WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"24" Not Returning for Ninth Season

Posted: March 27th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"24" Not Returning for Ninth SeasonSubmit Comment
20th Century Fox has been considering cancelling "24" TV series after its eighth season due to declining ratings and rising costs. Luckily, NBC has been working with the network to pick up the show for several more seasons.

Now comes word from "24" director/producer Jon Cassar that the series will not be renewed anywhere. "News from the 24 set, the crew has been told that 24 has come to an end," he wrote on his Twitter account. "There will be no season 9. Its been a great run, thanx all for watching."

This bad news for the die-hard "24" fans, but at least the writers can now get to work on the long-gestating "24" movie. We've been hearing excuses that the series and the movie cannot be done at the same time. Now, there aren't any more excuses, unless the of course you consider the fact that the series has lost a large portion of its viewers and it might not be a good idea to invest millions into a movie that not many will see. Stay tuned.

Click here to read more about "24: The Movie."

Source: Twitter


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
c-prime writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 4:48:51 AM

Ah, dreams do come true.
c-prime writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 4:51:07 AM

I'm, of course, referring to the cancellation. Hollywood doesn't need to make a "24" movie, it's already been done. It came out two weeks ago and is called "Green Zone".
johnny_boy writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 5:08:32 AM

What a shame. I'll bet crap like the kardashians and jersey shore is still on the air. Guess it had a good run, just don't make a movie, it'll only insult the show even more
WV-Films writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 5:59:59 AM

Well whatever they do, they need to bookend the series. They need to have an actual ending. And not just jack crying in a car.
lost_addict writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 6:36:03 AM

They could have dragged it for another season or two but season 8 is without a doubt the worst one so far(together with 6)-weak new characters(dana,ortiz,hastings...)boring plot and lack of menacing villain alike habib marwan or charles logan...smart decision.
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 7:33:03 AM

bet they kill jack, they will try to put out the last episode as if its a drama -and it will just suck
SACdaddy writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 9:23:11 AM

"This bad news for the die-hard "24" fans, but at least the writers can now get to work on the long-gestating "24" movie."

Bad news? Its great news for the fans! The show is getting tedious with its plot and politics, but that doesn't mean they wouldn't work in another environment. They could make 24 films for the next 10 years. Kiefer can be America's next Jack Ryan, and laugh all the way to the bank. With a dying Bourne series and an increasingly fustrating Bond, this is the perfect time to unleash Jack Bauer on a terrorist filled world. Send him to Europe, Russia, South America, etc. and use him as a one man strategic missle on a mission putting boot to ass for good old America. There's an entire world full of terrorists, narco states, and crazy dictactors for Jack to play with. Don't let America down Hollywood!!!

BTW, I've been pretty critical of this season. The acting has been bad, the plot is stale, and there simply hasn't been enough Jack. That is until up to a couple of weeks ago when Jack decided enough was enough. He captured the show once again by talking sh*t to some wannabe teenage suicide bomber shortly before the kid's guts get blown all over a hospital room. Jack was trying to stop a dirty bomb from going off in NY and this kid knew the people behind the attack. When the kid doesn't cooperate, Jack brings his mother down and threatens to drive her to the scene of the dirty bomb explosion to purposeley expose her to the deadly toxins! Of course the kid cracks but is still remotely detonated after he rolls on a key figure behind the attack. I have to give it up to the show, the bloody mess that left of the kid looks more like a Jackson Polluck painting than human remains. They could only get away with that on 24! I'm hooked again :-)
SACdaddy writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 9:25:34 AM

@C-prime: Green Zone is nothing like 24. That movie was worthless.

Maaaatttt Daamooon!
tcu21 writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 10:15:52 AM

Will still go down as one of the best TV series of all time for all of its innovations and, of course, Jack Bauer. Good run "24" and I will remain watching through the rest of the season.
SaulSilver writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 11:48:05 AM

It was time. I don't think the movie is a great idea but I will still be there opening weekend for the simple reason that we will probably get to see Jack Bauer do some more hardcore things than he can get away with on network TV.
Lowryder writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 11:58:35 AM

if the show was getting bad ratings..then why the hell are they moving forward with a movie??
c-prime writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 1:19:34 PM

@ SACdaddy: I dunno, man. "Green Zone" reminded me an awful lot of "24" - it's got Matt Damon's ludicrous renegade antics, frenetic camerawork, dubious superiors, and some really lousy political dialogue in a Middle Eastern setting. You are right, though - it is a pretty mediocre flick. I, personally, was expecting it to be the unofficial new Jason Bourne movie, but the stuff they try to get away with in "Green Zone" wasn't orchestrated half of smoothly as it was in those films (which had the benefit of being solidly written to boot). The whole "I want answers" theme really wears thin, too. Honestly, I kept waiting for Greg Kinnear or Brendan Gleeson to slip up and call Damon "Jack Bauer." Ha ha.

Plus, as I've said on here in the past, I'm not the biggest Kiefer fan.
Ranger writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 1:27:15 PM

@Lowryder - better question is - why do they make 'Sex in the City' movies? Same reason I suspect... to feed the loyal fans. And the actor's get paid more for less work.

I remember something about Sutherland's contract for this show years ago. It was like $54mil. (or close) and I forgot for how many years. Keifer is set-up nicely.

Do the odd movie and nail the ladies.
tcu21 writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 2:03:26 PM

The ratings aren't even significantly down (12/11 million to 10/9 million) but that's with every show nowadays for the simple fact that there are more things on TV and they don't do a good job of counting what's recorded and watched on the internet.
The "24" movie will do well because it was the potential to draw in people who have never seen the show before and they will advertise as such.
Plus this show has wayyyyy more fans that Sex and the City so imagine the pull it will bring in the box office. Not only that but it will potentially draw back fans who stopped watching after season 6 (and missed a great season 7) but then unfortunately we're back here at season 8.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 3:41:52 PM

good, this series turned to crap anyways ... besides eight seasons is a good run, Seinfeld only ran for nine.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 4:02:40 PM

it's funny how it's eight seasons ... nut only amounts to eight days.
WV-Films writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 4:02:47 PM

I wonder if he'll say "Damn it!" in the movie, or if he'll go all out with "You mutherf*cking c*ck sucking c*nt licking piece of sh*t whore!!!!" .......and then it cuts to the clock.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 4:03:06 PM

nut=but
encoreyourface writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 4:04:04 PM

WV-lol!
darthraige writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 5:13:46 PM

Make the f*cking movie. Make it f*cking Rated-R. I want Jack to finally say the "f*ck" word. I want him to torture the f*ck out of terrorist. Everything they couldn't do on TV, they sure as sh*t can do in a movie. Let's f*cking goooooooo!
encoreyourface writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 5:49:48 PM

^^^^

agreed
trailertrash writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 6:48:59 PM

Shame it's over but the last couple of seasons have been poor by 24 standards, really not sure a movie is the way to go , maybe best to leave well alone....
trailertrash writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 6:48:59 PM

Shame it's over but the last couple of seasons have been poor by 24 standards, really not sure a movie is the way to go , maybe best to leave well alone....
trailertrash writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 6:50:02 PM

double post sorry....
Johnnyb writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 7:58:24 PM

I stop seeing 24 after turns out that Jack Bauerīs father was a bad guy in the series. Way to go, no more conspiracies or terrorist plots... Focus something else like sci fi or horror genres. But after all, to all the fans..... donīt take it as a bad idea, it was about time for the cancellation!!!! Take it as show who deserves to die with respect and honor in its moment.
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 8:25:57 PM

I am a huge fan of this show but man...this season blows major balls, Jack Bauer just isnt the badass like he used to be. it was much better when he was f*cked up on heroin and still kicking ass. Adding Bubba to run CTU was a major mistake as well as adding the total badass Freddy Prince Jr.(Im joking fyi)

If they do the movie I will probably see it just cause Im a fan of the show but it will probably not do it any justice, and the fact that they kind of already made a movie with the Sentinal a couple years ago kind of hurts its chances to so we'll have to see what direction they take it
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 8:28:58 PM

and green zone has absolutely no resemblence to "24"
trailertrash writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 9:00:11 PM

@jerry garcia87

with you there, 24 was better when jack was on the heroin and he just wanted to f*ck people up no questions asked !!!
SugaTits writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 1:14:05 AM

This is great news.

Season 8 has been a shadow of what the show used to be (Season 3, anyone?), filled to the brim with the kind of boredom one finds coiling a garden hose.

I stopped watching after the fifth episode. The terrible Russian accents and the idiotically whitewashed ideology of both lead governments made me sick.

And please no films. It's time for all involved to jump on other horses. The movies'll never the vitality of the early seasons, and won't be much more than standard action flicks, unless they can combine forces with Paul Greengrass and J.J. Abrams to create a series of films devoted to saving the world from remote, nearly uninhabited locations. They can call it "Jack & Jason & John & Jack".

DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 7:40:59 AM

I'm bothered by this news how??
(0-0) Spaceman writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 10:05:01 PM

Finally!!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved