WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Steve Carell's "Date Night" Takes First Place at Box Office

Posted: April 11th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Steve CarellSubmit Comment
"Date Night," starring Steve Carell and Tina Fey, won the domestic box office this weekend by grossing $27 million. The film had a $55 million budget, which means that it will likely make it back.

"It was mostly couples, and the reason it did so much business is people want to laugh," Fox's Bert Livingston said. "Shawn Levy (Night at the Museum) makes funny movies, and the chemistry was great between Tina and Steve."

Coming in close second was "Clash of the Titans" with $26.9 million. The 3D film has now earned $110.5 million domestically and $230 million worldwide. "Titans" cost only $125 million to make.

"We have great word of mouth with our core audience," Warners' Dan Fellman said. "The 3D experience continued to drive the box office this weekend and has played a significant role in the success of the film."

"How to Train Your Dragon" continues to perform well. The $165 million movie took third place by adding another $25.4 million to its $133 domestic take and $256 worldwide take.

In limited release, the family drama "Letters to God" debuted in 897 theaters and went on to earn $1.3 million. The film, about a young boy fighting cancer, took tenth place.

Click here to read our "Date Night" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CCBlev writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 9:57:18 PM

Cherish this now, Steve Carell, this time next week it will read "Kick Ass takes place first a box office." Can't wait.
Ranger writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 10:24:55 PM

I want to nibble on Tina Fey's scar.

BA-BOING!
BlueMobius writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 10:29:03 PM

Saw Dragon for the second time and the theater was about half full...not bad. For the life of me, I can't figure out why The Last Song wasn't number one this weekend...oh wait...sorry about that, my brain stopped working for a bit.
borat writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 11:04:25 PM

tina fey hmm hmmm hmmm
KirkLazerus writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 11:18:37 PM

yay terrible nbc lineup in first place, Tina fey not funny and carell seems to play the same person, but like Ranger I would like to lick her scar
TheHundreds writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 11:20:01 PM

i think people just went to see it for the Mila Kunis-Tina Fey sex scene. I heard they went ass to ass.
lost_addict writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 11:23:32 PM

can't wait for the porn version of 'how to train your dragon'...
Ranger writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 11:23:44 PM

Sort of like a son/dad bonding night between Vindandy and dad with their double-ended dildo I guess.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 1:07:16 AM

You're assuming they can afford a double-ended dildo? I think they'll have to settle for a week old baguette.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 1:29:32 AM

looks pretty gay glad i missed it. in other news i just saw Sherlock Holmes, it was great.
Ranger writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 1:37:29 AM

@Freudian - lol.
trailertrash writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 2:48:47 AM

@Freudian

The guys will like the baguette idea it's multi purpose a sex toy for the gay bang and then dinner afterwards !!
trailertrash writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 2:51:03 AM

@encore - that was guy ritchie's movie salvation over here after the tosh he's been making lately..
Ranger writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 2:54:52 AM

Mmmm... Dad... that's not Nutella, is it?!
trailertrash writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 3:14:10 AM

LMAO !!! (see how i used caps there)

trailertrash writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 3:16:32 AM

Who's been over doing the sweetcorn again i cant eat this baguette now !!!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 4:41:55 AM

@trailer- true on Guy's Sherlock Holmes it was amke or break for him, lucky RDJ saved it haha.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 4:44:30 AM

amke=make ***mental note "stop grooming while I am typing commnents on movie sites" ****
trailertrash writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 5:02:06 AM

@dave- RDJ did a really good job as sherlock Holmes, i liked him as much as Peter Cushing and Basil Rathbone , so i'm looking forward to part 2..
SACdaddy writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 7:54:24 AM

Good for Tina Fey. How can you not like her when she's doing funny sh*t like this:

http://www.nbc.com/saturday-night-live/video/sarah-palin-network/1217966/
trailertrash writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 8:37:06 AM

@sac

her cameo in The Invention Of Lying was best thing in that movie , she's funny lady...
Ranger writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 11:35:59 AM

@trailer - it's more 'Wrath-Bone' at VinDandy's trailer on 'Father/Son Bondage Night!'
Vin12 writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 1:27:01 PM

era of 3d my ass!
trailertrash writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 2:53:20 PM

@ranger lol

@vin
era of 3d my ass! there is a joke up there somewhere ....

encoreyourface writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 6:56:53 PM

Vin-i'm quite sure dandy would love to do some anal exploration in you in 3D
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 13th, 2010 at 4:00:22 PM

@SAC, Fey absolutely destroyed Palin (as usual) in that sketch. I almost pissed during the "Gotcha" part. and when she read her hand.

I saw Date Night and really liked it. Fey is gold in my book. Carell, eh he's ok but yes, he does play the same character a lot. To me, he's like a mature Will Ferrell but funnier.

But Fey has immpeccable timing and her ad libs are dead on funny. And Vin would nibble on her scar as well but only if it were an open puss filled bleeding scar infected with AIDS, and superherpes.
Doublemattress writes:
on February 26th, 2012 at 3:08:13 AM

that's great. wait for seeing it, Good luck guys!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved