WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Voltron" Throws Out Script to Try Again

Posted: April 5th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Voltron" Throws Out Script to Try AgainSubmit Comment
Corona Coming Attractions had the chance to visit the offices of World Event Productions, the production company behind "Voltron." According to the site, everything that has been development for the "Voltron" movie will be thrown out.

The script written by Justin Marks (Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun-Li) and John Davis has been scrapped, mostly because it takes place on Earth. And director Max Makowski has been let go. The plan right now is to start from scratch.

"Voltron" centers on a post-apocalyptic adventure in which five survivors of an alien attack gather to pilot the five robot lions that combine and form the powerful Voltron.

Click here to read more about "Voltron."

Source: Corona Coming Attractions


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 8:37:14 PM

Mmmmm... don't know anything about this Voltron.

Ques: how is this different than The Transformers?
eximius007 writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 8:38:03 PM

Ha well its good they got rid of the people who created the last Street Fighter movie as it sucked major ass.
eximius007 writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 8:38:31 PM

Ranger, I say think classic Power Rangers meets Transformers, thats what your lookin for
Ranger writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 8:42:36 PM

Joking or not... that helps. Like I say... I know nothing of Voltron. And I don't know who came first (insert sex joke here), but one or the other (Voltron or The Transformers) ripped off from one-another big time!
Astrotrain writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 8:44:55 PM

Voltron was kinda a rip off the original transformers cartoon series,
would be cool to see it but after
watching transformers i doubt this could work out well, especially with transformers kicking so much ass in the box office
eximius007 writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 8:45:08 PM

It was the 80's/90's era. everything was ripped off of something else.
Astrotrain writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 8:46:47 PM

Yes indeed lets see how it fares in the box office squaring off against transformers
eximius007 writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 8:46:58 PM

Although as far as the last street fighter goes, I have always had a thing for Kristen Kreuk, and when I say thing, I mean i want to rip her clothes off and screw her crazy.
oklahomaer writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 8:52:27 PM

@ranger if you go to youtube and search for voltron theme and watch it you can get a hell of an idea what voltron is about.little known fact there were 2 or 3 differant versions of voltron.
Astrotrain writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 8:55:00 PM

Vultron is a good show in the 80's how is it gonna fair in 2010 is anyones guess, but hell if transformers can make big bucks why shouldnt vultron do it, but it had better have a good script
Astrotrain writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 9:09:21 PM

whens the new gi joe coming out and are we gonna see serpentor in it
bale01289 writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 9:38:04 PM

@Ranger - DON'T DO IT!!! Its a trick......they are gonna JapaneseMindf*ck ya!
Ranger writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 10:08:46 PM

LOL!

As for Kristen Kreuk - ummm yeah... brb... getting a towel.
autiger10 writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 10:28:44 PM

i say give the "Mobile Suit Gundam" idea a try. great story, believable characters, awesome combat. anything is better than the sh*t they've been making with robots.
volron itself is the power-rangers movie (robot animals combining into big robot *yawn*). im just saying, stick to the original gundam plot [ space colonies rebelling earth], could be a winner...or a dud. at least the idea smells good to me
BrandoFresh writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 11:09:47 PM

I used to love the cartoon. I don't really have high hopes for this being a live-action film though.
I only see it ending up looking like a Transformers knock-off or even worse. HOPEFULLY I'll be proven wrong, but now I just don't have any faith in it.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 11:26:48 PM

never heard of them. more of an eighties thing? if it was i'm guessing it wasn't that popular otherwise i probably would have heard of it by now ...

autiger-that would be awesome!
CCBlev writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 11:33:11 PM

If done right, stay away Mike Bay you f*ckhole, this has potential to be good.
@Ranger Kristen Kruek, yes get me a towel, so does something for me, the only reason to watch sh*t fighter!
rabid writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 11:50:57 PM

Voltron isn't really anything like Transformers, and it's fairly dark. Voltron is about humans not sentient robots. The humans just happen to pilot these giant lions that form a robot that they control. I'm glad they rethought making it take place on Earth. It should be set on Arus. Just stick with the original material people.
Matiax writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 1:06:22 AM

"Voltron throws up script" hehe.

@Ranger: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qZJGNSaZIaw

Voltron, Robot Chicken style!
DetroitFanRick writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 1:10:24 AM

I just wonder if they'll leave in that classic line.


"And I'll form the head."

DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 1:28:24 AM

Don't knw why they just don't do a Transformers and make it up as they go along.
Aingx writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 2:05:00 AM

What a sad thing to see...
Ranger writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 3:23:45 AM

@Matiax - lol!
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 10:15:26 AM

Well, to say Voltron / Transformers ripped one or the other off you might as well add Robotech, or any other Japan-imated series from the 80's. Japan-imation was basically only known for giant robot mecha shows so you can't really say they ripped each other off. It's like saying kung-fu movies ripped each other off. That's all they were churnning out roughly.

Voltron was a great show and I credit it, Transformers and my little brother for getting me into anime/comics etc.
I just don't know if Voltron has the mainstream pull to warrant a big screen live-actioner. as much as I love it, to me it has that cult-ish following like Battle of The Planets / Gatchaman. So if anything, my money's on them doing a CGI like the Ninja Turtles movie if they even do one at all.
And speaking of BoTP, weren't they supposed to do a CGI movie? Did I miss it??
KindredMac writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 10:36:13 AM

Again... I must be the Gray Bush here....

How have most of you never heard of Voltron or not even known that there was more than one Voltron?!?!?!?

Voltron was like any other Japanese material from the late 70's early 80's that was brought over here to the U.S. They took three things that were not linked in Japan and made them part of the same universe here.

Quick History Lesson:
Voltron I: 15 vehicles that were divided into 3 sub groups, Air, Sea and Land, that all came together to form one version of Voltron. He could use the spinning chopper blades on his upper arms as "Spinning Laser Blades" or smash them together in his hands to form his "Blazing Sword". This Voltron took place in the "Near Universe" which was based on a future Earth.

Voltron II: This was 3 piloted robots that could combine into a multi-armed Shiva-like robot. Not much was known about this series as it was the least popular in the states. This took place in the "Middle Universe".

Voltron III: Five piloted robotic lions form a giant robot. Takes place in the "Far Universe" and was by far the most popular of the three Voltrons. He had a Spinning Laser Blade that Voltron would pull from his back and would clang his hands together to form his Blazing Sword.

At the end of the cartoon run they held a special movie event on TV where Voltron I & III teamed together to take on the villains from both shows.

If they do Voltron it has to start off as the Lion version and MUST take place on Ares, not Earth. They could do a sequel and take on Voltron I's story arc then, flip flopping between each one with progressive movies.
rabid writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 11:42:15 AM

I think the original script called for a team of archaeologists, who have just unearthed the buried lions, to learn how to pilot them to stave off an alien attack by Sargon? is that the villain's name? it's been 25 years, i can't recall.
It was huge in the US. Mainly because only the rich kids could afford to collect all the giant heavy-duty lions and assemble it into Voltron. I was poor growing up, so all I had was an arm and a leg.
Stuntastic writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 12:14:09 PM

@RABID: LMAO!!! Voltron was the sh*t though. As an 80s baby I can honestly say we had a great era of cartoons growing up. Voltron, Thundercats, and of course Silverhawks just to name a few. I can see this working as a live action film though, but as with anything else you can't just throw some BS together like Dragonball and expect the core audience to accept it.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 3:52:52 PM

@Stuntastic, good ref on Silverhawks sir. Now can you go one further and name the other iteration of that group? There were Thundercats, Silverhawks and one more that had maybe 4 eps......tick tock tick tock.....
Stuntastic writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 4:08:42 PM

@Bunny: Man u got me on that one. The only ones that come to mind are the Centurions, Bionic 6, or Bravestar. Man, I loved some Bravestar too!!!
thedotsays writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 9:13:00 PM

@Stuntastic. I am like every little boy's favorite big sister I swear!! I loved watching Bionic 6, Centurions etc etc..

Well, the other series like Thundercats and Silverhawks was called Tigersharks.
They mutaed at will into different sea animals like a duhh shark, a walrus, a dolphin. It was cool but nowhere near Thundercats or Silverhawks status.

Dare I invoke......M.A.S.K.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 9:18:09 PM

ARRRRGGHH DAMMIT DOT!!!! Stop using my laptop!!!

Sorry my (in) significant otherleft his login on my laptop.
Supersweetguy writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 4:29:26 AM

@everyone. This movie is just like Voltes V. Voltron is an American animated television series adaptation of two different Japanese anime television series, (Beast King Go-Lion and Armored Fleet Dairugger XV). The series, which aired in syndication from September 10, 1984 to November 18, 1985, was originally titled Voltron: Defender of the Universe.

There have been two remakes of the original series. Voltron: The Third Dimension, was made in the 1990s using CGI techniques. The series was dubbed into English and edited by the North American television production and distribution company World Events Productions. Distribution rights to all shows are now under ownership of Sony Pictures Television.
Stuntastic writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 11:50:39 AM

@THEDOT: MASK was also a kick ass cartoon back in the day. I vaguely remember Tiger Sharks. I'll have to hit up the TUBE to remind me. What's the cartoon that had the teenage kid turn into a car whenever someone threw water on him?
KindredMac writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 12:59:36 PM

@Dot&@Stunt:
I see your M.A.S.K. and raise you Visionaries...

BTW- Condor and Thunderhawk were my favorite MASK toys.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 1:10:02 PM

@Stunt, that would be Turbo Teen. Lol it was more of him turning with being hot or cold. Loved it!!

Oh and sorry about the Dot posting. Hubby left his login on my laptop and I posted my response under his name. Gag


And @Kindred, oh my lord, I adored Visionaries!!!
I'll see your Visionaries and raise you, Exo-Squad.


Stuntastic writes:
on April 7th, 2010 at 2:34:39 PM

@Bunny & @Kindred: Thanks for that. I been wondering for the longest what the name of that show was. Now I got to check out Visionaries on the TUBE too to jog my memory. Another good one was Dinosaucers on the USA network called Cartoon Express. I think it was followed by Denver the Last Dinosaur. Man, Saturday mornings were actually worth gettin up early for back in the day

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved