WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Nintendo Considering Another "Super Mario Bros" Movie?

Posted: March 30th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Nintendo Considering Another "Super Mario Bros" Movie?Submit Comment
Nintendo is very protective of their properties since the whole company heavily relies on them to sell the video games. But in an interview with Yahoo!, Nintendo North American President Reggie Fils-Aime revealed that a Hollywood film based on one of their characters has been discussed.

"There have been certain [people] that we have talked in more detail with," he said. "But I think in the end, because we are a content company and are passionate about our franchises, it will be few and far between that actual deals are done to bring our franchises to life in a different way. These are our children."

He added that Nintendo is approached by studios and production companies every day to acquire rights to Mario, Zelda, Metroid, etc... But as you can see by the statement, many things will have to go right for that to happen. Nintendo definitely doesn't want a repeat of their 1993 "Super Mario Bros" movie, which grossed only $20 million on a $48 million budget.

Source: Yahoo!


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rush66 writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 7:32:02 PM

Can't be worst than the first one... or can it be? o_0
johnny_boy writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 7:42:31 PM

Ha ha ha ha ha.... Oh they're serious
encoreyourface writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 7:46:15 PM

f*ck no.period.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 7:48:59 PM

I'm actually impressed the first super Mario bros made $20 mil. Arguably the worst film, or at least game adaption, ever.
CCBlev writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 7:58:33 PM

Uh oh Bob Hoskins just got his 1st boner in years reading this.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 7:59:30 PM

Johnny-never seen it, but i've looked into it and it's unbelievable it could make so much.
BigUnit writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 8:10:08 PM

loved the first one. it just was simply ahead of its time.
wonderBOY writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 8:11:09 PM

now they think of making a mario movie when dennis hopper is on his deathbed
Lowryder writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 8:13:05 PM

nintendo must be hurtin for money if they are seriously considering this
encoreyourface writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 8:14:11 PM

^^^^
agreed
encoreyourface writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 8:21:27 PM

probably becuase all their games are sh*t, and they pretty much down-right REFUSE to update their graphics with the rest of the world. all they're games are Mario related in some way or are another on-rail shooter, and the ones that they have that are multi-platform are they crap version.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 8:21:58 PM

the last they=the
Bill The Butcher Cutting writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 8:24:22 PM

BigUnit are you for real ? your avatars bad enough then you come out with a comment like that i hope you were being sarcastic.
Bluegirl285 writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 8:24:47 PM

Let's give them the benefit of the doubt. It's been 17 years since that $48 million budget disaster, they didn't say anything about it being a sequel, and with today's technology any Mario movie they make now will probably look even way better than that garbage.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 8:28:15 PM

bluegirl=there is just no way to do it plot wise. it's a plumper going into pipes and fighting monsters or whatnot? that's crap.
Tyrkae writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 8:32:38 PM

Ya unless its a cartoon or something like that but why mario its the worst story plumbers take out a giant lizard thing why not do Link or Metriod hell i think Brain Age would make a better movie but im still going to see it
CCBlev writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 8:41:00 PM

I would love to see a Legend of Zelda movie, I was reading a while back that if done right it could be done a Lord of the Rings type scale,
simplytyson writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 8:42:30 PM

a zelda movie would be cool maybe
Blank x2 writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 9:19:26 PM

This COULD be good, but I don't think they can do live action. Something along the lines of the game (like the pic above) is about it. TMNT was good. Sorta like that.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 9:29:49 PM

The only good reason I can think of is that at least they know where they went wrong with the first movie so if they did decide to make one it should be ok, but they do need a good story, I've played Super Mario and not really that much of a fan game is a little boring.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 9:45:30 PM

To all you doubters of this new "nintendo movie franchise" thing "Oh ye of little faith" is what I say.

@EYF, there's a LOT they can do with the simple "plumber jumping through pipes and fighting monsters" thing, hell, you shouldn't even be talking because you haven't even seen how ...imaginative... the movie was in the first place!

A Super Mario Bros remake would be a fantastic idea, like bluegirl said, with the technology of today, super mario could be a fanf*ckingtastic movie if done right (I.E. Princess PEACH, a REAL bowser, none of that dennis hopper in contacts sh*t, a REAL yoshi and a REAL MUSHROOM KINGDOM.)

sh*t, I bet you guys felt the same way about Tron Legacy before the trailer rocked your c*cks!
Lowryder writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 10:43:08 PM

@CC, dude change ur avatar, kinda looks like u copied encore..just sayin
lost_addict writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 11:12:11 PM

"Nintendo definitely doesn't want a repeat of their 1993 "Super Mario Bros" movie, which grossed only $20 million on a $48 million budget."

so just don't f*cking do it.

SuluNakamura writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 11:24:11 PM

http://news.softpedia.com/news/British-Actor-Bob-Hoskins-Super-Mario-Bros-was-a-039-F-in-039-Nightmare-039-61962.shtml
Kurskij writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 12:29:38 AM

- Ow, thank, you, Mario, you save my life and killed the dragon!

- Yes, yes, princess, you ra fria! Na haw bouta kissa?

- What?

- I say haw bouta kissa?

- Why would I do that?

- I've justa saved your life!

- So?

- Listen, I'm not asking you to suck on my d*ck, all I want is a little kissa!

^Make this, you filthy japanese bastards.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0jST_86MWCs
rabid writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 1:26:38 AM

Do it! and Do it right this time!
maybe in 3D too.
Goober3000 writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 1:30:51 AM

One movie I would love to see remade (but i did enjoy the first)
masht7 writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 1:35:00 AM

Was COC the one who was playing both the c*nt-bags?
SaulSilver writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 1:40:57 AM

I heard this was gonna be a gritty hard R rated version about two Plumber brothers from New Jersey who eat a big bag of Mushrooms and go on a violent crime spree robbing local citizens of their coins and jumping on their pet turtles.
OmgArbysAgain writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 1:44:59 AM

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

I would watch this.
OmgArbysAgain writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 1:45:57 AM

Also, I rented the old one with some friends recently, and we put it on thinking we could get nostalgic and that it would be so bad we'd have a great time watching it.

Nope. We all fell asleep.
lokopr writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 2:02:05 AM

tim burton should do it, i think he's the only one who can pull it off
Dark writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 3:04:55 AM

Well this might work if they make an animated one. But it will be impossible to make a decent live action Mario.
Kurskij writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 3:10:25 AM

BTW, Ranger, was it you:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/8595909.stm
Roadblock8 writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 4:09:19 AM

I'll take worst idea ever for 500p, Alex!!!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 4:16:12 AM

I think I must agree with Spooky. I mean, yes, the story is pretty f*cked up, but that really doesn't matter. Make it all about the visuals (=Avatar), and I think this can be a terrific movie for stoner-thursday. And I want to see it live-action. With the technology we have today, it can look pretty sweet.
SofaKing writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 5:22:15 AM

Sheesh! All of you lack vision. This has got Scorsese written all over it. DeNiro and Pacino as Mario and Luigi respectfully. Joe Pesci as Toad and Sharon Stone as the princess... this all sounds very familiar. I don't know how it should end, but they should beat Toad to death with baseball bats.
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 5:53:24 AM

@encore
bro have you seen any movies? hahaha if i had a $1 for everytime you have said "never seen it"... I'd be loaded man lol
manichispanic writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 10:03:00 AM

doesn't this article say they would never make a movie off their products?
bluemeenie writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 10:55:22 AM

"Nintendo Considering Another "Super Mario Bros" Movie?"
Actually the news I read 2 days said- they are NOT. The first one was such a blockbuster/oscar sweeper- why destroy a classic.
bluemeenie writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 11:21:01 AM

They should have a video game cameo in this with Centipede.
I have 6 medically accurate sketches describing how this movie would look...
BigTate writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 12:30:34 PM

Please no... that '93 "film" was a heaping pile of sh*t. Do Metroid, or Zleda first. Those have even the slightest chance of working.
Hell, do DUCK HUNT before trying that crap again!!
bluemeenie writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 12:41:30 PM

I just beat this movie
encoreyourface writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 5:13:09 PM

Ted-lol, it's more of a burden on me because i'm missing out on plenty of good films. i've usually never seen the ones i've never seen becuae they don't interest me a whole lot ... but hten there are the ones i thought looked stupid, but turn out are great ...
johnthemon writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 6:14:08 PM

@Spooky Cupcakes, for once I agree with you
Affliction writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 2:08:35 AM

Maybe they can get M.K Shamalamalonalana to direct this one and forget about the twilight crap.
darkraven28 writes:
on April 1st, 2010 at 11:53:37 AM

If they don't re-enlist Dennis Hopper, then f*ck this movie.
Astrotrain writes:
on April 5th, 2010 at 8:40:52 PM

Oh please not another mario movie,
the first one sucked eggs the next
one gonna be the same

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved