WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Confirms Talks with Joss Whedon to Helm "The Avengers"

Posted: April 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Confirms Talks with Joss Whedon to Helm "The Avengers"Submit Comment
On April 1st, IESB learned from a reliable source that Joss Whedon ("Buffy the Vampire Slayer," "Firefly") has joined Louis Leterrier (Incredible Hulk, Clash of the Titans) on Marvel's short-list to direct "The Avengers." But unlike Leterrier, Whedon is at the top of the list.

Many of you thought that this news was just an April Fool's joke, despite us telling you that it's not. Now, LA Times has confirmed the story. The paper got in touch with Marvel Studios, which said that no director has been signed yet, but that Whedon is being considered and that conversations have already taken place.

Whedon is not much of a feature film helmer, having only directed "Serenity" back in 2005. But he has a huge fanbase and has been working on a "Wonder Woman" movie for Warner Bros for several years. Plus I'm sure it didn't hurt that his next film, "Cabin in the Woods," stars "Thor" actor Chris Hemsworth.

Click here to read more about "The Avengers."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 6:43:42 AM

Based on his run on X-men, I'd be happy if he wrote the script. Serenity was good, and I loved Buffy, but I still don't think he has enough experience to direct such a big movie
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 6:45:04 AM

I think it's a good thing. Whedon is a nerd and I'm sure he's very familiar with universe and have love for it. I know his "Wonder Woman"-movie fell through, but honestly, it's hard to make that movie without making it horrible.
uknowmyname writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 7:22:18 AM

Joss Whedon not having enough experience? with the VFX that will be needed, yes. with directing in general, nope. i will be soo freaking off the wall happy if this happens.
darkknight1985 writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 7:22:54 AM

Any project can succeed if the guy who leads it is passionate about its development. I think we can see Whedon's dedication in his television creations. True that Dollhouse bombed but I don't think his heart was in it 100%, Firefly(Which was his baby) on the other hand turned out to be awesome.

Experience does count but its nothing compared to a person's vision about something he is passionate about creating. For example Jon Favreau didn't have that much rep coming into Iron man, but it turned out to be exceptional due to the fact he loved the character n the comics and was hell bent on getting it right..
SACdaddy writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 7:37:57 AM

Kind of a stretch for a tv writer/director with a p*ssy empowerment fetish. Serenity wasn't much more than a glorified TV movie. The acting was great, but the plot was very forgettable. This guy obviously has a thing for making skinny bitches badasses, so what's he going to do with a film completely devoid of them. This jabroni is more suited for a Black Widow spin off or the next Elektra POS than an Avenger movie. He must work for peanuts.

BTW, Buffy,Angel, and Dollhouse were terrible shows! Its funny how he is remembered for that crap but nobody even mentions his Oscar nom for writing Toy Story. Sure he was nominated for an Emmy for Buffy, but what show on tv hasn't been nominated for that award. I guess all of this wont matter when the CA movie bombs. Favereau is the only Marvel man that can save this film and the company.
Doc_Brown writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 8:49:17 AM

Wait wait wait....Did someone just say the loved Buffy?.....Get out!
Lizardking515 writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 9:11:59 AM

f*ck this f*cker with a 12 inch pole. I still want sum1 better
Dark writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 9:38:37 AM

Yup. this guy is definitely not up to the mark. add someone better to your list MARVEL!!!
rocketman writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 9:57:44 AM

Spielberg should direct the Avengers(and was born to direct Captin America IMO)
SACdaddy writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 10:02:42 AM

agreed^^
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 10:32:58 AM

:D

I hope Doctor Horrible makes a cameo.
Aingx writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 11:37:10 AM

I would be all for him directing such a high-profile film, but then again, he did Dollhouse...
rabid writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 11:58:09 AM

I'm glad it's not a joke. I'd love to see Whedon helm the Avengers films. This guy is waaaay off the Hollywood formula and that's why it could work.
lebowski writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 2:43:05 PM

and im just glad that leterrier or johnston is not directing
johnny_boy writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 3:21:19 PM

This guy directing? I say no. As evil keV said script writing, maybe.That's about it. Sac said it best on his post
TeemSelami writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 3:53:06 PM

definitely no letterier and an even bigger no whedon this dude is a huge fag. dollhouse was a steamy pile freshly dropped from a hobo's ass. sac is right he's a huge jibroni. just pick a normal director why is their list saturated with these iffy douches.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 5:49:51 PM

i hate Buffy, she can go die along with her f*cking stupid franchise. i'd rip her ass-hole first though.don't know about Firefly, never seen it.

i'd still like Leterrier instead, but a different choice then both of them would be preferred.
Eben1277 writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 6:16:21 PM

I liked Buffy, I neVer got into Firefly but thought Serenity was decent. Angel waS a really good show though. I'd still rather see him attacheD to XMen thOugh.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 7:14:30 PM

Just not Leterrier, Clash of the Titans was dog food. Whedon's a badass.
nzfilmmaker writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 8:09:31 PM

I have complete faith in Joss - I just don't think he's been a proper chance. Serenity is one of my all-time favorite sci-fi films.
I think if they gave him this chance it'd pay off. Lets forget about Dollhouse.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 11:28:51 PM

He might be ok, "Serenity" weren't bad I never saw the "Firefly" series so maybe I'm not best qualified for this, but I will say that the "Buffy" series for me was a steaming pile of sh*t never watched "Dollhouse" saw the ads for it and knew it wasn't for me.
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 11:51:25 PM

dollhouse is gay so is buffy so i dont think he should thee are better directors out there
ilovemovies82 writes:
on April 4th, 2010 at 12:43:20 AM

Whedon's TV shows suck. He's overrated. That said, maybe, just maybe, his movies will be better? Heh, I doubt it. But if he signs on to do this, I won't be too thrilled.
Foop writes:
on April 4th, 2010 at 1:03:40 AM

I like this. I currently am watching buffy on a recommendation of a friend, and it's...lacking. Angel, on the other hand, just kicks an intense amount of ass. And everybody loved serenity.

To people who don't think Whedon can pull off a large directing gig like avengers, in addition to tipping my hat to serenity I would like to point out that I wouldn't have thought that his contemporary J.J. Abrams could have pulled off Mission Impossible 3, much less star trek.
rabid writes:
on April 4th, 2010 at 11:12:02 AM

Angel was one of the best shows to ever air on tv.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 4th, 2010 at 12:55:37 PM

^^ LOL!!!!!! Somebody call this guy an ambulance. He fell and hit his head and he's not making sense.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 4th, 2010 at 12:58:50 PM

I can think of a few hundred shows that are better than Angel. sh*t, even Buffy was better.
Eben1277 writes:
on April 4th, 2010 at 5:31:30 PM

It's all in the eye of the beholder SAC. I thought Buffy was o.k. fluff quality wise, but really liked it. Angel on the other hand I think was just a really good show. I never watched Firefly, not becaujse I thought it was bad, just because I've never been into that futuristic stuff. Having said that I did enjoy Serenity.
ilovemovies82 writes:
on April 4th, 2010 at 11:31:06 PM

The difference between Joss Whedon and JJ Abrams, is that Abrams's TV shows rock, Whedon's show's suck. Actually I'm not really big on Felicity, but Alias, Lost and Fringe are all really awesome, amazing TV shows. Where as Whedon is incredibly overrated. Buffy was okay, at best, but really pretty mediocre. Angel flat out sucked. Firefly was boring as hell and incredibly overrated. I never saw Doll House, but do admit, that one actually looked kind of cool.

So in otherwords, JJ Abrams > Joss Whedon. Give the Avengers to Abrams, and THAT would be cool. But I'm not too keen on Whedon doing it.
vampires_suck writes:
on April 4th, 2010 at 11:59:08 PM

Some of you ppl wouldn't know talent if you were sitting on it? Whedon is one of the best character writers/directors going round! And im sorry but you ppl who hated Buffy obviously didnt watch enuf of the show or missed the point entirely, during its run it was the best written show on television and the only reason it was snubbed by the Emmys so many times was coz it was a genre show. To say he isn't up to scratch is pure bullsh*t, look at the episode Hush or the musical then see Firefly and Dollhouse, each is entirely differnt but all very well crafted and written. Not too mention is amazing run on Astonishing X-Men and Runaways.
Some of you need to look outside your bubbles.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 12:11:42 AM

Dollhouse looked retarded, so did Runaways. i watched Buffy, it's pretty stupid.

if does well then great, if he doesn't it won't really be a shocker.
rabid writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 2:30:48 AM

Dollhouse had highs and lows but it was a pretty good series over all.
The first season finale of Dollhouse was the most well made, most original, most kickass tv episode made last year.
It was so good that Fox refused to air it because they thought it was over the heads of the less intelligent audience members.
rabid writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 2:33:13 AM

i can recall mercilessly making fun of my friends who watched Angel... until I sat down and watched the pilot episode. It was a damn good show and like me, anyone that says otherwise probably never saw it to begin with.
Eben1277 writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 2:38:11 AM


Felicity was a show my wife would watch, Alias was at best mediocre, lost has it's moments, but for a show that is supposedly grounded in reality it had some sh*t I really couldn't handle. Fringe Ill give the benefit of the doubt because I've heard positive things about it. I refuse to watch it however for 2 reasons, 1)It's not called the X Files, and 2)the dude that played the steward of Condor
rocketman writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 2:38:23 AM

Firefly was better than Buffy,Angel and Serenity put together.
rabid writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 4:05:44 AM

hmmm... It was definitely more original a concept and had better acting.
masht7 writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 4:31:32 AM

I'm not a fan of Whedom, the only things I enjoy that his made has been Firefly and Serenity, so I don't care about him directing. What I care is casting, a plot and footage.
nzfilmmaker writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 7:17:33 AM

@rocketman
amen
SACdaddy writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 8:53:01 AM

Buffy -- Won Emmy for Oustanding Makeup (lol) and another for Sound Mixing
Firefly -- Won Emmy for Special effects
Angel -- Never won d*ck
--------------------------------------------

LOST -- won 1 Golden Globe for best Drama Series, JJ won 1 Emmy for best Director and 1 for best Writer, 4 for Best supporting actor/actress, and 3 more for Editing, Sound and Casting

Felicity -- Won Golden Globe for Best Actress and won an Emmy for Cinematography

Alias -- Won Golden Globe for Best Actress and 4 Emmy for (2 Cinematography, makeup,stunts)

Fringe -- Already nominated for Best Drama after its first season

The differences in these shows and directors is like night and day. JJ blows this nerdy *sshole out of the water on tv and on the big screen. If his contract allowed, he would be a much better fit for The Avengers and just about anything else.

BTW, Serenity lost money at the box office (cost $39 mill and grossed $38 WORLDWIDE, lol). On the other hand, MI3 grossed $397 mill($150m budget) and Star Trek grossed $385 mill($150m budget).

JJ KICKS ASS!!!! Whedon is box office poison.

masht7 writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 7:53:13 PM

@SAC

So? Money is the root of all evil.
Brenden Theatres writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 10:34:18 PM

Stan Lee and friends will be at Brenden Theatres Las Vegas 14 to recieve a Brenden Celebrity Star at 7:30pm on May 7th. Buy a ticket to Iron Man 2 on opening weekend and you can enter to win one of 100 signed Iron Man 2 posters! Stan Lee will introducing select show times of Iron Man 2 all weekend long!
www.brendentheatres.com
MooresBSGsux writes:
on April 14th, 2010 at 12:20:32 AM

Whedon and Leterrier are both mediocre. The HULK was a good, movie, though. I've never seen a Joss tv show I liked. ANGEL was so goofy, I couldn't stand it. Joss totally drove a stake through the heart of the ALIEN franchise with ALIEN: RESURRECTION. What about Alex Proyas of THE CROW, DARK CITY and I ROBOT fame?
seveltoto writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 2:38:02 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved