WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First "Terminator Genisys" Photos, Plot Details Revealed
Oct 30th, 2014
Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot
Oct 30th, 2014
Michael Bay to Direct "13 Hours" Benghazi Film
Oct 30th, 2014
Final Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 30th, 2014
First Poster for Alex Garcia's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
Keanu Reeves' Next Film is "Replicas" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
"Avengers: Infinity War" Trailer Leaked Online
Oct 29th, 2014
First "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip is Here!
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Explains Why "Hulk" and "Black Widow" Films are NOT Happening
Oct 29th, 2014
First Look at "Black Panther" Costume
Oct 29th, 2014
"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Unveils Titles, Logos and Release Dates For All Phase 3 Films
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team
Oct 28th, 2014
David Goyer Writing Superman Prequel TV Series "Krypton"?
Oct 28th, 2014
First Look at Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Oct 28th, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Trailer Coming This Year?
Oct 28th, 2014
Ewan McGregor Says "Trainspotting" Sequel to Shoot in 2016
Oct 28th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in Marvel's "Doctor Strange"!
Oct 27th, 2014
"Furious 7" Unveils Second Poster
Oct 27th, 2014
Jesse Eisenberg May Return as Lex Luthor in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film
Oct 27th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Unveils Title and Poster, Trailer Coming Soon
Oct 27th, 2014
Photos: "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" to Show Funeral of Bruce Wayne's Parents?
Oct 27th, 2014
"Ouija" Easily Beat Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" at Box Office
Oct 27th, 2014
Russell Brand is Quitting Acting Because He's Scared of Money
Oct 27th, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says He Wanted to Play Wolverine and Batman
Oct 26th, 2014
Christopher Nolan No Longer Involved With Warner Bros' Superhero Films
Oct 26th, 2014
Trailer for Lee Daniels' "Empire" Hip-Hop TV Series, with Terrence Howard
Oct 26th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Coming in December
Oct 25th, 2014
New "Ant-Man" Set Photos are Possible Spoilers
Oct 25th, 2014
Disney's "John Carter" Actually Cost Over $300 Million to Make
Oct 25th, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Gift" Short Film is a Prequel to "Small"

Posted: April 9th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Gift" Short Film is a Prequel to "Small"Submit Comment
We've been talking about Carl Erik Rinsch's "The Gift" short film for the last two days. First, we learned it was part of Phillips' marketing campaign. Then it was revealed that two major studios are in a bidding war to acquire the short film in order to adapt it for the big screen.

And now comes word from /Film that the studios aren't interested in acquiring "The Gift." Rinsch has actually written and designed the entire movie and is calling it "Small," and that's actually what the studios want. "The Gift" was meant to be a short prequel to "Small."

It turns out that Rinsch (who was previously set to helm the "Alien" reboot and is now working on "47 Ronin" with Keanu Reeves) has been meeting with various nobel prize-winning scientists and theorists to develop the world that "Small" takes place in. He's been saying that the project is a mix of "2001," "Blade Runner," and "Doctor Zhivago," with a bit of Bourne-style action.

The other interesting part is that "The Gift" was developed for around $150,000, despite all the CGI. The Barcelona FX company that has been helping Rinsch, created not only the robot and the cars using CG, but the entire city. Such a feat is rarely achieved with a such a tiny budget. The only other person who has been able to pull off something similar was Neill Blomkamp when he developed "District 9" for only $30 million.

The site also got their hands on a few designs from "Small." Check out "The Gift" short film and the designs below.

"The Gift" Short Film:


Concept Art: (click to enlarge)


Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
hunter207 writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 7:56:07 PM

Another one that could either make bank or flop on its ass
SofaKing writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 8:27:07 PM

I really like the images, they look like futuristic technology but rustic and not to flashy... I am talking about the first picture the robot from the movie is kinda flashy but cool looking none the less. I am excited to hear more news once this project gets some legs.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 8:38:43 PM

what's small?
CCBlev writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:04:10 PM

@Encore
"What's Small" Coc and Vindy's d*ck, their lifespan, their brains, I could go on and on, but you get the idea.
This does have potential though, I'll wait for a trailer frist.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:11:29 PM

lol, i was thinking of adding something about COC and Vin myself but decided if you guys wanted to i'd leave the door open.
CCBlev writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:19:44 PM

@Encore
Good call, someone woulda. Figured I'd stir the pot tonight and get em worked up so we can slaughter em all again!
vaodsi writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:35:30 PM

My ticket is sold
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 10:22:26 PM

What the hell. As long as Hollywood doesn't f* it up.
Kurskij writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 11:00:15 PM

For those interested:

I live in Moscow for the last five years. If the entire thing was CGI, then we've witnessed one INCREDIBLE job. f*cking wow, the cars looked CGI, and Moscow police don't use them anymore, but, hell, if the environment was CGI...

f*cking wow.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 11:44:53 PM

yeah i couldn't tell if it was cgi or not!

Jedimasta writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 3:46:03 AM

Holy cow I love this mecha crap, the short clip was awesome! And the CGI is amazingly real oO
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 4:21:47 AM

Suddenly I understand why Ridley Scott pushed for this guy to direct the Alien-prequel. It seems like he'sa guy wo cares about the details, which is an underrated gift in H-wood.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 5:30:33 AM

^^^^

yep, the fact that he can get this done on a 150000 budget says something about the guy ...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 8:57:52 AM

I think we have another Neill Blomkamp-type on our hands, which I am certainly NOT complaining about.
BlueMobius writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 2:34:33 PM

My interest level just shot up.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 7:37:25 PM

Very intriguing. The effects and visual style are fantastic. I'd definitely be interested in seeing how this project develops.

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved