WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Pushing Forward with "Runaways" Comic Book Movie

Posted: April 5th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Pushing Forward with "Runaways" Comic Book MovieSubmit Comment
Deadline is reporting that Marvel Studios is moving forward with "Runaways," based on a comic book idea hatched by Brian Vaughan ("Lost"). The new film will be distributed by Paramount Pictures, since the deal was made before Disney acquired Marvel.

"Nick and Nora's Infinite Playlist" director Peter Sollett is currently in negotiations to direct "Runaways," which is a youth-oriented film that is being called "The Breakfast Club" with superheroes. The story deals with children of supervillains who are cursed with evil powers, but decide to use them for heroic purposes.

Even though Vaughan is the main person on the project, Joss Whedon ("Buffy the Vampire Slayer," "Firefly") has previously stepped in to write several installments of the comic.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
otis writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 8:48:37 PM

This sounds like an interesting idea. Wasn't there just an announcement a few weeks ago proposing a similar movie idea, cartoony-like?
eximius007 writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 8:49:41 PM

Hmm, i am torn on this. But if Hollywood is going to do this then they NEED to do KINGDOM COME, I say one of my fav DC comics ever, for those of you who know what I am talking about
Brenden Theatres writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 10:35:02 PM

Stan Lee and friends will be at Brenden Theatres Las Vegas 14 to recieve a Brenden Celebrity Star at 7:30pm on May 7th. Buy a ticket to Iron Man 2 on opening weekend and you can enter to win one of 100 signed Iron Man 2 posters! Stan Lee will introducing select show times of Iron Man 2 all weekend long!
www.brendentheatres.com
encoreyourface writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 11:15:55 PM

hey brenden theaters: f*ck the f*ck off!

runaways sucks so f*ck them too!
rabid writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 11:47:41 PM

Runaways is perfect for a movie. I always thought it read like a screenplay.
CCBlev writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 1:04:22 AM

@Encore
Relax buddy, remember your anger therapy lol
telur writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 2:30:13 AM

marvel always looks more creative than DC
Dark writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 4:10:14 AM

I will say a YES to this
encoreyourface writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 5:29:54 AM

CC-lol, i just hate it when people come on here and spam, it pisses me off.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 10:21:31 AM

Runaways is an fantastic series and yes rabid I agree, perfect for a movie.
@eximius007, I doubt we'll ever see a Kingdom Come adaption on screen. It's too big a project for them to just slap up on screen. It would be amazing if they did but until I see them pull off the Justice League / Avengers movies, I'll be on the doubting side of the fence.
The guys at DC animation should pool together and do Kingdom Come if you ask me.
1st, they would do it right and follow the book so closely. and 2nd, they wouldn't be hampered by live actioner limitations like casting and location and conflicts with existing movies. and 3rd, they could get it out a lot faster than if it were a live actioner.
eximius007 writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 12:09:09 PM

@Bunny yeah DC animation could do it, I would not mind watching it if it was animated but lol i aspire to one day read a headline like "Christopher Nolan to helm Kingdom Come comic-book movie"
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 4:00:02 PM

@exi, oh I would pass out if that headline ever came up. But if you look at the road ahead, it's pretty grim to hold your breath for that.
We must wait for a Batman 3 from Nolan, then whenever these other DC properties get rolling, then maybe finally the Justice League movie. And even after that, Nolan will have to do a Dark Knight Returns to tie it up years down the road. And after all that, maybe then, there could be a Kingdome Come movie. Because it can't come before all those others come first........(lol come first...sorry so unlady-like)
But DC animation could crank it out way before all that.
They did a pretty good job with Crisis on Infinite Earths recently
eximius007 writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 9:48:24 PM

@bunny, i have a boner thinking of all the projects Nolan is about to embark in

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved