WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Nicolas Cage Loses His Comic Book-Filled Bel-Air House

Posted: April 10th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Nicolas Cage Loses His Comic Book-Filled Bel-Air HouseSubmit Comment
Nicolas Cage's financial problems keep getting worse, since he has now lost his 12,000 square-foot mansion in the upscale Los Angeles neighborhood of Bel-Air. The actor failed to get any bids at its $10.4 million asking price this week, and ownership reverted back to the foreclosing lender.

Cage originally tried to sell the property for $35 million, but wasn't successful. LA Times quoted a real estate agent who called the interior design "frat house bordello," with framed comic books on walls.

The mansion also had model train sets on raised tracks in some rooms, in addition to a central tower, a home theater and an Olympic-sized pool, the newspaper said.

Source: ABC


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 60 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 6:14:09 AM

I would've bought that. Always wanted to live in a frat house bordello.

Speaking of Cage, watched "Kick-Ass" yesterday. It's quite awesome.
johnny_boy writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 6:24:16 AM

Dam! Do they have rehab for people addicted to purchasing mansions cuz if so, sign this guy up now!
wonderBOY writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 6:25:05 AM

maybe he take the big daddy route and store all his comics in a travel bag and fight crime with a 10yr old girl.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 6:25:19 AM

sounds like a great house, the picture is PERFECT for the article.

no worries Cage, boxes are free. but i'm sure you'll find a way to be in debt for that too.

lost_addict writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 6:29:42 AM

time for some more dumb Japanese commercials,Nic...
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 7:23:31 AM

maybe you can do the lohan route and sue anyone that uses the word "cage"
encoreyourface writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 7:48:41 AM

or anything having to do with people getting butt-f*cked by the IRS
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 8:06:51 AM

"kick-ass" should at least bail him out a little, he's a great actor. hope he learned his lesson about finances, everyone would love to live the hollywood life style, not everyone can pull it off
SACdaddy writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 8:22:36 AM

This sounds like the house in Silver Spoons. I wonder if he had a remote control for the front door.

Cage was begging for financial ruin!
Kurskij writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 8:37:06 AM

Hopefully everything turns out ok.

But, hey, doesn't he have another 165 mansions or so? Plus an island and a dinosaur skull?
BigUnit writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 9:12:54 AM

im pretty pumped for season of the witch not gonna lie
rzmsauce writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 9:39:49 AM

Back when Cage filmed "trapped in paradise" I was working at the hotel he stayed at while fimling took place, he was known as an ass who stormed in the kitchen and snapped his fingers asking for special dishs to be cooked for him, and in his suite he had a model train set up that went all over the entire room. Although I think hes one of the bigger ass's in hollywood he is still in two of my favorite movies, Lord of war and The Weather Man.
rzmsauce writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 9:46:16 AM

SACDaddy ^^^^

Thats what I thought of his hotel room 15 years ago, it looked like the kids room from silverspoons, and we joked that he was going to have a racecar bed installed.
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 9:53:59 AM

you all are crackin me up with the toy train set stuff! sounds like a "michael jackson" in training. now he just needs to buy neverland ranch, dye his skin brown (and say its just a skin disorder), .... and molest a couple of little boys!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 10:16:16 AM

Man, he's going broke as hell!! Hey Nic, can't afford to commit suicide? I'll spring for the rope to slip around your head. I got the hook-up at Wal-mart, brother.
CCBlev writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 10:27:36 AM

What in the hell has he been thinking over the years, to get all the mansions and sh*t, you don't think this wouldn't come back and bite you in the ass someday.
OneTime writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 10:57:53 AM

GREAT PHOTO LMAO
Rush66 writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 11:04:13 AM

At this point, I almost feel bad for him...
the_dude writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 11:09:47 AM

I'm sure Uncle Phil has room for one more...
dougieperzo writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 12:35:31 PM

off topic but just wondering what site you guys use to watch movies online the only one i really use is tvshack.net so what are the good ones?
Ranger writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 12:42:44 PM

j*zzhut.com is pretty good.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 12:44:49 PM

I hate to correct Worst Previews .. because of course they have the pulse of Hollywood ... but the money pit Cage owned didn't have his comic bood stuff ...
Ranger writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 12:54:54 PM

@Max - explain further please.

@Rush - well said... 'almost.' I have no prob. with people being successful, wealthy. I don't even care if he's an *sshole in real life (his choice, and the choice of those to be around him to put up with it - if he's like that to them as well). And we all know HE signed up that 'financial advisor', and Nic is taking the hit (up to his financial scale) like the rest of the world in this recession. Nic was playing the 'Travolta Game' and lost... big.

I do feel for him for a bit, and thank him for: Lord of War and Windtalkers (even some on here didn't like Windtalkes). This is a great dose of reality for the guy. And WTF is wrong with just that ONE house, and NONE of the 4 yachts? Want to go out on the water for hours, days... weeks... charter a f*cking boat all to yourself!!!

Clearly, he was reckless. That's where my pity ends.
Ranger writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 12:58:02 PM

I'm also hard-pressed to believe it had an 'Olympic-sized pool.' Anyone that believes it does should pull up the dimensions of such a pool. A large/huge pool for a mansion maybe... but 'Olympic-sized'?

Me know tinks sew!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 2:45:17 PM

No problem, Ranger ....


Debt-ridden movie star Nicolas Cage lost his Bel Air mansion to foreclosure on Wednesday. The courthouse auction was a flop, as no one was willing to make the minimum $10.4 million bid. Stephen Shapiro, realtor and owner of Westside Estate Agency, said this clears out speculators and most lenders with stakes in the property, leaving Citibank as the sole owner.
Cage owes $11 million to Citibank, the current owner of the mansion. Shapiro said he's had the house on the market for nearly a year and is trying to get approximately $11.5 million.
Living Room
Located in the posh Bel Air community of Los Angeles -- this party palace has had several high-profile owners, including Rat Packer Dean Martin, Welsh crooner Tom Jones, and most recently Nicolas Cage, an Oscar winner who has appeared in more than 60 movies, according to IMDB.com, including "Raising Arizona" and "Leaving Las Vegas."
Bathroom
The bathroom and other parts of the house { no longer contain Cage's possessions, including his extensive collection of framed comic books, samurai armor and giant Mickey Mouse statue. } "Cage's possessions are what many people consider to be bizarre, not the house," said Shapiro.
Kitchen
Nicolas Cage's former home was built in 1940 "on a flat acre in a prime Bel Air location," Shapiro said. "It's about 12,000 square feet of two-story English brick Tudor house. It's very old world craftsmanship, great detail, a lot of charm, but specific in its tastes."
Hollywood Pool
It's important that Nicolas Cage's foreclosed home "should go to someone who wants to live there." Shapiro said. The person who will buy the house will be a resident. It's not going to be a speculator, because there's not enough money in it to flip it, he said.
The 10 biggest real estate busts
Copyrighted, CNNMoney. All Rights Reserved.


Okay. Now, WP ...

do y'all not read ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 2:46:26 PM

Worst Previews : The Weekly World News of cinema reporting ...
Rush66 writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 3:02:56 PM

By the way... Nicolas Cage has HUGE HANDS! :O
Ranger writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 3:14:24 PM

@Max - thank you.

I know comics (graded) come in sealed plastic cases... but even in a HUGE bathroom, I still have a tough time understanding a person's reasoning and judgment for keeping such expensive collectibles in a room that contains air-borne body oils from the steam shower?!

Nic... you're NOT Liberace... stop pretending you are you tit (no offense to the memory of Liberace)!
LeeMaca writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 4:14:45 PM

how the fudge can he be broke he's in a new film every other week?
Kurskij writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 4:31:53 PM

@Ranger

Wow, j*zzhut.com is truly pretty damn good, thanks you.

I'll see you all in a few days IF I won't go all blind and hairy-handed.
CCBlev writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 5:31:23 PM

@Kurskij
Youj*zz is really good too, there pretty much the same site. Unless your in a tanning bed, you can't go blind from masterbating. They only way you can go blind that way is you have to take the goggles off to watch to see if anyone comes into the room while your tanning. Other than that your golden!

But Nic Cage, old friend, I love you to death, not the Vindy way, as a friend. But Cmon how can you keep getting into these messes?
Kurskij writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 6:01:21 PM

^Lol

The other problem is the apartment looks like a broken snow globe.

Ranger writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 6:14:08 PM

Show-off!
SaulSilver writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 6:25:02 PM

Something tells me Nicolas Cage is going to be just fine...it's not like he's not getting any work on top of tall his financial troubles. Could be worse.
Kurskij writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 6:30:20 PM

@Ranger

It's a really, like a REALLY small apartment. More like a big closet.

Having big brass ones also helps.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 7:12:22 PM

Ranger-i hated Lord of War. my freinds got it and i saw the title and was like hey sounds pretty wicked but then i watched it and was like ... wtf? maybe my expectations where to high ...
Ranger writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 7:50:53 PM

@Kursk - lol.

@encore - your expectations for anything will diminish in time with every expectation. I do into any movie with very little or none (other to be distracted for 90 minutes)... it helps.
Ranger writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 7:51:29 PM

What would you say were your expectations for Lord of War?
encoreyourface writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 8:05:47 PM

Ranger-something with a high action dose i think, it was a couple of years ago. and I'll keep that in mind ... no expectations.
Kurskij writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 8:54:59 PM

@encore

You should give it another look. It's a good movie, flawed in some aspects (like Nic Cage and Jared Leto being brothers and not showing of some Bridgete Moynahan's goods), but good nonetheless.

More important is that it is an important movie (battology, eh?), and a brave move on Cage's side for starring and producing (I prefer to think of it as of a brave, not a stupid move).

Agree with Ranger, you should try to see every movie open-minded.

Otherwise there's a huge risk you'll ruin a movie for yourself simply because it turns out not what you expected it to be.

That's the main reason why Guy Ritchie's "Revolver" or Boyle's "Sunshine" flopped - people got not what they were expecting. Not by a huge margin.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 9:06:24 PM

it's funny how anytime there's any bad news for nicolas cage, this picture always pops up, and it usually works each time
bacci40 writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 10:37:07 PM

its not a frat house bordello...its a geek paradise

man made way too many bad investments
Ranger writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 2:37:46 AM

Like being in 'Knowing'?
Ranger writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 2:38:35 AM

@encore - you're a good man.
trailertrash writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 2:55:20 AM

@Kurskij

I'm with you and the ranger Lord of war is a really good movie. I always try to keep an open mind before watching any movie. I dont pay too much attention to reviews i like see it for myself (sometime wish i had though lol).

Loved sunshine hated revoler which was a big disappointment after lock stock and snatch and so was richie's RocknRolla too i was really gutted about that movie.

@ encore did you think it was going to be like commando with a title like that, i know i did when heard he was making that movie.

triggax writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 2:56:23 AM

Ranger, Knowing wasn't that f*ckin bad... It had a relatively decent story, made good use of some gnarly beethoven tracks, the special effects were excellent (the commercial plane crash looked sick) the cinematography and direction (alex proyas) was f*ckin hell above par.. the first few shots of the film were really quite amazing, the colors they captured with the autumn setting were great... I think that, because the very end was so f*cking stupid that the entire movie got slagged on.. I think that If we're really gonna give Cage slack for anything recently, it should be for that abomination NEXT which was just f*cking brutal or Bangkok Dangerous, even Ghost Rider, just dreadful films.. I think you and I have about the same kind of respect for Cage as an actor.. And i think its unfair to say Knowing was really that bad.. You know.. For someone that has decent knowledge of the guys work... Knowing was kind of a start to a new beginning, I hope, for Cage... Lest we forget Wicker Man as well... in comparison Knowing is Schindlers List..
Ranger writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 3:15:09 AM

@trig - I agree with EVERYTHING you said, except... the ending for 'Knowing' -which you agree sucked, and it started to tank halfway through the movie. The same reason I want to toss that whole move for the last half, you want to keep it because of the first half... fair enough. Do you know what watching that movie for me felt like? The writer had a kick-ass movie idea... he ran up against a deadline, then ran home with the safe 'Aliens' (no, not Cameron's great Aliens... I just mean aliens in general). The 2nd. half of the movie felt like a completely different movie/story. It wasn't a clever, 'ohhhh, yeah!' ending. It just sucked. If the 2nd. half was like the first, it would be up on my list (possibly) with Lord of War and Windtalkers (and Matchstick Men and a ton of others). Yes, we both like Cage. But I'll stick to my guns on Knowing's 2nd. half and scrub it for that, and we can both share our admiration for the 1st half.
Ranger writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 3:16:37 AM

It was like watching Stephen King's 'IT'... the spooky clown... great build-up... ONLY to find out it's a spider at the end?! A f*ckING BIG, HONKING SPIDER?! That's it?!?!
trailertrash writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 3:34:16 AM

I always think that about carpenters the Fog , i love that movie but the end when they have killed enough people and then just leave !!
WTF tear the town up go crazy come on !!! Dont just leave !!!

Snake Eyes is a good movie too from cage...
Ranger writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 3:36:13 AM

@trailer - I know (some of those endings). I KNOW they're going for (and hoping the audience will but it), the... Ohhhhh... (and the movie comes together in the last 2 minutes), but more often than not, it's a HUGE let down. Like... 'HUH?!'
trailertrash writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 3:43:22 AM

@ranger

They always seem to miss more than hit when
they try to be to clever with the endings of some films , sometimes i think they shoot film without an ending in place and just make it up as they go along , which is a bit of a worry if you've got $50mil budget and your winging at the end !!
Ranger writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 4:02:48 AM

Yep... the credits are rolling and you're looking around with the: 'THAT'S IT?!' look. I'll give Stephen King all the credit in the world for: Shawshank and The Green Mile. But movies like 'IT' and the 'Langoliers' (if memory serves) - '... they destroy yesterday... BY EATING IT!!!' - WTF?! At least: 'God-damned bugs whacked us good Johnny!' from Starship Troopers was just funny! (I know... I'm going from endings to bad/great lines in movies... ugh!).
trailertrash writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 6:18:27 AM

@ranger

Jurassic Park 3 is the perfect example of that big budget no ending, when all the army came out of no where it looked like a scene from naked gun , what a joke and they threw $80million dollars at that movie.

which must be a concern for captain america with joe johnston directing , let's hope they have a completed script !!

StarShip Troopers ha ha i just like that movie tons of gore and cheesy lines great way to spend the afternoon , Denise richards second best film after Wild Things for 2 obvious reasons there ... lol
trailertrash writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 8:16:22 AM

just to claify

Reason 1 , bedroom scene

Reason 2 , swimming pool scene

lol
Ranger writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 1:27:51 PM

Without a doubt... Starship Troopers is a classic 'so bad its good' movie. And it was before Denise either just let herself go or simply aged (take your pick).

JJ is CLEARLY the weak link in the CA movie.
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 4:34:51 PM

lol in the picture!!
encoreyourface writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 6:40:12 PM

StarShip troopers is a great film in my book, great action, great looking bugs and nice gore. but to the sequels all i can say is this:FAIL

and Jurassic Park 3 sucked, how many people died in that movie? right, like f*cking two guys did. and the one kids mom was so f*cking annoying i hated her. the only good part was when the T-rex and Spinasoraus (can't spell it) fought.
TeemSelami writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 3:28:39 AM

nothing says I'm a creep like a crazy train set. also gary coleman is a toy train aficionado.
makingcircles writes:
on April 12th, 2010 at 9:55:13 AM

That picture is hilarious. Well done Alex.
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 4:00:56 AM

i knida feel bad hell the guy got lots of money and the IRS is f*cking him dam

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved