WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Paranormal Activity 2" to Go Head-to-Head with "Saw 7"

Posted: April 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Paranormal Activity 2" to Go Head-to-Head with "Saw 7"Submit Comment
Paramount Pictures has now confirmed that it will release the sequel to "Paranormal Activity" on October 22nd, pitting it against the seventh "Saw" installment.

"Saw 7" has already tried to get in the way of "Paranormal 2" once. Kevin Greutert was circling to direct "Paranormal 2" when Lionsgate exercised an option requiring Greutert to direct the seventh installment in the "Saw" franchise.

"Paranormal 2" didn't get a director until just last week, when Tod "Kip" Williams signed a deal to helm the pic. Williams is new to the horror genre, having directed indies "The Door in the Floor" and "The Adventures of Sebastian Cole."

This is not the first time that two horror films went head-to-head. "Halloween 2" went up against "The Final Destination" on August 28th of last year. "Destination" went on to earn $28 million during the opening weekend, while "Halloween" grossed just $17 million.

Question: Will "Paranormal Activity 2" or "Saw 7" make more money opening weekend?

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 5:04:24 AM

I say saw 7. I'll put whatever lil faith I have in movie goers that they learned from the first paranormal activity that it was all bullsh*t. And gimme sh*t if you want but I think saw 6 may have( and I will say that's a big "may have) given Saw a lil bit of hope. I thought it was surprised at how good it turned out to be.
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 5:42:48 AM

@johnny_boy- idk about that when i tell ppl that it was a waste time they said they peed there pants. so the pussies who loved the 1st will die to see the 2nd. know matter what i will see saw while they watch another borefeast.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 5:56:36 AM

There's no way PA2 can build up the same hype as the first one. I don't consider the first one bad, but I was very indifferent towards it. It'll be a close call between them, probably a photofinish. But in the end, I'll not care.
johnny_boy writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 6:47:22 AM

@ jigsaw.... It was all hype. The commercials played it out to be the scariest film ever. There minds I guess just got the best of them. As fruedian said, they won't be able to build up hype for the second one, I will be watching Saw as you will. Part 6 was great, hope I can say the same about part 7
whoever writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 7:19:49 AM

I think Vin will make more money selling his ass on the street!
freshfromthedeli writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 8:02:50 AM

I love the Saw franchise, but I don't know if it can beat PA 2. The first one made a ton (for a horror movie).
warlord writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 10:59:25 AM

i dint think paranormal activity was scary i like'd it but just not scary
ZeusReit writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 11:15:19 AM

Saw is old and played out. I say PA2 will be able to take it.
jeffw1978 writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 12:08:03 PM

Hmmmmm..which one.....wait a minute, I really don't give a sh*t.
triggax writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 12:54:31 PM

Its so retarded... the first one was just not scary... it was f*cking retarded..

I mean... Give me a million bucks i could give you a hell of a PA2... I would do the exact same thing as the first film except id make it scary...
rabid writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 1:59:06 PM

Good! Something other than Saw at Halloween. I'll never watch another one of those terrible films. I liked the first Paranormal Activity so I'm pretty sure I'll give the sequel a chance.
dorkus1226 writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 2:00:03 PM

i know suspense was a big part of the first paranormal.. but maybe if they added parts that were actually scary to watch? maybe not just a constant waiting game for something to happen?
CCBlev writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 2:30:07 PM

Defiantly PA was a one hit wonder, Ib'm hoping it'll bom bigtime!!
encoreyourface writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 2:51:48 PM

it's a tie, both equally stale. Paranormal has like 5 rip-off's in the making and the Saw series speaks for itself.
TeemSelami writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 2:53:48 PM

they'll both get beat out by Halloween 3.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 3:07:49 PM

^^^

and that says how crappy THESE will be ... the new Halloweens butchured the series ...(yes i know it's made in Zombies image but it's still crap)
CCBlev writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 3:52:45 PM

@Encore
So true, House of 1000 corpses freked me out but after, all he's done is sh*t!!
ian_918 writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 4:42:31 PM

PA2 no doubt.
Lowryder writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 5:24:16 PM

@CCBlev..well the sequel, the devils rejects wasnt that bad..id say after that every movie zombies made has been crap
CCBlev writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 9:00:13 PM

@lowryder
your right, it did have its moments but for me it didnt freak me out like House of 1000 corpses did.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 12:56:21 AM

never saw House of a Thousands Corpses. worth watching for a saturday?
Eben1277 writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 1:07:57 AM

Encore, If you liked Tobe Hooper's Texas Chainsaw Massacre, you'll like House of 1000 Corpses.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 5:02:38 PM

interestingly enough, i've never seen Texas Chainsaw massacre. weird right? i have no idea why ...
That_Genius writes:
on April 2nd, 2010 at 11:24:42 PM

Uh, both Saw and Final Destination aren't horror movies. More thriller if anything. I'm just saying.

But I actually like the Saw movies. I'd still however put my money on Paranormal Activity 2 just cause of the stupid people that actually think its real.
Flav writes:
on April 3rd, 2010 at 11:22:31 PM

What is the point? PA 2 will suck and Saw is redundant and stupid. Studios are money hungry snobs! can't blame them, but they're screwing the fans with this crap.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved