WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bryan Singer is NOT Directing "X-Men: First Class"

Posted: March 27th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bryan Singer is NOT Directing "X-Men: First Class"Submit Comment
We knew that this was eventually going to happen, and now it has. 20th Century Fox is moving forward with "X-Men: First Class" and Bryan Singer (X-Men, X2, Superman Returns) is not directing it, despite being attached to the project for about a year now.

Fox simply cannot wait for Singer to finish shooting "Jack the Giant Killer" for Warner Bros, which is heading into production this Summer. Singer will still be involved with "First Class," but only as a producer.

While Singer may still get the chance to direct "X-Men 4" and/or "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" sequel, "First Class" is now left without a helmer. A few days ago, HitFix learned that Fox already has three director on their shortlist who have either experience with comic book movies or credibility with fans.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 52 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 4:46:14 AM

Oh WOW like we didn't see that coming... shame though i wish he would have done it. Least I'd have more faith in this... but now, not so much. It's more of an "Ehhh..." feeling.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 4:52:27 AM

He needs to just stay away from the xmen movies. He bailed on the fans and now is coming back like it's all good. That ain't right
Ranger writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 6:02:36 AM

Well... he left do do Supes Returns because he was a fan... and they didn't wait for him to do X3 and look how that turned out.

Big mistake Fox... big mistake.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 6:19:02 AM

Further evidence for the fact that H-wood has learning disabilities. The thing that puzzles me is which director they can mean. Is there any more directors out there with creb among the fans outside Nolan and Singer?
Ranger writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 6:20:17 AM

Only Raimi (for the first 2 Spideys)...

FOX = f*ck Off X-Men... apparently.
lost_addict writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 6:30:51 AM

he should make x men 4 although I don't see how he can fix Brett Ratner's mistakes killing the most bad ass x-men in the third one...
rocketman writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 6:38:57 AM

I'll be happy when he directs himself into an terrorist camp in Afgan and gets his nuts chopped off.
CCBlev writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 8:45:00 AM

@Rocketman
He's got nuts to chop off?
rocketman writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 9:54:53 AM

@CC,good point.I suppose the only balls he does have belong to Javier the pool boy and are currently residing in his mouth.
Dark writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 10:08:23 AM

R
E
B
O
O
T
SACdaddy writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 10:12:19 AM

Good, First Class sounds lame anyway. Let's concentrate on getting the main series back on track and possibly doing the Wolverine spin-off some justice (although imo that's next to impossible without an R rating).
Lizardking515 writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 11:15:55 AM

@ Johnny Boy

Wut do u mean he bailed on the fans and now he's coming back like its all good?

Sir, are u on crack? He never bailed. It was all fox's fault. He was in the middle of production on superman returns and they didn't want to wait for him cuz they wanted more fanchise money to come in. And would u really rather have of all people, Bret Ratner? He's a f*cking tool and can't shoot his way out of a f*cking bag. He tried makin X3 huge, and by trying so he f*cked up cuz he put too many story lines in and just f*cked up the whole saga.
I personally would rather wait for him, or if kick ass does good enough put matt vaughn on it.

I know it would never happen cuz he said he would never take over a franchise once its been touched n that he wouldn't want to have sloppy seconds but I would wanna see wut cameron would do with the xmen franchise. Hell even any superhero movie.
Let's get a credited director on this film so its actually good this time round
CCBlev writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 11:31:46 AM

@Rocketman
Javier the pool boy is really Doc in disgiuse.
Whitta writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 12:04:28 PM

no more prequels or spin offs, and @Freudian, add Jon Favreau to ur list
Ranger writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 12:58:35 PM

Good call on Favreau. It was late when I posted last night, thus an oversight on my part leaving him off the list.

So, Hollywood have great super hero directors:

Nolan (for obvious accomplishments).
Singer (I'm still a fan of Supes Returns for many reasons I've posted on here several times).
Raimi (if the producers keep their noses out (Spidey 3) - Spidey 1 & 2 were fine.
Favreau (no brainer).

Yet... Hollywood's egos (ie: Producers) do this self-sabotaging thing of theirs and try to prove (to whom, I have NO idea) that they can make some of these movies without these guys.

I suspect the producers were picked on a lot during recess, thus they feel this control thing is there revenge... at our expense.

Ranger writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 1:03:13 PM

have = has (ugh... cofffeeeee!!!).
bale01289 writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 1:23:52 PM

@Ranger - Good point, my friend. These people apparently never learned that good things come to those who wait. You're killin me, FOX!
Ranger writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 1:28:28 PM

They have either a learning disability or Alzheimer's (or both).
rabid writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 1:51:19 PM

Noone died in X3. If Rattner actually convinced you that happened, then perhaps he's not so horrible a director as people claim.
It's a cliffhanger. Everyone is still alive.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 1:57:37 PM

@Ranger: Why not add Guillermo del Toro (Blade 2 and Hellboy) to your superhero director list? He could make a great Hulk film if Marvel let him.
kmccarney88 writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 3:03:09 PM

The way I see it, they should just forget about First Class And move forward with X4 (With Singer ONLY, not some other director who is going to make the same mistakes as Ratner and ruin it further).The majority of the mistakes from X3 are fixable (even if they take a bit of a stretch to be believable), for example, you never actually see cyclops die and apparently if you watch the end of the credits professor x is alive. Not sure how you are gonna pull that second one off without coming across as retarded though. Maybe he just projected the image of him dying so Phoenix would release him, who the f*ck knows. But one thing I do know is that you can't have an x-men movie without cyclops or professor x.
I personally say screw X3 and do what singer did with superman returns, pretend the third installment never happened. Why not, right? what the he'll have you got to lose?
Lastly, do any of us really even want first class with a bunch of child actors doing a sh*tty job of portraying characters that we all love, characters that older actors have already done a great job of portraying? What good could possibly come out of this?
triggax writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 3:19:21 PM

Well... he left do do Supes Returns because he was a fan... and they didn't wait for him to do X3 and look how that turned out.

Big mistake Fox... big mistake.//

Ranger, do you really think it was a mistake for fox? I don't.. I don't think so at all... I remember when Xmen3 came out... every retard on earth loved it... All of the queer bait fan boys were jerkin it to beast and the old school suits.. But then after it died out of theaters the hate began.. I think mostly because everyone just naturally hates Ratner cause hes a bloated jew douche bag whore...

I mean a mistake for the fan base, maybe? A mistake for like minded movie goers, Definitely...

A mistake for the studio? Yeah f*ckin' right... 500 million f*cking dollars and the fact that its still THE highest grossing XMEN film would say different I would think...

Just sayin'.... f*ck you Ranger.. haha.. just kidding buddy...
encoreyourface writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 3:50:00 PM

just get him to fix Wolverine and i'm happy ...
Ranger writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 4:09:23 PM

@SAC - great call on del Toro!

@trig - not a mistake for the studio... more of a mistake for how the fans took the movie. I liked X3 a bit more than most on here (comic collector from loonnnggg ago mainly), but it fell to the usual trilogy fate.

Same as the 3rd. Matrix, the 3rd. Star Wars (now episode 6) - and don't even get me started on the 3rd. RoboCop or StarShip Troopers, etc. etc. - just bury all the characters they've worked so hard to identify in more explosions, more special effects... they all seem to do it.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 4:16:57 PM

Ranger-i for one thought the 3rd Star-wars was possibly the best out of all them, and the 3rd Matrix was also good. and it's because i read a fair amount of comics that i don't like X3 a whole lot, they messed up to many things ...
Ranger writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 4:37:34 PM

To anyone else that decides to say 'encore' continues to kiss my ass... here's another post from him expressing his free thought, and not necessarily agreeing with me... and that's KEWL!

@encore - I'm just a bit old school my good man. I like the plainer, character-driven stuff of the original 60's Star Trek and such over set design, CG effects. Some of the movies I listed in that '3rd.' list were entertaining. I just like the first of all that got the ball rolling.

Even Bay promises to go back to not just the first Transformers... but almost pre-date in cutting out a lot of explosions and get back to the characters. If he follows through on his word... I'll applaud that.

It's still Raiders of the Lost Ark for me (as example) Bro... the sequels hmmmm... not so much.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 4:51:47 PM

Ranger-i know what you mean by that, the first is usually the best. except Aliens, the second was much better then the first.
trilogies do seem to have some sort of course it seems ...
and the original Star-Trek will always be a classic, the more current Star-Treks have turned away from their roots i think, but Next Generation will always be one of my favorite shows!
and i completely agree with you on the Lost Ark, far better then the rest.
and if Bay decides to put explosions in- between the dialogue instead of dialogue in-between the explosions, and more like the old series it may turn out great.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 4:53:30 PM

"To anyone else that decides to say 'encore' continues to kiss my ass... here's another post from him expressing his free thought, and not necessarily agreeing with me... and that's KEWL!"

(sigh) if only COC didn't have his head his ass as a job he might actually see that ... but that sir is a pipe dream ...
encoreyourface writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 4:55:07 PM

sorry, on my first response course=curse ...
johnny_boy writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 4:56:02 PM

@ lizard.... Yeah he bailed on the fans. As ranger said, he's a huge fan of superman so that's probaly why he wanted to do it, but Singer should have known by reading the superman returns script that it was going to be crap and could do nothing to make it better. There you go, the crackhead has spoken
CCBlev writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 6:43:06 PM

@Encore
Who says you kiss Ranger's ass?
encoreyourface writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 6:44:56 PM

COC and Vindandy, but you know they're licking each others asses all the time so i think they got confused ... poor bastards.
Kurskij writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 7:15:37 PM

Fox cares about fans? Bwahahaha! I guess that's why Gavin Hood was given a chance with Wolverine. Frankly, I think he might have done a good job (Tsotsi had 0.01 of Wolverine's budget and was a solid movie), but judging by the news that executive producer (don't remember his name) went so far as to change sets without telling Hood... his work, good or not was raped anyway... Fox-style.

And now all of a sudden they care about experience with comic books and fans.

Give it to Vaughn if he cares to make it and get the f*ck out of the set until the movie is ready. Then it'll have a chance to be good. Unless your spoiled karma ruins it, Fox.

P.S. What's with the ass-kissing thing, did I miss some kind of DOC's national holiday?

Or someone is so incredibly, gerbil-like retarded that he can't see the difference between sane people agreeing with each others competent opinions and his sick ass-kissing dreams?

CCBlev writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 7:23:25 PM

@Encore
Nuff said my friend! I hear Coc and Dandy are trying to widen their *ssholes so far that when next winter comes they can crawl in there and hibernate.
Ranger writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 8:03:33 PM

@CC & Kursk - that make that butt-kissing comment regularly.

@encore - I know the love for Star Trek TNG is a generational thing. Mine is the original, and it took me a season or two to warm up to Picard, and Stewart ending up doing an amazing job.
trailertrash writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 8:50:37 PM

somehow fox should have waited for singer on x3 , he himself has said he regrets not making the movie didn't he loose his fox 3 picture deal he had ?? ,i think brett ratner once he got the job thought sh*t i've got to go BIG BIG BIG there's no heart to his film (i did think was ok to watch though).

I also enjoyed Superman returns i thought it was a good sequel and linked well with the first 2 christopher reeve movies and would like to see another superman movie one day.

Lastly what is jack the giant killer is that a remake of the kerwin mathews(he made the best sinbad film 7th voyage of sinbad love that movie)from 1962 ??? , i think he should go with the wolverine sequel if he wants my opinion....
encoreyourface writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 11:35:26 PM

Ranger-i think that Shatner is a great captain, but Stewart had more life in him. i appreciate the originals stories more though, they had more of a "what the f*ck is that" factor in them, they where more ... 'weird'.

and COC and Vin are idiots beyond beleive so trying to understand their reasoning is nigh impossible. COC keeps referring to everybody on this site as 'followers' and 'puppets' so really who cares what they think.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 11:38:22 PM

and Vin is just here to 'annoy' us with a few laughs at his own expense .... still don't know why they both keep coming back honestly. they really must like getting internet raped.
Lowryder writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 11:58:23 PM

another slow news day...guess ill just go watch sum porn
DetroitFanRick writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 2:17:39 AM

OK, so he's not doing First Class.
Well, has anyone brought up the possibility of a New Mutants spinoff? Now Vaughn could grab that and score big.
Unless Kick-Ass is a huge steaming turd. But I doubt that.
Ranger writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 4:26:49 AM

@encore - this world will never be fully rid of c*ckroaches.
swoooop writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 8:57:18 AM

I cant stop looking at this picture of Singer. No im not gay, but there is something creepy about that picture. I bet if I started to peel of his skin, a demon or terminator or something really scary would emerge. He f*cking looks fake!
CCBlev writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 9:50:31 AM

@Swooop
You got a good point on the one, he does look fake as hell
Matiax writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 3:55:10 PM

"Fox already has three director on their shortlist who have either experience with comic book movies or credibility with fans."

Names? And we have already bad experiences with "shotlists"
Matiax writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 4:12:12 PM

*shortlists
Ranger writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 4:57:02 PM

@swoooop - he could be Gary Coleman underneath!
swoooop writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 5:26:44 PM

@ranger

Or Lindsay Lohan
encoreyourface writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 7:05:32 PM

now THAT'S a nightmare!
Ranger writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 1:08:56 AM

@swoooop - I had thought of that (naturally)... but then I threw up a little thus thought it better left unsaid... lol.
swoooop writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 9:01:35 AM

Ohhh, the horror! :)
Salvador writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 12:30:34 PM

That is a BAD new...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 1:18:05 PM

Come on guys let's get a rally going, "Only Brett Ratner or Joe Johnston will do and we won't except anyone else!!!!"

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved