WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Concept Art: Ryan Reynold's "Green Lantern" Costume Design

Posted: April 11th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Concept Art: Ryan ReynoldSubmit Comment
Artist Jason Palmer has worked on many feature films and has now been hired by Warner Bros to come up with a few costume designs for the upcoming "Green Lantern" movie.

He recently submitted all of his ideas to the studio and added one particular costume design on the cover. For some reason he did not include that design inside the submission, which means that Warners will likely never use it. As a result, Palmer felt comfortable releasing it online.

The art should give you an idea regarding the direction that "Green Lantern" is headed, in terms of Ryan Reynold's costume. Check it out below.

In other news, "The Closer" star Jon Tenney has revealed to SuperheroHype that he will be playing Hal Jordan's dad, test pilot Martin H. Jordan. "Ryan Reynolds is the Green Lantern, and when he is a young boy, like 11, I'm his father," said Tenney.

Concept Art: (click to enlarge)


Click here to read more about "Green Lantern."

Source: Jason Palmer


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 55 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
triggax writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 3:13:28 AM

Nice to see they're keeping it pretty close to the original... pretty old school and basic.
Ranger writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 3:25:47 AM

Yep.

I'm a huge GL fan from WAYYYYYY back.

Someone on here (WP) was nice enough to answer my question: 'Does he still have to stick near that lantern to recharge every 24hrs. like a friggin leash?!' Apparently (don't know if you knew this) - but they have upgraded that 'weak link' (as they did with Spidey actually shooting webs from his own body instead of contraptions he invented) - the Lantern itself is in a 'spacial rift' that GL can call upon at will... smart!

This art sucks though. 'Aytball' on here does better stuff.
nope.com writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 4:01:05 AM

I hope that's just a smudge and not a god damn nipple on that costume.
nope.com writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 4:02:14 AM

other than that it looks pretty faithful overall
DetroitFanRick writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 4:09:33 AM

Wonder if Hal will have to earn his shiels like they do in the comics. Just a thought.
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 4:18:27 AM

@Ranger
agreed I really think Ayball should make a better one... come on man you got a request from the people!
encoreyourface writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 4:30:32 AM

Ranger-i think that Spidey only had the organic stuff momentarily. i think he's back to the original home-made webbing, but not to sure.

cool costume, but am i the only one thinking it looks unnatural? i'm pretty sure it's drawn which is pretty damn accurate and is fantastic but looks a little off.
Ranger writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 4:34:33 AM

I think the artist that did up that poster is missing some on 'proportion.' Btu it is pretty true to the original costume.

The body on that poster is too small for Ryan's head (enter: ego jokes).

@Ted - sure (hope) we'll hear from Ayt soon.

@nope - re: nipple... lol. Hey... it worked for Clooney didn... oh yeah, forget it.
HannibalK1ng writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 4:40:09 AM

Do you guys this film is gonna be popular? as in spinderman big? If so Ryan reynolds will hit it big time.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 4:41:28 AM

hey if this one fails Reynolds is doing like 20 other films ...
SofaKing writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 4:49:52 AM

So they went with green huh? I can scarcely believe it!
encoreyourface writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 4:50:41 AM

lol
rocketman writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 6:45:46 AM

That is the sort of art i aspire to ceat but i can't because i'm crap.
rocketman writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 6:46:04 AM

create^
Sinestro writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 6:58:03 AM

I wish they had shown him with the domino mask on. Although if he wears one it will probably resemble Rayner's mask.
Sinestro writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 7:02:23 AM

"Ranger-i think that Spidey only had the organic stuff momentarily. i think he's back to the original home-made webbing, but not to sure."

That's correct. A lot of stuff was retconned after the horrible One More Day book.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 7:35:53 AM

^

thanks for the conformation!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 10:02:16 AM

Simple and inspired by the comic book. It's right on the money.
masht7 writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 10:25:15 AM

I just don't feel right with Reynolds being Green Lantern because his face seems a little croked if that makes sense. But I have faith in Martin Campbell.
Aingx writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 10:38:51 AM

Toss the mask on him and it's perfect....
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 11:24:47 AM

If they are getting rid of the lantern then...he isn't green lantern anymore.

Oh well, I never collected the comics so I'll just go with whatever Hollywood wants in this case.
lost_addict writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 11:37:43 AM

he will always be van wilder to me...write that down :-)
Sinestro writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 11:52:16 AM

They didn't get rid of the Lantern. Their rings still need to be recharged. They just made it more convenient for him to do so. Just like Spider-man's webbing running out, GL's ring running low on energy was an overused and antiquated plot device.
LeeMaca writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 12:03:35 PM

Guys help me out, i'm a HUGE marvel fan but was never into dc that much and to be honest have never read a GL in my life but looking forward to the movie. Now i've seen a fan made pic of RR in the GL suit he was wearing a small mask and looked pretty badass not so sure about the pic above so does he have a mask (covering his eyes like the comic pic above) or not??
Sinestro writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 12:22:50 PM

Are you asking whether GL wears his mask in the comics or if the finalize costume in the movie has the mask?

I dunno what the suit will look once they finalize it for the movie, but in the comics Hal Jordan still wears a mask.
LeeMaca writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 12:26:49 PM

yeah was asking about the comics TA
Ranger writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 1:23:46 PM

@Lee - when I was reading GL (way back), he looked exactly like the pics above... mask and all.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 3:15:01 PM

Cheers fellas, doing a little home work on Lantern as we speak! will try have something soon for ya :-)l
JohnZee writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 3:25:14 PM

Wait? They are actually using that stupid damn crab thingee mask that Kyle Rayner used in the comics? That's got to be the ugliest piece of crap mask that any comic book artist has ever come up with in the history of comic books.

You could take a bit thick giant foam rubber dildo and cut eye holes in it and turn it into a mask and it would look better then Kyle's crab mask.

...Well I won't boycott the movie unless they decide to change Hal's origin to where he's stumbling out of the back door of a bar and sees a Guardian out there who says "You're not fearless, you tend to use the women around you until they get horribly killed off panel, you couldn't lead jack or sh*t, your willpower is a little better than that of an heroin addicts, and the last time you got into a fight was when you were in kindergarten and another kid made fun of your crappy crayon drawings... But I'll guess you'll have to do."

But than again that's Kyle's origin and not Hal's.
LeeMaca writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 3:38:20 PM

@ Sinestro, Ranger
thanks guys, and a big thanks to all you guys talking about lord of war the other day never fancied it but just finished it, f*ckING AWESOME MOVIE!
LeeMaca writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 3:41:07 PM

oh and just cause i've not said in a week I HATE JOE JOHNSTON!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 4:05:31 PM

It's a pretty good rendering.

I'm sorry, I just can't take away from the guy's art.
nope.com writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 4:09:27 PM

Agreed, Martin Campbell is the only reason why I'm going to watch it thus far.. til a trailer proves otherwise.

Had it been directed by say.. Joe Johnston or Louis Letterier, I would wait til it came out on blu ray, bought that and took a heaping sh*t all over it.
Kurskij writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 4:16:59 PM

^this

@Lee

Always a pleasure to help a good man find a good movie to watch.

Both are rare these days! )
SuluNakamura writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 4:31:29 PM

Jason Palmer is awesome. My girlfriend and I buy prints from him every year at Comicon.
Lt. Mike Harrigan writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 4:57:49 PM

Ok, fair play, that's pretty slick...
Ranger writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 5:11:30 PM

Just like cowardly, friend-less Vin to post on a thread where I haven't posted. He's done that repeatedly... f*cking cowardly, pathetic lurker. ie: Stephen Grahan - thread.

What a joke!
CCBlev writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 7:08:46 PM

@Ranger
I think Vin really is in middle school the way he got pissed about that one. Makes sense if he is some 14 yr old.
CCBlev writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 7:19:35 PM

@Ranger
We learend a a couple new things about Vins identity, 1. He got exremely angry at my middle school comment suggesting he's still in 7th grade, learning about pubertyl
2. He kept referring to trailer trash thus addmiting he does life in a trailer park somewhere in West Virginia with daddy, hence all the daddy rapings, makes logical sense to me.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 7:25:54 PM

sounds logical to me
CCBlev writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 7:28:10 PM

@Encore
I know he kept referring to Trailertrash on here, but I really think that had a deeper meaning on here for him than just to diss Trailertrash.
Ranger writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 9:25:29 PM

Vin requires a kick in the vagina (repeatedly) with a steel-toed boot.
CCBlev writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 9:28:55 PM

@Ranger
I know your thinking on here and your right, but if you kicked him in his Vag your foots will fall in and dissappear. Lost in the blackhole of Vin's Vagina.
Ranger writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 9:32:22 PM

Blue Waffle juice... gotcha!
CCBlev writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 9:33:55 PM

@Ranger
Eww, Blue Waffle Juice, wonder if Vin gets his at Whole Foods?
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 9:46:31 PM

@AYT BALL
Good to hear man! Def have faith in what you can do for GL.
Ranger writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 10:50:43 PM

@CC - right next to the Tofu.
telur writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 11:59:57 PM

look kyle ratner not hal jordan
encoreyourface writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 1:31:37 AM

eww .... Vin's blue waffle juice! now on sale for 39.99 at COC's house of HIV.
masht7 writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 1:48:23 AM

I've figured this out, COC is VinDandies dad/bitch. They both act like their 27 when their only 3 years old, they come to WP to insult encore and copy-cates Ranger's homeage avatar of bugs bunny.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 3:49:07 AM

lol, wouldn't surprise me ...
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 10:38:23 AM

I know it's only concept art but this just reignited my concern of RR portaying Hal Hordan. RR is so much more fitting to Kyle than Hal and this (albeit concept art) shows it.
And once again I must add, I sure do hope this movie proves me wrong.
YourFriendWithTheBigDick writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 12:27:08 PM

who cares about how his clothes look on him
what we all really wanna see is how he looks without any of his clothes
right fellas ;L...
Ranger writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 12:41:21 PM

lol...

Priceless.
Ranger writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 2:35:42 PM

'right fellas'

Still laughing over that one!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved