WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Notebook" Author Trashes Shakespeare

Posted: April 7th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Notebook" Author Trashes ShakespeareSubmit Comment
In a recently interview with USA Today, author Nicholas Sparks (The Notebook, A Walk to Remember, Nights in Rodanthe, Dear John, Last Song) criticized Shakespeare, Jane Austen, Ernest Hemingway and other romance novelists for writing the same story over and over.

He said: "[Romances] are all essentially the same story: You've got a woman, she's down on her luck, she meets the handsome stranger who falls desperately in love with her, but he's got these quirks, she must change him, and they have their conflicts, and then they end up happily ever after."

Sparks claims that he's not a romance novelist, but a fiction writer who writes love stories. "You read a romance because you know what to expect. You read a love story because you don't know what to expect," he explained, later adding: "There are no authors in my genre. No one is doing what I do."

Cracked magazine has now put together a little example of how "different" his stories are. Check it out below.

Example: (click to enlarge)


Source: Cracked


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 56 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
gimple writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 6:08:53 AM

Lol, what a c*nt.
Lt. Mike Harrigan writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 6:28:18 AM

Wow! What an arrogant tool!
johnny_boy writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 6:28:57 AM

Dam! Cracked owned him on that one.
johnny_boy writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 6:28:58 AM

Dam! Cracked owned him on that one.
Kurskij writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 6:39:29 AM

Cracked rules as always.

I wonder if this guy was high as a kite during the interviews, cause... Hemingway wrote the same story over and over AND was a romance novelist? Ernest-f*cking-Hemingway?

He honestly thinks that "A farewell to arms" is esentially a love story? "Islands in the stream?" f*cking wow, he must be even more retarded than this photo makes him look.

eViL.kEv2 writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 6:45:45 AM

"Go to the only poster design you know"

That's brilliant!
encoreyourface writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 6:46:24 AM

lol, i was reading this article a few hours ago. cracked f*cking rules!

when the comedy gets slow here that is the place to go!
encoreyourface writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 6:46:57 AM

was just introduced to the site by a friend yesterday.
BDeck writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:13:30 AM

as shakespear said once in The Merry Wives of Windsor

Vile worm, you were overlooked even in thy birth

take that you asshat.
004forever writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:39:37 AM

hey, do you know what that story doesn't sound like? Romeo and Juliet. And it certainly doesn't sound like any of Shakespeare's non-tragedies.
LeeMaca writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:40:46 AM

"Leemaca" trashes Notebook author

you will not make this putt jackass
BDeck writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 8:17:32 AM

this dude wrote the last song and dear john.

go f*ck yourself
CCBlev writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 8:36:32 AM

Damn he did get owned by Cracked, gotta check that mag out. Personally, I hope this f*ckhead dies in a car accident today!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 8:59:35 AM

Read this yesterday, Cracked rules. A tip for you all, check out Michael Swaim's videos.

But I must say, I have never seen the lack of insight on themself like thise before.
eddie499 writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 9:37:41 AM

What a douche! He's also a traitor against men everywhere. Every time he writes a damn book, my wife gets all happy for it and I eventually have to sit through another crappy movie.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 9:52:21 AM

is he for real? please tell me he's just trying to be ironic or something.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 10:39:11 AM

hahahaha Cracked rule! what a d*ck!
JohnZee writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 10:48:16 AM

Douchebag. Didn't Milli Vanilli do nearly exactly the same thing claiming that they were much better and talented then the Beatles and others. And then it was not long after that it was discovered that they were actually much less talented than anyone ever imagined. This schmuck probably has a basement full of crappy chained up ghostwriters.
JohnZee writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 10:52:52 AM

And btw, for dissing people that had more talent in their *ssholes that they crapped out each day, than you have in your entire body, Nicholas Sparks has made the list of people that I intend on bitch slapping if we ever cross paths.
rocketman writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 11:21:39 AM

Who's going to remember him in 400 years?
rocketman writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 11:24:43 AM

Are they going to be teaching kids English at school using his collective'works' as fine examples of how master the craft of creating a fantastic story?
I've never heard of the c*nt.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 11:35:28 AM

If there is a Heaven I'm sure its bathroom are stocked with Sparks novels for toilet paper.

This *sshole caused a huge fight between me and an ex-girlfriend because I snored through the last 30 minutes of Message In a Bottle. To this day I still have no idea what happen at the end of that snoozefest. That might have been the best nap of my life :-)
AYT BALL writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 11:42:55 AM

@rocketman - remember who in 400 years?! whos this article about anyway? oh look shiny keys on my desk!
Moose756 writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 11:44:29 AM

"Go to the only poster design you know" lol. That is where the abuse happens.

rocketman writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 12:10:25 PM

@ayt
People remember Shakespear,i doubt in 400 years they will remember him.Thats what i meant.Cheers for the insult.
jeffw1978 writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 12:21:53 PM

That Cracked sh*t was funny and true.
Ranger writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 12:42:10 PM

Let him abuse Shakespeare.

I'm sure his dad abused his *sshole.
Lordchristo writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 1:15:32 PM

Nightmare is absolutely right. The Michael Swaim videos are the best things to happen ever. Cracked rules!
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 1:15:58 PM

I was mildly interested in The Notebook. Hey I'm a chick, sue me.
But his guy completely turned me off with his rehashing of the theme.
So this d*ck-sore is openly criticizing others for something he is an obvious contributor to?

Please go somewhere and die sh*t stain.
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 1:24:07 PM

Why do the talentless hacks always think they're God's gift to the world?
Ranger writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 2:32:22 PM

"Please go somewhere and die sh*t stain." --- lol. You're often quotable Bunny!
TeemSelami writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 2:40:20 PM

even though cracked owned this dude i'm still so pissed. I've never been this mad about something said by someone I' don't know. I hate how f*cking smug this faggot is in that picture. someone kill this *sshole. chop his f*cking head off!
ilovemovies82 writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 3:55:02 PM

Pot calling the kettle black
AYT BALL writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 4:00:04 PM

@rocketman - come on man!! im agreeing with you! saying id forgotten him already in favour of my shiny keys!! lol
pomme writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 4:15:33 PM

as if McG trashes David Fincher! LOL
Mongoloid dad writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 5:02:42 PM

If horses whispered they would say:
"Nicholas Sparks is a c*nt".
Horse Whisperer would have been great if Scarlett would have been flung into a tree, raggedy anne style, and spent the rest of the film eating blended foods through a straw. and trying to wheel away from Robert Redford's mad rapist character.
-
Boredom and Nicholas Sparks makes me cranky.

Rodan writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 5:34:15 PM

"No one is doing what I do."

Not true, there are a lot of sh*tty authors out there. Shakespeare is gonna crawl out of his grave and f*ck your wife, assuming you're not gay. Nobody f*cks with the Speare. Hemingway would hunt animals in his spare time, what do you do, pick flowers?
Ranger writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 5:57:49 PM

... with his teeth whilst getting ass-rammed by f*ckingMachines.com
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 6:13:38 PM

Oh my god, this may be one of the most ignorant things I've read in a while. Wow.
Rodan writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 6:17:45 PM

@Ranger
...which, coincidentally, is the first website COC ever bookmarked.
vaodsi writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 6:44:52 PM

since romeo and juliet, king lear, othello, midsummer night's dream, taming of the shrew, and macbeth are all the same storyline....
i don't think Mr. Sparks has ever read shakespeare, since the standard romance story he described does not fit any of The Bard's works.
what an idiot.
go take a high school english class Sparks!
masht7 writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 8:46:05 PM

I like this guy, smart like what Matthew Vaughn said about letting Hollywood die.
HideousSecretion writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 9:38:04 PM

Was the old man f*cking the marlin? Wasn't Romeo and Juliet a tragedy? Isn't Nick Sparks a huge retard so blazingly stupid he could replace his brain with dog sh*t and increase his IQ. What a sc*mbag douche. In 40 years everyone will remember Shakespeare and Hemingway. NO ONE will remember sparks. And the Notebook was a piece of sh*t.
Ranger writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 9:54:18 PM

@Rodan - lol.
vwkombi writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 11:48:51 PM

Nicholas Sparks, you cater to bored and stupid women. That's the f*cking easiest thing for a writer to do (seriously, how else do you explain the popularity of Twilight).

Nicholas Sparks, if sh*t could sh*t, than ate its own sh*t, vomited up that sh*t and ate that sh*t, that abnormality of nature would wipe its ass with your novels. f*ck you!
Ranger writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 12:25:18 AM

lol...

That's a t-shirt!
rocketman writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 1:41:56 AM

@Ayt
Sorry man i thought you meant i was using shiny keys like a numpty,i wonderd why i was copping flack lol,glad i didn't break out the insults.
Again soz.
telur writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 2:28:47 AM

Nicholas Sparks has a good point
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 2:30:28 AM

@rocketman- that's what I was going to say.

AYT BALL writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 3:24:58 AM

@rocketman - its cool man, easy to misread intentions on here, but i save my insults for the morons, so your safe! lol
Ari Gold writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 3:57:56 AM

I'd pay double if 3D could suck my d*ck..
Moose756 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 11:44:58 AM

@vwkombi. Best quote lol
rocketman writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 12:10:01 PM

@Ayt
cool,glad thats sorted lol.
Also that was a prime example of why obey my NEW 3 strikes insult rule,to give a buffer against misunderstandings like that.
bacci40 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 5:54:09 PM

thats right...shakespeare sux ass...and the fact that all dramas have basically been based on those works makes them all suck ass too

so its time to nuke the world
thelastwolf113 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 7:32:46 PM

Sparks writes like an 8th grader, and he's got the nerve to trash any author? What an egotistical douche.
disturbed01 writes:
on April 10th, 2010 at 3:55:34 AM

hahaha someone thinks he is on top of his game hahaha

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved