WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Iron Man 2" on Track to Break Box Office Records

Posted: April 7th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Iron Man 2" on Track to Break Box Office RecordsSubmit Comment
LA Times is reporting that according to tracking surveys, "Iron Man 2" is showing astonishing levels of interest and awareness. The data suggests that the first-weekend gross could top the $158 million haul of "The Dark Knight," the current record-holder for the biggest opening weekend ever.

"The Dark Knight" was a sequel and already had a huge amount of buzz due to the overall approval of "Batman Begins," director Christopher Nolan and star Christian Bale. When the first "Iron Man" installment hit, the film had none of those things going for it. Yet, it still grossed $98 million during its first three days.

"Iron Man 2" generated an impressive reception at last summer's Comic-Con, the film's trailers have dominated over the competition, and the franchise is now among the most-liked in Hollywood. The only thing that could stop the film from setting new records is the fact that it will be released only in 2D. The higher cost of 3D tickets has been boosting box office results during the last few months and "Iron Man 2" won't be able to cash in on that.

Click here to read more about "Iron Man 2."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 6:40:43 PM

No sh*t, the trailer was evidence of that. And Scarlet's slammin' ass.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 6:48:01 PM

i'm really pumped for Iron-Man 2 and can't wait to see it.
vaodsi writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:12:16 PM

iron man 2 could overthrow dark knight's opening, but i don't think it will. Dark knight had a lot of publicity from heath ledger's death. A lot of people went to it to see him.. not batman or bale. Not all.. but quite a few. Heath's death brought in a crowd that normally would have no interest in batman. As for not being 3d... well... dark knight wasn't 3D either. Although, if Iron Man 2 WAS in 3D it would have a better chance of beating dark knight.
SofaKing writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:15:17 PM

OMG, who is gonna see a movie in 2D!!?? How about everyone who isn't a consumer whore... OK, maybe it wont break the record.
IRONDAN writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:21:55 PM

does anyone here really care if a movie they like breaks a record? I mean i hope the movie does well if i enjoyed it so that there is a chance of another movie but i never got super excited that the movie i went to broke a record.... it seems like a record is broken every summer
lebowski writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:33:13 PM

cant f*ckin wait to see it in 2D.
SeWerin writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:34:23 PM

I have a bad feeling that this one will suck donkey balls. I hope i'm wrong.
trailertrash writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:39:29 PM

i think it will fall just short of dark knight opening, just as long as it beats twatlight new moon , please please beat that pile of crap
nope.com writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:45:12 PM

*Yawn*

It got real old after Twilight
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 8:05:35 PM

So Iron Man has some class and won't sell out for 3D. I think Paramount may be my new favorite studio. I mean they have given us Iron Man, Star Trek and they don't get in the way of casting two much. Not bad.
johnny_boy writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 8:07:27 PM

Iron man 2 will break box office records? Does the pope cover up molestation allegations?! Tell us something we don't know
johnny_boy writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 8:18:32 PM

@ sleuth.... I gotta agree 110% with you. I love how they're just doing the movie, not selling out by making it 3d just to make extra money. Least IM 2 financial success will be earned by it's own merit, instead of being a high grosser cuz of the extra cash they charge to view it in 3d like another movie I can think of. I'm not gonna say which one.

(cough, Avatar!, cough cough)
masht7 writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 8:29:02 PM

If The Dark Knight was in 2D and gained a sh*t load of money, then Iron Man 2 can gain a sh*t loa of money as well.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 9:13:02 PM

This movie seems too masturbatory in the fact that Marvel's just blatantly saying "YES THIS IS THE SEQUEL TO IRON-MAN AND YOU KNOW YOU'RE GONNA SEE IT A BILLION TIMES SO FORK OVER THE MONEY".

"The higher cost of 3D tickets has been boosting box office results during the last few months and "Iron Man 2" won't be able to cash in on that."

This movie will show studios that you don't need 3D to gross in a lot of movies, you just need a good f*cking story and action. For f*cks sake, why haven't they figured this sh*t out already?
otis writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 9:55:37 PM

I still have yet to see anything in 3D. 3D means nothing to me. This is no difference.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 9:56:29 PM

Dont underestimate the power of War Machine! He's easily the best character the IM comic produced other than Tony, so I think that may have something to do with the added hype. You can't tell me that he doesn't look badass in the trailers!
CCBlev writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 10:00:42 PM

I have a feeling i'll be seieng this a few times opening weekend.
@Otis, I feel the same way, to hell with 3D.
dlrippr writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 10:15:36 PM

just thinking about the future of marvel movies puts a smile on my face. Finnally these stories start tying together, wish sony and fox would hand over the rights to the rest of the marvel universe!
lost_addict writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 10:30:00 PM

meh...if one of the actors will die soon it will beat the dark knight
Aingx writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 12:07:36 AM

As long as they don't change their minds at the last minute to do 3D, I'm sure we'll all be happy.
JohnZee writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 1:46:18 AM

Just seems like the standard Marvel sideshow barker hyperbole. Iron Man made 98 million it's first weekend, and they are firmly convinced that Iron Man 2 will make at least 158 million on it's first weekend? No sh*t they didn't spend have the time and effort promoting the first Iron Man movie that they have with the second movie, but Dark Knight was a rare exception to the rule of a sequel making less money then the original. And although it has happened with Marvel movies occasionally, there was a tremendous amount of free and unsolicited hype for the Dark Knight because of Heath Ledger's death. And Dark Knight wasn't a 2D movie competing against several other movies in the theaters at the same time that will be presented in 3D. But who knows? Maybe Iron Man 2 will be the huge success that Marvel is claiming it will be, and perhaps Mickey Rourke will also take home the Oscar for playing the bad guy just like Heath Ledger did. And then Marvel can pay him ten cents more for him to come back to reprise his role...
masht7 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 2:46:10 AM

If this theory is true, Jim Cameron will be hiding in a cave until he can figure out an original plot and way to convince director's and critics.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 3:10:50 AM

3D can suck my d*ck
Dark writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 4:01:39 AM

cant f*cking wait for this anymore!!!
Huey Freeman 23 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 8:44:37 AM

Ironman 2 ..... yeah i just j*zzed a little
Moose756 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 8:47:13 AM

Who really cares about box office records, I really only care about how good a movie is and I hope this one is great.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 1:41:39 PM

I don't think Iron Man 2 has that much hype going for it. At least it doesn't seem to yet. I mean of course its popular but you couldn't escape The Dark Knight once May and June hit. Iron Man came out and everyone was talking about how it would compare to Dark Knight. I mean that movie was HUGE in its opening. I have no doubt IM2 will do better, but 158 is a LOT.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved