WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mark Strong Talks Sinestro in "Green Lantern"

Posted: April 7th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mark Strong Talks Sinestro in "Green Lantern"Submit Comment
USA Weekend caught up with Mark Strong (Sherlock Holmes, Robin Hood) to talk about the upcoming "Green Lantern" film, in which he will play the villainous Sinestro, opposite Ryan Reynold's Hal Jordan/Green Lantern.

"For anybody who's familiar with the Green Lantern and the origin story, the film closely follows the early comics," he explained. "Sinestro starts out as Hal Jordan's mentor, slightly suspicious and not sure of him because obviously Hal is the first human being who's made into a Green Lantern. He's certainly very strict and certainly unsure of the wisdom of Hal becoming a Green Lantern. He is a military guy but isn't immediately bad. It's the kind of person he is that lends himself to becoming bad over the course of the comics being written, but initially he's quite a heroic figure."

Strong went on to say that Sinestro's look will remain similar to character's early days, including the widow's peak and the thin mustache. He added that he recently got fitted for special Sinestro contact lenses and plans to head to New Orleans in June for the shoot.

Click here to read more about "Green Lantern."

Source: USA Weekend


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Supersweetguy writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 5:50:26 AM

That's good news!!! I am so glad that they are going to follow what is in the comics!!!
gobolog writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 6:16:18 AM

Mark strong was ace and really fun as the villian in stardust. Look forward to seeing this.
gobolog writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 6:24:18 AM

But judging by the comic picture of sinestro above john waters would have fit the part perfectly in an appearance sense.

http://linkadelica.files.wordpress.com/2009/08/john_waters_372x495.jpg
encoreyourface writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 6:43:16 AM

he could be good i guess, still yet to Holmes.
BDeck writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:06:15 AM

im super stoked for this, mark strong is going to nail it.
Doc_Brown writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:34:00 AM

@gobolog.....Stardust? Get the f*ck out!
LeeMaca writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:35:25 AM

i've got a really good feeling about this movie
Ari Gold writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 8:27:13 AM

Supersweetguy is the faggiest name I've ever seen on the whole Internet.
CCBlev writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 8:29:39 AM

After seeing him in Sherlock Holmes, I can see this
SACdaddy writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 9:00:09 AM

Green Lantern keeps hitting homeruns with their production choices. I can't wait to see this movie!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 9:19:45 AM

Seems he will be typecast as a villain. But is he going to be painted red as well? Cause that might end up looking quite dumb on screen.

@gobolog: Good call on John Waters :)
warlord writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 9:42:31 AM

as long as they dont do the comic darkest night the worst dc story line ever!
jeffw1978 writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 10:48:35 AM

Sounds Promising still.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 10:49:10 AM

Unfortunately I think the read head is a must for the character, but hey, the Red Skull from Captain America will be even more of a stretch.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 10:50:21 AM

read = red Jesus!!!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 11:05:05 AM

I thought Hugo Weaving was playing this character?
Bill The Butcher Cutting writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 11:29:46 AM

Mark Strong is f*cking ace, i loved him in kick-ass and he was a superb villan in sherlock, he just never disappoints.
gobolog writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 12:48:11 PM

Think I may have upset Doc_Brown. I'll go back to 1955 and retract the comment.
gobolog writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 12:49:02 PM

But i'll still stand by my comment. Like the dad of a fat kid on a school sports day.
SofaKing writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 12:54:49 PM

He's great, and I think the best part is that he won't out-act or steal the performance from Reynolds. Not saying he is a bad actor but I don't see him winning an Oscar any time soon...
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 1:06:16 PM

Love the GL news!... Mark Strong is perfect Sinestro! Glad they're staying true to the roots of the comic as well... now i just wanna see him with that pencil thin mustache lol
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 1:22:48 PM

Seems like they're following the same lines as the DC animated film for GL. Which was very good. sinestro played out perfectly in that one as the hero you instantly question and who proves you right in the end.
I'm excited that Strong gets it. It's so refreshing to have someone really understand the meaning of the comic character they are playing and everything behind it. Really stoked about this but I'm still pissy about RR being cast as Jordan. He's too young. Hal Jordan is an experienced test pilot with years of experience. Takes too much away from what Jordan represents to portray him as some young hot shot that RR seems to bring to the role.
I hope I'm wrong but doubt I will be.
lebowski writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 1:45:47 PM

everybody says how good strong was in s.holmes but the truth is that he had a very limited role .youve seen 100 bad guys like him but he was f*cking perfect as archie in rock n rolla.havent seen him in kick as yet
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 1:54:17 PM

@Bunny: If you think Reynolds is too young, what about Blake Lively? Is she even 25 and is going to play a CEO on a aerotech-company? That sh*t won't fly...
Fettmanuno writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 2:00:04 PM

At first, I was all for Hugo Weaving wearing Sinestro's widow peak and pencil thin mustache but upon reflection, I can actually see Mark Strong pulling off the role.
I still have my reservations about RR as Hal however but overall things seem to be shaping up nicely for this film so far.
rabid writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 2:00:34 PM

Sinestro isn't the villain in this installment. They're saving that story for the sequel and using Hector Hammond for the big brainy bad guy.
rabid writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 2:01:53 PM

Hammond's being played by Peter Sarsgaard!
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 2:54:19 PM

@Freud, agreed. It's just not sitting right with me. Takes away from the characters by making them younger. Part of Jordan's charm is that he's a seasoned guy who has been through a lot. Isn't that one of the main reasons he was chosen?
And Lively....ugh, I guess they're just matching her to RR age-wise. Oh well.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 4:13:55 PM

Makes sense.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 4:14:47 PM

Still, the script was a pile of d*cks, I hope they rewrote it since then.
rabid writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 4:39:27 PM

Ryan Reynolds is 33. That's not exactly young, and it seems the right age for a Hal Jordan at the start of his GL career.
33 is old enough to be a veteran of a couple of wars.
Rodan writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 5:42:13 PM

Was this dude born to play a villain or what? He's gotta be getting close to the record.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 6:37:13 PM

@Warlord - You mean Blackest Night? And no way would they do that arc it just came out and is so far down the Hal Jordan time line, that would be like movie number 45.

In other news, I really really want this movie to rock the sh*t.
masht7 writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 8:36:04 PM

Going to see Kick-Ass on the weekend and I cannot wait to see what Mark Strong's performance is like, and I cannot wait to see him in a photo or even better a smal set footage.
Ranger writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 1:43:50 AM

This movie is looking good. Green Lantern (and the GL Corp.) is a great character!

I wish we were all this confident with Captain America.
Starkiller9900 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 9:37:26 AM

yeah if you haven't seen RocknRolla yet than you have missed Strong's probably best roll. dude is on point and super calm,dark. Agreed on not painting his face red though haha. Also what's all this confusion about Hugo Weaving originally playing Sinestro...hes playing Red Skull people haha different movie....
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 1:54:45 PM

@Rabid, when you think Hal Jordan honestly, do you visualize Reynolds or John Hamm as a better fit?
Sure RR is 33, but he has such a youthful face. It just doesn't convince me.
RR would be a perfect Flash because of that. Flash requires that youthful look and RR would deliver it in spades.
Plus GL is such a mature character. Reynolds has spent his entire career playing the smart-ass wise-cracker, (except for Amytiville Horror)
sorry, I just can't get over it. I really really hope I'm proven wrong and that he does a phenominal job.
I have high hopes for this movie.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved