WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Does Joss Whedon Want to Direct "The Avengers"?

Posted: April 5th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Does Joss Whedon Want to Direct "The Avengers"?Submit Comment
Just recently Marvel confirmed to LA Times that the studio has yet to hire a director for "The Avengers," but has been in talks with Joss Whedon ("Buffy the Vampire Slayer," "Firefly") to take the helming chair.

Whedon has worked with Marvel on many projects over the years, including "Astonishing X-Men" and "Runaways." And while he doesn't have much directing experience, he's very popular among the fans. But would Whedon even want to take the job?

Back in 2005, Whedon was asked this question by In Focus. Whedon responded: "The thing about the X-Men is they have a coherent core. The Avengers to me is tough. I wouldn't approach The Avengers, I wouldn't approach the Fantastic Four. The X-Men are all born of pain, and pain is where I hang my hat."

According to the comments, there are other projects Whedon would rather take on than "The Avengers." But now that he is being seriously considered, there is a good chance that he may change his mind. Stay tuned.

Click here to read more about "The Avengers."

Source: In Focus


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
RepoMan20 writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 8:52:04 PM

I wouldn't mind whedon, I like his stuff, but this to me means they need to find someone who actually loves the property and will want to deliver what fans expect. If Joss isn't that into it, don't pester him
encoreyourface writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 11:30:03 PM

"Does Joss Whedon Want to Direct "The Avengers"?"

well in the article he said no, so i'm guessing no. and i hope he doesn't get the film anyway. don't change your mind Whedon!
CCBlev writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 11:44:32 PM

They need to ask McG/Brett Ratner if they'd rather be directing traffic, I think those 2 imbecils would be perfect for that!
rabid writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 11:56:39 PM

That was just comic book talk from 5 years ago. He actually has worked alot with the Avengers. He helped plot much of Civil War. Brian Bendis has said before that whenever they get stuck for ideas on the crossovers, they bring in Joss to brainstorm. He's Marvel's version of Grant Morrison/Geoff Johns.
SaulSilver writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 12:03:26 AM

Like anyone who wasn't a Whedon fanboy ever thought this would happen anyway.
Aingx writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 2:04:20 AM

If the man doesn't want to direct, don't make him. That would just lead to a sh*tty movie.

The film will be hurting enough from Chris Evans' Capt....
SACdaddy writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 7:14:40 AM

Stick to your comics and your girly tv shows. The Avengers needs a real director. Unfortunately Marvel wont drop the cash for one, so we just hear about these cheap f*cknuts like LL and Whedon who dont have the skills to do the film any justice.

Where the f*ck is Blomkamp when you need him?!?! Oh yeah he's probably off creating something "new" that will be critically acclaimed and f*cking action packed. Good God an Avengers movie that looked similar to D9 would be awesome, and if they're looking for a director that could finally make the Hulk look right Blomkamp's their man. I know, wishful thinking, that's way over Marvel's heads.
Teines writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 9:02:25 AM

Off Topic - But I met Mark Millar today .. let you guess what this has to do with The Avengers .. nuff said.
Tyron writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 10:11:31 AM

You have to be a man and stand your ground. Don't say no and change your mind.
HideousSecretion writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 10:46:19 AM

I think he'll hang his hat on the $20 mil paycheck.
rabid writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 11:32:56 AM

like I said, he's already gone back on his word and worked with the Avengers after he said this.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved