WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Toxic Avenger" Being Remade

Posted: April 7th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Toxic Avenger" Being RemadeSubmit Comment
Deadline is reporting that "The Toxic Avenger" has been acquired by Original Media to being an animated TV series, comic books and a feature film. Writers for the remake of the 1984 campy classic are currently being searched for.

The original film revolves around Melvin, a health club mop boy, who is easy prey for gym thugs and eventually gets immersed in toxic waste. The radioactivity transforms Malvin into Toxie, a misshapen superhero who wreaks havoc on polluters in New Jersey.

The new movie intends to turn Toxie into a green superhero for these environmentally conscious times. The plan is for a family friendly PG-13 action/comedy, similar to "The Mask."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
gobolog writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 6:15:32 AM

I wonder if they'll be wheeling out the "darker" side of toxic avenger like all the superhero movies do now.

Writer: "Yes it's gonna be a darker, origin story, making our hero guilt ridden and questioning his own actions."

"And his mop shoots out lightning."
johnny_boy writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 6:30:28 AM

That's the toxic avenger? I thought that was dandy all dressed up
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 6:43:07 AM

They'll probably trade in the tu-tu for a black leather trench coat
encoreyourface writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 6:47:30 AM

saw this at Hollywood and the thought popped in my head:

f*cking stupid.
j-man writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:10:52 AM

so whats where they get the idea for sloth from
Doc_Brown writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:22:12 AM

as long as it still has the seriously badly done violence and limb ripping of the originals, If they get to The Toxic Avenger 4 - Citizen Toxie, He'll prob end up as president...I mean, we have a black one, why not a mutant?
biniwoo writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:34:49 AM

"similar to "The Mask""? WTF!!!
LeeMaca writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 7:37:59 AM

didn't he make do a cameo at the end of robocop?
Eddie writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 8:19:05 AM

PG-13? Wow, Lloyd is a sell out. I rarely use that term but in this case it's totally applicable. I've partied with Lloyd on several occasions and hes a cheap bastard. He pays his cast and crew in peanuts and is always flaming hollywood yet he's willing to sell out his most loved franchise to be turned into a family friendly movie. Plus, he stole my favorite jacket when we gave him a ride to the airport. I still love the original toxie movie though. not so much the sequels except for citizen toxie.
trailertrash writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 8:24:40 AM

not more sheep kissing !! Vin your like this one ...
CCBlev writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 8:39:24 AM

@Encore
Good call, extremly stupid. When I made that post about what Nature did to Vindy, well look at the pick and see for yourself what nature did to that turd burgaler.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 8:54:31 AM

"Family friendly"? f*ck off! There's nothing family friendly about Toxie. Don't rape my memories.

"Let me introduce you to my friend Ben Dover"
"Ho ho, colour cleaning"
"No max point?! I'll show you f*cking max point!"

Oh, the memories.
Ari Gold writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 9:29:39 AM

What's the bet we get a Captain Planet movie after this? I always thought McGuyver painted blue would of made an awesome Captain Planet.
warlord writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 9:41:10 AM

pg-13 f*ck that make it nc-17
SACdaddy writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 10:28:27 AM

Obviously most of you never saw The Toxic Avenger or there would be a lot more blowback on the direction its going. I'm pretty sure there has NEVER been a PG-13 Troma film. They are the definition of B movie gory fun. They specialized in disgusting mutants, exploding heads, killer condoms, and hyper-violence. And Toxie got it all started! Turning him into Captain Planet would be like turning Lohag into Mother Teresa. GOD I HATE HOLLYWOOD!!!
Moose756 writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 11:57:16 AM

NNNNNooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo. for all that is good and pure do not remake Toxie plus make it kid friendly wtf.
jeffw1978 writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 12:25:42 PM

Looks like COCs mom getting ready to clean the house.
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 1:09:36 PM

@Ari
AGREED... he would look exactly like Capt Planet... just have to bulk up a bit but f*ck id rather see a Capt. Planet movie over this toxic piece of sh*t... avenger...

And really they wanna go for a "green" super hero movie? get the f*ck out of here... seriously?
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 1:12:25 PM

Wasn't really a fan of Troma flicks but this is just another in a long line of lame-ass attempts to reboot/remake/rehash franchises.
rabid writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 1:51:46 PM

what's this PG13 horsesh*t??
what about the titties and the guts and driving over little old ladies?
TeemSelami writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 2:54:01 PM

Favorite line in Toxie was when some thug is about to rape toxies blind girlfriend and says " I always wanted to cornhole me a blind bitch."


don't even get me started on this faggot treehugging PG-13 sh*t!
Eddie writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 3:38:21 PM

@rabid and Teemselami - excellent parts you guys mention from toxie! troma once stood for something but have since become a charade. another good one was Tromeo and Juliet. Lemmy narrates in that one! He always got paid with a carton of smokes and a bottle of Jack. ha ha. If looking for something that carries on with that original spirit check out the Dead Body Man series from 4th Floor Pictures. Dead Body Man, Dead Body Man 2: Seperation Anxiety (my favorite) and Dead Body Man Chronicles. The first has weak production but the series consistently improves as more money is put into it. If you see them and like them, demand a 4th. The storyline for the 4th one is epic insanity.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 5:13:04 PM

jeff-that's COC's mom BEFORE she's dead!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 2:28:07 AM

I remember the original, it is a f*ckin' classic, there is no way this should be a PG-13, have they even seen the original movies??

This has got to be an R (15 in UK) rated or NC-17 (18 in UK), and don't make it to Enviromental it will turn out sh*t!!!!.
Tkemert20 writes:
on April 8th, 2010 at 5:37:06 PM

I hope they use Damon and the ten cent rental's Toxic Avenger song:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HuXUVnYZnqk

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved