WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage
Apr 19th, 2014
Is "Batman vs Superman" Changing Its Release Date to Avoid "Captain America 3" Competition?
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look at Ryan Gosling's Directorial Debut "Lost River"
Apr 19th, 2014
Jaden Smith to Play a Slave in "The Good Lord Bird"
Apr 19th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Normal Heart," with Mark Ruffalo and Julia Roberts
Apr 19th, 2014
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas
Apr 19th, 2014
Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look: Michael Fassbender in William Shakespeare's "Macbeth"
Apr 18th, 2014
New Footage in "Godzilla" TV Spot
Apr 18th, 2014
Marvel Confirms It Has Rights to Kingpin and Elektra for "Daredevil" TV Series
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "Jersey Boys" Musical
Apr 18th, 2014
"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "The Captive" Thriller
Apr 18th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Rover," with Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson
Apr 18th, 2014
"Sinister" Sequel Gets a Director, To Begin Filming in July
Apr 18th, 2014
Opening Scene from "In Your Eyes" Sci-Fi Film, Written by Joss Whedon
Apr 18th, 2014
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Gift" Short Film is a Prequel to "Small"

Posted: April 9th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Gift" Short Film is a Prequel to "Small"Submit Comment
We've been talking about Carl Erik Rinsch's "The Gift" short film for the last two days. First, we learned it was part of Phillips' marketing campaign. Then it was revealed that two major studios are in a bidding war to acquire the short film in order to adapt it for the big screen.

And now comes word from /Film that the studios aren't interested in acquiring "The Gift." Rinsch has actually written and designed the entire movie and is calling it "Small," and that's actually what the studios want. "The Gift" was meant to be a short prequel to "Small."

It turns out that Rinsch (who was previously set to helm the "Alien" reboot and is now working on "47 Ronin" with Keanu Reeves) has been meeting with various nobel prize-winning scientists and theorists to develop the world that "Small" takes place in. He's been saying that the project is a mix of "2001," "Blade Runner," and "Doctor Zhivago," with a bit of Bourne-style action.

The other interesting part is that "The Gift" was developed for around $150,000, despite all the CGI. The Barcelona FX company that has been helping Rinsch, created not only the robot and the cars using CG, but the entire city. Such a feat is rarely achieved with a such a tiny budget. The only other person who has been able to pull off something similar was Neill Blomkamp when he developed "District 9" for only $30 million.

The site also got their hands on a few designs from "Small." Check out "The Gift" short film and the designs below.

"The Gift" Short Film:


Concept Art: (click to enlarge)


Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
hunter207 writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 7:56:07 PM

Another one that could either make bank or flop on its ass
SofaKing writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 8:27:07 PM

I really like the images, they look like futuristic technology but rustic and not to flashy... I am talking about the first picture the robot from the movie is kinda flashy but cool looking none the less. I am excited to hear more news once this project gets some legs.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 8:38:43 PM

what's small?
CCBlev writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:04:10 PM

@Encore
"What's Small" Coc and Vindy's d*ck, their lifespan, their brains, I could go on and on, but you get the idea.
This does have potential though, I'll wait for a trailer frist.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:11:29 PM

lol, i was thinking of adding something about COC and Vin myself but decided if you guys wanted to i'd leave the door open.
CCBlev writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:19:44 PM

@Encore
Good call, someone woulda. Figured I'd stir the pot tonight and get em worked up so we can slaughter em all again!
vaodsi writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:35:30 PM

My ticket is sold
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 10:22:26 PM

What the hell. As long as Hollywood doesn't f* it up.
Kurskij writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 11:00:15 PM

For those interested:

I live in Moscow for the last five years. If the entire thing was CGI, then we've witnessed one INCREDIBLE job. f*cking wow, the cars looked CGI, and Moscow police don't use them anymore, but, hell, if the environment was CGI...

f*cking wow.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 11:44:53 PM

yeah i couldn't tell if it was cgi or not!

Jedimasta writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 3:46:03 AM

Holy cow I love this mecha crap, the short clip was awesome! And the CGI is amazingly real oO
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 4:21:47 AM

Suddenly I understand why Ridley Scott pushed for this guy to direct the Alien-prequel. It seems like he'sa guy wo cares about the details, which is an underrated gift in H-wood.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 5:30:33 AM

^^^^

yep, the fact that he can get this done on a 150000 budget says something about the guy ...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 8:57:52 AM

I think we have another Neill Blomkamp-type on our hands, which I am certainly NOT complaining about.
BlueMobius writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 2:34:33 PM

My interest level just shot up.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 7:37:25 PM

Very intriguing. The effects and visual style are fantastic. I'd definitely be interested in seeing how this project develops.

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved