WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Escape From New York" Remake Update

Posted: April 9th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Escape From New York" Remake UpdateSubmit Comment
Collider caught up with producer Neal Moritz to find out what's going on with the remake of "Escape From New York," which has been talked about for the last couple of years.

"We have a script. We're out to directors right now," said Moritz. "We've had quite a few meetings with directors and there's a couple of actors that are really interested in playing Snake and we'll see what happens."

Ever since the remake was announced, Gerard Butler (300) was attached to star as Snake Plissken. "Gerard was really interested in playing it," the producer continued. "He hasn't read the new script yet, so we'll probably have a conversation with him once we get a director on board."

He added that the movie will likely be R-rated, but only if they can't get away with a PG-13 rating. Moritz doesn't mind getting an R-rating for violence, but if language is what pushes the film over, it will be eliminated.

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AYT BALL writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 4:41:11 AM

Better be a f*cking R!!! why make it for kids when all the fans are now adults?!?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 5:06:09 AM

I would prefer a R-rating, but I agree with Moritz that bad language isn't a must.
snypatech writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 5:10:45 AM

Philistines, you cant remake a classic like this, leave it alone! Here's an idea be original make something new and interesting, not remake classic motion pictures! Or if your going to remake something why not remake all the crap movies that have killed franshises, just a though! Heres a quick list: Doom, Resident Evil, Hitman, Alone in the Dark, House of the Dead, Silent Hill, to name a few!
Vin12 writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 5:15:28 AM

as encore would say, "never seen it..." lol
trailertrash writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 5:25:07 AM

This could be awesome if made right and it has to be an R not PG-13 and R for violence not bad language please !!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 5:25:30 AM

Do not remake this, jesus christ Hollywood are you that f*cking scraped for ideas!!!!

Like I've said many times and what snypatech is also saying- HOLLYWOOD REMAKE THE ONES THAT f*ckED UP AT LEAST YOU KNOW WHAT YOU DID WRONG!!!!!!

trailertrash writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 5:32:27 AM

@dave

Normally i'm with on the remake thing , just think this time with a bigger budget it "could" be a really good movie .

The original is a classic no doubt that though
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 5:38:11 AM

@trailer- I see what you mean, but the original ahd a bleakness to it you could believe, just don't think they can do that now.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 5:41:54 AM

AYT BALL-let's cross our fingers. PG-13 would be sh*t even if it could still be gritty. i thought directors stopped trying to pull this Dark Knight sh*t a while ago ...
trailertrash writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 5:52:16 AM

@dave

True , John Carpenter did a great job on that movie directing and scoring it , would be nice if they let him have a crack at it again (so we could forget about escape from LA)
encoreyourface writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 6:22:41 AM

vin i have seen it, great movie. not your taste though, i'm sure they got another copy of "two guys, one glory hole" at the porn shop if you hurry and get riding on that bike of yours.

DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 6:23:44 AM

@trailer- I agree with upto a point- I thought Escape From LA was ok, but I can understand how people aren't keen on it, Carpenter really dropped the ball on that one.

So let the backlash commence lol
TwoTakez writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 7:54:34 AM

As soon as Snake started surfing on that tidal wave, Escape from LA fell a long way down the sh*t shute from where there is no return....Hollywood please leave this classic alone
encoreyourface writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 8:32:21 AM

if they do that gay ass surfing thing like in escape fro LA i'd walk out the theater ...
trailertrash writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 8:34:24 AM

@dave- who could play snake , kurt russell was perfect , Butler could be ok though...

@two - that done it for me too !!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 8:41:55 AM

@trailer- havnt got a clue on that one considering Russel and Carpenter both came up with the character.

Suppose you got to look at how old is Snake in this movie the try to cast actor around that age, but still tough though.

Butler would be good, as long as they don't have him do American accent, his is ok but f*ck it, if you gonna do a remake then distance yourself so far from it that if it f*cks up it won't be so bad.
Eben1277 writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:21:23 AM

I liked LA too, but I'm easy to please.
CCBlev writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:54:08 AM

It had better be R rated, if it's not Hollywoods balls have truly dropped off, o wait, the did along time ago.
@Vin
Who let you out of your cage d*ckhead!
trailertrash writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:59:31 AM

@dave-

Think when you are trying to remake a film you have to start out thinking you can improve on the original, Films they are remaking today can only really improve the effects of the original film, films like I am Legend, clash of the titans, dawn of the dead (one of the best remakes i've seen), i can see why they try to make these movies even if they turn out like a sack of crap.

It's the ones like Assault on Precinct 13 , Longest yard , fun with d*ck and jane , Halloween (john carpenter again), The Taking of Pelham 1 2 3, wicker man and many more !!These are the ones where i think hollywood is just being lazy , they add nothing to the original at all , f*ck me the psycho remake was a shot by shot copy of the original movie but in colour whats the point in making movies like that !!
trailertrash writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 10:01:54 AM

@CCBlev

Daddy did for sucky f*cky hour !!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 10:04:20 AM

@Trailer: You forgot about the added masturbation-scene in the Psycho-remake.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 10:07:21 AM

@trailer- I agree with you on the special effects part, espicially Clash but the studio f*cked that up with the script, I am Legend never seen not a fan of Wil Smith, however can't agree with you on Dawn of the Dead remake was crap compared to the original but an ok film.

But I do agree with you wholeheartdly on your second paragraph, some films should'nt be touched, but the reason they are remade is not just Hollywood being lazy but when these guys made the movies they had no money so had to sell their property to the studios.
CCBlev writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 10:12:36 AM

@trailer
Good call, I should known better, sorry the coffee hasnt kicked in yet.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 10:26:52 AM

Ok if they're going to keep going down this remake road, it should only be for movies where technology played a significant role like films depicting the future.
I am so tired of watching older films set in the future (although classics) where their computers are Commodore 64's.

Really?? We're still using dot matrix printers in the year 2030? Awesome....Oh and how's that 3 ton CRT monitor working for ya??
Dre-EL writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 10:46:46 AM

Instead of a remake why not get snake (Kurt) to go back to New York for something or someone else.

Kurt Russel is snake pliscin.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 10:55:19 AM

FU Moritz!!! Why does every WP article have to be completely ruined by some idiot promoting 3D or PG conversion. When will Hwood learn that neither do the original material any justice? Can somebody tell me the last time a PG-13 installment of an R rated series ever turned out any good?

I hate to say it, but Butler is a HORRIBLE choice for Snake. The character is supposed to represent all of what's left of american idealism in a future devoid of freedom and individuality. There is absolutely NOTHING American about Butler, and I sure as hell can sit through another film and watch him butcher the accent anymore. This film has nothing going for it IMO.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 11:11:46 AM

I hate to keep suggesting him for every part, but Timouthy Olyphant would be perfect for the role. He brings an icey almost scary demeanor to every role he gets which would work well for the character. Remember Snake doesn't have to be some huge bodybuilder with 8 Minute Abs, he just needs a cold stare and a FU attitude. Anyone that's scene Deadwood, GO, or Justified knows Olyphant embodies all of that and then some. If you haven't seen Justified yet, check it out, Great show!
jeffw1978 writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 11:31:54 AM

It is for adults not kids make it an R and a Hard R at that!
triggax writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 12:15:38 PM

Olyphants too... young?

I dont know... i cant picture it at all... I do like olyphant but he was just so f*cking horrible in Hitman and Die Hard that ive just lost interest....

We all know its gonna be Sam Worthington anyways... In 3D and PG13
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 12:44:19 PM

I too like Olyphant, think he did great in Hitman (not his fault they f*cked up the script) and he has shined in almost every role he's taken.
The guy who plays Snake doesn't have to be that beefed. However, I don't see Olyphant with long hair, which is basically a must.
Captain America writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 1:25:47 PM

Olyphant is terrific in Justified. He'd be amazing if Snake could rock short hair.
tucsonkid writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 1:43:19 PM

PG-13 RATING!!!!!! WHAT IS THIS DISNEYLAND WE LIVE IN! WHAT HAPPENED TO THE GOOD OLD DAYS WHEN BAD LANGUAGE WAS PG? AND SEX AND EXCESSIVE VIOLENCE MEANT R?
Kill-the-director writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 1:43:29 PM

i'm betting they pic sam worthington he seems to be a popular guy. Although i'd love to see kurt playing him again
Ranger writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 4:44:55 PM

Oh Vin... yuck, yuck, yuck... u iz funeh!

What a dipsh*t.
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 5:16:54 PM

They already remade it when they made Doomsday. Rememder? It was that really sh*tty movie that combined Mad Max, Escape from New York, and all those other classics?
SACdaddy writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 5:28:26 PM

@Trig: Have you seen Justified yet? Its Elmore Leonard so the writing is pretty edgy and loaded with tough one liner for Olyphant. The guy really has a knack for burning a hole though somebody with that crazy stare (and his gun) when he drops these one liners. It might not be as effective with the Plissken patch.
trailertrash writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 8:04:42 PM

@Freudian, i forgot about vince's finest piece of acting in that movie lol , cant imagine Mr Perkins doing that over dear old janet leigh ..

@dave- true, maybe they should have done a stallone and stuck to their guns like he did with Rocky look where that took him :)

@cc - lol..
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 10:25:04 PM

@trailer too true mate, Stallone went off the boil a bit with Rocky 4&5 (eventhough I like Rocky 4 in a weird way) but came back with a good Rocky Balboa.

It's a shame studios have so much sway over peoples property.
warlord writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 10:38:49 PM

i dont know if i want to see anyone else play snake
trailertrash writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 4:10:57 AM

@dave

Rocky 4 we saw that opening weekend in the west end of london as a kid , always had a soft spot for that movie and rocky balboa was a good ending to the series (please let it end now sly lol)
trailertrash writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 4:12:31 AM

@warlord - same here...
seveltoto writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 2:27:03 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved