WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sam Rockwell Was Almost "Iron Man"

Posted: April 8th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sam Rockwell Was Almost "Iron Man"Submit Comment
Director Jon Favreau is out promoting his "Iron Man" sequel and is getting many questions about some of the casting decisions he has made, including Mickey Rourke, Scarlett Johansson and Sam Rockwell.

According to Favreau, Rockwell was on his short list of actors for the role of Tony Stark in the first film. "He was one of the actors I was looking at for Tony Stark," he revealed. "There was some things he would bring to the role that would have been great. Sam is very charismatic and when I was looking at the character there was a list and he had a spot on it, which might have surprised some people. Robert surprised some people, too, though, and now he is Tony Stark, he owns that role. Sam would have come up with interesting and different things."

Downey likely got the job due to name-recognition, and Rockwell had to settle with playing Stark's rival Justin Hammer, who sees a chance to bring Stark down by helping a Whiplash get his revenge.

Click here to read more about "Iron Man 2."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 6:57:15 PM

thank God he wasn't.

lol ... must be why Rourke is so mad at RDJ in Iron Man 2 becuase he stole his role ...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 7:00:03 PM

Still feel that Rockwell should get more recognition during this promotion campain.
nope.com writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 7:00:54 PM

still would've been a great choice
TheStig writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 7:27:45 PM

Would've been decent, but it's hard to imagine him topping RDJ. I think he's a perfect choice for Hammer though.
BrundleFly writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 8:20:25 PM

Sam Rockwell is my favourite actor working at the moment, but RDJ was definitely the best choice for Iron Man.
SofaKing writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 8:34:34 PM

Rockwell is bad ass, I still need to see Moon (I am ashamed of myself). I think he would have been a great Tony Stark. I have liked him in everything except Hitch Hikers Guide (too goofy) and Choke but that wasn't his fault, they didn't even try with that potentially awesome story. One of my favorite books, you sex addicted weirdos would love it.
Doc_Brown writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 8:34:57 PM

This is a classic case of Batman/bruce wayne...Eg, Christian bale is a good batman but a piss poor bruce wayne, Michael keaton was good at both, Rockwell woulda been a good Ironman but a bad start, RDJ is good at both.
Doc_Brown writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 8:35:19 PM

stark*
johnny_boy writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 8:35:50 PM

Glad RDJ got the role. I love it when the guy who almost got the lead role instead plays the villain.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 8:38:02 PM

Keaton was not a great Bruce Wayne. Bale does both better or it could be his character is just written better.
OmgArbysAgain writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 8:44:10 PM

Rockwell is awesome. I bet he could've pulled it off, but after seeing RDJ in the role it is hard to imagine anybody else doing it as well.
tcu21 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 8:47:59 PM

Would have been a good choice, but c'mon, how can you compete with Robert Downey Jr?

By the way, any time I hear Sam Rockwell's name I have to ask: How freaking awesome was he in Moon? F**k Sony for not campaigning for him or trying to get it a big release in the US.
CCBlev writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 9:02:08 PM

RDJ is Iron Man/Tony Stark. Will love to Sam Rockwell play a villan though.
johnny_boy writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 9:58:29 PM

@ccblev.... Sam Rockwell is a villain in I'm 2. Justin hammer is always trying to kill Tony stark
CCBlev writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 10:03:40 PM

@johnny
Thats what I was talking about, sorry I didnt make it clear enough.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 10:14:45 PM

Either him or RDJ for Ironman, both are great actors and at the same time very underated.

Moon kicked arse AND f*ck YOU SONY!!!!!
CCBlev writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 10:19:30 PM

@Dave
Whoa, turn it down a notch, you kinda scared me there. lol Next we'll see him blowing up the Sony offices lol
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 10:43:57 PM

It's okay.

Watching these two act against one another is going to be like Ali Vs Frazier (to use a boxing metaphor) in acting ...

Classic.
GIST writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 12:27:45 AM

Remember guys. He was the Thug #1 in Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Pt.1. Then they made the God awful sequels and sh*t.
takai writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 1:01:41 AM

I'm sort of indifferent to this post.

Most people were very upset with RDJ getting the role, and then it turned out great. It could have gone the same way with Rockwell. Simple as that.

That's not to say that after the fact, I couldn't see anyone else playing the character, other than RDJ.
takai writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 1:01:42 AM

I'm sort of indifferent to this post.

Most people were very upset with RDJ getting the role, and then it turned out great. It could have gone the same way with Rockwell. Simple as that.

That's not to say that after the fact, I couldn't see anyone else playing the character, other than RDJ.
bugmenot writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 2:07:42 AM

S.J. is stolen biological material, taken against will and formed to clones line 200 pieces total. DANGEROUS, DANGEROUS, sign of dangerous criminal activity.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 3:58:03 AM

@ccblev- I'll try mate, I'll try haha

but seriously Sony screwd up bigtime on Moon could easily have had 3 Oscar Noms, Best Actor, Film & original screenplay, maybe would have walked away with the major two Actor & Film.
prowler writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 7:26:27 AM

yeah, and I was almost chuck norris
eddie499 writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 7:36:04 AM

Sam Rockwell is one of my favorite actors, and one of the most underrated out there, e.g., Moon, Confessions of a Dangerous Mind, and his performance in Matchstick Men. I think he would have made a good Tony Stark, but RDJ already has a swagger natural to his personality that Tony does also, making him, in my opinion, the best choice.

I like him for the Justin Hammer role. He's got the charisma that makes him great as the puppet master behind Whiplash. May 7th can't come soon enough.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 12:54:03 PM

Love Rockwell, but visually I wouldn't have bought him as Stark. Like they said, RDJ looks and is Stark hands down. I could go for a bit less comedy and goofball-isms from RDJ doing the role but I guess that's his "spin" to it.
Johnny Neat writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 4:18:50 PM

I would have preferred to be honest but Jr. is pimping it.
warlord writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 10:34:41 PM

i would have to see then just not a downey fan

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved