WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Emily Blunt Turns Down "Captain America" Offer

Posted: April 2nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Emily Blunt Turns Down "Captain America" OfferSubmit Comment
Marvel has officially confirmed that Chris Evans (Fantastic Four) will play Captain America and Sebastian Stan ("Gossip Girl") will play his sidekick Bucky in "The First Avenger: Captain America."

LA Times is now reporting that the studio has made an offer to Emily Blunt (The Devil Wears Prada) to star as the main character's girlfriend, Peggy Carter. Blunt quickly responded with a "No Thanks."

I have yet to figure out Marvel's obsession with the British actress, since this is now the second time that the studio has attempted to attach her to one of their films. Not too long ago, Blunt turned down the chance to play The Black Widow in "Iron Man 2," with the role eventually going to Scarlett Johansson.

Regarding Blunt's replacement in "Captain America," sources say that Keira Knightley (Pirates of the Caribbean) is the next one on the list. Stay tuned.

Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 7:05:44 PM

hmmmmm i wonder why she turned it down?
killbilly writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 7:11:12 PM

Get your facts straight. Emily didn't turn down Ironman 2. She had a contract obligation to FOX studios that took her out of Ironman and put her in Gulliver's Travels
encoreyourface writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 7:11:15 PM

probably becuase she could barely walk after i f*cked her in the ass so hard!!
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 7:30:17 PM

@encore
you got her in the ass? i got totall vag and mouth action with her last night...she a great f*ck
encoreyourface writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 7:32:26 PM

no argument there!
encoreyourface writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 7:33:03 PM

with our combined might i'm surprised she's still alive!
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 7:45:23 PM

her ass is pretty dam red from me splapping it every time i hit that p*ssy
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 7:46:41 PM

she lost conciousness for only a few minutes she came right back once i got the smelling salt
DDTrussoni writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 8:02:01 PM

we dont need an ENGLISH actress in a Captian AMERICA movie anyway.
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 8:12:09 PM

oh yea i forgot scarlett johansson was there too
encoreyourface writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 8:18:37 PM

@DD-you know most of WWII was in Europe and around there,right?
Ranger writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 8:26:43 PM

Some German Dr. tried stitching Emily to my *sshole.


I didn't mind really.
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 8:28:11 PM

you should all read this interview with joe quesada

http://comicbookmovie.com/fansites/MarvelFreshman/news/?a=16588
encoreyourface writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 8:48:27 PM

Ranger-lol who WOULDN'T mind? i'd eat her sh*t any day ...
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 8:49:50 PM

@ranger & encore
i would have to agree wouldnt mind being attatchedto that little number
SACdaddy writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 9:10:01 PM

Her casting probably had a little something to do with Joe Johnson. He wasted her in The Wolfman and probably owed her one. She was just smart enough not to work with him again. Lol, people are running from this production now :-)
Ranger writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 9:33:28 PM

Maybe Joe tried penetrating her?
SACdaddy writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 9:33:45 PM

"Chris Evans is going to rock as Cap, as will Sebastian Stan as Bucky, who plays a pretty important part in our movie. The story is epic, the director is a legendary icon and the cast is taking shape in fantastic ways man, it's great to be a Marvel fan in this new millennium!" --Joe Quesada Marvel Editor-in-chief

@Skate: First of all thx for the link. JQ had me buying his enthusiasm for this project all the way up until he said "the director is a legendary icon." WTF?!?! This wacky statement (amongst others) just leads me to believe that JQ is nothing more than a hype man promoting his brand. This casting process was (is) a joke, and the only thing interesting about it is that Joe Quesada and Joe Johnson still have a job.
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 9:52:28 PM

@sac
i appriciate your statment and concern my man, but im not the type of person that takes nothing at face value(what i mean is i wont instantly believe in something just bc i read an article about it, ill wait till i see a still or trailer/teaser or whatsoever) i just posted it bc it wasnt on here and i felt it addressed concerns we all have about the film. jq hasnt steered us wrong yet and maybe just maybe johnston will get lucky and hit a home-run with this. thats what my intent was in posting the article.
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 9:53:46 PM

damit need an edit button
i meant anything at face value
CCBlev writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 9:57:01 PM

@Encore
Well I know you woulnd't being behind her in the human centtpede though. Neither would I for that matter!
SACdaddy writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 10:31:33 PM

@Skate: I just can't ignore all the warning bells going off around this film. Casting problems, an unreliable director, costume issues, sidekicks, pressing deadlines to make, and the weight of a company's future on its shoulders just sounds like a recipe for disaster to me. Hate to be negative, but rather not be blind. All this coming from a guy who actually liked The Wolfman :-)
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 11:03:03 PM

@sac
im not sure where your getting the costume problems statement from? because you cant fit and make the costume work untill you have the actor in place to play the role. yes there was a pressing deadline on the casting, but if you read the article he explains that issue. the role of captain america is very very prestegious role.....larger than life even so they took a little extra time to find the right man for the job that they could get. on the subject of bucky....i feel like ive said it a hundred times he needs to be in the film he plays a part in cap falling into the ice...cause bucky stays on the plan to defuse the bomb while cap falls of....so yeah in this case a sidekick is needed(although i gotta feeling it will be more of a supporting role). i highly doubt that marvel is resting its entire future on one little movie when they have other possibly sucssesfull movies coming out. you do make good points thought
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 11:04:32 PM

so far the only thing that worries me is the director and i will agree with you on that one sac
SaulSilver writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 11:39:23 PM

Jim Halpert is a lucky man...
AshTrey writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 12:31:14 AM

Ha she was in Johnston last movie... she knows he sux ass.
charmed23 writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 12:38:08 AM

I start to get annoyed now. She is an amazing actress and I guess she wants her works to be of high quality, but Young Victorian flopped and The Wolfman was sh*t. She should have accepted Black Widow. and she's turning down this.

Emily your career is plummeting straight down after Prada
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 1:15:32 AM

She saw Chris Evan's size of dialogue and laughed ... alot.

Oh, and Joe Quesada is a Filipino hooker looking for blow on Sunset Boulevard with Tiger Woods and Pope Benedict .... then small animals to rape, sexually assault and leave at the front desk of Detective Comics ...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 1:17:37 AM

I blame that creepy, pudgy guy from Marvel's " promotions " department who comes to every Comic Book Convention with his slick, oily ponytail, ferociously awful breath, staunchy attitude and stick, strategically imbedded up his ass ....

oh. That's Joe Q's brother.
Ranger writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 1:55:39 AM

VinDandy is Joe Q's brother?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 2:31:01 AM

Seems this nice young lady is getting smarter and smarter, only slight blip was to turn down (eventhough she contracted to do Gullivers Travels) IronMan 2, if Marvel really wanted her they could've fitted her schedule around Gulliver or just bought her out of the contract.
lost_addict writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 5:42:14 AM

smart girl...this movie will suck.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 9:20:54 AM

@Skate:

1. Costume problems -- They already admitted that they don't know how they want the character to look yet. JJ has even talked about ditching the flag theme and going for something completely different! Now it sounds like JQ is back to the flag suit, but they still have the issue of the winged headgear. If you've seen the 90s CA movie you can tell why the costume may be a huge issue. It just looked dumb.

Casting issues -- Hey I've got no problem with them taking as long as they want to choose the right guy for such an important role, but it seems like they just got frustrated with looking and went with someone who didn't even audition. For JQ to praise him as perfection after all of this is a little ridiculous. Now they're having female lead issues.

Pressing deadlines -- For every extra day it takes to cast this thing you lose a day that they could be shooting or editing. Time is money! The pressure of the casting deadline already influenced their choice of a lead. What's next to be rushed by the Avenger time crunch? God knows after seeing The Wolfman JJ doesn't need to be rushed through the editing process again.

Sidekicks -- While Bucky is important to CA's origin story, how will he exist in a genre that's grown much darker and more realistic over the years. Sidekicks don't really exist in films anymore. Bucky may be good for the die hard fan but I guarantee the average viewer has never heard of him. Even many of us only know CA as a lone charcter who's been relegated to more of a leadership role than a partnership. Bucky doesn't carry the notoriety of a Robin or a Jimmy Olson, so today's audience may have a hard time accepting this kid fighting Nazi along side a super soldier. Just think about how that would look on screen for a minute and get back to me.

Weight of the company's future -- Iron man is Marvel's cash cow at the moment, but if they keep spending all of its profits on questionable productions like The Incredible Hulk, Punisher Warzone, The Avengers, and the Dark Horse projects, it might not be profitable for long. Then you'll see the Disney bloodsuckers start to demand more and more control of future projects until they've milked the company dry of any quality or creativity.

Botttom line, they really could be opening Pandora's box if this movie doesn't live up to the hype.
Dark writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 9:43:10 AM

please please please not Knightley!!!
Ranma-Irias writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 10:15:28 AM

She knows The Wolf Man sucked

I will admit the movie sucked but it was entertaining.

But Joe is a f*cking bad director and Captain America is probably doomed
SACdaddy writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 10:20:56 AM

@Skate: Forget what I said about Bucky. I thought they cast him as a teenagers like in the comic, but this Sebastian Stan guy is 27. Guess they didn't have the same age hangup with him as they did with CA. I can accept a partner much more than a sidekick.
warlord writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 2:30:23 PM

dang that emily blunt is hot!!
darkraven28 writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 2:51:31 PM

I don't understand the obsession with this chick. It could be just any other cracka.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 5:53:31 PM

nothing particular, there are hotter chicks but she IS extremely f*ckable.
Flav writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 11:17:04 PM

Good move! She is too talented for this crapola!
masht7 writes:
on April 4th, 2010 at 11:46:23 PM

This is a sign saying that Emily Blunt dosen't like superhero movies. This is also a sign saying the apocalypse is upon us.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 3:13:03 AM

Apocalypse will have something to do with Avatar. trust me.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 1:03:37 PM

Everyone should just get off of Johnston's back- let him be. Just cause he inherited a crap load of problems with Wolfman doesn't mean he's a crappy director- aside from WM I've like just about everythin this guy has created. Give him a bloody chance!
encoreyourface writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 4:56:30 PM

i like Wolfman. am i the only f*cking one?
DetroitFanRick writes:
on April 6th, 2010 at 1:39:58 AM

You're not alone encore. I liked Wolfman and so did my daughter. We had a blast laughing at the scared sh*tless looks on the villagers faces right before they died.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved