WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Kick-Ass" Director Wants Hollywood to Die

Posted: March 26th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Kick-Ass" Director Wants Hollywood to DieSubmit Comment
"Kick-Ass" director Matthew Vaughn hates Hollywood and cannot wait till it goes away to make room for movies that have some quality to them. In the past he's been offered "Thor" and "X-Men 3," but Vaughn walked away from both offers, in order to develop films independently.

He tells Financial Times: "Studio executives have never made a movie. They have no idea about character development. I like to start films at 30 miles an hour and then build to 180. In Hollywood they start at 180, and then run out of gas. I believe in making films for a mass audience, but the studios genuinely believe they are making films for total morons."

"Hollywood is a dying industry. They could release rubbish films, and use DVD sales as their get-out-of-jail card. But that is collapsing now, and the quality is going to start going up. It is going to be like the 1970s again. Film will become a directors' medium again."

Source: Financial Times

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 58 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 8:08:39 PM

Well I say this guy is at the top of my list right now. If Kick-Ass ends up being good I will further find him to be awesome. If it sucks though...oh wow he is going to look like a douche.
scarface85 writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 8:13:22 PM

this guy is great im lovin the trailer i hope this movie does really good
CCBlev writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 8:13:26 PM

Don't we all want Hollywood to die, but brownie points to this Kat.
Ranger writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 8:19:05 PM

I do NOT disagree with this guy.

But if Hollywood is dying (not saying it isn't), but it does stand on financial successes like Avatar and Transformers 2. And they had their best year EVER in 2009 (during a recession).

ALL business runs on profit.

But I DO see where his comments fit with the actions of (Paramount?) offering up LOW budgets to film-makers.

I mean Paranormal Activity (especially) and District 9 (sort of) - were 'low(er) budget' and make huge bank.

Do I think $20mil. for one actor (+ 15 - 20% of gross ticket sales a bit much) worth it? Apparently is someone is paying them that.

And I too look forward to some more low(er) budget success stories.
SHONUFF01 writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 8:24:30 PM

I wish all the Hollywood reboots would die then it wouldn't be that bad!
Ranger writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 8:27:34 PM

CCBlev writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 8:27:57 PM

Do you think that b/c movies are such a cheap form of entertainment, that if the economy improves Hollywoods finacial success will falter?
CCBlev writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 8:29:03 PM

Do you think people will start spending their money on other things instead of movies?
encoreyourface writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 8:29:14 PM

we ALL want Hollywood to die if it doesn't get an original thought soon.

Ranger writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 8:50:13 PM

I don't think Hollywood will ever have a bad year... no matter what the economic climate is (2009 proved that).
Whitta writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 9:05:09 PM

Yeah, instead of giving an actor and odd $20mil for a movie, round it down to about $1mil, that way there's more money for production of the actual movie itself.
I cant actually think of an actor who deserves that amount for a film.
triggax writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 9:33:33 PM

MMmmMmmMMM Not a lot of merit in that considering the guys last movie was a 70 million dollar spectacle... It was an entertaining specatacle but I didn't find it anymore appealing than the last f*ckin 30 Brendan Fraser adventure comedies.. I donno... This guy hasn't showed me that he's all that cool.. other than the fact that he was producer on a couple of dope movies.. years ago... Layer Cake wasn't that great.. I mean.. it was entertaining enough but all those UK gangster films that Guy Ritchie or Vaughn attach themselves to are carbon copies of each other... Meh.. it all starts to feel like recycled garbage after a while.. We'll see how Kick Ass turns out I guess.. it looks cool.. but... This guy has yet to impress me..
Sinestro writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 9:33:52 PM

You're adapting KICK-ASS, hoss. Fun book? Yeah. But not exactly ground-breaking story-telling. Get the f*ck off that high horse.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 10:11:46 PM

Was reading my local newspaper this morning, had an article about Kick-Ass with a serious warning that it is offensive and not safe for children..........What gave it away, the constant use of f*ck, c*nt, c*ck in the trailer, the very cool violence or the huge R18 ont e f*cking poster!

Yet parents will still take their kids to see, and blame the people who made it!
Whitta writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 10:15:33 PM

@Skippy - same deal happened in 1999 with South Park movie, don't blame Trey Parker, blame the sh*t head parents that took their kids to see it.
Rogue17 writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 10:16:06 PM

I saw the film at a sneak preview, and it Kicked Ass! I even think it is better than the comic and the comic was great! Cage was awsome as Big Daddy and Hit Girl was hilarious and bad ass! You'll love this film.
AYT BALL writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 10:59:25 PM

@ Sinestro - You just missed every point he made, id say hes a on a realistic horse speaking on behalf of US, and kick ass is ground breaking! It has balls, isnt a reboot, hasnt been done before and isnt toned down for kids......how many other movies can say that these days?

Vaughns the man
lost_addict writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 11:06:15 PM

isn't he part of Hollywood?
masht7 writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 11:07:57 PM

This guy knows what he's talking about and what he says is true. STOP RAPEING ARE BRAINS HOLLYWOOD!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 11:21:52 PM

f*ck. YES.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 11:26:35 PM


SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 11:27:51 PM


Nope, he's a rogue film maker, he directed kick-ass entirely out of his own pocket (and donations/sponserships I'm assuming), since no studio wanted to make it all pg-13.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 11:28:04 PM

since most of the studios*
nope.com writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 11:37:52 PM

so let's kill Michael Bay, Catherine Hardwicke, and Jimmy Cameron and "Hollywood" will be fine
HideousSecretion writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 12:27:02 AM

This from the guy who made Stardust. Not only was it a big budget studio film, but it was based on a Neil Gaiman who has major indie cred. In other words, he sucked studio exec c*ck and sh*t all over an original story.
Johnnyb writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 12:39:49 AM

Burn Hollywood Burn!!!!!
Sinestro writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 12:56:10 AM

Kick Ass is ultra-violent and referential. And maybe--just maybe--as far as bright colored comic books films are concerned, it might be something fresh. But even as a comic, it was just a guilty pleasure. It's not what I would call original. Ok, maybe that's unfair, the concept--at its most basic--can be called original. The rest, not really. It's Mark Millar. He's never been original. He's a poor man's Warren Ellis.
epitaphcartel writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 1:22:27 AM

wise man. kick ass is looking... well, kick ass.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 2:00:17 AM

Dam imagine if he would've tooken over xmen 3. Least we'd have something to call a movie rather than a waste of time bestowed upon us by the vindandy of directors, Brett Rat-ner
encoreyourface writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 2:22:28 AM

SACdaddy writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 2:38:21 AM

If anything, I hope the guy is right. We've all seen the drying well of new material lately. Studios are getting lazier by the minute and seem increasingly willing to sacrifice quality for the bottom line. Like most things in this world, these droughts tend to happen in cycles. The industry has bounced backed before and it will again. We'll be lucky if we see a revolution like Vaughn is predicting, but with directors like Blumkamp, J. Reitman, and himself the seeds may have already been planted for better days. Even big mainstream directors like Bay and Cameron are starting to speak out about the misdirection of the industry. Hopefully this is just the beginning of a change for the better.
Wallace writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 4:54:33 AM

Don't even wanna know what happens if his movie sucks.
c-prime writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 5:15:46 AM

You nailed a majority of my sentiments in your post, triggax. All I've seen of Matthew Vaughn's filmography is "Layer Cake", which was an adequate movie in my opinion. Nothing special. I read peoples comments all over the web raving about how sensational they think Vaughn is, but they're probably just overly enthusiastic for "Kick-Ass". Don't get me wrong, the movie looks cool, but can anyone honestly tell me they're excited for that movie because he's directing? I doubt it. What exactly is this __ based on? What else has he done besides the very middling "Layer Cake"? Just "Stardust". And I bet you can count the number of people who saw that flick in this country on one hand (shockingly enough though, WP seemed to view it pretty highly - it's one of the rare films they actually gave a perfect 10). The guy doesn't carry much clout, especially not enough that he should boisterously expound his contentions with Hollywood (even though I do agree with a lot of what he expressed). If he's not happy, he oughta just start making more films in his native Britain and not risk the blacklisting. I hope his new movie's as good as the title suggests. If not, he'll go from doing interviews in "Financial Times" to "The Homeless Briton Chronicle".
trailertrash writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 5:30:53 AM

Hollywood has a history becoming stronger in an economic down turn. They say the wall street crash of 1929 was a big reason for the kick start to the movie industry , when times are hard, going to the movies is an escape from the sh*t that is going on in your life.

I think Hollywood has changed over the last few years, the $25mil plus and % of the gross for a star seems to be a rare thing nower days. like schwarzegger, willis , stallone, did in the 80's and 90's, they seem more keen to stay with tried and trusted formulas ,harry potter, transformers, twilight, super heros movies , james bond, developing movies from best selling books and so on.

Only will smith , sandra bullock , adam sandler not so much lately cruise and hanks seem to consistently score big at the boxoffice without always being in a trusted formula with films like hanc*ck, Pursuit of happyness , hitch , blind side, proposal and sandler nearly all his films hit the $100 mil mark

If they do try something new it seems to be on a tighter budget maybe not such big stars films like Hangover , paul blart mall cop, taken , superbad, borat, saw etc and even their big movies with massive budgets like iron man, harry potter , xmen , avatar (sorry people)transformers none of them have mega stars in them anymore (maybe downey)the budget is going on the movie which in my opinion is only a good thing for us movie paying public.

sorry if i have gone on to long i've been on the coffee this morning....
SACdaddy writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 9:44:03 AM

@C-prime: While Layer Cake was his first big directorial debut, Vaughn is actually part of the brains behind Lock Stock and Snatch. Guy Ritchie got all the credit but Vaughn produced both films. Layer Cake was just as good as either of those films (and visually better imo) and light years better than RocknRolla and Sherlock Holmes. MV definitely deserves some hype for that. Plus the guy's married to Claudia Schiffer! If that doesn't deserve props I don't know what does.
leezy84 writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 9:59:51 AM

Yep hes on the mark, Im goin to see preview screening of Kick-Ass tonight so fingers crossed that its really good
SACdaddy writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 10:06:24 AM

No need to cross fingers. Its f*cking awesome!
jigsaw23 writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 11:14:11 AM

kinda agree and if the title of kick ass means of course it will be violent retarts christ
jigsaw23 writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 11:16:07 AM

and off course it will be offending to SUPERHEROS
TRUEMAN writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 12:39:02 PM

100 % agree HOLLYCRAP must die!! I always said the quality of the new movies are very low, crappy story lines, douchebags actors like sam w. Are proof of a diying industry f*ck hollycrap f*ck crap movies like gayvatard!!

P.D. Kick ass suck balls, hitgirl what a crap!!
c-prime writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 1:00:20 PM

@ SACdaddy: I did not know any of that. I guess that does give the guy a little bit of pipe to swing with in the industry then.

Still, I wasn't really blown away by "Layer Cake". I remember seeing the DVD cover at Best Buy and noticing it had a really sweet James Bond look, which made me want to check it out (especially in light of Craig's then-recent performance in "Casino Royale"). I bought the film on looks alone, but in the end, the cover seemed to promise thrills that never arrived. The acting was fine, but nothing else really elevated it above an average thriller for me. Plus, the ending was really dissatisfying. I don't know, maybe that's the way the book ended or something - methinks he should probably get around to making that sequel he proposed in the DVD commentary though to improve upon it. It's probably my fault for having preconceived notions of what the movie would be like (i.e., action-packed), but I doubt I'd feel any differently about the flick if I had gone into it without those expectations. One thing's for certain though: "Kick-Ass" certainly looks like a movie that might make up for the disappointment.
Kurskij writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 4:09:27 PM

Your words for God to hear, Matthew.

@Ranger and SAC

True. District 9 (haven't seen Paranormal and don't really want to) showed that all around great action and thrills packed movies can be made on budget of an average romantic comedy.

And we can see that there is a reaction. Even if they think "hey, if we can invest 30mil in something and earn a 100, why investing a 100 to simply get it back and wait for dvd's?" - that's OK with me.

Hopefully they'll start to invest in stories, and that yet unproduced long-delayed "Prisoner" project by Aaron Guzikowsky may very well be the first sign of how it all will turn out.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 4:56:04 PM

Dist.9 is one of my favorites ...
Kurskij writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 5:03:42 PM


I can see why, my friend.

I'm not ready to say it's one of mine just yet, but it's surely in my top 5 of 2009. I've recently gave it another look on Blu-ray. Stunning, great movie.

BTW, for those who haven't seen a trailer for the game (!!!) Ghost Recon o check this out. I don't know who the director is, but he must be given a real budget, cause his work here is amazing:

encoreyourface writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 5:57:27 PM

that Ghost Recon trailer kicked ass! that game looks great! the actual invisibility thing was sweet!
Kain writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 4:45:53 AM

Kick-Ass isn't my type of film but i do agree with what he's saying here.
JohnZee writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 7:02:45 AM

This guy is a elitist sh*t talker that's talking sh*t about a elitist group that he's not actually a member of. Poor baby, stuck in England making multi-million dollar films. Signed a multiple picture deal with Sony, has a super-model wife, and this schmuck is trying to act like he is just a regular Joe out there trying to make his own little personal projects. You know why he funded Kick Ass? One because it wasn't that big of a challenge for him, and two there are scenes in that movie that would offend Quentin Tarantino. A lot of comic book fans will be offended with some of the obvious sadistic things the director does in this movie. Non-comic book fans will be annoyed by too many damned obscure comic book references. People going to see a movie that "realistically" portrays the concept of normal humans dressing up in costume will quickly be disappointed when they realize that this movie is full of people that have superhuman abilities and bag of tricks that would make Felix the Cat, Adam West's version of Batman, and Wile E. Coyote all three green with envy. Certainly not the realistic movie that it has been made out to be. This is certainly a case where the prime and best parts of the movie have been utilized for the various trailers and youtube spots to spark interest in potential movie audiences. This movie is going to shock and disappoint more people then "the Crying Game".
AYT BALL writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 4:29:34 PM

@ JohnZee - mmm interesting post, complete bullsh*t but interesting....

For anyone with good taste in movies, unlike Mr Zee, kick ass is a great movie, cant say enough good things about this movie, loved the comics and loved the movies even more, and at no point did i spit my dummy out because the director is doing well for himself and creating great original movies (again unlike Zee).

Go see this, hopefully this will be a new wave of movies made for fans rather than profit (yes i know they all want our money, but this could have easily been kidified for the PG-13 market and made a sh*t load more money....it didnt!!)

@ Sac - f*cking awesome movie, you were right mate, good call
leezy84 writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 4:30:59 PM

went to see kick-ass last night and it was f*cking awesome. hit girl was immense
AYT BALL writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 4:40:35 PM

Too right! goose bumps!! first time in a long time!
leezy84 writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 4:59:32 PM

lol i have the graphic novel and i know they started on this movie before they even finished the story in the comics, so some of it is diffent but its just a f*cking superb film, hit girl 1st fight scene is just quality chloe moretz and mark strong are awesome.
bacci40 writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 4:16:40 AM

again vaughn proves that he is one of us

may all his films make billions and may he keep giving the finger to the suits
AYT BALL writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 4:17:25 AM

Yeah i had the comics way before the buzz started for this and ive been telling everyone this is the one to watch out for, vaughn didnt let me down! and that kid is a f*cking superstar! i was worried what they would change from the book but if anything they amped it up a level! Big daddy.....well, that whole strobe/night vision part was awesome, cant wait to see it again
AYT BALL writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 4:18:14 AM

@ bacci40 - well said!
leezy84 writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 5:41:37 AM

yeah im going to see it again, yeh the strobe night vision was f*cking awesome, and when nic cage took them all out in the warehouse to, i hope to god they make book two then vaughan works his magic again, yeah i was worried to, your spot on about how they amped it up, i thought hit girl bought a flamethrower like in the comics but when i saw kick-ass at the end and the black guy with the bazooka it was hilarious lol
Brody writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 8:03:25 AM

loud noises!!!!
AYT BALL writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 8:08:10 AM

darkraven28 writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 6:17:46 PM

If I hear one more director bitch and moan about the 1970s and that La La Land bullsh*t, I'm gonna scream.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved