WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Microsoft Says "Halo" Movie Will Happen Soon

Posted: April 8th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Microsoft Says "Halo" Movie Will Happen SoonSubmit Comment
Peter Jackson (Lord of the Rings) and Neill Blomkamp (District 9) have spent six months working on a "Halo" movie, which eventually fell apart due to Microsoft's issues with finding a studio to partner with.

Now, during the MI6 Conference in San Francisco last week, "Halo" Master Chief Frank O'Connor revealed that the company wants to make the movie, mostly because it makes financial sense to do so.

"We're going to make a movie when the time is right," he said. "We own the [intellectual property]. If we want to make a movie, the scale of all the other stuff that we do changes dramatically. We make tens and tens of millions of dollars on ancillary stuff, toys, apparel, music and publishing. If we do a movie all of that will grow exponentially. We have some numbers if we do a movie, but it changes everything. It also changes our target and age demographic."

So there you have it. A "Halo" movie is far from dead. Jackson and Blomkamp have both stated that they will not return for the project.

Click here to read more about "Halo."

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 50 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 5:13:03 AM

This is Final Fantasy all over again
johnny_boy writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 5:13:10 AM

So pretty much this is gonna be resident evil.... In space.
SofaKing writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 5:13:56 AM

Screw Halo... I have a Playstation.
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 5:16:19 AM

Forget about a "Halo" movie. I rather see "God of War" being turn into film :)
johnny_boy writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 5:17:28 AM

@ cyberpunk.... Didn't they already do an adaption to god of war? Think it was called clash if the titans
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 5:24:48 AM

@johnny_boy Yeah but Sam Worthington's character Perseus is no Kratos :)
masht7 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 6:03:45 AM

Have you guys never heard of Halo? I'm pretty excited for this, and it has Jackson and Blomkamp attached, wake up guys. They are the guys who did District 9, the Sci-Fi movie that was better than Avatar last year.
Paulied writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 6:57:12 AM

@masht:

You wake up matey! Can't you read...Jackson and Blomkamp WERE involved in the project and have now 'stated they will not return to the project'!

Seems to me if this ever hits screens it'll be some awful CGI sh*t-fest! The first Halo game was awesome but they got progressively worse IMO

Abandon it Microsoft...and leave film-making to film-makers!
Doc_Brown writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 8:04:21 AM

Wait wait wait, Microsoft looking to make more money? That can't be right?!
trailertrash writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 8:31:03 AM

that trailer from the other day must of inspired micro soft !!!
Moose756 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 8:31:07 AM

"It also changes our target and age demographic" what does that mean?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 8:41:37 AM

@Sofaking: Amen to that brother!
Bill The Butcher Cutting writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 8:47:52 AM

1st halo was good then the rest were just sh*te tbh, and i really dont want a god of war movie the games are epic the movie would just be sh*t awesome game sh*te movie like hitman was, like hitman sthey should of cast david bateson the voice of hitman and who hitman is based on look wise.
Lizardking515 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 9:01:21 AM

f*cking micsoft only wants the movie so they can benefit from the synergy. All they want is money money money. Its not about making a good movie at this point with them. Its more about making sure that they profit with this then they have with any of the games they've come out with
Lizardking515 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 9:09:06 AM

@ masht7

How can you even say that district 9 was better than avatar. Besides just looking at the boxoffice numbers, I know district 9 was made for a lot less. Like practically nothing compared to avatar. But the story was slow, it wasn't anything too special. It felt as if jackson didn't want to make the halo movie and was like f*ck it I could create something myself and wrote a sh*tty script treatment in like 3 weeks. it was all a rip off from halo.
nmball writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 9:10:14 AM

all about the money isn't it? they won't even care if the movie blows...
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 9:10:41 AM

'age demographic'

Oops, so much for an R movie for a rated M game. Cuz you gotta sell toys to the kiddies, just neuter the f*ckin thing to bring it to PG 13. Whats even the point anymore?
Blank x2 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 9:24:28 AM

I didn't think Avatar or District 9 was all that awesome. They were okay, but best picture material? No way.

I know I'll get drilled for this, but District 9 is overrated. There. I said it.

And if done right, this movie will rock.
Lizardking515 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 9:34:41 AM

@ blank

I totally agree with you. District 9 was totally over rated and I believe it never diserved the type of internet viral campaign that it received. It was more of a comedy than an sci-fi action movie
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 10:11:20 AM

@Lizardking: Sure, D9 had comedic element in it, but so had Avatar. The differences is that D9 used it for satirical purposes, while Avatar used to please the audiences. I would say that both movies are overrated, but D9 is rightful overrated unlike Avatar.
lost_addict writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 10:19:12 AM

hurry up before uwe boll f*ck this up like he did with 'far cry'
otis writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 10:28:15 AM

Sounds like this is the next project on Joe Johnston's plate.
It'll be a bloody cartoon with Benicio Del Toro as Masta Chief, Chris Rock as Sarge and Tina Fey as Cortana.
And it'll be interactive: get a phone call 3 minutes in asking which vehicle to choose and guide Masta Chief's fate. Then receive a a phonebill a month later charging you 4,000 bucks for the 10 second phone call you had with a fictional character.

Brilliant!
jeffw1978 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 10:41:32 AM

So Sam Worthington or Ryan Reynolds will play master chief I take it, since they are in every f*cking thing else.
SofaKing writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 11:18:26 AM

A lot of video games these days are bigger and more epic than the movies. Therefore, making them into a movie is pointless. God of War is so huge and bad ass that a movie probably wouldn't do it justice.

As for the Final Fantasy movie, it was ok, the CGI was awesome for its day (still is). Advent Children was damn near perfect and pleased a lot of the fans of the FF7.

I guess I am just saying they shouldn't do it just for the sake of doing it, make it better or don't do anything.
Goober3000 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 11:44:17 AM

If they make it like the books it will the most amazing thing iv ever seen.
Dre-EL writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 12:00:58 PM

I just have this feeling that Halo wont make a good transition to the movies.
rocketman writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 12:52:58 PM

Halo games were cool untill the f*cking Flood turned up.Ruined all the games as far as i'm concerned.Modern warfare killed that franchise IMO.
Ranger writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 1:19:34 PM

"resident evil.... In space."

Or... any guy's c*ck inside of Lohan's blue waffle.
Chainmail Vest writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 1:32:43 PM

I reckon if they got Peter Jackson on board before they can get someone good again. Wasn't Speilberg exited by some script he read? Halo is practically the single biggest intellectual property in games, its not like they dont have the money. Plus there is plenty of fiction to draw from which a lot of people seem to rate.

Of course, it could well turn out to be as entertaining as holocaust footage remastered in technicolour
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 1:34:00 PM

How did MW kill Halo when REACH is considered the most anticipated game coming this year? Halo sells like 10 million copies on ONE platform and 3 is still the most played game on XBOX Live so I don't see how the hell you come up with the franchise is killed mantra. Stupidity.

Moving on, Halo movie won't work unless they give Chief a personality. The f*cker can't stand around all day and grunt, that's boring. Halo suffers from the same issues most games do, weak protagonist. Love God of War and all, but Kratos is not a fully fleshed character. He gets angry, he shouts, he kills things. Rinse, wash, and repeat.

Halo and Uncharted have the biggest box office potential, Halo mainly because its' world is new to film and it's premise is relatively interesting. I still say the most appealing film dealing with the Halo universe is the one that centers on the ODST. Saving Private Ryan in Halo Universe. Give the characters a human protagonist with an identity that they can relate to. Throw MC in at the last 15-20 minutes to please the fanboys.
Kenny writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 2:15:27 PM

Halo movie? 90 minutes of Beyonce? Yes, please!
exposedfilm writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 2:43:27 PM

"We're going to make a movie when the time is right"

How is that considered "soon"? Once again, Worst Previews goes with a completely misleading headline. This is beginning to become a staple for this site, which isn't a good thing.
rocketman writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 3:12:13 PM

@Darkight
Killed it for me,the multiplayer is far more responsive.
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 3:38:41 PM

I just j*zzed a little, if they made a halo movie and stayed true to the game it would be unbelievable, do y'all remember how awesome the commercials were for when the Halo 3 game came out?
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 4:19:08 PM

Halo 3's commercials with the figurines? Yeah unnnnbelievable. The Halo narrative is a snorefest, the world has been seriously under utilized by Bungie. It's beautiful and full of potential, but there ain't many storytellers at Bungie.

ODST had great commercials, more proof that an ODST movie could be great.
dhkenobi writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 4:38:53 PM

Personally, IF they actually do care about whether this film is good or not, they need to stick to canon and start with the movie based on Eric Nylund's "Fall of Reach" novel. Would end on an awesome cliffhanger: The Pillar of Autumn stumbling on Installation 04.
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 4:55:09 PM

Why the f*ck would I be talking about the figurine commercials? I don't even know what those commercials look like, I'm talking about the few live-action commercials they made a couple years ago
Kurskij writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 5:28:56 PM

I'm one of those living under the rock, cayse I've never played Halo. Ever.

But Blomkamp's short was pretty intense.

Halo is supposed to be epic, right? The main problem with Blomkamp and Jackson pulling out was that Microsoft didn't want the budget to rise above 100mil. If they want to follow "Gears of war" route and make a movie that is meant to cost 150 mil for 70 mil then f*ck it.

Kurskij writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 5:31:44 PM

@TH3D4RKKN1GH7

"Love God of War and all, but Kratos is not a fully fleshed character. He gets angry, he shouts, he kills things. Rinse, wash, and repeat".

Sounds f*cking awesome. I guess, I'll have to buy a copy.


Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 5:42:14 PM

Xbox sucks. Microsoft sucks.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 6:37:43 PM

"So pretty much this is gonna be resident evil.... In space."

i really f*cking hope not Johnny. this movie can be a pretty good reflection on the games, much easier to do then Resident Evil (which is no excuse for Resident Evil)

i'm a fan of the Halos so i hope this is true and will be a success.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 6:41:21 PM

kursk- God of War has probably one of the best stories and epic stories you'll see in a video game. every game they have kicks ass (unfortunately never played the 3rd, no ps3 .... f*ck!!)

and get Halo as well. only get the first two Halo if you're interested in the story though. the first story was meh the second was pretty good and the 3rd is good as well. but Halo 3's multiplayer is a thing they should be played by all.
drshakalou writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 6:50:19 PM

this will be the greatest videogame based movie ever made.
BigFoot writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 7:24:21 PM

@dhkenobi: Agreed. Fall of Reach would be a great story to use for the Halo movie...but hasn't this been discussed before? ;)
simplytyson writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 7:26:49 PM

halo sucks microsoft already has to much money
Kurskij writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 8:48:44 PM

@encore

Not really into video games, but I'll check those out. Badassery shouldn't be ignored.

Thank's for a little review! )))
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 8:49:25 PM

The figurines were part of the BELIEVE campaign which were the MAIN television commercials. That's f*cking why :p.

Moving on: Encore you really got to play God of War 3, it is the best of the series. As far as Halo goes most people view the second as the low point of the narrative with the first being the highest and the third being the second best. I've never been into Halo story, thought it was rather boring and damn sure wasn't going to read the books.

Bioshock and Uncharted easily have the best narratives in video games. I'll say this much, if Saving Private Ryan can be made for 70 million (granted inflation would bring that # up a bit) than a Halo movie can certainly be made for less.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 9:34:56 PM

no problem kursk, anytime!
Nekros22 writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 9:36:02 AM

The only reason they want to make a Halo movie is so they can segue into another Halo spin-off. God help us if they decide to make an MMO.
gorgoroth writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 1:01:19 AM

I hope they make this film I've been waiting forever for this damn movie!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved