WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Michael Bay Doesn't Want "Transformers 3" in 3D

Posted: March 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Michael Bay DoesnSubmit Comment
Michael Bay recently said that he will never make a movie in 3D, calling the technology a gimmick. But after "Avatar" was released, DreamWorks started pressuring Bay to at least think about releasing the third "Transformers" film in 3D.

Bay decided to give it a shot. He played around with the 3D cameras and then took a look at some footage that was converted after the fact. He hated both.

Bay found the 3D cameras too heavy and cumbersome for the fast pace action scenes. "I shoot complicated stuff," he explained.

Regarding converting "Transformers 3" to 3D in post-production, he said: "Right now it looks like fake 3D. You go to the screening room, you are hoping to be thrilled, and you're thinking, huh, this kind of sucks. I'm used to having the A-team working on my films, and I'm going to hand it over to the D-team, have it shipped to India and hope for the best?"

"Studios might be willing to sacrifice the look and use the gimmick to make $3 more a ticket, but I'm not. 'Avatar' took four years. You can't just sh*t out a 3D movie. If this isn't going to be excellent, I don't want to do it. And it is my choice."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 67 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 6:09:23 AM

"I shoot complicated stuff"

LOL , he is a funny guy really.....
The Real Joker writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 6:10:12 AM

wow.. something to be happy about. if you liked the transformers films that is. I did not. I cry everytime when i see "Bla bla will be in 3D". Learn to do good movies, not making them poke at you!
gimple writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 6:14:16 AM

Hell yeah! His movies may suck, buy Michael Bay knows his sh*t from time to time. f*ck 3D.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 6:28:53 AM

I must say, Bay earns some respect for this. I haven't watched any 3D-movie, but I can only imagine how hard it would to watch Bay's speedy editing in 3D. And to convert films to 3D in post-production, it's just a cheap way to earn some extra dollars on the tickets.

But just when Bay has said all these very truefull things, he drops the most unintentional funny line for this year:

"If this isn't going to be excellent, I don't want to do it."

Spot on, sir, spot on.
Lizardking515 writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 6:39:16 AM

First time I agree with him in mad long. It was mad hard to follow everything in 2d....y the f*ck would we wanna see it in 3d...confuse ourselves even more?
If it was a slower paced action movie then maybe. But no, he's finally right in keeping it in 2d. Plus post pro 3d is terrible
swoooop writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 6:51:15 AM

Avatar was great in 3D, but if every f*cking film going inn 3D, how inn hell are people going to get cams or TS on the nett? Im just saying.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 7:07:37 AM

God bless you Michael Bay. There is still some hope for Hwood if this guy gets it.

@Trailertrash: You're an idiot if you think Bay doesn't shoot complicated stuff. His action sequences are legendary and most have been done without the crutch of CGI. He's known throughout Hwood for his complex shots and his meticulous attention to detail. Just check out the BTS of Bad Boys 2 and see what it takes to shoot a Bay action scene. If it weren't for the cheese he covers all his hard work with, you'd be kissing his ass and praising his name as one of Hwood's best.
drshakalou writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 7:39:52 AM

i would like to see anyone of you who sh*t talks mike bay to step into his shoes and do what he does... ahhhh the internet.
trailertrash writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 7:40:12 AM

@SAC

Your right his action scenes are awesome he knows his way around thet genre no question , It's just his "I shoot complicated stuff" comment i'm sure james cameron and the like who do shoot in 3D would say they also shoot complicated stuff what is bay saying easy film making suits 3D better ?? , Just sometimes he comes across like he has a god complex thats all , fair play to him for not milking the 3D craze though and you for pulling me on it....
trailertrash writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 7:45:08 AM

@sac

my wife thinks i'm idiot sometimes , but i dont think it has anything to do with michael bay's film making style..lol
SACdaddy writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 7:55:40 AM

Is it me or has something has happened to Bay ever since the last Transformer movie's release? He seems enlightened in a way. Now he wants less robots and explosions and more plot. He's bringing in real actors like Malkovich and Frances Mcdormand. He's treating 3D like it was some PED ruining the game of filmmaking. Where is all of this coming from?

I think he's none too happy about the success of Avatar. Everytime he turns on the tv or goes online someone is always sucking that big blue Navi d*ck like there's no tomorrow. If it bothers most of us on this site so much, imagine what its doin to Mikey. In some cocaine/p*ssy induced haze, Bay thought that giant robots were the wave of the future. But 10' blue Thundercats bringing in almost $2 billion and crushing Transformers along the way is enough to blow anyone's high. Hopefully this envy inspires Bay drop the 8-ball and make better all around films in the future. If he can't compete visually anymore maybe he'll start concentrating on things like plot and acting. This could be a blessing in disguise! The guy really used to make great films.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 8:03:25 AM

Lol Trailer sorry for the "idiot" comment. Its early and I haven't had my coffee yet. Evil SAC gets up before I do.

I don't think Bay was dissing directors that use 3D, as much as he was saying that 3D just doesn't fit his complex shots. With all the sh*t going on scene in Transformers movies, I think he's got a point. It hard enough to watch all that in 2D.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 8:17:10 AM

It's not your choice because it ain't your money, bay...It will be 3-D. Anyways, they shuold just get the robot chicken boys to do it...would sure as hell turn out better then "Revenge of Fallen Asleep"
trailertrash writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 8:23:16 AM

@sac
no worries

Maybe he's just growing up as a film maker, was he contracted for Transformers 3 maybe he would rather side step that movie for now.

Perhaps he would like to do a spielberg and make a jaws, raiders , jurassic park, etc and mix in between a color purple, schinders list , saving private ryan but he's so type cast as a film maker he's not really getting that chance.

And seeing James cameron come back from being away for so long and hitting box office gold with avatar maybe sticks in his throat a bit.

There is room for both film makers out there maybe as you say he needs to get back to basic's again....
trailertrash writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 8:26:15 AM

^^Transformers 2 in 3D would need an epilepsy warning at the beginning wouldn't it....
Wallace writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 8:29:32 AM

I'm pretty sure he's going to make it in 3D after all.
CCBlev writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 8:38:30 AM

o who gives a f*ck, aftr atrocity that was Transformers 2 I could care less. f*ck you Bay! Go follow Kathryn Bigelow around, take copius amounts of notes and maybe you'll learn to make a decent movie you f*ckhead!
Kurskij writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 9:16:01 AM

Gotta believe in Michael Bay. Yes, TFII was sh*t, but that's the only sh*t he made in his entire career (even Pearl Harbour - the story was laughable, but the action was outstanding).

He's 110% right here - wanna make a proper 3D - shoot it in 3D, then months of digital work to make it look the way it should.

If producers want another TF movie made in less than 2 years, they should understand that they'll barely be able to make the CGI. Half of ILM will be working on them for 8 straight months. We're not even talking about 3D.

I hear some pretty bad things about "Clash of the titans" - that 3D looks really sh*tty, cause they simply didn't have enough time. Same can happen to Transformers.

So, Mike, you're right, f*ck 3D, my man. Just shoot it the way you shot Pearl Harbour, TFI, BBII, The Rock i.e. every shot can be put in frame, no more epileptic $200mil national lampoon-level bullsh*t TFII was.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 9:23:26 AM

"You can't just sh*t out a 3D movie."

Uhh where have you been lately Bay??
SACdaddy writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 9:50:43 AM

We kick Transformers around a lot on here (and rightly so), but it still should be acknowledged for what few things it did accomplish. Once you get past LeBitch, the horrible acting, the unfunny stereotypes, the nonexistent plot, and Devastator's balls, there's still a pretty entertaining and visually stimulating action film starring characters from my childhood. The "transforming" is still the best CGI to hit the the big screen since Jurrasic Park. Its by far the most seamless and interactive CGI I've ever seen. If Bay adds some plot and lays off the crack a little, like he's promising, it can be better.
Coasterkid345 writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 9:53:40 AM

They shoulda made him direct Final destination 4.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 9:54:12 AM

"You can't just sh*t out a [GOOD] 3D movie."

How bout that Bunny?
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 10:04:08 AM

Wow I never thought I'd say Michael Bay needs to start a trend in hollywood... NO to 3D! Saw Avatar in 3D... f*cking hated it... NEVER will i see a movie in 3D again... in that photo above, Bay should have his middle fingers up at Hollywood & 3D... and probably Cameron while he's at it lol
barley_cat writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 10:10:21 AM

Clever boy aint he?! By not releasing it in 3d, all the 3D-hater's will respect his decision and go and see it!

Well that's the theory, most people would go to see it due to big-tits Fox!
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 10:26:07 AM

f*ck bay
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 10:26:23 AM

f*ck bay
SACdaddy writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 10:26:24 AM

Fox has big tits now?!?! Where have I been?!?! Thx Barley :-)
SACdaddy writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 10:33:23 AM

Are you Brits really trying to get rid of smoking all together? I just heard yall are trying to pass a law too ban smoking in your vehicles? You know the next step's your home right? What's happening out there? You know that sh*t trickles down to us in the States eventually. Wake up and get your privacy back England!!!
barley_cat writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 10:41:16 AM

AW DON'T even get me started SAC, I'm absolutely appalled at the English legal system. It's like they want to take away every f*cking priveledge we have one by one, first it was the smoking ban, that was done wrong, if you own a god-damn pub, you should have the right to choose whether or not it's a smoking or non-smoking pub. (That was what we were originally promised concerning the "ban").

Now, NOW...they want to f*cking stop us smoking in our OWN cars!?! What's next? No smoking outside?

I f*cking swear i'm getting fed up of the f*cking English parliment. They have no god-damn idea what they are doing! I'm emmigrating. Now!
barley_cat writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 10:42:19 AM

the english GOVERNMENT*** What the hell am i talking about?!
barley_cat writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 10:44:02 AM

Read this bollocks! (Times online):

"Twenty of Britainís most senior doctors have called for a ban on smoking in cars as part of a sweeping expansion of laws to protect children against the effects of inhaling smoke. Why stop there? Will there be a ban on smoking in homes next? When one of the doctors was asked this question he said that would be a bit too extreme because it could not be policed. In other words, he had no objection to the stateís invasion of private property, merely that it would be a difficult law to uphold."

What a f*cking world huh?!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 10:54:32 AM

@Barley: But you can legally smoke and possess weed for personal use? That's more than we got over here...
trailertrash writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 11:18:28 AM

They Still want all the tax money on cigarettes though dont they , which they have kindly put up again today....

@Freudian

Amsterdam now thats a good weekend away ....
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 11:28:47 AM

Yet more proof the world will end in 2012 Bay is making sense.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 12:04:01 PM

@SAC, True, and Hollywood is proving that statement over and over by sh*tting out....sh*tty 3D movies.
I'll list Avatar as the only good 3D movie and if that one was sh*tted out, Cameron was groundhogging that one for a long time.
Salvador writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 12:27:47 PM

Well, at least we agree on something! :)

Is going to be the same CRAP anyway, 3D o 2D movie.
rabid writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 1:57:47 PM

That's a shame. The studio is going to convert it eventually anyway, so why not just film the last film the way 3D should be filmed?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 1:59:03 PM

God DAMN whats with all these sh*tty directors making awesome decisions now??
rabid writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 2:00:42 PM

I read last month that England was going to ban smoking in vehicles and in the homes of families on assistance who have children.
People are so f*cking paranoid. There's plenty more dangerous things in the world than tobacco.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 2:01:55 PM

I bet that soon will Uwe Boll come out say something brilliant with a great movie to back it up with
Dre-EL writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 2:02:31 PM

there may be hope for michael yet
SACdaddy writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 2:24:24 PM

@Barley and other Brits: If you want to immigrate to America just walk across the Mexican border. Its faster and millions of people do it every year (shaking my head). Why bullsh*t with all that paperwork? I here McDonalds is hiring right now.

SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 3:02:09 PM

"I here McDonalds is hiring right now."

At least they're willing to work, unlike the lazy welfare abusing druggie hipsters...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 3:02:31 PM

...And this is coming from a far-left liberal!
SACdaddy writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 3:39:40 PM

"the lazy welfare abusing druggie hipsters..."

Lol, sounds like a stoned student on financial aid. Where do you live , Oregon?
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 3:44:24 PM

You keep climbing that ladder of integrity Michael Bay, I'll wait for you. Stick to your guns rich man, now get back to hiring that script doctor for your inevitably sick and story-less diseased script <3.
Alfonzo3000 writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 3:44:33 PM

Agreed 3D Is Garbage
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 3:44:47 PM

Toronto, and these are hipsters for those fortunate enough to not know any: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T_7eEY_9bg8
Ranma-Irias writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 4:09:38 PM

Bay might be a poor director and we already know what to expect what comes from him (well i really liked the first transformers so i didnt expect the second one to suck that much) but we still know.
and he knows as well, smart move bay.
AshTrey writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 4:29:32 PM

YESSSS!!!!!!!! I NEVER THOUGHT I WOULD CHEER FOR MICHAEL BAY. YOUR ARE A MAN MY FRIEND.

He just established his dominanace and called a spade a spade. Its a sh*tty gimmick and I hate it. Some director needs to say it!!

~Viva la resistance
encoreyourface writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 4:42:38 PM

come on Bay don't bullsh*t us ... but if you ain't, then i may regain a little faith ...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 6:10:39 PM

"If this isn't going to be excellent, I don't want to do it. And it is my choice."

I'm sold on transformers 3, even if (and when) it turns out to be a big piece of dog turd, because at least it wont be a big piece of 3-D dog turd.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 6:57:40 PM

lol
rabid writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 8:29:40 PM

but it will be a 3D dogturd. He might not want to film and release it in 3D, but the studio will reformat anyway eventually because they like money.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 9:20:03 PM

I think Bay has enough pull with the studio to avoid 3D if he wants to. That franchise makes way too much money to lose its director.
Nicholas Smith writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 9:23:30 PM

i think people are saying that 3D is crap becaues they cant afford the price of a 3D TV, and glasses. its like this everytime something new comes out in the entertainment business, just like Blu Ray movies. People talk crap because they cant afford 30 bucks for a new blu ray movie. i mean for the money, what you get is qaulity. But for 3D, you can always use the red and blue/green glasses the cheap way of watching 3D, though you will see the colors of the lens and bleed throughs.
Nicholas Smith writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 9:24:47 PM

I have never seen transformers, are those movies the reason why everyone hates Michael Bay for some reason??? theres half and half on people saying transformers is a joke, and other half dieing for it/loving it.?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 9:57:23 PM

@nicholas

I've said this literally HUNDREDS of times before: The difference between formats like blu-ray or dvd or vhs is that they haven't been trying to shove it down our throats for 70 years.

We HATE 3-D as a format, because, unlike colour, picture, and sound, it doesn't change the narrative of a story one BIT. Now you're probably young, impressionable, all that sh*t, but please remember, 3-D has been around since before any of us were born, we weren't buying it then, and we aren't buying it now.
Monroe writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 10:19:51 PM

This move earns Bay some points in my eyes, and after T2 he really needs all the help he can get...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 10:21:52 PM

There must be some planets in alignment or something because I actually agree with Bay.
KirkLazerus writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 11:57:53 PM

good to hear that michael bay doesn't want the film in 3D, but I'm dissapointed that the headline didn't say Michael bay not doing transformers 3
telur writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 11:59:28 PM

is bay a gay?
jigsaw23 writes:
on March 25th, 2010 at 12:37:38 AM

i respect what he is saying but theyll prob force him to convert it to 3d.
Aingx writes:
on March 25th, 2010 at 11:59:59 PM

Caaaause no one gives a sh*t about 3-D explosions....
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 12:35:43 AM

action scenes is one thing...a great story is another...great acting is also another thing...bay has advantages and understandings that james cameron doesn't and vice versa...maybe they should both work on a film together?
thedotsays writes:
on March 26th, 2010 at 7:25:42 AM

Ha he actually said if this isn't going to be excellent, I don't want to do it.
Shame he didn't say that before making part 2.
seveltoto writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 3:27:22 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved