WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Photo of Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy in "Victor Frankenstein"
Jul 4th, 2015
Two More Photos From "Deadpool" Comic Book Film
Jul 4th, 2015
"Hello Kitty" to Become $200 Million Movie
Jul 4th, 2015
New Photos From "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies"
Jul 4th, 2015
Lots of New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Photos and Story Details
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Ryan Reynolds' "Deadpool" Comic Book Film
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Monopoly" Movie Hires "The Truman Show" Writer
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight"
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" - What Did You Think?
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for "Transporter" Reboot
Jul 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "Rocky" Spin-Off "Creed"
Jul 1st, 2015
Trailer for Gerard Butler's "Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel, "London Has Fallen"
Jul 1st, 2015
Marlon Wayans Threatening to Make "White Chicks" Sequel
Jul 1st, 2015
Teaser Trailer for Oliver Stone's "Snowden" Film, with Joseph Gordon-Levitt
Jul 1st, 2015
Robert Zemeckis Says He'll Stop Any "Back to the Future" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Titles for "Star Trek 3" and "Guardians of the Galaxy 2" Revealed
Jun 30th, 2015
First Look at Costumes From "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Ten Thousand Saints," with Ethan Hawke and Asa Butterfield
Jun 30th, 2015
"Ted 2" Underperforms at Box Office, "Jurassic World" Continues to Dominate
Jun 29th, 2015
"Lucy" and "Colombiana" Sequels in the Works
Jun 27th, 2015
Steven Spielberg Acquires Michael Crichton's "Micro" Novel
Jun 27th, 2015
New "Heroes Reborn" Trailer Arrives Online
Jun 26th, 2015
Photos From New Episodes of "The X-Files"
Jun 26th, 2015
New Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Legend" Thriller
Jun 26th, 2015
Adrian Grenier Would Make "Aquaman" Cameo
Jun 26th, 2015
Shia LaBeouf Hospitalized After Sustaining a Head Injury on Set
Jun 25th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Rampage" Video Game Movie
Jun 25th, 2015
First Look at Gerard Butler in "London Has Fallen"
Jun 25th, 2015
Emma Watson Joins Tom Hanks in "The Circle" Thriller
Jun 25th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director
Jun 24th, 2015
First Trailer for "Paranormal Activity: The Ghost Dimension"
Jun 24th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says He Hates "GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra"
Jun 24th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Gift" Short Film is a Prequel to "Small"

Posted: April 9th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Gift" Short Film is a Prequel to "Small"Submit Comment
We've been talking about Carl Erik Rinsch's "The Gift" short film for the last two days. First, we learned it was part of Phillips' marketing campaign. Then it was revealed that two major studios are in a bidding war to acquire the short film in order to adapt it for the big screen.

And now comes word from /Film that the studios aren't interested in acquiring "The Gift." Rinsch has actually written and designed the entire movie and is calling it "Small," and that's actually what the studios want. "The Gift" was meant to be a short prequel to "Small."

It turns out that Rinsch (who was previously set to helm the "Alien" reboot and is now working on "47 Ronin" with Keanu Reeves) has been meeting with various nobel prize-winning scientists and theorists to develop the world that "Small" takes place in. He's been saying that the project is a mix of "2001," "Blade Runner," and "Doctor Zhivago," with a bit of Bourne-style action.

The other interesting part is that "The Gift" was developed for around $150,000, despite all the CGI. The Barcelona FX company that has been helping Rinsch, created not only the robot and the cars using CG, but the entire city. Such a feat is rarely achieved with a such a tiny budget. The only other person who has been able to pull off something similar was Neill Blomkamp when he developed "District 9" for only $30 million.

The site also got their hands on a few designs from "Small." Check out "The Gift" short film and the designs below.

"The Gift" Short Film:


Concept Art: (click to enlarge)


Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
hunter207 writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 7:56:07 PM

Another one that could either make bank or flop on its ass
SofaKing writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 8:27:07 PM

I really like the images, they look like futuristic technology but rustic and not to flashy... I am talking about the first picture the robot from the movie is kinda flashy but cool looking none the less. I am excited to hear more news once this project gets some legs.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 8:38:43 PM

what's small?
CCBlev writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:04:10 PM

@Encore
"What's Small" Coc and Vindy's d*ck, their lifespan, their brains, I could go on and on, but you get the idea.
This does have potential though, I'll wait for a trailer frist.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:11:29 PM

lol, i was thinking of adding something about COC and Vin myself but decided if you guys wanted to i'd leave the door open.
CCBlev writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:19:44 PM

@Encore
Good call, someone woulda. Figured I'd stir the pot tonight and get em worked up so we can slaughter em all again!
vaodsi writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:35:30 PM

My ticket is sold
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 10:22:26 PM

What the hell. As long as Hollywood doesn't f* it up.
Kurskij writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 11:00:15 PM

For those interested:

I live in Moscow for the last five years. If the entire thing was CGI, then we've witnessed one INCREDIBLE job. f*cking wow, the cars looked CGI, and Moscow police don't use them anymore, but, hell, if the environment was CGI...

f*cking wow.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 11:44:53 PM

yeah i couldn't tell if it was cgi or not!

Jedimasta writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 3:46:03 AM

Holy cow I love this mecha crap, the short clip was awesome! And the CGI is amazingly real oO
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 4:21:47 AM

Suddenly I understand why Ridley Scott pushed for this guy to direct the Alien-prequel. It seems like he'sa guy wo cares about the details, which is an underrated gift in H-wood.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 5:30:33 AM

^^^^

yep, the fact that he can get this done on a 150000 budget says something about the guy ...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 8:57:52 AM

I think we have another Neill Blomkamp-type on our hands, which I am certainly NOT complaining about.
BlueMobius writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 2:34:33 PM

My interest level just shot up.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 7:37:25 PM

Very intriguing. The effects and visual style are fantastic. I'd definitely be interested in seeing how this project develops.

Hugh Jackman on Quitting Wolverine and Making "Deadpool" Cameo

Hugh Jackman Quit Wolverine Role Because of Jerry Seinfeld

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Plot Synopsis Revealed

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

Targon Egerton Wants to Replace Hugh Jackman as Wolverine
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved