WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Developing New "Godzilla" Movie

Posted: March 29th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Developing New "Godzilla" MovieSubmit Comment
Legendary Pictures has announced that it will start developing a new "Godzilla" movie and has already acquired the rights to the character. The company is teaming with Warner Bros to have the film ready by 2012 and is now in search of a director.

Godzilla has been on screen since 1954. And back in 1998 director Roland Emmerich (Independence Day) turned the character into a summer blockbuster that grossed $379 million worldwide.

"Godzilla is one of the world's most powerful pop culture icons, and we at Legendary are thrilled to be able to create a modern epic based on this long-loved Toho franchise," said Legendary CEO Thomas Tull. "Our plans are to produce the Godzilla that we, as fans, would want to see. We intend to do justice to those essential elements that have allowed this character to remain as pop-culturally relevant for as long as it has."

Source: Legendary Pictures


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
D.O.C. writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 10:24:17 PM

Get Peter Jackson.
lost_addict writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 10:26:33 PM

this is kind of pointless after 'cloverfield'
AshTrey writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 10:30:44 PM

WHY GOD WHY?!?!
Lowryder writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 10:53:53 PM

this movie will be like scream 4, old news, not scary, and gay
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 11:02:01 PM

@lost- you said it buddie
otis writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 11:10:32 PM

It's only a matter of time before they reboot this reboot as well.
This, my friends, is what sh*t looks like 80 stories high.
rabid writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 11:20:32 PM

Godzilla getss reinvented every decade. I don't see why there should be any exception now.
matternm58 writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 12:18:40 AM

All i can say is NO
Ranger writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 12:21:52 AM

Nothing is better than: MEGA PIRANHA!!!
Kenny writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 12:38:00 AM

$10 says it'll be in 3D.
Godzilla in 3D, it practically sells itself.
Ranger writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 12:41:55 AM

This had better be in 3D!
DetroitFanRick writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 12:42:28 AM

Long time fan of the big G. If they stick to the Toho design and canon (be that as it may), I will definitely give this a look.

I just hope it's not like that pile of sh*t 'Cloverfield' or the Matthew Broderick version. I want the big, nasty, mean-tempered lizard with nuclear breath.

If we can get that product, then by all means make it.

Go ahead and rip me apart, guys. I know you wanna. That's ok. Godzilla is one of my guilty pleasures.
Ranger writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 1:06:14 AM

@Detroit - rip you apart?

I think most are a fan of Godzilla my good man.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 1:21:15 AM

Holy sh*t! The Godzilla fan hibernating inside just awakened a bit. Kinda burned out with the last movies... they weren't terrible but they really weren't great either. Final wars was ridiculous.

I always knew if a visionary director got a hold of Godzilla, it could be awesome. Crossing my fingers
trailertrash writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 2:47:41 AM

I thought the 1st hour of the roland emmerich godzilla was ok ... i would be happy to see another movie made.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 3:00:24 AM

eh, i'm thinking the same thing about nightmare on elm street remake...entertaining, but not better than the remake...matthew broderick was good enough as it was....besides, i'm still trying to figure out why it takes somebody in hollywood to say they're remaking it to make people like us appreciate the older ones better...must be a wake up call or something
telur writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 3:46:18 AM

let the japanesse make they own character
takai writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 6:05:48 AM

Not going to lie, I'll watch any and every Godzilla movie ever.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 8:52:39 AM

Godzilla is outdated. Mega Piranha would kick his reptilian, fire-breathing ass!
SACdaddy writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 8:53:54 AM

This reboot wont be as good as Cloverfield so why try?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 9:30:50 AM

Well, if Jean Reno show up, it's ok
gotsghostrider writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 10:42:45 AM

okay they called the last one "Final Wars". Why? Because it was supposed to end the series!
Derp88 writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 10:58:12 AM

Godzilla is a queer
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 11:07:21 AM

Meh...If they keep it TOHO original then maybe.

Blank x2 writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 11:15:32 AM

"Roland Emmerich turned the character into a summer blockbuster"

Really? REALLY?

I am one of the only people I know that have loved all of these movies since I was a kid. I love every movie ToHo ever put out with Godzilla. Roland Emmerich ruined Godzilla. Period. Even Michael Bay with Transformers had to look at Emmerich's Godzilla and say "Wow. THAT is a terrible adaptation."

PLEASE do not try to "re-imagine" the character. Last time that happened, we got what is in my opinion one of the WORST movies EVER made. I f*cking hate that movie.
Blank x2 writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 11:18:22 AM

Emmerich's American Zilla (Sorry. No "God" title for that thing) was horrible from beginning to end. Thy not only ruined the character, they ruined the REASONING behind his being there in the first place. Godzilla is a metaphor for what we did to Japan in WWII. What does Emmerich do? Blame it on the French. GOD, that movie is AWFUL.

And Detroit, I'm with you and Ranger. These movies will always have a place with me, but only the REAL ones done by ToHo.
Blank x2 writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 11:22:09 AM

@SAC

I see your point about it not being better than Cloverfield, and judging my American standards for these movies, you're probably right.

Just remember that without Godzilla, there would NEVER have been a Cloverfield. Hell, half of America thought Cloverfield was a new Godzilla movie, which was a lot of it's hype.

Godzilla and Bond are the only characters I can think of with about 25 films each. And both to me should make about 25 more.
darthraige writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 11:24:20 AM

I'm tired of these f*cking remakes, after remakes, after remakes. Come up with something new, c*nts.
billofill writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 11:25:55 AM

Can Hollywood learn from their Mistake? And will it be a Vs movie or a Alone movie the more i want to f*cking know.
Ranger writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 12:54:11 PM

@Blank - well said.

Toho or no go!

'Americanizing' Godzilla didn't work. I too will watch any Godzilla movie (even though those 4" high twins were both creepy and HAWT!).
encoreyourface writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 4:52:10 PM

i liked the last one they did, i really wouldn't mind a sequel but okay i guess reboot the reboot ...
encoreyourface writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 5:07:56 PM

darthraige-we all think the same ...
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 5:16:55 PM

@ Takai

Seconded!
Blank x2 writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 9:21:10 PM

@ Ranger

PLEASE tell me you enjoyed the real deal bitch slapping Emmerich's mistake in "Final Wars".

If not, it it worth checking out. Toho knows EXACTLY how we feel, and that clip proves it.
DetroitFanRick writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 10:22:58 PM

"Was that a Godzilla?"

"The Americans think it was."
Ranger writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 12:33:59 AM

@Blank - nope, haven't seen it... yet.
Sinestro writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 1:42:06 PM

It could work. Movies like The Host and Cloverfield made the big monster formula work. I don't see why they can't do the same with the most prolific big monster of all time.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved