WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Eastern Promises" Sequel to Shoot This Winter?

Posted: March 26th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Eastern Promises" Sequel to Shoot This Winter?Submit Comment
Last time we spoke to Viggo Mortensen, he said that he was considering re-teaming with director David Cronenberg for an "Eastern Promises" sequel.

Now Deadline is reporting that producer Paul Webster (Eastern Promises, Atonement) is currently lining up the second installment and has both Mortensen and Cronenberg attached to return. The script is written by Steve Knight and production will likely begin this winter, after Mortensen and Cronenberg complete their Sigmund Freud movie "The Talking Cure."

The first "Eastern Promises" film was released in 2007 to great reviews, but went on to only gross $56 million in worldwide ticket sales.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BlueMobius writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 8:24:53 PM

Great movie! Would LOVE to see another chapter!
encoreyourface writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 8:25:40 PM

never heard of it
SHONUFF01 writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 8:26:19 PM

I don't have a problem with this. I liked the first one. Viggo did a damn good job!
triggax writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 9:41:06 PM

I thought this was a sequel to History of Violence... History of Violence Part 2: Wierd Naked Russian Wrestling.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 11:05:31 PM

awesome!
lost_addict writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 11:10:53 PM

will we see Viggo's small penis again?
Charlie9 writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 12:33:18 AM

It's a shame we say 'only $56 million' for a film that isn't exactly looking to compete with the blockbusters...I don't know what the budget was but surely that isn't too bad for what it's initial aims and target audience were.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 8:26:43 AM

Nice. Other than Vincent Cassel's performance as Kirill, the original was great. Cronenberg and Viggo are a perfect team, so I'll pay to see a sequel and whatever Sigmund Freud "penis envy" bullsh*t they also have coming out.
Pepeman writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 10:42:41 AM

@Lost-Addict

Why, you want to masturbate to it again ?
lawman writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 11:23:46 AM

Pepeman>>>>> HAHAHAHAH!


I loved Easter Promises. Thoguht it was really well done! Also, VERY accurate as far as the tattoos are concerned and what needs to be done to earn them.
Kurskij writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 3:59:44 PM

Yes. Great news.

Viggo mastered the best and the ONLY russian accent I've ever heard in any movie. He was almost spot one. And judging by the others who tried - that must be really hard for an english speaker.
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 4:17:40 PM

This should be good. I thought a history of violence was much better, one of my favorites. But I'll see this if it gets made
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 4:23:09 PM

This should be good. I thought a history of violence was much better, one of my favorites. But I'll see this if it gets made
SugaTits writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 11:23:01 PM

There's a doc*mentary titled "Mark of Cain" which sorta kinda almost for really real basically pretty much illustrates the fact that though those tattoos used to have meaning in the Russian criminal world, they're no longer regarded with the same esteem since capitalism has overrun not only Russian society, but its prison society as well, which is where those tattoos are given/received.

Any 19 year old Russian prisoner with enough money can purchase stars or cupolas, without actually being a Thief-in-Law, or having any criminal honor whatsoever. Eastern Promises' use of the tattoos, while intriguing, is typical movie making romanticism.

That writ, I like the film, 'cause I'm a romantic, and for other reasons.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 11:08:18 AM

@SHONUFF01 I LOVE your avatar!!

I will definitely want to see a sequel to EP. And yes @SAC, they are a perfect team. And I thought I was the only one shaking my head around Cassel's performance.

@SugaTits (awesome name!) There's a simialr culture in Spain. real underground and it too has been "afflicted" by capitalism and the like. Many "wannabe's" have watered down the meaning behind them by getting ink without earning it. I've seen first hand those that truly earned them come across those that haven't and it is a brutal sight. Personally, I love Viggo's performance because it reminded me of those that truly earned them. However, there are still some intricacies about the tats that just cannot be duplicated because those that have truly seen the authentic ones aren't saying a word to anyone about the detail.
I'll put this "Mark of Cain" on my radar and check it out.
lawman writes:
on March 30th, 2010 at 9:34:38 AM

SUGA TITS>>> I know anyone can get them, but the ones he had in the movie were correct. The stars were given in the right way, in the right spot. The film makers did their homework.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved