WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Emily Blunt Turned Down "Captain America" for "Batman 3"?

Posted: April 6th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Emily Blunt Turned Down "Captain America" for "Batman 3"?Submit Comment
Marvel has been trying to get Emily Blunt (The Devil Wears Prada, The Wolfman) into one of their superhero movies. The actress was first in the lead for The Black Widow role in "Iron Man 2," but has to turn it down due to her commitment to Jack Black's "Gulliver's Travels." The part eventually went to Scarlett Johansson.

Then just recently Marvel made an offer to Blunt to take the lead female role in "The First Avenger: Captain America," which would re-team her with "The Wolfman" director Joe Johnston. Blunt quickly replied with a "no thanks."

Now, Batman-On-Film is reporting that she might have turned down the offer because of another scheduling conflict... Christopher Nolan's third "Batman" installment.

Apparently Blunt was on a short-list to replace Katie Holmes as Rachel Dawes in "The Dark Knight." The part went to Maggie Gyllenhaal, but Joker's little test for Batman left the franchise without Dawes and the third film without a female lead.

Could Blunt be up for the role of Catwoman? Stay tuned.

Source: Batman-On-Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 63 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 5:23:37 AM

Would be interesting. Don't know how cat woman would fit on nolans universe, but as the genius he is, it could be pulled off
encoreyourface writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 6:11:01 AM

f*ck Catwomen. never liked her or Black Cat, it's always the same f*cking thing:

"i wanna f*ck you but i'm kinda sort of bad and kinda sort of good, and in the end of the story i'm gonna run away but I'll be back in like 10 issues,k?"

please God NO
WV-Films writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 6:14:00 AM

@encoreyourface, and the best part is, is that Batman's surprised every time.
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 6:26:40 AM

as long as they keep it like the first 2 and not kill it. there has been some horrible rumors though like one that i like the best was megan fox as catwoman, would be sexy to see her in a black spandex.
LeeMaca writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 6:51:35 AM

boring no point chracter!!
LeeMaca writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 6:51:40 AM

boring no point character!!
drshakalou writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 7:16:29 AM

oh the things i would do to her...
masht7 writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 7:27:19 AM

I would prefer Eva Green as Catwoman but this not a bad choice. Like I said before, cast Joesph Gordon-Levitt as the Riddler and I have faith in the project.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 7:42:27 AM

Good for her. Michelle Piefer was an awesome Catwoman in Burton's film! I always said that movie would have worked better with her as the love interest/CW and Walken as the antagonist and no Penguin. If Nolan goes there, I doubt he would make the same mistake. Knowing him, Selina Kyle will get raped and beaten nearly to death before becoming CW. I'm usually against the asskickin female, but after seeing Piefer own the role, I know it could be done right. The character is too important to the Batman universe (appeared in BM #1) not to tackle sometime.

If this really is next the next step, how long do you think it will take for Jolie to end up on the casting couch?
trailertrash writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 8:15:02 AM

^^she's on there as we speak (for multiple film roles) lol!!!
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 8:21:39 AM

after nolans version of the joker, i have faith in whatever he wants to bring up, even if its mr freeze! lol
j-man writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 8:28:28 AM

if she goes topless, i have no beef with it..., but i have alot of beef for her OT
trailertrash writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 8:31:37 AM

@vlad

i agree , even with mr freeze :
Ice to see you! , still make cringe .....
trailertrash writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 8:53:13 AM

^^makes me cringe !! edit button please :)
warlord writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 9:29:03 AM

smart girl
warlord writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 9:29:43 AM

smart girl
NatG83 writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 10:35:10 AM

Harley Quinn, possibly?
HideousSecretion writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 10:38:35 AM

Poison Ivy.... maybe Talia is Ra's is coming back.
Dark writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 10:40:20 AM

yea she can be an awesome catwoman but i don't think the character will exist in nolans batman universe.
NatG83 writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 10:59:14 AM

@HideousSecretion

Good call with Talia...didn't even think about that.
KirkLazerus writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 11:05:44 AM

they need to cast Meg Ryan as Harley Quinn,she can act and looks like her, so I say Meg Ryan or nothing
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 11:08:15 AM

I like the idea of her in tight clothes, but I rather see Crispin Glover as The Riddler and Ben Foster as Deadshot.
rabid writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 11:21:52 AM

I'm not sure you can call it 'turning a role down' when you have a legal contractual obligation to do so.
LOL! @ MegRyan!!! have you seen that bitch's botched plastic surgery job? She'll be lucky to find any work until that mask settles in.
rabid writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 11:29:44 AM

She could be playing Talia because I have this feeling that Nolan is going to bring it full circle with the first film. After all, we haven't really seen Ra's al Ghul unless we see him climb out of a Lazarus Pit.
I wonder if Liam Neeson has any similar contracts with Batman 3.
KirkLazerus writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 11:38:28 AM

@Rabid-that's why u have seen her face, she doesn't really need that much make up to play Quinn shes perfect
lost_addict writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 11:40:24 AM

An actress with a brain?refreshing...
NewJack Ridi writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 11:48:30 AM

@VLAD*the*IMPALER I'm not as confident as you about the next movie. I agree that Dark Knight was awesome, but remember, the joker that appeared in Dark Knight was NOT 'nolans joker' it was 'ledgers joker'. ledger was a character acter, just like depp. he went through like a year of research and character creation. the lip licking, voice changer, childishly funny but murderously terrifying joker that appeared in Dark Knight was all ledger. Look at Batman Begins, which isn't even on the same level as Dark Knight. Thats probably the same level film part 3 will be.
rabid writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 12:20:26 PM

It always seemed to me that the Joker was working for someone else. Perhaps since Bruce failed Ra's as his agent of destruction, Ra's put the Joker to work. It'd be cool to see an angle like that.
What was the Nolan rumor again? 2 returning villains and one new one? Joker, Ra's and Talia.
gobolog writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 12:27:41 PM

Emily's a good choice,either her or Rachel Mcadams and I'll be happy.
gobolog writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 12:27:48 PM

Emily's a good choice, either her or Rachel Mcadams and I'll be happy.
LastActionHero writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 12:27:54 PM

Not hot, quit trying to put her in movies.
gobolog writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 12:28:00 PM

Emily's a good choice, either her or Rachel Mcadams and I'll be happy.
gobolog writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 12:29:33 PM

Emily's a good choice, either her or Rachel Mcadams and I'll be happy.
jeffw1978 writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 12:35:02 PM

She is hot enough to stick it in her butt
CCBlev writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 12:35:26 PM

@Lost
Now thats a great idea for a movie Actress with a Brain, imagine the possibilities
Ranger writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 2:14:44 PM

Well... she turned out Capt. America and a chance to work with JJ again, and still said no, even though the reason was not because of a scheduling conflict... that should tell us something.

I'm a huge Marvel fan (of their characters, NOT of how they run their business).

Great for Blunt making these decisions. I like this woman.
simplytyson writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 2:20:46 PM

thats dumb to turn down captain america thats a movie i cant wait for batman because i have a feeling 3 wont be as good i agree with New JackRidi
Valerie writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 2:33:44 PM

So someone at Marvel has a serious hard on for Blunt? I mean she is a decent actress, specially compared to other hos today, but lets not get carried away, there are other options!
Fettmanuno writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 3:03:16 PM

I can picture Emily as the Black Widow much easier than I can Scarlett but that's neither here nor there as Iron Man 2 is a done deal.
Her turning down Captain America? Yeahhh...won't even go there.
Put Cap back on ice until the production staff helming this project can get their sh*t together and give the comic book legend the cinematic treatment he deserves.
I think the majority of the movie going public expects Catwoman to appear in Batman 3 but I'm guessing the character will be Talia al Ghul. That way Bats will have his love interest AND his villian AND a tie to the first film in order to close out the Nolanverse trilogy.
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 3:21:20 PM

as long as they dont turn into retarded kids movies like the other batman disasters.
@newjack, i agree about the great acting being more of the actor, but you have to agree that it was alot more than just that with the dark knight. im talking acting, as well as dialog, editing, plot line that works (take a tip on that one transformers 3), hell even the camera placements worked for the feel of that movie.

from casting to score, the director has their fingers in many many jars. i just think that was all-around one of the best movies i've ever seen.
AshTrey writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 3:39:11 PM

Please Harley Quinn!!! That would be dope, but I feel like it will be Taja. I can see Nolan wanting to go full circle... I would prefer he go the Joker route. Regardless i'm really excitied for this movie!!
gatesoftanhauser writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 4:01:05 PM

NO NO NO to Catwoman. NO. We don't need Aniston, Jennifer Lopez, Beyonce or Jolie RUINING the entire series. Catwoman WILL make the 3rd movie suck. It WILL.

As for the Riddler... Crispin Glover, Johny Depp or Guy Pearce please. I can envision any of those three.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 4:51:29 PM

Ranger-big Marvel fan over here as well. i just started to really get into DC a few months back, Blackest Night kicks ass!
Johnny Neat writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 4:53:09 PM

She would delight as Catwoman. I would have though her perfect for The Black Widow over lame Johansson though. Stupid casting choice.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 4:55:22 PM

Talia wasn't even in the first film so why would she to just show up now? The RA story was awesome but was too based in unrealistic material for Nolan's Batman.

Go an entirely new route with Catwoman. Cast someone like Zoe Saldana as Lucius Fox's daughter and Wayne's love interest. Have her get raped and beaten nearly to death. Have Fox beg Batman to kill those who raped her. When Batman refuses to cross the line for his friend, Fox feels betrayed after so many years of service, loyalty, and secrecy. He quits the Wayne Ent. and makes it his mission to find and kill his daughter's predators and anyone associated with them. He also vows to nurse her back to health and make her harder than she was. Using his inventive mind Fox wages a bloody war against the criminal world that eventually gets him killed leaving room for his scarred daughter to pick up where he left off. Using her father's vast knowledge of advanced military weaponry and her secret knowledge of Batman's real identity, Catwoman continues her dad's murderous war putting her on a collision course with Batman. This forces him to end up protecting the very criminals he fights against. Of course he also will have to decide between bringing the woman he loves to justice or giving up a life of crimefighting to be with her.
johnny_boy writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 5:31:00 PM

Oh Emily blunt. I'd live to put a blunt object up her vag
OmgArbysAgain writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 6:40:11 PM

Dear WP,

You should have said "Blunt bluntly said no to Joe Johnston.".

Thanks,
OmgArbysAgain

P.S. Joe Johnston will still ruin Captain America no matter who is in it.
Ranger writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 7:28:26 PM

@Omg - re: Johnston - that's my fear as well. And CA in a few ways is more important than The Avengers movie as CA is the hub of that team. The Avengers will be easier in just taking all the separate elements and stirring them in one pot... CONSIDERING ALL superheros' come into that movie as strong as Iron Man has/is.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 7:33:01 PM

well i'd still blunt my c*ck in her little Emily regardless of this film ...
That_Genius writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 7:35:46 PM

Uh, pretty sure Nolan said no Catwomen, Penguin, or Robin somewhere. and Ra's is to unbelievable for the Nolan Batmans.

I think Black Mask would be cool character. Since Maroni died in the last one they could just speed up the process and Black Mask could like take over for him.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 8:23:21 PM

dude Ras al Gul was in the first film
Vin12 writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 9:24:12 PM

ranger da nig-fag:
Are you sure five years old
@Johnny
how's my favorite mexican?
Adsamalam123 writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 10:02:27 PM

Edward Norton for The Riddler :)
CCBlev writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 10:23:34 PM

@Vin
Do you still love nature despite what it did to you?
lost_addict writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 11:12:46 PM

Emily Blunt went down on captain america for batman 3?
Ranger writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 12:04:41 AM

@CC - LOLOLOLOL!

"Are you sure five years old" --- WTF does that mean?
vaodsi writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 1:28:25 AM

as long as they don't let rachel mcadams get the part and practically ruin it like she did sherlock....
masht7 writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 1:48:44 AM

@Vin
How's my favourite d*ckhead on WP?
masht7 writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 1:52:00 AM

@vaodsi
Shut your face man, Rachel McAdams is a great actress and she's the hottest woman on earth. And for my prove here, go watch State of Play, she is brilliant in that.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 2:55:32 AM

CC-GREAT POST! summing up the truth in one sentence!
supaflywill writes:
on April 11th, 2010 at 2:45:16 AM

cat woman belongs in burtons world ! please no !!!!!!!
darkraven28 writes:
on April 15th, 2010 at 4:19:05 PM

Cast her as Harley Quinn. She looks bitchy enough. But quit with the Catwoman sh*t. Michelle Pfeiffer was the only Catwoman and they did absolutely nothing to continue her character so just chalk Catwoman up as a loss (especially after the Halle Berry piece of sh*t) and you can still keep Blunt as a female lead or a villainess. Talia Al Ghul, Harley Quinn, or something completely new will suffice for her.
JAStark87 writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 7:05:57 AM

i bet she's being cast for vickie vale rumor i heard is that and edward nigma is in it but thats just a rumor

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved