WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Photos: Woman Gives Homeless Man a Bag of Food, That Homeless Man is Richard Gere
Apr 24th, 2014
Japanese Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 24th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson and Lupita Nyong'o in Talks for "The Jungle Book"
Apr 24th, 2014
First Photo From Set of "Pitch Perfect 2"
Apr 24th, 2014
Jessica Chastain May Play Female Lead in "Mission: Impossible 5"
Apr 24th, 2014
First Look: Arnold Schwarzenegger on "Terminator: Genesis" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Photos From "Jurassic World" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
Sony Working on a Live-Action "Barbie" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
Eric Roberts Says "Human Centipede 3" is Really Horrible
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney is NOT Working on "Frozen" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney is Considering Moving "Captain America 3" To a Different Release Date
Apr 23rd, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Will Return to Voice The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Apr 23rd, 2014
Peeps Candy to Become a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney Turning "It's a Small World" Ride Into a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Still Doesn't Have a Script
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Bad Boys 3" Hasn't Happened Due to Bad Timing
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Look: Robert Downey Jr on "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
New Photos From Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2014
Bill Paxton Will Do Anything to Join "Avatar 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films
Apr 22nd, 2014
Paul WS Anderson Reveals Title for New "Resident Evil" Film
Apr 22nd, 2014
Watch First Five Minutes From "How to Train Your Dragon 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Terminator" Reboot is Officially Filming
Apr 22nd, 2014
Marc Webb Wants J. Jonah Jameson in "The Amazing Spider-Man 3"
Apr 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Grand Seduction," with Taylor Kitsch and Brendan Gleeson
Apr 22nd, 2014
First Look: Paul Walker's Brothers on "Fast and Furious 7" Set
Apr 22nd, 2014
Danny Boyle and Leonardo DiCaprio in Talks for Steve Jobs Biopic
Apr 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg Wrote the Story for "The Goonies" Sequel
Apr 22nd, 2014
New Poster for Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 21st, 2014
Writer Says "Fantastic Four" is a Coming of Age Story
Apr 21st, 2014
"Bioshock" Movie May Still Be Alive
Apr 21st, 2014
Rubin "Hurricane" Carter, the Boxer and Inspiration for Denzel Washington's Movie, Dead at 76
Apr 21st, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Transcendence" Bombs
Apr 20th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Gift" Short Film is a Prequel to "Small"

Posted: April 9th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Gift" Short Film is a Prequel to "Small"Submit Comment
We've been talking about Carl Erik Rinsch's "The Gift" short film for the last two days. First, we learned it was part of Phillips' marketing campaign. Then it was revealed that two major studios are in a bidding war to acquire the short film in order to adapt it for the big screen.

And now comes word from /Film that the studios aren't interested in acquiring "The Gift." Rinsch has actually written and designed the entire movie and is calling it "Small," and that's actually what the studios want. "The Gift" was meant to be a short prequel to "Small."

It turns out that Rinsch (who was previously set to helm the "Alien" reboot and is now working on "47 Ronin" with Keanu Reeves) has been meeting with various nobel prize-winning scientists and theorists to develop the world that "Small" takes place in. He's been saying that the project is a mix of "2001," "Blade Runner," and "Doctor Zhivago," with a bit of Bourne-style action.

The other interesting part is that "The Gift" was developed for around $150,000, despite all the CGI. The Barcelona FX company that has been helping Rinsch, created not only the robot and the cars using CG, but the entire city. Such a feat is rarely achieved with a such a tiny budget. The only other person who has been able to pull off something similar was Neill Blomkamp when he developed "District 9" for only $30 million.

The site also got their hands on a few designs from "Small." Check out "The Gift" short film and the designs below.

"The Gift" Short Film:


Concept Art: (click to enlarge)


Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
hunter207 writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 7:56:07 PM

Another one that could either make bank or flop on its ass
SofaKing writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 8:27:07 PM

I really like the images, they look like futuristic technology but rustic and not to flashy... I am talking about the first picture the robot from the movie is kinda flashy but cool looking none the less. I am excited to hear more news once this project gets some legs.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 8:38:43 PM

what's small?
CCBlev writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:04:10 PM

@Encore
"What's Small" Coc and Vindy's d*ck, their lifespan, their brains, I could go on and on, but you get the idea.
This does have potential though, I'll wait for a trailer frist.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:11:29 PM

lol, i was thinking of adding something about COC and Vin myself but decided if you guys wanted to i'd leave the door open.
CCBlev writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:19:44 PM

@Encore
Good call, someone woulda. Figured I'd stir the pot tonight and get em worked up so we can slaughter em all again!
vaodsi writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:35:30 PM

My ticket is sold
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 10:22:26 PM

What the hell. As long as Hollywood doesn't f* it up.
Kurskij writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 11:00:15 PM

For those interested:

I live in Moscow for the last five years. If the entire thing was CGI, then we've witnessed one INCREDIBLE job. f*cking wow, the cars looked CGI, and Moscow police don't use them anymore, but, hell, if the environment was CGI...

f*cking wow.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 11:44:53 PM

yeah i couldn't tell if it was cgi or not!

Jedimasta writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 3:46:03 AM

Holy cow I love this mecha crap, the short clip was awesome! And the CGI is amazingly real oO
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 4:21:47 AM

Suddenly I understand why Ridley Scott pushed for this guy to direct the Alien-prequel. It seems like he'sa guy wo cares about the details, which is an underrated gift in H-wood.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 5:30:33 AM

^^^^

yep, the fact that he can get this done on a 150000 budget says something about the guy ...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 8:57:52 AM

I think we have another Neill Blomkamp-type on our hands, which I am certainly NOT complaining about.
BlueMobius writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 2:34:33 PM

My interest level just shot up.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 7:37:25 PM

Very intriguing. The effects and visual style are fantastic. I'd definitely be interested in seeing how this project develops.

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel

"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved