WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"How to Train Your Dragon" Dominates Box Office

Posted: March 28th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"How to Train Your Dragon" Dominates Box OfficeSubmit Comment
Thanks to a boost received from 3D, DreamWorks' $165 million animated film "How to Train Your Dragon" dominated the box office by opening with $43 million, pushing last week's winner "Alice in Wonderland" to second place. "Alice" added another $17.3 million to its domestic total of $293 million and worldwide total of $656 million.

The R-rated comedy "Hot Tub Time Machine," starring John Cusack, debuted modestly as it grossed $13.7 million during its opening weekend. The film cost $36 million to make and took third place.

"Chloe" thriller, starring Liam Neeson and Amanda Seyfriend, also make its debut, but in only 350 theaters. The film underperformed by taking in only $2,863 per theater and will likely not expand or make back its $15 million budget.

Meanwhile, after a fifteen week run, "Avatar" fell out of the top ten for the first time. The 3D movie took eleventh place by adding another $2 million to its domestic total of $740 million and worldwide total of $2.68 billion.

Click here to read our "How to Train Your Dragon" review.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 7:16:42 PM

ah u wounderful bitch!!!
encoreyourface writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 7:19:19 PM

i saw Alice in Wonderland yesterday, it was pretty good.

and "How to Train Your Dragon"? yeah that looks really f*cking gay and they're is no way i'd see it in theaters or rent it on DVD.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 7:36:20 PM

How To Train Your Dragon was f*cking phenomenal.
vaodsi writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 9:28:52 PM

How to train your dragon has a 97% fresh rating on rottentomatoes! That's PIXAR level. I'm totally taking my little sisters to it.
lost_addict writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 9:47:55 PM

'Hot tub time machine' looked really funny from the trailer,I wonder why it semi-floped...
OmgArbysAgain writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 10:31:30 PM

You thought How to Train Your Dragon looked gay but you enjoyed Alice in Wonderland? Hahahaha, good one.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 11:29:34 PM

I've seen the trailer to this, I've read about it and well looks sh*t, sounds sh*t so guess what yep I'm not seeing it.
Dark writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 11:56:55 PM

Well this is from sh*tWorks Animation right?
KirkLazerus writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 12:03:47 AM

Hot Tub Time Machine was freaking hilarious, craig Robinson and Rob Corddry were great especially Corddry
Ranger writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 12:09:45 AM

@lost - my guess for 'Hot Tub' is it'll do huge in DVD rental.

As for 'How to train your Dragon' - haven't seen it (yet)... best thing I can already see for this movie... Craig Ferguson's voice! The man has a sharp wit... I wonder if they let him go a bit 'Robin Williams' all over this film (great if they did)?

Ranger writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 12:14:06 AM

Geez... I sure as hell hope my last post wasn't too negative (or positive) for john the douche-bag.
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 12:30:51 AM

Really the Dragon movie was that "good"? Rather See Hot Tub Time Machine tbh but ehhh I'll wait to hear what peoplel say about the dragon movie...
p3rfect writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 12:47:28 AM

Looks like everyone is going to start making 3d Movies now.

encoreyourface writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 12:51:44 AM

oh look, it's p3rf*ck. coincidence that after @johngult leaves this twat comes on?
p3rfect writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 12:59:11 AM

Look who it is, the child who makes insults. It's sad, I pity you.


encoreyourface writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 1:01:57 AM

this from the 'guy' who has the screen name p3rfect for God's sake ..
p3rfect writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 1:05:22 AM

encoreyourface@ "this from the 'guy' who has the screen name p3rfect for God's sake .."

That is the worst insult I have ever heard.

I shall play the mature and intlligent one and move own like a real ADULT.


It seems since Avatar the majority of films is going for 3d. Which is a good plan, I'm not to big on 3D. Video games needs to start doing something like this, the prices for games is going to rise.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 1:16:26 AM

(if that's the way you wanna play it, fine i can go with that for a while)

i agree video games need a new boost, the graphics are so well made now they can hardly get better,3-D will be hard to do on a home entertainment system but not impossible. and if the prices rise(which of course they would after doing something like this) then games could be up $20, perhaps more. i really don't wanna spend $100 for a game ...
p3rfect writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 1:20:17 AM

Indeed, next gen video games now a-days cost in the tens of millions to make. The prices for games is going to go up betweeen 10-20$. It is going to be quite high.

It's funny, because Nintendo doesn't seem to be effected at all. It's like they are a different video game industry. They could freaking make Mario sh*t world and it will sell like Hot-cakes.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 1:23:07 AM

"It's funny, because Nintendo doesn't seem to be effected at all. It's like they are a different video game industry. They could freaking make Mario sh*t world and it will sell like Hot-cakes."

lol,very true. they don't seem to care how stupid or out-dated their games are, but it seems to work for them. i never liked Mario a whole lot, or most of Nintendo games for that matter.
Ranger writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 1:39:54 AM

@encore & p3rfect - nice to see you guys settle things so quickly.

Not a shot p3rfect - but check your spelling on 'intlligent' - (I couldn't leave that on the table... you just know that).

Good you and encore took the high road.

Ranger writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 1:42:21 AM

...even if you're john.
TheHundreds writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 2:04:30 AM

i saw alice today actually and thought it was good also..dont think ill be seeing time machine in theatres
encoreyourface writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 2:33:01 AM

Ranger-yeah i guess P3rfect is an okay guy, past is past and if we can be adults like he said i suppose i'm okay with that.

thehundreds-i agree i thought it was good to.
telur writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 2:58:05 AM

is funny someone said How to Train Your Dragon is gay movie or a sh*t but that person not even seen it
trailertrash writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 3:21:36 AM

Has anyone seen repo man that opens here in a couple of weeks , it seems to have died a death i thought it looked ok ...
Bigcheese writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 7:35:37 AM

f*cking Alice in Wonderland making a sh*t load of money. Thats a sh*t load of dissapointed people. It was the first movie my Little Brother admitted he thought it was sh*t.
Salvador writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 12:21:44 PM

"How To Train Your Dragon" was GREAT!

joshmihaly writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 3:36:46 PM

How to Train Your Dragon was surprisingly good. I wanted to see She's Out of Your League, but I was with my little brother and wound up having to see this.
mcrain88 writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 7:34:20 PM

I just got back from taking my niece to see it, I actually enjoyed it, one of the better animated films I think.
johnthemon writes:
on March 31st, 2010 at 5:57:50 PM

really want to see this

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved