WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Marvel Says Real Mandarin and Red Skull May Soon Make an Appearance
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Miss Julie," with Colin Farrell and Jessica Chastain
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Predators" Writer to Turn "Deus Ex" Video Game Into a Movie
Jul 23rd, 2014
New Banner for Brad Pitt's "Fury" War Film
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Space Station 76" Sci-Fi Spoof, with Patrick Wilson and Liv Tyler
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" is Now Filming, First Photo Revealed
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Cybernatural" Horror Film, From Timur Bekmambetov
Jul 23rd, 2014
Will Ferrell and Adam McKay Reteam for "Manimal" Action Comedy
Jul 22nd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Unveils 5 Minute Clip
Jul 22nd, 2014
Marvel Will Release One Sequel and One New Franchise Each Year
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Imitation Game," with Benedict Cumberbatch and Keira Knightley
Jul 22nd, 2014
Poster for "Toy Story" Special "Toy Story That Time Forgot"
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Rooney Mara's "Trash" Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Hints He's Set to Play Shazam Superhero
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Comic-Con Poster for "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Jul 21st, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Remains on Top at Box Office, "Sex Tape" Bombs
Jul 21st, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Says Hercules Would Beat Superman in a Fight
Jul 21st, 2014
First Teaser Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler"
Jul 21st, 2014
"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21
Jul 21st, 2014
Legendary Actor James Garner Dead at 86
Jul 20th, 2014
First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive
Jul 20th, 2014
Kevin Sorbo is Angry He Didn't Get a Cameo in "Hercules" Film
Jul 20th, 2014
Batman and Superman Will Not Appear in "The Flash" or "Arrow" TV Series
Jul 20th, 2014
"Watchmen" Creator Alan Moore Asks Fans to Boycott "Hercules" Film
Jul 20th, 2014
James Gunn Says He'll Direct "Guardians of the Galaxy 2," If The Sequel Happens
Jul 20th, 2014
Teaser Trailer for "Fifty Shades of Grey," Full Trailer Coming on Thursday
Jul 20th, 2014
Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films
Jul 19th, 2014
Hiding Scarlett Johansson's Pregnancy in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Took a Lot of Stunt Doubles
Jul 19th, 2014
Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie to Re-Team for "By the Sea"
Jul 19th, 2014
Lots of Action in New Clip From "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Reboot
Jul 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Gift" Short Film is a Prequel to "Small"

Posted: April 9th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Gift" Short Film is a Prequel to "Small"Submit Comment
We've been talking about Carl Erik Rinsch's "The Gift" short film for the last two days. First, we learned it was part of Phillips' marketing campaign. Then it was revealed that two major studios are in a bidding war to acquire the short film in order to adapt it for the big screen.

And now comes word from /Film that the studios aren't interested in acquiring "The Gift." Rinsch has actually written and designed the entire movie and is calling it "Small," and that's actually what the studios want. "The Gift" was meant to be a short prequel to "Small."

It turns out that Rinsch (who was previously set to helm the "Alien" reboot and is now working on "47 Ronin" with Keanu Reeves) has been meeting with various nobel prize-winning scientists and theorists to develop the world that "Small" takes place in. He's been saying that the project is a mix of "2001," "Blade Runner," and "Doctor Zhivago," with a bit of Bourne-style action.

The other interesting part is that "The Gift" was developed for around $150,000, despite all the CGI. The Barcelona FX company that has been helping Rinsch, created not only the robot and the cars using CG, but the entire city. Such a feat is rarely achieved with a such a tiny budget. The only other person who has been able to pull off something similar was Neill Blomkamp when he developed "District 9" for only $30 million.

The site also got their hands on a few designs from "Small." Check out "The Gift" short film and the designs below.

"The Gift" Short Film:


Concept Art: (click to enlarge)


Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
hunter207 writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 7:56:07 PM

Another one that could either make bank or flop on its ass
SofaKing writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 8:27:07 PM

I really like the images, they look like futuristic technology but rustic and not to flashy... I am talking about the first picture the robot from the movie is kinda flashy but cool looking none the less. I am excited to hear more news once this project gets some legs.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 8:38:43 PM

what's small?
CCBlev writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:04:10 PM

@Encore
"What's Small" Coc and Vindy's d*ck, their lifespan, their brains, I could go on and on, but you get the idea.
This does have potential though, I'll wait for a trailer frist.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:11:29 PM

lol, i was thinking of adding something about COC and Vin myself but decided if you guys wanted to i'd leave the door open.
CCBlev writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:19:44 PM

@Encore
Good call, someone woulda. Figured I'd stir the pot tonight and get em worked up so we can slaughter em all again!
vaodsi writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:35:30 PM

My ticket is sold
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 10:22:26 PM

What the hell. As long as Hollywood doesn't f* it up.
Kurskij writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 11:00:15 PM

For those interested:

I live in Moscow for the last five years. If the entire thing was CGI, then we've witnessed one INCREDIBLE job. f*cking wow, the cars looked CGI, and Moscow police don't use them anymore, but, hell, if the environment was CGI...

f*cking wow.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 11:44:53 PM

yeah i couldn't tell if it was cgi or not!

Jedimasta writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 3:46:03 AM

Holy cow I love this mecha crap, the short clip was awesome! And the CGI is amazingly real oO
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 4:21:47 AM

Suddenly I understand why Ridley Scott pushed for this guy to direct the Alien-prequel. It seems like he'sa guy wo cares about the details, which is an underrated gift in H-wood.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 5:30:33 AM

^^^^

yep, the fact that he can get this done on a 150000 budget says something about the guy ...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 8:57:52 AM

I think we have another Neill Blomkamp-type on our hands, which I am certainly NOT complaining about.
BlueMobius writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 2:34:33 PM

My interest level just shot up.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 7:37:25 PM

Very intriguing. The effects and visual style are fantastic. I'd definitely be interested in seeing how this project develops.

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Lindsay Lohan Sues "Grand Theft Auto V" for Using Her Likeness

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Mark Ruffalo Says New "Hulk" Film Will NOT Be "Planet Hulk"

Michael Bay Responds to Negative Criticism of "Transformers: Age of Extinction"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved