WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Battlefield Earth" Writer Apologizes for Movie

Posted: March 28th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Battlefield Earth" Writer Apologizes for MovieSubmit Comment
John Travolta's "Battlefield Earth" movie is considered one of the worst films of all time, and just recently received the Razzie award for the Worst Movie of the Decade. Now, writer JD Shapiro opens up about the movie and has only one thing to say to all those fans who hated it... He's sorry.

Below are some excerpts from Shapiro's apology. Click here to read the entire hilarious article, which mostly makes fun of Scientology. For those who don't know, "Battlefield Earth" is based on a book by L. Ron Hubbard (founder of the religion).

"Let me start by apologizing to anyone who went to see 'Battlefield Earth.' It wasn't as I intended promise. No one sets out to make a train wreck. Actually, comparing it to a train wreck isn't really fair to train wrecks, because people actually want to watch those.

I researched Scientology before signing on to the movie, to make sure I wasn't making anything that would indoctrinate people. ... At dinner, John [Travolta] said again how much he loved the script and called it 'The Schindler's List of sci-fi.'

My script was very, VERY different than what ended up on the screen. My screenplay was darker, grittier and had a very compelling story with rich characters. What my screenplay didn't have was slow motion at every turn, Dutch tilts, campy dialogue, aliens in KISS boots, and everyone wearing Bob Marley wigs.

I refused to incorporate the notes into the script and was fired.

I HAVE no idea why they wanted to go in this new direction, but here's what I heard from someone in John's camp: Out of all the books L. Ron wrote, this was the one the church founder wanted most to become a movie. He wrote extensive notes on how the movie should be made.

The only time I saw the movie was at the premiere, which was one too many times. Once it was decided that I would share a writing credit, I wanted to use my pseudonym, Sir Nick Knack. I was told I couldn't do that, because if a writer gets paid over a certain amount of money, they can't. I could have taken my name completely off the movie, but my agent and attorney talked me out of it. There was a lot of money at stake.

Now, looking back at the movie with fresh eyes, I can't help but be strangely proud of it. Because out of all the sucky movies, mine is the suckiest.
"

Source: NY Post, Sci-Fi Wire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 7:17:20 PM

i've never seen it, and now i'm really glad. i'm glad people can admit when they fail at projects.

heheh ... man this guy REALLY hates his own film ... he actually wanted to take his name off the movie!lol!
Ari Gold writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 7:32:16 PM

I actually want to see this now..
HannibalK1ng writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 7:34:10 PM

i remember seeing at the movies when i was 10-12 and seem to remeber enjoying it alot. I think i liked it cause of John Travolta being awesome and that sniper from saving private ryan in it, how could it not be a good action movie.

I might have to rewatch too see how bad it is, and see if i can notice anything scientology about it.
BigUnit writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 7:37:15 PM

i actually didnt mind this movie lol then agian i was like 12 when i saw it
BigUnit writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 7:38:16 PM

@HannibalK1ng - totally feel the same way lol
Lowryder writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 7:40:36 PM

Battlefield Earth 2 - Going straight to dvd, september 2011, starring lindsay lohan, vindandy, and C.O.C
warriors187 writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 7:43:34 PM

I remember even hating this movie as a kid. I was only about 10 when it came out.
A couple months ago I went to my living room and saw my mom watching this movie lol
I was like "Battlefield Earth? Seriously?"
Yes we own it on DVD, but I remember getting it for like 2 bucks.
Sometimes its fun to watch a sh*tty movie once in a while lol
CCBlev writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 8:20:26 PM

I've only seen bits and pieces of it, too afraid to watch the whole thing. Either fear of goin to hell or being converted to Scientology your pick!!
rzmsauce writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 8:30:20 PM

Wow "The Schindler's list of sci-fi" Wow!

Vinnie Barbarino what have they done to you?
encoreyourface writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 8:35:53 PM

CC-lol!
jigsaw23 writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 9:13:33 PM

well i only saw bits and pieces, but what i saw wasnt really boring years ago, but i thing the king of sh*tty movies should be PARANORMAL ACTIVITY which was the worst I'd have EVER seen, wasted like 20 dollars for the dam dvd which ppl were so scared of.
lost_addict writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 9:26:17 PM

never understood the hate...it's not a good movie but quite watchable sci-fi...
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 9:37:53 PM

What lost addict said.

I didn't think it sucked that badly and I remember Forest Whitker being in it.
autiger10 writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 10:40:25 PM

apology accepted. shame i can't the minutes back
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 11:24:49 PM

Saw this movie in the Cinema when it came out and right after it finished I was like "I've got to buy this when it comes out on DVD, it was so bad it was good", so yep I bought it on DVD and every now and again I'll put it on and watch it, it's not that bad really I just think that at the time John was getting a little too big for his boots and well you knoe the rest....
tcu21 writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 11:25:10 PM

Leave it to Scientologists to change a movie to show their stupid ass views.
Can't blame him for going along with it, dude's gotta get paid haha.
Ranger writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 12:20:16 AM

@Dave, warriors (and others) - exactly. As you've seen my posts on here... I'm a HUGE supporters of the 'so bad they're good movies!' - this one, Starship Troopers... have yet to see Mega Shark (but will just buy the DVD on my next Amazon buying run). Years ago when VHS were still around, I picked out 10 martial arts movies from the bargain bin ($3. each) - we chewed through those on movie nights with friends (ie: a lot like: 'Mystery Science 3000' time).

Bad is good.

And Rape is better than murder (most of the time).
Ranger writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 12:24:18 AM

I mean on Mega Shark... it brings a commercial jet down and bites the Golden Gate Bridge. How is that not genius?!
Ranger writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 12:26:27 AM

Has anyone seen 'MegaForce'? That's just bad-bad (flying motorcycles like in the 2nd TV series of BattleStar Galactica bad). Maybe if I watched it this many years later, it may graduate (in my eyes) up to bad-good.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0084316/
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 12:43:59 AM

@ranger cheers man, I knw sometimes the bad ones are the good ones, in a weird way I like Gigli becuase it was so bad but then some movies are so bad you just can't watch again and the only one that springs to mind right now is the Lohan movie "I Know Who Killed Me" that was just a cluster f*ck of a movie.

Have'nt seen MegaShark have to check it out, with Mega Force I have heard of it but don't think I've seen it.

Quite strange though innit, Battlefield Earth is a bad movie but I like it and bought it whilst Avatat is a good movie visually bad story and I will not buy it plus I'm also forgetting it lol.
p3rfect writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 12:48:05 AM

LOL, the writer is the MAN!

The film did suck.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 12:57:54 AM

i'm not a big fan of 'so bad they're good' film as i've stated before, but when the acting gets so bad and plot so corny, i just laugh my ass off and have a good time. however i usually don't rent those kind of films on purpose, either i think it will be good or i see on TV.

Dark Waters is a prime example ... i laughed my ass off on that ...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 1:13:41 AM

I haven't seen this one yet, I have wanted for a time, but in the end I usually pick something else.

I'm glad he apologizes, but I want to read his original script before I can take his apology seriously.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 1:20:27 AM

i remember watching a lot of it a few years back, didn't like it a whole lot.

Freudian-watch it online sometime or if you get a coupon or something for a free rental when you absolutely can't think of anything else to watch.
Ranger writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 1:25:58 AM

@Dave - you'd remember MegaForce. It would be the movie you groaned all the way through!

I mean... a better-than Delta Force team with flying motorcycles that kiss their thumbs to one-another, dressed up in (obvious) BeeGee, glittering jump suits with headbands (the one thing missing was the 'Let's get Physical!' soundtrack by Newton-John (Jesus... it's been so long... maybe it's in there?!).

As for Avatar... I may even go see it again when (as I'm sure they will) re-release it in IMAX 3D, as I won't be buying the DVD either. From the 2D shots I've seen on TV... it's STRICTLY a 3D experience (avec IMAX).
Ranger writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 1:41:16 AM

For clarity - I'm a BeeGee fan (most are... they just won't admit it). I was just slamming the era of clothing choices.
Ranger writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 1:41:33 AM

Gee = Gees.... Geez!
nope.com writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 1:59:47 AM

At least the man owns up to his colossal failure of a film.

Wasn't really his fault as much as the batsh*t insane followers of Scientology
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 2:12:11 AM

@ranger- guess you'd be right about Mega Force, going to have to track that one down take a look.

I'm cool with The BeeGees myself got some good tunes and have manged to stay popular for over 40 years so that's got to be something.

Did'nt see Avatar in IMAX all sold out while I was in London, shame really would like to see it in IMAX but just don't think I could sit through it again, with the DVD release, if they could just bring out a specail DVD that just has all the extras on it I'd buy that.
Ranger writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 3:06:02 AM

Yep, and Cameron the marketing genius will make sure that full release, full featured DVD is a ways down the road.

If you find MegaForce... do let me know what you thought of it.
Kurskij writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 3:58:05 AM

In no way it's a good movie, but the worst? No, sir.

I've rewatched parts of it recently. Dialogue is campy, costumes are hilarious. But all the actors (except fo Barry Pepper who looked like he wasn't sure what he's doing) seemed to have fun acting their roles, visual effects were decent, action was well-staged.

It's 5/10 for entertainment value easily.
SeWerin writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 6:41:52 AM

After ten years, it was about damn time...
The Real Joker writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 8:08:59 AM

But.. I liked this movie. o_o
warlord writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 9:01:22 AM

now if we can get jim cameron to apologize for avatar
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 10:57:42 AM

I'm a big supporter of the "So bad it's good" move but this one supercedes it and is so bad it's bad. I mean this film even fails at being a so bad it's good movie.
It's like an NBA team in the toilet at the end of the year and they start winning their last games to mess up their lottery chances.
They even suck at losing.
Now I'm not going to come on here and randomly bash something without giving my justification like some of these twits do. (you know who you are)
My main gripe is that this movie tries to take itself seriously and tries to make a message through this movie. Now a movie like Mega Shark, they know from the start it's crap, so they know not to expect the little gold guy at the end and they go balls out into doing whatever it is they want.
films like Battlefield annoy the hell out of me because they think they are something more than they're not and get pissy defensive when anyone says anything to the contrary.

I'm glad this clown stepped up and apologized for the movie but that's as consoling as the convicted child rapist (COC, Vin, etc) apologizing in court after being convicted.
Can't unspill the milk loser.
rabid writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 12:38:32 PM

I saw it. It's not as bad as everyone makes it out to be. It's just painfully cheesy.
And most people slammed it hard because well, we all despise scientologists.
Ranger writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 1:01:07 PM

@Bunny - just starting to read your post, I was pretty much going to add:

"My main gripe is that this movie tries to take itself seriously and tries to make a message through this movie. Now a movie like Mega Shark, they know from the start it's crap, so they know not to expect the little gold guy at the end and they go balls out into doing whatever it is they want."

But you beat me too it.
Ranger writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 1:01:18 PM

too = to.
cosmonaut3 writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 2:28:42 PM

may not be the worst movie ever, but it does have my all time favorite worst bit of dialogue ever.
man 1-"we have to blow up their home planet."
man 2-"we'll need more supplies for that."
classic. i would totally take credit for that if i had written it.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 3:50:52 PM

@Ranger, scooped ya!! lol
And to read Travolta's line that this movie is the Schidler's list of sci fi nearly made me hurl. But the fact that it validates my point helped me chew it back!!

secondbest writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 5:32:08 PM

Ten years too late but oh well.
thedotsays writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 6:29:32 PM

Apology NOT accepted. Now die.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 8:10:55 PM

lol!
Ranger writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 12:08:10 AM

TheDot - LOL! That was going to be my post orginally... word-for-word!
billofill writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 11:30:47 AM

I wont accept an appology till reincarnated L Ron Hubbard givees it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved