WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sebastian Stan is Bucky in "Captain America"

Posted: April 2nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sebastian Stan is Bucky in "Captain America"Submit Comment
About two weeks ago we reported that actor Sebastian Stan (Hot Tub Time Machine, "Gossip Girl") was in talks for "Captain America." Nothing about the news sounds right since he was born in Romania and is much shorter than the rest of the contenders for the lead role.

Now, THR and Variety are reporting that he wasn't auditioning for the Captain America part, but for Captain America's sidekick Bucky Barnes. In fact, Marvel has now confirmed that he has officially nabbed the role, and it is being rumored that he has signed on for five or six films.

In the comic books, Bucky, a teenaged orphan, was too young to join the army but became one camp's mascot. When he discovered Captain America's identity, he joined him as a partner in his Nazi-fighting escapades. The character died in Captain America's final World War II adventure. After decades of being "dead," the character was revived in 2005 and brought back into modern comic continuity, initially as a covert assassin named Winter Soldier.

Joe Johnston (The Wolfman) is directing the movie, which starts shooting this summer in Europe. "Captain America" is scheduled to hit the theaters on July 22nd, 2011.

Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: THR, Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 52 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 3:52:29 AM

So VinDandy's bum wasn't available?
trailertrash writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 4:10:20 AM

yeah can't believe that whats going on , i think his daddy wont let him out of his basement...
Canadianmade writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 4:13:02 AM

Bucky actually is important as he is now Captain America since Steve Rogers is dead
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 4:22:00 AM

@canada
It recent issues my friend captain america is back and I mean captain america(steve rogers) but I do agree bucky is an important character to have in the movie(ironiclly the first time its important to have a sidekick)
Canadianmade writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 4:24:04 AM

Ya know, itd be nice for someone to actually stay dead in a comic. Kind of ruins the whole impact of his death to begin with. Thanks for the 411
vwkombi writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 4:26:18 AM

I am not a comic reader, but how did CA return from the dead? Zombie Liu Kang style, lame-ass "we-totally-faked-his-death-style" or someone brought him back?
VDODSON writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 4:29:24 AM

Chris Evans should of played Bucky, while John Hamm played Cap. Captain America is a f*cking badass, not some thin chump.
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 4:31:24 AM

@canada
Np bro glad to help

It was revealed that he was trapped re living past memories from the war due to dr. Faustis, red skull, and zolla
WV-Films writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 7:01:50 AM

Oh god, there's a Bucky!? This movie is just sounding worse and worse.
nightjunkie writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 7:48:33 AM

@VDODSON

Are you Jon Hamm? How many times are you gonna say that he should play Captain America? He's too old!
python6 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 8:07:15 AM

Bucky Barnes is in the movie great but i don't think that he should discovery Captain America's identity or put on a uniform until about the end of the movie.Then have them go off and fight the Nazi by show newspaper headlines of their adventure while the credits roll.That way when part 2 come out they can start with Captain America's final World War II adventure before heading into the morden day Captain America.
Hey do yall think that Nick Fury the Howling Commandos may make an apperance in the movies.
I meean in the 1st movie the Howling Commandos could be in the trenches fighting Nazi's and Capt jump over their heads and yell come on boys let's give this Jerries what for.
Then in 2 they could be on the Airplane with Capt and Bucky as they head for the last show down
Then in 3 The winter soldier
VDODSON writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 9:20:35 AM

Did anyone contact John Hamm for this role?
SACdaddy writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 10:19:07 AM

f*ck Bucky! When I was reading CA back in the day, he wasn't even mentioned. For the life of me I dont know where this character fits into a serious plot. f*cking look around, there's a reason why no other successful superhero movie has a sidekick. Its just plain stupid and so is this entire production. Iron Man 2 can't get here fast enough.

On a side note, am I the only one worried about the lack of info coming from the Thor set. CA hasn't even started filming yet and there's a report every day on it. They should almost be done with Thor by now and we've heard nothing! What's going on out there?
jeffw1978 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 10:32:38 AM

He looks like as crack addict begging for a c*ck to suck and his next rock.
VDODSON writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 10:50:50 AM

f*ck Bucky! lmao. He is kind of a homo, but winter soldier was tough.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 10:52:42 AM

Gay.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 10:53:25 AM

To borrow a classic line from P. Oswalt :

Gayer than 9 guys blowing 10 guys.

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 10:54:05 AM

He looks gayer than Jon Voight's character in Midnight Cowboy.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 10:54:50 AM

With him there, maybe Marvel will show Bucky emptying Cap's loaded pistol, as it were ...
tcu21 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 11:28:44 AM

Not to change the topic on this thread but I feel it is my duty to warn everyone:

DO NOT SEE CLASH OF THE TITANS THIS WEEKEND!!!!

For once this websites review has it right, it was not good in anyway. (Saw the midnight showing last night)

Some movies have dialogue so bad that the action sequences make up for it.

Not this one. The scene with the Kraken was not even that good and you know you suck when you can't make a good scene with a Kraken.

Some movies have dialogue so bad that the special effects make up for it.

Not this one. In the Medusa fight, I felt like I was watching a video game cut scene.

Worth it for the 3-D experience?

If you MUST MUST MUST see it, try to avoid seeing it in 3D because I promise you it looks better that way.

Clash of the Titans was easily the biggest failure of the year, so far, in my book. I can't imagine how The Wolfman or anything else could have fallen so far below expectations.
Blank x2 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 11:50:01 AM

^^^@TCU

It may be bad, but I'll have to see for myself if it's worse than Wolfman. THAT was a turd of a movie.
BigUnit writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 12:08:40 PM

clash of the titans was disapointing indeed....
bale01289 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 12:30:33 PM

Well sh*t....wish I had read that before I paid to see it. I'm sitting, waiting on it to start right now, as I type. f*ck, I hope you're wrong....no offense. Oops, lights goin down now. I shall retort after the movie.
warlord writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 1:34:23 PM

NANCY PELOSI WILL PLAY THE RED SKULL and she wont need make-up
Ranger writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 1:38:20 PM

@Max - unloading... lol. Nice!

@Python - I don't think they're going into all the CA movies you think (or would like). From what I've read... it's one CA movie then right into The Avengers. I'd hope you're right though... they are trying to cram (enter Bucky) way too much story into this one movie... it would have to be 4-6 hours long to tell it right.

Oh well. Maybe Joe Johnston will get hit by a train (Heaven forbid) before shooting begins.

@VDOD - this was Marvel's 1st choice (as you're favoring old(er) actors) - over a year ago. http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1292175/
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 2:07:37 PM

im acctually glad bucky is in the film but im just not sure of the actor i havent seen him in anything so i have no argument. as for the ones on here saying bucky shouldnt be there bc he's a sidekick let me make my argument...bucky needs to be there bc if you remember when cap is frozen in the ice bucky is with him bc they were pretecting a remote prototype plane but it was laced with a bomb, cap fell into the ice bucky stayed and had his arm blown off.....so my conlusion is its very important that bucky is in the film
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 2:09:00 PM

what would you rather have a cap movie that stays close to the comic story line? or a movie that strays from it just bc you dont want the sidekick?
Matiax writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 2:34:58 PM

"and it is being rumored that he has signed on for five or six films."

Damn, he should be in the WWII part of the movie, but not in the present or the Avengers.
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 2:41:21 PM

hey guys its confirmed Chris Evens is Captain America heres the link to superherohype.com for the official press release

http://www.superherohype.com/news/captainamericanews.php?id=9236&offset=30#ViewComments
SACdaddy writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 2:47:35 PM

@skate: No sidekick. Batman and Robin are probably the most famous duo in comic book history. Both Burton and Nolan successfully avoided ever using BM's sidekick and made great film. They know what I know, sidekicks suck balls! Its an old concept that doesn't play well in this more realistic SH film universe. Plus between the hero, the villain, and the heroine there's little room for a p*ssy/comic relief sidekick.
Ranger writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 2:53:22 PM

'...sidekicks suck balls!' --- Hey VinDandy, would your Dad say that's true?

skatemaster62 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 3:04:13 PM

i would just rather have a movie close to the comics rather then a movie that strays from the comic just for the sake of avoiding the sidekick
johnny_boy writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 3:29:42 PM

Bucky may be needed but just for the first one, no huge role. And not even as a sidekick, more like just a supporting figure. And I highly doubt he'll eventually be CA. That would be stupid. I also read yesterday that this guy has like a 4 or 5 pic deal. Then again it could be an April fools day joke, but would be stupid if true.
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 3:31:11 PM

Compairing bucky to robin is like compairing apples to oranges robin was a whimp as where bucky is a badass killing machine....the two characters are very different
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 3:43:44 PM

@johnny
Thank you finally someone agrees but I would like to see bucky come back in the second or third film as the winter soldier
Ranger writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 4:03:58 PM

@skate - are they doing more than just the one CA movie? Or just the one and getting into The Avengers asap?
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 4:16:34 PM

@ranger
from what ive heard theres gonna be 2 to 3 cap movies but there not gonna come till after the avengers
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 4:18:59 PM

the sequals i mean they will come after the anvengers from what ive found on the net
Ranger writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 4:21:06 PM

I did not know that... thx.
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 4:45:59 PM

no problem bro. glad to help
encoreyourface writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 4:51:12 PM

another late April Fools joke? i don't mind this guy, he looks like a great Bucky(based soly on looks, never hear of him) but just sayin' ... it feels 'April Foolish'.

if this is true my hopes for this film just got higher, but like i said never seen him in anything ...
SACdaddy writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 5:26:03 PM

"... Bucky is a badass killing machine"

LOL! What is this a Kick-Ass movie? Are they going to allow Bucky to chop Nazis up, cuss like Scarface, and dish out headshots in bunches. If not, what's the point of teaming a kid with a man? Not exactly up to the standards Batman or Iron Man set lately. Lose the Buckster for the sake of reality or kill him 10 minutes into the film. If not this movie is doomed.(if its not doomed already)
Ranger writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 8:21:11 PM




Let the Nazi's rape Bucky.



SACdaddy writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 8:34:22 PM

then send him to the ovens :-)
Ranger writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 8:47:29 PM

Wie mögen Sie Ihr Bucky?
(How do you like your Bucky?)

Well-done please.

Ja Herr!
(Yes sir!)
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 9:26:39 PM

@Ranger & @SACdaddy Haha awesome comments.

However, I completely agree with skatemaster62's comments on the inclusion of Bucky. If the movie follows Brubaker's fairly recent run on Captain America (which makes sense with Captain America ending up frozen in ice) Bucky is vital to the movie. Ironically, his role in the film will make it darker (again, if they add elements of the Brubarker story).
Ranger writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 9:35:43 PM

@AA - I suspect that Bucky storyline is after my time in comics. So I'll go on yours and Skates word that it'll improve the story (I don't know anything about it to debate). They sure have their plate full with this much story to jam into one movie.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 11:19:06 PM

Ranger-AA and Skate are right, Bucky is pretty vital for the end of the film at least.on a side note Bucky was lame, Winter Soldier kicked ass and so does Bucky as Cap.

i really, really hope this ends well ...
rabid writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 2:20:56 PM

If Bucky is a character before your time, then you must be ancient. He's been around 70 years.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 6:05:45 PM

lol
Flav writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 11:20:34 PM

Good Actor! Not believing the hype of this movie when you got Johnston butchering this film. Mark my words, he will destroy this film.
Vin12 writes:
on April 4th, 2010 at 7:53:34 PM

hollywood might have pulled a fast one with chris evans, Jensen Ackles MAY be in. go to comicbook movie to learn more

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved