WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Wanted" Director to Take on Frankenstein Next

Posted: March 30th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Wanted" Director to Take on Frankenstein NextSubmit Comment
Production Weekly is reporting that "Wanted" director Timur Bekmambetov is set to next helm a feature film based on Peter Ackroyd's novel "Casebook of Victor Frankenstein." The movie is being written by David Auburn (The Lake House, Proof).

In the book, poet Percy Bysshe Shelley befriends a fellow Oxford student Victor Frankenstein and challenges his atheistic notions of creation and life. These concepts become an obsession for the young scientist.

As Victor begins conducting anatomical experiments to reanimate the dead, he at first uses corpses supplied by the coroner. But these specimens prove imperfect for Victor's purposes. Moving his makeshift laboratory to a deserted pottery factory in Limehouse, he makes contact with the Doomsday men the resurrectionists whose grisly methods put Frankenstein in great danger as he works feverishly to bring life to the terrifying creature that will bear his name for eternity.

Source: Production Weekly


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rabid writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 5:12:55 AM

Hmmm... That's actually a good fit. I can't recall ever seeing a bad Frankenstein film either, so odds are it will be worth watching.
VDODSON writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 5:37:23 AM

The story sounds great, but I dont trust this Russian director. Nightwatch/Daywatch sucked d*ck.
gobolog writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 5:44:28 AM

Spoilers

The ending to DayWatch just made both films completely pointless because it erased everything. Useless film. And this guys directing is too stylised and flashy to bring a classic like frankenstein to life. Guillermero del Toro should direct it.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 6:11:49 AM

I agree with Gobolog that the ending of Daywatch really messed up the movies. However, I like his style and would like to see him doing something that's rely more on a story than the visuals (even though he can use the visuals)
Sonic writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 6:20:58 AM

I thought Guillermero del Toro was directing it and Doug Jones playing Frankenstein(Monster)?
avaela writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 6:24:30 AM

They should do Dean Koontz's Frankenstein instead
BDeck writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 7:02:13 AM

as i have nothing on the subject of this film or the crazy russian director,i give you this

http://gizmodo.com/5505183/thats-not-a-flashlight-this-500-led-one-is-a-flashlight

that was originally a flesh light mold of lindsays vag.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 8:12:17 AM

It wasn't just the ending fellas. Both of those movies were complete overstylized crap. The RX8 on the side of the building might have been the dumbest thing I've ever seen on film. Wanted wasn't much better, but this Frankenstein subject matter seems quite different than any of those films. I'll give the trailer a chance before passing judgement.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 8:20:54 AM

"I'll give the trailer a chance before passing judgement."

I just read this and realized that was what got me to waste my money on Night/Daywatch and Wanted. This director's films always look good in trailers, but always turn out to be a load of sh*t. He's the king of the Bait and Switch! f*ck this con artist and f*ck his Franky movie!
Kurskij writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 8:42:32 AM

@VDODDSON, SAC and Freudian

Agreed. The only good thing about Daywatch/Nightwatch was that they breath some life in russian cinema. Oh, and the fact that they looked great while reportedly costing about $10mil combined.

I've always considered Wanted to be overrated. It was OK, but really, could be much better
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 9:28:29 AM

@Kurskij: 10 mil?! That's f*cking nothing. sh*t, you can have mediocre american indie for that movie (no special effects included). Wanted cost almost 100 mil to make and it doesn't look that better.
lost_addict writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 9:32:12 AM

epic fail
SACdaddy writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 9:33:06 AM

Yeah, aren't those movies the highest grossing Russian films ever made? That is pretty impressive on a $10 mill budget.
Kurskij writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 10:26:19 AM

@Sac and Freudian

Yep, the reported budget were among the lines of 4,7 - 5,3$mil per movie. The first one cost no more than that for sure, not sure about the second one. Initially they were meant to be a tv mini-series, but someone saw a potential. I think the second one cost about 7mil. Still a fraction of what Hollywood movie looking like that would cost.

No, they're not now. The highest grossing russian movie today is "Irony of Fate 2" (Ironiya Sudby 2), a sequel to old soviet cult comedy hit, with a local gross of 49,5$ mil. And the highest grossing of 'em all is (surprise!) Avatar with 118$mil (that was a shock for me - those figures seemed unreachable. BTW, it raped Bekmambetov's producer's pet project "Black Lightning" about a flying f*cking car at the box-office).

If you want an interesting russian "blockbuster" movie - check out "Turkish Gambit"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NGu-_7PnBgA

or 9th company (bullsh*t from the history point, but entertaining and well-made)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FVB9Xz2DyME
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 11:02:32 AM

COCs Dead mom will be playing the spare parts for frankenstein's monster!
nope.com writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 11:16:01 AM

I'm proud of people on this page actually acknowledging it as Frankenstein's monster.. Makes me balk at idiots who think Frankenstein is the actual f*cking creature.
F*cks sake, there are morons who never picked up a book or saw a film, yet just remembered the bolt on boots Boris Karloff wore.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 11:36:28 AM

The 9th Company looked ok, but the american voice-over pissed me off
Kurskij writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 1:59:52 PM

I didn't watch the clip, it was pretty sh*tty, sorry

Here's a music video with lots of nice shots (if you don't mind cheesy music) and original russian trailer

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IgCnjrOPSNs&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b28nDfyvdJw

encoreyourface writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 4:53:12 PM

I'm up for a Frankenstein film,sounds good.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 4:56:49 PM

@Kurskij: I don't know man, Rambo would eat the 9th Company for breakfast. In fact I think that's what Rambo 3 was all about :)
Kurskij writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 12:09:03 AM

Lol

Nah, it's an OK movie actually. But it's meant to be and look more like Black Hawk Down meets Full Metal Jacket.

Rambo III was awesome on the other hand. To shoot down an evil russian helicopter with an arrow - the epitome of badassery.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 12:48:44 AM

@Kurskij: Lol! I think that was a little "evil" Russian copter Rambo took out with the explosive arrow. No big deal, child's play for the average 80s action hero. He had to ram a tank up Colonel Zaysen's Russian ass to take out the bigboy copter :-)
Kurskij writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 3:07:13 AM

^First thing I do when I come home today is rewatch Rambo III, thank Zues I bought Rambo DVD Collection.
GeneticalAnomaly writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 11:55:45 AM

avaela: Yes, that would be awesome. Modernized.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved