WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kevin Smith to Shoot "Red State" in July, Without Fan Donations

Posted: March 23rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kevin Smith to Shoot "Red State" in July, Without Fan DonationsSubmit Comment
After spending some time considering funding his "Red State" movie with fan donations, Kevin Smith decided to abandon that idea and has instead secured a studio/investor to make the film.

On his Twitter account, Smith wrote: "I talk about lots of stuff I wanna do that either happens years later or never happens at all. Happy to report RED STATE is not the latter. The only money it'll require from [fans] will be at the box office."

Smith added that production is already set to begin in July. First draft was dated 9/5/07. Looks like we start shooting this July. Took nearly three years, but we're finally gonna roll on RED," he said.

When asked if he will develop the new film through a big studio or an independent one, Smith replied: (*Marches across big lawn, up front porch*) I'm home, Momma," hinting that it will once again be done with The Weinstein Company.

"Red State" is a horror film about Fred Phelps, the founder of the Westboro Baptist Church, which became infamous for taking a supremely homophobic stance and for picketing the funerals of soldiers killed in Iraq.

Click here to read more about "Red State."

Source: Twitter


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
gimple writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 6:45:31 PM

Hopefully it's not as bad as Cop out. Kevin Smith really needs to get his sh*t together.
oklahomaer writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 6:56:18 PM

well i hope he makes this movie worth a sh*t.f*ck those westboro c*nts.people should picket their funerals f*cking bunch of bitches. i bet coc and dandy are part of the westboro baptist church
encoreyourface writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 7:04:50 PM

cool i guess, good for Kevin and from what i hear about Cop Out don't f*ck this up too.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 7:22:33 PM

I aint getting on no plane fool.
Randal Graves writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 7:35:47 PM

I can forgive Smith for cop out since he didn't write it, but i'm really holding out for Red State. don't turn this into Jersey Girl
thomas deadison writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 7:50:10 PM

RED STATE is not about Fred Phelps, it's about extreme religious fundamentalism and a character loosely based on Phelps. So it's Phelps-like. All fictional, no Phelps, no Westboro Baptist Church.
thomas deadison writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 7:50:47 PM

Also, super excited for this.
TeemSelami writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 8:06:23 PM

soon this piece will hit theaters and vanish in the wind then this fat f*ck can go back to eating burgers.
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 8:18:44 PM

well its about god damn time kevin!
Aingx writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 8:40:46 PM

I've lost all faith in the man; he'll never get another DIME from me.....not that he cares.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 8:41:17 PM

Good for him...Still won't watch anythingthis c*cksucker does anymore.
HideousSecretion writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 8:52:34 PM

Do you think Kevin Smith married his wife cause her meaty vag reminded him of a hamburger? Fat men can't resist hamburger. Especially since hers comes with cheese.
encoreyourface writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 8:59:28 PM

LOL!!!
bale01289 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 9:10:41 PM

Glad to see this! True, CopOut was really bad, but I don't blame Kevin Smith for it. He's never been a proclaimed great, or even good director. The writing is where it's at with Smith. I've been keeping up with the news of this movie for years now, and have no doubt that the fans/me will be pleased! Go ahead and hate, but he's no-less deuchey than any other tool bag director/writer/producer/etc etc in Hollywood!
@Ted - I know you're stoked!
bale01289 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 9:13:04 PM

*no-less = no-more* sh*t
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 9:39:46 PM

@Bale
INDEEEEED only been waiting for this since 2007 lol I dont blame Kevin for testing the waters with directing Cop Out... a movie he DIDN'T WRITE... I'll admit it was pretty bad but i won't say i hated it... I'll look for it on DVD though haha BRING ON RED STATE!
triggax writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 9:43:47 PM

Fat guy in a red jacket state.
bale01289 writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 9:54:11 PM

@Ted - I'd rather watch JerseyGirl on repeat with a mix of LadyGaga and Ke$ha playin at high volume in the background, than watch CopOut again.......but I'm still a fan, lol.
CCBlev writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 10:20:14 PM

@Bale
that is pretty bad, I hate Lady GAga and Ke$ha, id rather watch Lohvag slice herself than look at those 2 c*nts
johnny_boy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 10:31:01 PM

Where did he get the money? Can you donate all your fat now for money? Cuz if so he must have earned enough for the film plus two more to make it a trilogy
Lordchristo writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 10:39:04 PM

Jesus, kids, he's not even that fat. He's big boned. If you want fat director, go find that tard Michael Moore. That is what fat is all about.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 10:41:03 PM

I'm a fan of Smiths too, but Cop Out was a big sh*t burger of a film, I did'nt laugh once through the whole thing.

Yes he only directed it but surely in directing the scenes he could see the script was'nt funny.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 10:46:24 PM

@christo.... We are all joking(well some of us). Get that sand out if your vagina
Lordchristo writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 10:48:58 PM

@johnny - I CAN'T GET IT OUT! IT'S IN TOO DEEP! Ah, ahem. No, I wasn't trying to bash people, I just hate Michael Moore. That fat f*ck.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 23rd, 2010 at 10:50:10 PM

He is a douche. I'm with you there
Ranger writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 12:05:40 AM

@HideousSecretion - lol.

His time spent 'considering' using fan funds for this movie was only a publicity stunt. I posted way back when that the costs associated with the accounting of the donations, either making them all 'investors' with a piece of the action, or trying to get licensed as a charity... none of that was even realistic. So... he got his free publicity.

So this group of Baptists are the ones I heard about years ago picketing the funerals of soldiers? Good... now I don't feel as bad for the few Baptists I've dated and f*cked sore, bloodied and ragged (sorry VinDandy... they were all women... nothing here for you, move along).

To this day when they get on their knees to pray I know an image of me flashes through their mind!.

wonderBOY writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 1:29:05 AM

i want hit somebody first. that is way better. cop out isnt as bad as everyone says it is.
masht7 writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 1:30:44 AM

Cop Out wasn't bad, it was farely funny, I allow Kevin Smith to have another chance.
j-man writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 9:49:20 AM

is this the family that louis theorux did a doc*mentry on for the bbc?
Ted Mosby writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 10:13:04 AM

I think Sean William Scott saved Cop Out for me lol I agree it isn't as BAD as everyone said it was. I'll still love my KS autographs haha
ChadRo writes:
on March 24th, 2010 at 12:57:06 PM

He was filling his twinkies with crack if he thought "fans" were going to fund a movie without any chance of an investment return.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved