WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Butch Cassidy and The Sundance Kid" Sequel to Shoot Next Month

Posted: March 26th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Butch Cassidy and The Sundance Kid" Sequel to Shoot Next MonthSubmit Comment
I guess Tom Cruise and John Travolta won't be remaking "Butch Cassidy and The Sundance Kid," since writer/director Mateo Gil (Vanilla Sky) has just revealed that he will begin shooting the sequel next month, adding that Sam Shepard (Black Hawk Down, Hamlet) is playing the role of Butch.

"One of the things that I like most about Westerns is that it's a truly moral genre," he said on the website for Arcadia production company. "The characters face life and death, and other very important matters - freedom, commitment and loyalty, courage, treachery, ownership and money, justice, friendship and even love - in very pure and simple terms. It's a genre that helps us look at our own life and find a way to face it."

In the original 1969 film, two Western bank/train robbers (Paul Newman, Robert Redford) flee to Bolivia when the law gets too close. It ended up winning four Oscars and nominated for three others.

Source: Arcadia


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 54 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Bigcheese writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 6:17:00 AM

NOOO NOO NO NO NO f*ckING NO NO NO THIS SHOULD NOT BE MADE f*ck THIS sh*t NOOOOO.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 6:20:05 AM

You can't do a sequel to a classic 40 years after the first one! You shouldn't make sequels to classics like this at all. f*cking Hollyc*nts.
trailertrash writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 6:26:04 AM

JUST f*ck RIGHT OFF WITH THIS !!!

There are some films you should just leave alone and this is one of those, It was bad enough when they made the early days with Tom Berenger and william katt !!! crap

What next ????

Gone with the wind 2

Casablanca : Ilsa Lund returns

Citizen kane part 2

The return of Lawrence of Arabia

you get my drift

Lazy lazy lazy film makers !!!
trailertrash writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 6:33:08 AM

@ big cheese , freudian well said...
BrundleFly writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 6:44:25 AM

When the hell did this happen?
eddie499 writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 7:57:29 AM

I have to agree with all of the comments above. A remake of Butch and Sundance is not only wrong, it's a crime against humaity.

I just have to add since it hasn;t been said yet. Despite the fact that this is just wrong, how is a sequel even possible? They died....they fu*king DIED! What's the plan? To resurrect them with that goofy tablet from the Night at the Museum BS? NO. Just no.

Nuff said.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 8:33:06 AM

@eddie: I think there's some rumor that Butch didn't die. So they might just go from there, but a Butch with no Sundance Kid is like having only one ball.
billofill writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 9:02:12 AM

Brundlefly with the Back to the Future reference. And isnt this like the second sequel to Butch and Sundance and of course there was the prequel.
buttabean writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 9:50:58 AM

See the only way I could see sequels working for classic movies is when the main characters can be replaced. Like most Sci-Fi movies.

They should have made 'Day the Earth Stood Still' a sequel instead of a remake. I think that would have been neat. They come back to earth after 50 years and the humans have developed countermeasures against their weapons.
TheHundreds writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 10:02:13 AM

possibly one of the most overrated movies of all time. Sequel sounds like a good idea.
TheHundreds writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 10:04:35 AM

wow get off the movies balls has anyone actually seen it?


trailer trash this movie compares in no way to any of those you mentioned
Mr. Wednesday writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 11:00:56 AM

Heresy.
trailertrash writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 11:14:07 AM

@the hundreds

That's you opinion on Butch cassidy mate and i respect that, for me it's one of my favorite films off all time (seen it many times), so to see them try and make some sort of sequel 40 years later seems like a bit of a joke to me and by other people by the looks of it....

And your right my list of films was a bit of a exaggeration but i was just trying to make a point thats all ....
Ranger writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 11:32:48 AM

@TheHundreds - how is Butch & Sundance any less of a 'classic' movie than the one's trailertrash listed (I'll await your thoughts on that one)? Why, because it had horses instead of camels, so it wasn't 'exotic' enough? Next you'll think Bonnie & Clyde (Beatty) isn't a 'classic' either.

No need to back-peddle trailer. Butch & Sundance is one of the greatest pairings of actors (if it didn't start up the buddy theme in movies, I don't know which movie did), telling of two legendary outlaws in a legendary story.

So I'd like to hear how this movie (TheHundreds) isn't as great or classic as those on tt's list.

As far as attempting a sequel... a poster above said it best: 'THEY'RE DEAD!!!'
Brody writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 11:38:41 AM

Dear Hacks of Hollywood,
Are you so unsure of yourselves that you have to destroy the legacy of a once thriving creative industry?
This is a rhetorical question, think of it as more of a f**k you.
bluemeenie writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 11:39:27 AM

I hope this one HAS a score.
And no, BJ Thomas- please don't apply.
Tom Cruise and John Travolta are actually going to be in the Brokeback Mountain sequel.
trailertrash writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 11:44:56 AM

@ ranger

your right so many buddy pairings owe so much to this movie and in its day when it was released people who didn't like the traditional western film went to see this because of the performances of newman and redford and it became one of the biggest films of all time there for becoming a classic which will still be watched in another 40 years....

Bonnie and clyde dare i say another classic !!!
Mr. Wednesday writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 12:03:41 PM

Guys,

We all know the best movie of all time is Turner and Hooch.
Mr. Wednesday writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 12:04:08 PM

Best buddy movie**
Ranger writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 12:15:04 PM

Just how much did that dog drink in a day to produce that much slime (Vin... you want to answer that one, speaking of course on behalf of your mother's vag?).

@trailer - Redford and Newman never gets old to watch. Also 'The Sting' - another great look and story.
trailertrash writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 12:19:07 PM

I love a stupid film facts: Michael j pollard (bonnie and clyde ,topical see)is where michael j fox got his J from ........ :)
rocketman writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 12:19:22 PM

They died in a hail of bullets at the end,courtsy of the Bolivian army if i remember.Whats the sequel,a funeral?
trailertrash writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 12:23:45 PM

@ranger

your listing my favourite movies today , robert shaw in that picture was very good as well !!!! ANOTHER CLASSIC !!!

And they did sequel that with jackie gleason and oliver reed oh dear oh dear oh dear !!!! another reason not to make butch cassidy 2
Ranger writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 12:34:52 PM

Yep... Micheal's real middle initial is 'A' - as there was already a Micheal A. Fox in the Union (plus he said he didn't want to see articles with headlines such as: 'Micheal 'A Fox!' etc.) - he changed it. I didn't know where the J came from though (I would have thought 'J' as in 'Joke' like VinDandy maybe?).
WV-Films writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 12:43:31 PM

So I guess they lived at the end of the first one? That's nice.
Ranger writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 12:45:10 PM

They dodged those 1000 bullets like Neo in The Matrix.
bluemeenie writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 1:18:48 PM

Ranger's got it- that's where this one starts. They unplug. (out of the Matrix-that is..)
WV-Films writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 1:19:42 PM

Oh right of course. I don't know how I missed that.
Ranger writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 1:32:25 PM

Yep... Neo and Morpheus popping into the construct to play a little Butch & Sundance, akin to the Federations Holo-Deck. That's about the only way to go without this sequel sucking like VinDandy on his foster dad's package!


Skywalker121289 writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 1:47:27 PM

Somebody needs to go shoot Mateo Gil before he actually starts shooting. That would solve EVERYTHING.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 1:50:57 PM

Besides, Sam Shepard is a horrible pick for Butch. He's ancient and he doesn't have an ounce of charsma compared to Paul Newman.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 2:03:47 PM

@Ranger: It's like the old saying "After you dodged the first 10 bullets, the rest is a piece of cake"
Ranger writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 2:06:54 PM

Or the first 16 in the case of the Glock (15 + 1 in the chamber) because they're re-loading.
TheHundreds writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 2:24:38 PM

@everyone

no plot, no development, easy as that. The only thing this had going for it was the excitement surround the pairing of the two biggest stars of the 60s.
Ranger writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 2:28:45 PM

No plot?

It was based on a true story.

No development? Of what kind are you referring?

Ranger writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 2:34:32 PM

no plot, no development --- that is strange as it always comes up as a 4 (out of 4) star movie on the movie channel (I also have it on DVD, but they run it now and again on the movie channels).
Wallace writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 3:53:12 PM

April Fools Joke! ...hopefully...
TheHundreds writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 5:05:22 PM

i realize it is rated very well on almost everything, thats why i said it was one of the most overrated movies.

out of the its two hours, i would say a good 40 mins is given to different montages, and yes there are three different montages with not acting or dialogue or anything.

It has one of the lamest chase scenes, with a pathetic excuse for a climax, that also takes up a good 30 min. After said chase is over, this part of the story is immediatley forgotten about and offers no resolution.

I realize it's a true story, but that doesnt mean it translates into a good movie. As i said before, this in no way compares to movies like Gone with the wind which praticaly swept the oscars.

While this movie did win four oscars, most of them were for cinematography, which was pretty good. The only important one it got was original writing, which pales in comparison to director, actor, or picture.


This movie sucked as a western, and mostly relied on the shock value of having newman and redford in the same movie. The few instances where their charisma's really translated were the only good parts of this movie.

In my humble opinion, the original 3:10 to yuma was better than butch cassidey, and they remade that movie fairly well. I trust that this sequal or remake or whatever their doing with this will be better than the original.


Ranger writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 6:24:00 PM

See... now THAT's a good post (explaining why you said the things you did). Nice.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 6:30:56 PM

well this looks gay, and a 40 year old sequel? f*ck that. i mean Ghost Busters 3 is like 20 years later and even that's a stretch.

i'm guessing Butch "does things" to the sundance kid right? am i right?

Ranger writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 6:35:46 PM

lol...

Sort of like VinDandy and Foster Dad - Poke-her Night?

Nope...

Nothing is like a night between VinDandy and Daddy-o.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 7:12:42 PM

lol
encoreyourface writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 7:18:35 PM

lol
TheHundreds writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 7:48:02 PM

thank you sir i realize some people will disagree with me but thats what these posts are a discussion of opinions i just wish i wasnt too lazy to type that up the first time
trailertrash writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 7:50:38 PM

@hundreds

you put a fair argument across for why you think it is a overrated movie and fair play to you but i dont agree.

ive seen it maybe 25 times and each time i watch it there are so many scenes i look forward to seeing the inter play between redford and newman is a joy to watch , i love the chase which ends with the now famous jump into the river , who are those guys !!!!

I dont know how old you are but this is 40 years old, This is a buddy movie set in western times is a better way of describing the movie, it doesn't try to be say the good the bad & the ugly , the searchers or once upon a time in the west, this was a bench mark star driven buddy movie so much has been taken from it and used in so many movies since, it's like watching citizen kane (a very good movie) you dont relise some of the camera work in that film was done for the very first time and has inspired so many of todays film makers, but seening it from a different generation you just take it all a bit for granted.

We will have to agree to disagree on this one, and it has made a change talking about this type of movie....
trailertrash writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 8:00:35 PM

@ranger

i can see it now a cgi redford and newman dodging all those bullets matrix style and riding off into the sun set so they can set up the 40 year later sequel...
Ranger writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 8:09:37 PM

@TheHundreds - you're welcome. And well said. I may no agree with all you say, but at least you're of the majority (as am I) that can post related to topic and accept that some may not disagree with us.

The movie is still one of my favs.

I don't think there are more important and less important Oscars categories for a movie (I think the Oscar's are done - I'm fed up with their kiss-ass and political agenda).

The montage(s) were better than adding an hour to the movie. I don't think they ran for as long as you perceive (it just may have seemed that way)... but there were a few.

There's never been better actor/buddy theme, charisma pairing on the big screen (not saying you were debating that). It was a fab. movie for it's time, and it's stood the test of time.

I'm a bit older than trailertrash. He has his opinions too (haven't read all this post yet, and didn't want to before I posted my reply). But for when I saw it, and have since watched it... I'll (still) put it up against any movie I have ever seen. Hollywood has always been 'tough' on their westerns (The Outlaw Josey Wales has never rec. the acclaim that Unforgiven has - maybe because every movie Clint makes people think will always be his last) - as they have on Sci-Fi movies (but now they're giving (a lot) of ground to Sci-Fi movies).

Even though I have the DVD, I'll still watch Butch & Sundance on TV (don't know why... habit, loyalty - maybe I'm sick of a lot of crap put out today?).

The younger generation (and I've said this before on here, and someone conceded I was correct) seems 'spoiled'... they'll see something as incredible as 'The Matrix' (meaning the first one), and go: 'Well... that was great... what's next?' 20 minutes after the movie. That movie blew me away! But then again, I saw the first, original 'Planet of the Apes' in the theater... lol.

But I did like your (longer) post... you're a good sh*t, with an opinion, and I'll thank you again for posting the longer version as to why you think the way you do towards this flick.

PS: Katherine Ross is one of the SEXIEST women to EVER grace the big screen. My God that is a good-looking woman!

Ranger writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 8:13:04 PM

@trailer - first, I'll go back to say I liked TheHundreds post (as I do yours... always). Nice of him to come back with an explanation, instead of the Vin/COC standard of: 'Suck d*ck faggot!' (Jesus, those two are retards).

I was going to post my Matrix/Butch-Sundance thought earlier but was called away.

How about Neo and Morpheus unplug from The Matrix having just played 'Butch & Sundance' (from the first movie)? They played those 2 in The Matrix and they became history? Now THAT would ROC!
trailertrash writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 8:46:54 PM

@ranger

It was , you dont mind anyone disagreeing with what you say as long as they can back it up unlike those 2 jokers you've already mentioned who are just a waste of space (being polite there got edited earlier today over vin dippy)

Great idea with the matrix / butch sundance , they should have done that instead of matrix reloaded , another reason sequels dont always work after a great 1st part...
Ranger writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 8:52:00 PM

Well said (both paragraphs).

I too still think the for Matrix had some magic (ie: character driven) that it's 2 sequels buried in special effects.
trailertrash writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 9:24:49 PM

@ranger

agreed, They forgot what made the matrix such a good film , Effects yes but a cohesive story is important too , reloaded was a real mess , what a shame....
whoever writes:
on March 27th, 2010 at 5:45:28 AM

I thought Brokeback Mountain was the sequel!
JohnZee writes:
on March 28th, 2010 at 7:36:25 AM

This so called sequel has very little to do with the original. Just barely enough to justify calling it one. Expect for it never to explain Butch's survival. He just somehow did and now he's hankering for one final last big score. It's like that gag in Spaceballs about the relationship between the hero and Dark Helmet, not really related at all...
Ranger writes:
on March 29th, 2010 at 1:10:31 AM

Kind of like Lindsay Loslag and talent I guess.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved