WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jamie Foxx Writing "Laverne and Shirley" Movie

Posted: March 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jamie Foxx Writing "Laverne and Shirley" MovieSubmit Comment
About a month ago, director Garry Marshall revealed that he is working on a big screen version of the "Laverne and Shirley" television show, which will star Jennifer Garner and Jessica Biel.

To get an update, TV Guide caught up with Marshall at a fundraiser and found out that the script is currently being written by Jamie Foxx (Law Abiding Citizen, Valentine's Day).

"Jamie and I are trying to do it," Marshall confirmed. "He's writing it. It's a whole different modern day take on how they came up on the streets during difficult times. Laverne would be this very tough girl with a big 'L' tattooed on her arm. Jennifer Garner would play Laverne and Jessica Biel would play Shirley."

Marshall added that he's planning to give the original sitcom stars roles in the new movie. "My sister Penny [Marshall] and Cindy [Williams] are gonna have a guest cameo," he said.

Source: TV Guide


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
drshakalou writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 7:53:49 AM

ok ok okkkkkkkkkk
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 9:18:30 AM

Really thought Garner would be Shirley and Biel Laverne.
Real curveball there that Foxx is writing this. Ehh
tcu21 writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 9:45:01 AM

Dear Hollywood,

I beg you not to deface one of the beset tv shows of all time. Thank you.

Ted Mosby writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 9:46:13 AM

i really think Jamie Foxx is a tool actor... I HATED how in Law Abiding Citizen, your rooting for Butler's character the whole movie... then for some f*cking reason the movie pulls a 180 on you and your supposed to LIKE Jamie Foxx's character in the last 20 mins... f*ck that I was so pissed *SPOILER* he somehow "outsmarted" Butler's character and killed him? HOW? just cause hes Jamie Foxx... a lame ass actor... f*ck him... ok I'm done ranting lol
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 9:51:58 AM

but i will admit he was awesome in Collateral... thats all I'm saying...
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 10:20:32 AM

Because if Jamie foxx knows anything it's two white women at a time
NxDLamb writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 11:29:19 AM

Crap, I hope this movie doesnt turn out ghetto...I swear they should have never cast Foxx in the Ray movie, he somehow now thinks he act and sing..and now recreate classic characters?!? WTF
Ranger writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 12:09:32 PM

'...with a big 'L' tattooed on her arm.' --- wow, as opposed to the Big 'L' she used to wear on all her tops... how contemporary. Foxx my man, you're quite the innovator.

I wonder if Foxx would want to cast Miley Cyrus, and write himself in as a Landlord f*cking her in the mouth when the rent is due (his other chance to finish bashing her like he did on his radio show).

And the big 'L' had better stand for 'Lesbian' - because no Lesbo's... me no watch, capiche!? Make it Rated-R and let the fun begin!
ChadRo writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 12:52:33 PM

What the hell...What gives Jamie Foxx the life experience to write about two middle aged white women living in Milwuakee bottling beer?
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 1:06:14 PM

Will Biel and Garner be dyking it out in an explicit sex scene? If not then I won't watch it.
c-prime writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 3:24:27 PM

Ted, you nailed my sentiments on "Law Abiding Citizen" exactly. I, too, was aggravated that the movie framed Gerard Butler as the villain when he was, in my mind, RIGHTFULLY avenging his loved ones. Especially after getting royally f*cked over by the judicial system. Sure, maybe a few too many uninvolved people got offed - still, if something that devastating happened to me, you can best believe I'd be making headlines for taking out the direct conspirators at the very least. Some guy tries to make a corrupt deal to boost his legal career? BLAM! Now, he'll be making deals with the devil's d*ck. I kept hoping for some splendid finale that would have Butler successfully manipulating the system, but as the end neared, I knew that would not happen. As a result, I could not fully enjoy the movie. As it stands, it's just "Saw" with generally better actors. I like Jamie Foxx, but he should've been the one to go in that flick.
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 4:07:09 PM

@C-Prime
YES see glad someone else clearly understands me with that movie... the ending completely ruined the movie for me... He was freaking genius how he planned EVERYTHING... i mean a bullet exploded from a CELL PHONE haha and yet somehow this crooked black guy OUTSMARTS him in the end and wins? UM NO! wheres the alternate ending when you really wanted one!
encoreyourface writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 4:29:39 PM

i've never even heard of the show ...
AshTrey writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 4:47:34 PM

WTF
Wallace writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 7:13:03 PM

Foxx did a pretty decent job on Collateral. Does anybody know what happened to his Tyson biopic?
tcu21 writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 8:08:52 PM

I've never been one to cuss explicitly or make crazy comments on this site, but so help me God if Laverene has a f*cking "L" tattooed on her arm I will f*cking come after you Jamie Foxx. I would pray to the heavens that this is the end of your career, that you would never rebound from what a f*cking embarrassment this is sure to be. And shame on you Garry Marshall for wanting to assist in the destruction of your sister's legacy for an easy f*cking buck.

Laverne and Shirely, is one of the best spin offs of all time, second probably only to Fraiser, with two of the greatest supporting characters in TV history, no one enters a room funnier than Lenny and Squiggy or puts on a better show than Lenny and the Squigtones.

In short, f*ck off Garry Marshall and Jamie Foxx if you go through with this.
Ranger writes:
on March 25th, 2010 at 12:58:40 AM

Lennie & Squiggy were pretty priceless.
Rosalie writes:
on March 25th, 2010 at 1:25:16 AM

Garry Marshall was one of the original creators of the Laverne and Shirley TV series. Why would he want to do this to his own baby?
Ranger writes:
on March 25th, 2010 at 6:37:26 PM

Everyone knows the set for 'Two and a Half Men' is the old Laverne and Shirley set, right?
seveltoto writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 3:30:03 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved