WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ryan Reynolds' "Green Lantern" Costume to be CG

Posted: April 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ryan ReynoldsSubmit Comment
Even though "Green Lantern" has already started filming, we have yet to see a single shot of Ryan Reynolds wearing the costume. Apparently, we will not see any such shots until Warner Bros releases official photos.

/Film has learned that the costume will be mostly CG. The only thing that suit that Reynolds will put on during filming is a motion capture suit. In fact, Reynolds has been joking that Warner Bros will turn him into a Na'vi when the movie is released.

The decision to go CG came when the filmmakers realized that Hal Jordan will have to change suits multiple times in a single scene, in order to take shape of his power. Plus, it gave costume designer Ngila Dickson (Lord of the Rings) the chance to make Green Lantern look different from all other superheroes. DC Comics' chief creative officer Geoff Johns has seen the designs and has given his blessing.

Click here to read more about "Green Lantern."

Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 57 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 3:53:50 AM

"Reynolds has been joking that Warner Bros will turn him into a Na'vi when the movie is released."

That's not funny, and nothing to joke about.

i don't really mind this, as long as he still looks badass
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 4:01:02 AM

I guess that's cool, still seems a teeny bit lazy, but if it makes the production flow faster, I'm all for it.
Bigcheese writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 4:11:50 AM

As long as it looks good, i'm happy.
matternm58 writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 4:18:18 AM

I suppose they want to make it look like the powers the ring gives off, i.e. forming solid green objects.
matternm58 writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 4:18:46 AM

Actually nevermind i don't see the reasoning behind that but whatever.
johnny_boy writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 4:29:06 AM

Why?! The costume can look good without cg! f*ckin hollywood
masht7 writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 4:57:14 AM

I'm cool with the suit in CG, just don't make it look like COC's suit that he uses at the local BDSM dungeon.
johnny_boy writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 5:01:22 AM

If they're gonna do his outfit cg, they might as well do the whole movie cg. If they can make spiderman and batmans suit look cool without making it cg, unless of course they're do an action scene that requires cg, then it can definitely be done with green lantern
LeeMaca writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 5:30:49 AM

sounds cool, reading more and more about the green dude on the net and starting to look like this could be a badass flick
history_light writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 5:32:50 AM

Isn't GL's suit a creation of the ring anyway? In which case CG is not just a good way to go, but really the only way to go.
WV-Films writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 6:31:38 AM

At first I was skeptical, but I have faith. WB doesn't f*ck around with SFX. Imagine the toys!!
Aingx writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 6:48:59 AM

That could go either way; if the production crew sucks, then his head will move oddly on the CG body. Hopefully they'll utilize some new type of motion capture.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 7:06:03 AM

@Johnny_boy: You forget that Spider-Man for the most part was a complete CGI character (especially in part 3), and there was no reason for Batman's suit to be CGI. This sounds pretty iteresting to me. GL's ring makes him a very unique SH and provides a great opportunity to create something fresh and somewhat original with the character. If they do half as good of a job on the GL suit as they did with the black Spidey suit or Dr Manhattan, it should look pretty sweet.

I've still yet to hear a bad thing come out of this production. If it keeps going this well, the hype around it will be massive upon its release.
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 7:51:53 AM

this news actually gets me a little more excited about this movie .... i may just rent it now when its out
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 8:03:59 AM

as much as i just thought WTF Really? ... I am now starting to understand.. it is needs to be done in order for the ring to create the costumes and stuff so yeah I dig the idea now. Just dont f*ck this up PLEASE... just a shame now we have to wait even long to see Reynolds in the outfit. What a c*ck tease.
Moose756 writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 9:17:44 AM

instead of a blue Na'vi we get a green one lol
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 9:27:40 AM

@Moose
Don't even joke dude hahah
CCBlev writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 10:00:48 AM

Jesus!!
rabid writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 11:06:56 AM

of course the outfit is CG. Green Lantern uniforms are made out of light.
LeeMaca writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 11:25:35 AM

Holy sh*t just realised iron man 2 comes out on 30th april in the uk CANTTTTTT WAIT to see this movie
Ranger writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 11:42:50 AM

It was so long that I've read a GL comic... I either didn't remember/realize his costume was created by the ring.

GL is a kick-ass superhero (always has been).

This production Co. should wrap up this flick and take over Captain America (of which I'm fine with everything BUT Joe Johnston)!

Nuff said.
masht7 writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 12:01:42 PM

@Lee

Sane here in Australia, cannot f*cking wait to see Scarlett's tities and shaved ranga vag and the rest of the movie.
Ranger writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 12:08:32 PM

lol.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 12:26:46 PM

I think this is actually a good idea. Green Lantern was always a different kind of characters and was mystical in terms of his powers unlike Superman or Wonder Woman. He should look a little abnormal, but I agree he still needs to look awesome. I have faith in director Martin Campbell though. Dude gave us Casino Royale, Mask of Zorro, and so on. He knows how to adapt stories to the screen from other media and films pretty well. I trust him pretty strongly with this.
rocketman writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 1:54:38 PM

Why? Not up on GL,didn't take off in Britain much but regardless of that i can't see a reason for this at all,is it not his RING that does all the stuff like making big egg whisks and mallets?
Ranger writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 2:17:12 PM

@rocket - as someone above touched-upon. I think Dr. Manhattan from The Watchmen may have some influence on this decision. I think GL having a 'glow' about him would add some illusion of power to he and his ring. I think this is 'out of the box' thinking for Hollyweird for a change. I think it's a great call.
rocketman writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 2:57:11 PM

Hmmm s'pose,I'm all for trippy space crazy wierd sh*t so cool.And it will make him stand out,no offence to the GL crowd but its not one of the more instantly recognizable Superhero costumes around so this,if done right could be very cool indeed.Gotta be better than f*cking biker leather.f*ck it,the more i think about it the more i like it,its a BRAVE move and theres a lot to be said for that with all the 'realistic' CB films around.(even though i love most of them)
Ranger writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 3:02:05 PM

GL was such a fav. of mine, Rocket. He stands out for me like Supes stands out for others.

If they don't pull their punches... this GL can do anything (if they think globally and universally). This could be huge.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 3:26:59 PM

Well this news probably screws the poster ive made! lol like rocket im not to familiar with GL so when i post a link to my artwork dont give me too much sh*t if the outfit/mask isnt workin for ya! :-) should have it up tomorrow, will post link on this thread
AYT BALL writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 3:28:00 PM

@ Ranger - check your mail in a few hours mate
AshTrey writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 3:51:14 PM

THIS CGI BETTER BE BALLER... IF NOT IT WILL LOOK RIDICULOUS. I DONT WANNA SEE WOLVERINE STYLE CGI HERE!!!

I WANNA SEE LORD OF THE RINGS STLYE.

@RANGER... JOE JOHNSTON AND THOSE GROPU OF MORONS RUNNING CAPTAIN AMERICA, THEY NEED TO BE TAKEN OVER!!
Ranger writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 3:59:02 PM

Will do Bud. Thx.

Looking forward to it!
LeeMaca writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 4:07:17 PM

Look what they did with the Thing in fantastic four, so many people went on about how it was a good move and cgi would have been a disaster. I personally thought it sucked although Sue Storm was diverting my attention for both those movies so again the more i hear about this and you guys filling in the blanks i.e suit comes from the ring the more i'm looking forward to this.
LeeMaca writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 4:09:40 PM

and did someone mention joe johnston cause i'm not a fan........
AYT BALL writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 4:28:50 PM

@ Ranger - Sent
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 4:35:46 PM

@AYT BALL
I'll make sure i check the threads tomorrow for it... looking forward to it
GIST writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 4:37:16 PM

Hmm. Inneressting.

On unrelated news: The main dude from Kick-Ass Aaron Johnson (19) just got his 42-year-old fiance Sam Taylor-Wood preggers. Now is that Kick-Ass or what?!

Ranger writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 5:17:09 PM

@JJ - the CA production meaning Joe Johnston) has me concerned.

@Lee - you're right. CG for 'The Thing' would have been MUCH BETTER than the rubber suit. For one thing... 'The Thing' is the size of The Hulk (they've battled before). That rubber suit sucked farts out of dead cows!

@Everyone -AYT's GL Poster kick the ass off the one from Hollywood!
GIST writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 5:37:27 PM

@AYT BALL

Link that sh*t over my way! I would love to see your work man!
YourFriendWithTheBigDick writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 5:44:12 PM

I gots a dirty secret, this video reveals the failed actors who tryed to get a part in the captain american movie sucking d*ck and taking one up the gary

take a look at these actors mug shots
the evidence is compeling you might regonise a few ;L....

http://sendables.jibjab.com/view/UMe9K4q2gdyhvuzN
AYT BALL writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 5:52:29 PM

@ YourFriendWithTheBigd*ck HAHAHAHAHAHA!!

@ Ranger - your too kind! remind me to send you that 100 bucks! lol

@ Ted and GIST - I will post it on my site tomorrow from work (i have no idea how to do it! lol)

it will be posted on

www.aytballgraphics.co.uk

thanks again for the interest fellas and as always any comments welcome
Ranger writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 6:48:47 PM

@yourfriend - hysterical buddy! Thx. for including me!

@AYT - I wouldn't say it if I didn't mean it my good man! Between your poster going public tomorrow and 'yourfriend's' video... you guys get top posts for the week (and it's only Monday!)!
Ranger writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 6:49:25 PM

Priceless:

http://sendables.jibjab.com/view/UMe9K4q2gdyhvuzN

Nice work!
encoreyourface writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 6:50:32 PM

@yourfreindwiththebigd*ck-LOL!!!!! i'm taking a wild guess here ... that was some of us. if so was the Darth Maul me or CCBlev? good work though,lol.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 6:58:35 PM

@Yourfriendwiththebigd*ck: That was some good sh*t my man. Plus, you gave Vindy something to jerk it to.
Ranger writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 6:59:25 PM

'...was the Darth Maul me or CCBlev?'

Don't think it matters.

I know the Bugs was me (because were it VinDandy, he would have been held down by the other Chippendale dancers getting butt-raped - and he would actually be encouraging it).
encoreyourface writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 7:08:08 PM

Ranger-no not really was just curiosity.

and concerning Vin-lol
Ranger writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 7:12:24 PM

I know you were just curious...

Damn nice of 'yourfriend' to put that together.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 7:17:47 PM

yeah it was, f*cking hilarious too.

"I know you were just curious... "

that's what Vin's dad said when he woke up with Vin giving him a rim job!
Ranger writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 7:18:49 PM

Bwwhahahahahahhaaa!!!
encoreyourface writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 7:49:48 PM

lol glad you enjoyed it
CCBlev writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 11:41:01 PM

@Ranger,Encore,yourfirend,
Damn I just got home and I'm in tears, i dont think i'm gonan be able to sleep now
Ranger writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 12:09:33 AM

Still laughing over that video.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 8:23:38 AM

Posted my Green Lantern posters to my site, left the old stuff up for anyone thats interested, all comments welcome..

www.aytballgraphics.co.uk

Bill The Butcher Cutting writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 7:23:56 PM

aytball trying to view your site but nothings coming up
Bill The Butcher Cutting writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 7:26:23 PM

dont matter its sorted lol awesome posters tho
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 4:15:54 AM

i love how most of you talk about not talking about avatar lmao

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved