WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Columbia Pictures Developing "He-Man" Movie

Posted: April 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Columbia Pictures Developing "He-Man" MovieSubmit Comment
THR is reporting that Mike Finch and Alex Litvak, who recently wrote the "Predators" reboot, has been hired by Columbia Pictures to pen "Masters of the Universe."

The studio picked up movie rights to the 1980s Mattel toy property in the fall, when Mattel and Warner Bros parted ways after the sides couldn't agree on a creative vision. There is no guarantee that the film will be made, since Mattel has story approval and may reject Columbia's vision the same way it did with Warners.

The show, "He-Man and the Masters of the Universe," centered on blond warrior Prince Adam, who, after uttering the magic words "By the power of Grayskull, I have the power," turned into the heroic He-Man. He and his allies -- Battle Cat, Man-at-Arms and Orko -- defended their planet Eternia from the evil forces of Skeletor, who attempted to conquer the fortress Castle Grayskull, which imbues He-Man with his powers.

All other scripts that Warner Bros has been working on will be thrown out. And the previously announced director, John Stevenson (Kung Fu Panda), will likely be replaced. Stay tuned.

Click here to read more about "Masters of the Universe."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 3:55:49 AM

never a big He-man fan, just never got into it ...
wonderBOY writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 4:18:42 AM

by the power of grey skull this will suck but will be better than the dolph lundgren one
trailertrash writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 4:27:42 AM

I agree on both comments , the dolph lundgren he-man movie was a bad bad bad movie, why bother
trailertrash writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 4:30:54 AM

Vince Vaughn as been linked before as He-man so maybe it's going to be a comedy !!

What ever it's a movie fail from me !!
johnny_boy writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 4:31:12 AM

Looks like vindandy frequent boning buddy he comes across at club rainbow
trailertrash writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 4:47:19 AM

@johnny - lol
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 5:11:33 AM

encore & trailer- yep you are right the Dolph Lundgren one sucked Vin's balls so it should be one of the movies us guys tell the studios to remake, they got it wrong the first time, they know what they did wrong so should be able to fix it right?
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 7:58:47 AM

in the last 25 years the best he-man sh*t to come out have been the skits from robot chicken, they should just make a he-man robot chicken movie - would be much better!
Charlie9 writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 8:01:50 AM

I quite liked the Dolph one in a sh*tty xheesy 80's way
Doc_Brown writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 8:27:15 AM

power for grey skull-f*ckery
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 8:45:56 AM

You can't make a good He-Man-movie, you just can't. Reading the synopsis for the show in the article, and it sounds pretty retarded.
trailertrash writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 8:48:52 AM

@dave

sucked vin's balls lol good discription...

They should know dave not to make it at all lol

@Charlie9

i love all those 80's cheesy films just never liked this one too much , can't beat a bit of 80's cheese lol..

Moose756 writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 9:20:34 AM

@freudian you are so right. He-man can not be made unless it really makes fun of itself
jeffw1978 writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 9:46:26 AM

Vindy must be getting excited half nake buff guys chasing half naked scrawny guys, its like his own personal fantasy.
makingcircles writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 9:52:51 AM

Okay...I'm a big He-man fan. In saying that, I realize that making a good He-man movie has a 80% chance of failure. However, I have said it here before...they need to make it an epic movie and take it seriously. It needs to have the scope of Lord of the Rings and middle earth. They need to make all the characters believable and solid. I think it needs to be a trilogy too. I hope this happens.
CCBlev writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 10:07:04 AM

This is the most exciting thing VinDandy's heard since he heard "Son, I'm home. Drop your pants!"
Lowryder writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 10:22:04 AM

C.O.C seen the headline for this article and thought it said "he-she", and then said " i would be a perfect choice for the lead role!"
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 10:35:36 AM

@makingcircles I agree with you 100%. If this were done in the LoTR fashion it would be pretty good. There's so much lore with this franchise but I'm sure everyone will try to bash it as a LoTR knock off. I hope they do put some serious effort into this and get some serious names to play the roles.
Stuntastic writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 11:08:13 AM

Bring on Hordak too not just Skeletor.
@MakingCircles: I agree with u it's kind of hard to make a film like this without having some campy feel to it cuz it all comes down to how the show was. And u know it's gonna b PG to appeal to kids and have some marketability
rabid writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 11:09:43 AM

if done proper, it could be the biggest fantasy film ever made. Campy is fine, so long as they spend the money and make it larger than life.
trailertrash writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 11:24:24 AM

@cc- "Son, I'm home. Drop your pants!" and then added i've had that girth and extension operation we been promising ourselves son !!!
masht7 writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 12:04:12 PM

Atleast this isn't going to suck as much the Spider-Man Reboot's going to.
YourFriendWithTheBigDick writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 12:30:56 PM

f*ck yeah! this is my kinda movie
is anyone else getting a massive 2 incher over just reading about the news ?_?
Ranger writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 12:33:45 PM

@YourFriend...lol.

Always a highlight of my day my friend!
CCBlev writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 12:43:14 PM

@Trailer
"Gee golly Daddy, Christmas comes early this year. Can't wait for that to tickle my colon."
@yourfriend
2 inches? Damn im jealous, I'm hung like a lightswitch.
Ranger writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 12:45:29 PM

That's better than VinDandy...

He's hung like the lightbox.
CCBlev writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 12:48:41 PM

Really, I thought he had inverterd boners.
Ranger writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 1:27:37 PM

Not sure. But I know he invented whiny bitch!
nope.com writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 2:20:10 PM

He-Man's a flimsy f*g fairy nuff said
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 2:22:59 PM

If they go the campy route then let Raimi do it.
billofill writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 3:30:59 PM

Base it on the remake animated series and there ya go. it was like Star Wars with alil Lord of the Rings.
Eben1277 writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 11:08:24 AM

What's up with the haters???? The Dolph version was awesome! Pre-friends (and possibly pre-misfits of science, can't remember the year) Courtney Cox, Dolph Lundgren, and the principle from back to the future saying, "holy sh*t!" For those reasons alone it is worth watching, not to mention they got Frank Langella, who is a f*cking legend, to lend some weight and authority to the role of Skeletor. No way would Langella's Skeletor ever be intimidated by either He-Man, or his former master Hordak. The only more far out casting than that would be Ben Kingsly in Bloodrayne (pretty much the entire casting of Bloodrayne actually), Max Von Sydow in Judge Dredd, and of course, Raoul Julia in the worst movie ever, Street Fighter.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 1:30:11 AM

@trailer- thnx man, wanted to say something but as I am new at this thought I would start small, unlike the things vin loves to get shoved up his ass.
Mysterwright writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 3:35:56 AM

I see this, if anything as a good sign. Columbia Pictures made the Karate Kid franchise in the 80's. They know what sells to the market of this franchise's audience having successfully sold family products during MOTU's heyday. The writers worked on the latest Predator movie which was produced by Robert Rodriguez. Rodriguez has previously directed both the Spy Kids franchise and the adventures of Shark Boy and Lava Girl. I would say, undoubtedly, the key catalyst that will make this movie work will be to have everything analyzed, like it was by Filmation in the 80's, by a psychologist who then might be able to successfully help guide a manner of productively addressing any violence. He-Man is a barbarian Superman. By day he's mild-mannered Prince Adam of Eternia, the resident court slacker according to captain of the guard Teela. However, when Skeletor or his minions appear Prince Adam rushes to his sword and becomes He-Man, the most powerful man in the universe! No offense to anyone but cartoon superheroes cannot get busted for steroids like bodybuilding or on professional wrestling. Morality can still prevail with help from a considerate, unbiased federal coalition.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved