WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Andrew Garfield Says Spider-Man is Jewish
Apr 15th, 2014
Channing Tatum Confirms Talks to Play Gambit in "X-Men" Film
Apr 15th, 2014
David Fincher to be Replaced on Steve Jobs Biopic Due to Unreasonable Requests
Apr 15th, 2014
Harrison Ford Excited to Return for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for David Cronenberg's "Maps to the Stars," with John Cusack and Julianne Moore
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Philip Seymour Hoffman's "God's Pocket" Thriller
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Zoe Saldana's "Rosemary's Baby" TV Series
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Tommy Lee Jones' "The Homesman"
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Jay-Z's "Annie" Remake, With Jamie Foxx and Cameron Diaz
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller, Directed by David Fincher
Apr 14th, 2014
Pierce Brosnan Says He Was NOT Good Enough as James Bond
Apr 14th, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ
Apr 14th, 2014
Watch Opening Battle Sequence From "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 14th, 2014
Spider-Man Battles Electro in New "The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Clip
Apr 14th, 2014
First "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" TV Spot Shows Splinter
Apr 14th, 2014
"Transformers: Age of Extinction" TV Spot From MTV Movie Awards
Apr 14th, 2014
New TV Spot for Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Thriller
Apr 14th, 2014
Dwayne Johnson's "Hercules" TV Spot, From MTV Movie Awards
Apr 14th, 2014
Seth MacFarlane's "A Million Ways to Die in the West" TV Spot
Apr 14th, 2014
New TV Spot for "22 Jump Street," with Channing Tatum and Jonah Hill
Apr 14th, 2014
Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters
Apr 14th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Chris Evans Never Auditioned for "Captain America"

Posted: April 7th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Chris Evans Never Auditioned for "Captain America"Submit Comment
IGN caught up with Chris Evans at "The Losers" press junket and asked about his audition for "The First Avenger: Captain America." The site wanted to know if he read any lines or put on a costume.

"I didn't actually read for it," he replied. "But I knew a lot of the guys at Marvel. We had an existing relationship. It's just luck. It just came my way."

Considering that Marvel signed Evans for "Captain America" and nine possible sequels and spin-offs, you would think that the studio would at least have Evans read a few lines. It just seems like they are focusing more on getting the biggest name for their $300,000, rather than go through the casting process properly. With this kind of attitude, it doesn't surprise me that they hired Joe Johnston (The Wolfman, Jumanji) to direct and were considering Dane Cook to star.

And how many bad movies does Louis Leterrier (Transporter 2, Incredible Hulk, Clash of the Titans) have to make before Marvel takes him off their short-list to helm "The Avengers"?

Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 6:42:15 PM

Marvel knows him well enough, makes sense. Fantastic Four and The Losers was his audition. Regardless, I think he's a great choice.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 6:46:45 PM

i don't really care a whole lot, as long as he can get the job done.
Jayski writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:07:15 PM

Ha this is so f*cking funny,

Ok i think the general feeling from fans is he's not a bad choice and there is a good chance he will pull it off, plus as was stated marvel had seen him in f4 and the loser's so no biggy he didn't read we don't care right?

But.... what if you where one of those many many short listed actors who Marvel had jumping through f*cking hoops doing their very best praying for that call, in fact didn't they get them in costume hoping on one leg while they pulled their d*ck with one hand and stuck their thumb up there ass with the other one!
After all that, the Marvel dudes watch over all the tape's, after hours, days, f*ck weeks! they look at each other and one asks "hey what about that Chris Evans Dude?" the other replies, "f*ck yeah, he'd be great, give him a call!" "Will i let the other poor dudes know?", "Nah f*ck them they'll read it on the web!, anyway that nerd from the office must have known he never really had a chance!" and then the Marvel men sit back and laugh one twiddling the end of his moustache, the other the end of his knob!
Now if i was one of those actors.... I be piiiised by this news, but as i said 99% of us ain't so.... f*ck it!
SofaKing writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:20:03 PM

Sounds like whoever is running the "Let's make movies!" department at Marvel/Disney is a jackass. They are gonna crank these movies out too quick and end up diminishing Favreau and RDJr's hard work with a craptacular avengers movie.
YourFriendWithTheBigDick writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:27:16 PM

sounds yummy ;L
IRONDAN writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:29:08 PM

I know this is a statement that will piss a lot of people off but i think that Joe Johnston has a chance to make this movie awesome. He's 50/50 with his movies. the feel of The Rocketeer (which he made) is the type of style he Capt movie should be but with a lot more ww2 action in it. so i can see that working well with for it.

but his last 3 movies have been sh*t so it could be a bad movie..... either way it seems like Chris is a good choice for the role and could really make this the movie we want and not the movie we expect to suck american balls
lebowski writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:30:15 PM

at least he is honest about it and he may turn out to be a good choice but with johnston they f*cked up unlles theyre paying him 200 dollars for directing or maybe he is paying them to let him direct .yes that makes sense.
Ranger writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:34:13 PM

All good posts.

@Irondan - I'm optimistic. But we all know (you included... you're not denying it) that JJ is the weak link on this project.

As for Evans... like most, I'm happy (as I could be, considering who else they were looking at) with that pick.

Pretty tough standards Iron Man has set thus far. And CA has to come in at least as strong (in character), so as to lead The Avengers.
triggax writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:35:48 PM

Haha... Yeah lead the avangers..

Thats why Evans seems like a good choice but isn't.. I wouldn't let that muppet lead me to mcdonalds... He doesnt stand up against RDJ and probably wont against Hemsworth either... But alas we shall see.
Doc_Brown writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:36:43 PM

Am I tripping or where there posts deleted?
triggax writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:37:11 PM

Alex deleted them because he got offended by our real life take on the issues.
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:38:21 PM

i agree with scrooge he did the f4 movies and the losers that was his audition they dont need to see him they know he can pull it off
Doc_Brown writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:38:32 PM

not a cyber sex fan eh?
YourFriendWithTheBigDick writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:44:30 PM

alex doesnt want us developing deep relationships
Doc dont tell him about our baby
i think he might dissaprove ;L...
Doc_Brown writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:46:51 PM

Shhhhsh dammit, Don't make me put the f*cking leeches on ya! We don't have a baby....it's our neighbours and that chain is for it's own protection!
nope.com writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:46:52 PM

Hiring Joe Johnston - strike 1

E. Blunt turns down as role - strike 2

... this story


Just can this thing altogether Marvel
Ranger writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:58:24 PM

I still can't believe they didn't get: Nolan, Raimi, Singer... or any other BETTER choices listed by us here on WP to direct this movie.

@trig - re: Evans / McDonalds - agreed!
johnny_boy writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 8:03:33 PM

I'll bet marvel was at first wondering who to pick but when Chris evans name was tossed in, they must have realized they forgot about him and that he has some similarities so decided to say f*ck it and just hire him.... Or they just don't care anymore cuz they're stuck with johnston
Ranger writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 8:07:16 PM

I suspect a bit of both.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 8:16:28 PM

johnny-lol!
triggax writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 8:22:22 PM

Doc Brown...

You're a giant tool.
masht7 writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 8:32:33 PM

WP, The Incredible Hulk wasn't a bad movie, it was certainly better than Hulk, I enjoy a lot. Now to Chris Evans, I don't care, just send me a plot, cast, a photo, a trailer and a movie and I'm happy.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 8:38:36 PM

Trig-lol. nice and simple
JohnZee writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 9:08:34 PM

I think the important thing to remember is that Disney/Marvel concentrated on getting the biggest name that they could get for least amount of money that they could get him for to do the movie. They didn't give a crap whether he was a good fit as an actor for the role, or that he was a good fit for the script. Nope they just wanted someone that was willing to accept $300,000 to play the role. And he was already used to playing a Marvel character for dimes while Marvel made millions. A company that is continually devoted to low bidding actors for roles (Mickey Rourke $250,000 first over Iron Man 2) (Chris Evans accepted offer $300,000 First Avenger: Captain America), doesn't give a crap about making a quality film. You pay sh*t, and you end up with sh*t performances. Sam Raimi and his entire Spiderman crew get dropped because of creative difference between Marvel and Raimi, and also because Marvel didn't understand the need to keep paying them more and more, when they could just bring in a whole new, untested, and desperate crew at a discounted price. Coupled with that is the fact that Marvel is establishing their own "bullpen" of desperate screenwriters that will only get paid 2/5th of guild wages, and that was before being bought by Disney that only pays 1/5 th the usual standard rate for their movie scripts. This all adds up to bargain basement movie making. Is Roger Corman still alive? Because I'm sure Marvel would love for him to direct one of their movies, especially if he's willing to do it for the cost of his bus fare...
CCBlev writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 9:57:48 PM

All I'm hoping is that Johnston can pull this off!!
HIRONAKAMURA86 writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 10:16:52 PM

I love the Leterrier part at the end! Just saw Clash after seeing Kick-Ass for the second time in 10 days, worlds/ talents/ budgets apart.....
Matthew Vaughan, i bow to u sir! Letterier, jog on out of 'Hollywoood' to make room for the next generic sheep a***hole!
lost_addict writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 10:34:57 PM

he should have retired after 'not another teen movie'...
Lowryder writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 10:55:43 PM

@lost, he should have retired the moment his mom queefed him out of her c*nt
AP102390 writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 11:29:38 PM

This is probably the smartest thing you guys have said in a while. He'll probably be good, but i feel like that list had actors that better reflected Captain America. and the fact that they still WANT to use Joe Johnston or Louis Lettier after all the sh*tty films they make really pisses me off.
Ranger writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 11:55:40 PM

Hmmm... our posts are only 'smart' is we agree with your thinking?

OK... gotcha.
Ranger writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 11:56:18 PM

is = if (busy jackin'-it to pics of COC's mom's funeral).
Aingx writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 12:06:12 AM

Well said, WP staff.
Rodan writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 12:08:46 AM

I guess Marvel decided it wouldn't make much of a difference anyway with Joe Johnston directing. They're probably right.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 12:27:51 AM

Cris Evans never tested for the part.

Marvel is going cheap on this film.

All f*cking old news. We've had this discussion a million times already. It is kind of funny to see WP gets its two cents in on the matter finally. Leterrier is a joke, but unfortunately most of his films still turn a profit. Unfortunately, he'll be on the short list until the end.

@JohnZee: You may have been being sarcastic when you brought up Roger Corman, but I think you're on to something. He would he made a brilliant Hulk film. The subject matter is right up his alley and could have used his subtle brutality. The guy really knows how to weave a story and still deliver a little shock and awe when necessary.

Blomkamp is the best director for The Avengers. He's new enough to not be expensive. He can deliver great scale and CGI for a fraction of the usual cost. Most important, he's got more talent than LL, JJ, and j*zz Whedon put together.
telur writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 2:21:56 AM

so what? Marvel pay cheap for mickey, scrlett, and thst black man
japaninmotion writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 3:23:17 AM

he was the best thing...hehe...to come from the FF movies.
LostBoyGoonie writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 3:42:21 AM

Whoa whoa whoa. I loved Transporter 2 and Incredible Hulk. And I didn't hate Clash. While I'm not exactly rooting for Leterrier to helm Avengers, I've got no problem with him as a director. Johnston worries me a bit. He's a bit too hit and miss for my tastes, but we'll see what he does with this. As for Evans, I love him as Cap.
Starkiller9900 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 9:42:15 AM

the only thing you gotta worry about now with Evans...is he gonna be able to get THAT JACKED for this role? I mean Captain America is a f*cking specimen man, 6'4'' 225 monster. Not sure how tall Evans is but he better start crushing the f*ckin gym gettin ready for this movie.
Starkiller9900 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 9:43:09 AM

And yeah Incredible Hulk was solid, they at least did a classic villain and gave you a foreshadowing to The Leader (Dr. Samuel Sterns) as well as have Tony Stark at the end talkin to General Ross....
Skywalker121289 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 11:23:20 AM

Everyone's worried about CA- but the whole concept of Thor sounds stupid to me. Askardians can stick it; I never liked any of them.
warlord writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 12:50:49 PM

so no-one will this peac-o-sh*t anyway
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 1:43:13 PM

Through a friend, I was fortunate to see a screening of The Losers. Very good. Predictable but good. I set my expectations not too low but was really impressed. And from what I saw of Evans, I'm a bit more inclined to be ok with the CA casting. Not 100% sold on it but i'm leaning.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 4:21:02 PM

LOL great article. Marvel doesn't know what the f*ck they're doing. They're like a fish out of water man.
Fettmanuno writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 5:54:32 PM

We've all voiced our concerns over this flick numerous times over in this forum.
Certainly we aren't the only ones raising hell about how MARVEL is seemingly fast-tracking Cap's big-screen adaption to ruin.
I can't picture Chris Evans as Cap but I'll give him the benefit of the doubt (as I did Michael Keaton as Batman).
I'm not in favor of Joe Johnston helming the production but his past work on 'the Rocketeer' as a superhero era piece gives me just a tiny, miniscule, smidgen of hope that he MIGHT be able to pull it off.
Still, it seems like the houses that Spidey and Mickey built are keeping their wallets and minds closed while trying to hurry this property along to the cineplex with no regards to the fan base.
gtrip writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 8:25:26 AM

i thought the incredible hulk was pretty good
ThaMessenger writes:
on April 9th, 2010 at 3:40:18 PM

Hey umm Cap is 6'2 and they used to officially weigh him in at 240 and now the weigh him in at 220......and in the Ultimate's hes 6'3 250. So yeah....and Evans is 6'0(1/2)(6'1 in some bio locations) I met him in Boston with a friend of mine an hes tall a lil shorter then me I'm 6'3 but he's tall and pretty built just toned not Buff like Cap. But it's Hollywood so he will be. And he is great for Cap in my opinion hes a safe choice unlike all those other actors they had as contenders. He CAN act and has proven himself in movies like Sunshine and London. Or they could have chosen these other so called "better choices" and had a Sam Worthington performance going on from clash.....not very good......but not bad....and no character. While Evans is all about Character. Oh and people....this isn't Studio execs in suits making the decisions..... it's Marvel and believe it or not they created the people you love and who they were and who they are now. They chose him cause they saw him embodying Cap. He can do it....lets just hope the movie is brought together the rite way. And for those that keep saying to stop rushing the movie but a month or 2 ago they were saying "choose somebody already" well they did. And they took there sweet ass time.....A LOT of thought has gone in to us. Stop Being Douche Bags and look forward to a positive result and not a negative outcome.
Captain America writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 1:43:17 AM

Honestly, though I approve of Chris Evans...

... Hemsworth would've made a quality Captain America.

Too late for that, though.
supaflywill writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 2:41:06 AM

i always thought captain america would of been older wiser and stronger than the rest of the super heroes - than having a young daft flame boy given the part it totally wrong !!! - he was ok in th fantastic 4 - funny -but i thought tony starks dad would of been a good choice for captain america since tony said he never got to say goodbye to his father and stuff , would bring the characters together ?
BarbraDrake writes:
on November 21st, 2011 at 1:48:35 PM

It could be as stated that Chris Evans was chosen for the role because he was better box office, but I don't think that was the only reason he was chosen. I glanced over the short list of those who were being considered, and I feel there were 3 who would have been right for the role, the best of that list being the young man who starred in Tron. I have been a fan of Marvel for 40 years, and the character of Steve Rogers must meet certain criteria to make him acceptable to someone like me. He must read on the screen as phycally perfect and physically powerful; and he must project innocence, idealism, the patriotism of the time, the reality of a real WW II soldier, clear-sighted leadership and humility. This is extremely difficult to do. Without seeing a screen test, I'll bet the young man from Tron tested right for the role. When a good director is faced with 2 perfect choices, something besides talent must be the decieder. In this case, it was probably that Chris Evans was better box office. Chris got the role primarily because he was right for it.

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Lindsay Lohan Says She Was Almost in "The Avengers," But as Which Character?

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved