live shows. But a more important question: how many f*cking talk-shows do you have in the states? It seems like every channel have at leaste two and they follow directly after each other. Doesn't it get boring after a while?
SACdaddy writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 7:53:09 AM

@FN: Sure we have a lot, but you can only watch a max of 2 per night because they all compete. I like to call it "variety". Its just like the food over here, we've got something for everybody's unique tastes.....for me to poop on :-)
Moose756 writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 8:43:10 AM

COCO rules
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 10:26:39 AM

Smart move. Cable numbers differ from network numbers so he'll have a lot more leeway if his numbers don't look good on paper. I really doubt he'll do bad though because all of the fiasco has done nothing but boost his status. Lopez was doing good on TBS and I'm not surprised he petitioned for Conan to go there. He's right, it's a win for Lopez to follow Conan and a win for TBS.
But the obvious big winner is Conan. I heard it's an 8 figure deal where he actually owns the show. For performers, that is monumental. So no matter what he does or where he goes, from here on out, all the skits, material, etc are his. Since NBC owns the rights to his old show, I don't see him doing much if any of the sketches and bits from his old show on this new one.
I'll def be watching as I watch Lopez anyway. The fact that it's on basic cable also gives him a lot more censor-free room to operate which is always a plus.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 12:10:06 PM

I dont care what channel it is, im just glad Conan has a show again!
KirkLazerus writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 2:46:18 PM

what the f*ck is TBS
mmmmmm...simpsons writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 4:41:11 PM

Team coco all the way!!
Vin12 writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 6:09:38 PM

coco to NBC-f*ck you Haha
Vin12 writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 6:12:33 PM

@Chasity aka cc
bit sh*t. In the words of ur idiot leader 'do f*ck off and die'dumb f*ck...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved