WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sony Continues to Screw Over "Moon" Director

Posted: April 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sony Continues to Screw Over "Moon" DirectorSubmit Comment
Duncan Jones, the director of "Moon," has been expressing his feelings toward Sony Pictures Classics ever since he learned that his movie would only be released in eight theaters without much of a marketing campaign.

He then fumed over Sony's decision to not send out screeners to the Academy Awards members to have Sam Rockwell considered for Best Actor and the movie for Best Picture. The studio's excuse was that they didn't want the screeners leaking online.

Now Jones is fighting a new battle over revenue earned by "Moon" DVDs. "I'm actually quite upset right now," he wrote on Twitter. "UK DVD sales of 'Moon' a healthy 120,000+. US numbers? Less than half that... due to huge number of 'free' copies given to rental companies. Then they can split rental revenue with those chains, and pay the film makers... you guessed it... nothing."

He continued: "Did you know that sometimes, when a studio wants to screw an indie film, they actually 'give away' the DVD to large rental chains? ... Just learned how we got 'got' by the studio on 'Moon,' and wont be getting any revenue from it. Very angry."

Click here to read our "Moon" review.

Source: TOH


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
duff4444 writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 6:37:14 PM

I bought this movie, it's fantastic!
encoreyourface writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 6:40:08 PM

that would piss me off too. never seen it though. worth watching?
duff4444 writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 6:50:01 PM

OH HELLS YEAH!
Kill-the-director writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 6:58:20 PM

its ok. i found it a bit boring and dragged on a bit.
gobolog writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 7:09:50 PM

Moon is a fantastic film that is a great example of how visual effects can work so much better when they are used in a more subtle way. It also proves that there is still room in movies to still use miniature effects and not just go the easy way and use CGI. Also Sam rockwell is brilliant in it.
Valerie writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 7:10:09 PM

Ah Hollywood politics, never cease to amaze, f*ckers!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 7:34:00 PM

Lets go kill sony execs

First angels and demons, then letting sam raimi go, now screwing over the Moon helmer?

f*ck THAT sh*t
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 7:36:45 PM

That's f*cking hilarious! Hollywood is complaining about how downloading ruins it for the filmmakers, and then they just go and human-centipede the filmmakers themself. f*cking c*ntbags.

Moon was awesome by the way and did deserve some Academy-recognition.
bacci40 writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 7:39:37 PM

didnt duncan ever talk to his daddy about how the suits will try to screw you at every turn?

duncan needed a better atty to go over the contracts
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 7:50:05 PM

well thats what happens in this world
dougieperzo writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 7:50:59 PM

Was absoloute bullsh*t that sony didnt want to pay a tiny bit of money to watermark copys for the oscar nom because in my opinon sam rockwells performance in moon was much more diverse and deserving than jeff bridges carear oscar ( i love the man) but still should be based on single performance alone, hell colin firth in a single man was superior yet again. Anyways if you havnt seen moon I highly recomend it and look foward to duncan jones and rockwells upcoming productions
gobolog writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 8:05:11 PM

I'm not quite how worstpreviews can justify giving moon only 6/10 and then give the fourth kind 8/10. At least moon was honest about being a fiction piece.
gobolog writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 8:05:57 PM

I'm not quite sure how worstpreviews can justify giving moon only 6/10 and then give the fourth kind 8/10. At least moon was honest about being a fiction piece.


Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 8:12:55 PM

@Gobolog: Don't confuse WP with Dustin Putman. It's Putman who writes the reviews and he has an own site. WP just uses his reviews. Don't ask me why.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 8:19:11 PM

yeah that Putman guy's reviews are f*cked up.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 8:29:46 PM

f*ckers! Moon rocks!
gobolog writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 8:36:42 PM

sorry I didn't check. my bad.
lost_addict writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 9:09:07 PM

one of the best movies of the year.much better then 'avatar' or 'the hurt locker'.sam rockwell deserved nom and win for best actor.
Lordchristo writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 9:16:31 PM

Agreed, this movie and Sam Rockwell in particular were the tits. Jesus, Fox, now Sony? What are we gonna have left?
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 9:43:20 PM

Yeah this was ok, I agree will kill-the-director....it dragged on and some parts were very boring. It definitely would not have won best picture
blinkbomber writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 10:22:54 PM

not at all slow and boring in any sense to me, but Mansell's score kept me very intrigued... the guy's a fricking theatrical scoring genius. and Rockwell was awesome.
Faust hologram writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 10:27:36 PM

scfi works best when computers are taken out of the equation
this film had little to no cgi just alot of blood sweat and now obviously tears
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 10:33:46 PM

Moon was utterly fantastic... Sam Rockwell was ROBBED! you should been nominated!! and Kevin Spacey as GERTY was genius. Anyone who hasn't seen this has to give it ago. Best Sci-Fi movie in years... hands down.
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 10:35:32 PM

@Lost
Agreed... Rockwell would school any of the actors from Avatar and Hurt Locker (even though i loved Locker).
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 11:06:22 PM

I'm with all of you on here, Moon was and is fantastic, one of the few films I knw I'll be watching years from now and still enjoy.

Rockwell should have definetly had an Oscar nom at the very least, have'nt seen the movies of all the actors who were nominated but have a feeling that either Firth, Renner or Rockwell should have won.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 11:32:43 PM

Somebody get me a tissue, but be sure to make it a small one. Welcome to Hollywood buddy! Nothing makes much sense in this town anymore and if there's a way for the studio (or better yet the multibillion dollar corporation that owns the studio) to screw you, they will. You aren't going through anything the director of The Road isn't. Look around and get a clue, so next time you sign that contract you'll know what your getting into. Why is anyone blindsided by this bullsh*t anymore?
Dr. Acula writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 11:43:47 PM

It's like these people want everything that's good about movies to CRASH AND f*ckING BURN
Ranger writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 3:55:46 AM

@Kill-the-director --- if you're talking about VinDandy, I agree.
rocketman writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 9:23:57 AM

One of the best movies of last year by a mile,far better than that Avatar rubbish.Sony should relaunch this fantastic film and give it the backing it deserves.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 11:03:42 AM

Sony Classic : Classically treating it's movies like sh*t.
bloodybeefcurtain writes:
on April 4th, 2010 at 1:21:27 AM

Definitly put it up there with Hurt-Locker for best picture. Would have rather seen Sam Rockwell get the Oscar for Best Actor than Jeff Bridges.
masht7 writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 12:25:24 AM

I gave a real try since I've heard good things about, I tried to give a go, I wanted to like I really did but the movie was to confusing and boring. Although Sam Rockwell's performance in it was fantastic.
Johnny Neat writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 11:37:25 AM

Wow, luckily he's Sir David Robert Hayward Jones'(aka David Bowie)kid. Anyhow he should sue. Sony blows anyhow.

Can't wait for his next film though. Skip Sony and get a real studio behind you Duncan.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved